DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on December 21, 2023. Claims 57-76 are now pending in the present application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on March 1, 2024, February 25, 2025, and May 20, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 57-60, 63, 64, 67-71, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BAO et al. (hereinafter Bao) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0201774 A1).
Regarding claims 57 and 75, Bao teaches a method and an apparatus (anchor UE, figures 6 and 7), comprising: at least one processor (processor, figure 6); and at least one memory including computer program code (memory, figure 6); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured, with the at least one processor ([0133]-[0134]), to cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit or receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS; 754/756, figure 7) to or from a target user equipment (target UE, figures 5 and 7), wherein the target user equipment corresponds to a user equipment to be positioned ([0113]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may send the SL PRS 754, 756 per the SL PRS configuration of the SL PRS-related data…”; teaches the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS), where the target UE is the UE to be positioned);
determine a new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, or transmit a sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message to a network element triggering the network element to initiate the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration); and
transmit or receive one or more new sidelink positioning reference signals according to the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration ([0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…SL PRS using the present SL PRS configuration…”; [0113]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may send the SL PRS 754, 756 per the SL PRS configuration of the SL PRS-related data…”; teaches communicating the sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) where the SL PRS uses the present SL PRS configuration and the new, changed SL PRS configuration becomes the present SL PRS configuration used for the SL PRS).
Regarding claim 58, Bao further teaches receive a measurement report (measurement report; 762, figure 7) from the target user equipment (target UE, figures 5 and 7) ([0114]; teaches the anchor UE receives a measurement report from the target UE), wherein the measurement report comprises status information of the target user equipment, the status information comprising at least one of: a sidelink measurement of the target user equipment, a current status of positioning performance of the target user equipment, a loading status of the target user equipment, a resource status of the target user equipment, a data traffic status of the target user equipment, a battery status of the target user equipment, or mobility characteristics of the target user equipment ([0114]; teaches the measurement report includes a sidelink measurement of the target user equipment).
Regarding claim 59, Bao further teaches inform the target user equipment of the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches informing the target UE of the new, changed SL PRS configuration).
Regarding claim 60, Bao further teaches wherein the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration comprises parameters to be reconfigured, and wherein the parameters comprise at least one of: time and frequency resources, magnitude, phase and power of the sidelink positioning reference signal, a number of beams, a defined signal bandwidth, a defined duration the sidelink positioning reference signal and signal periodicity, or a defined comb structure ([0102]; “…exchange SL PRS-related data and SL PRS. The SL PRS-related data may be used by one or more of the UEs 510, 520 to send and/or receive and help with measuring SL PRS…may include data such as quasi co-location (QCL) information (e.g., antenna port, beam, etc.)…configuration information (e.g., transmission pattern (e.g., including offset(s) (e.g., time, frequency, symbol, etc.), comb number, repetition factor, etc.), muting pattern…”; [0109]; “…one or more SL PRS configuration data values (e.g., a quantity of further PRS instances to be transmitted, one or more transmission schedule values (e.g., frequency layer, comb number, time offset, frequency offset…”; teaches parameters including time and frequency resources, beam information, and comb number).
Regarding claim 63, Bao further teaches wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message comprises at least one of: at least one reason why the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is made; a request for the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, a request for a different positioning method, a request for a different anchor user equipment, or status information of the apparatus, or sidelink conditions that are observed by the target user equipment or the apparatus ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches the request for SL PRS configuration comprises a request for a new, changed SL PRS configuration).
Regarding claim 64, Bao further teaches wherein the at least one reason comprises at least one of: the status information of the target user equipment, a characteristic of a radio propagation channel between the apparatus and the target user equipment, a current status of positioning performance of the target user equipment, a loading status of the apparatus, a resource status of the apparatus, a data traffic status of the apparatus, a battery status of the apparatus, or mobility characteristics of the apparatus ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS, e.g., if the target UE 510 is unable to measure, at least with a desired level of accuracy and/or confidence…”; [0109]; teaches the request for a new, changed SL PRS configuration is for improving the accuracy of the positing performance of the target UE).
Regarding claim 67, Bao teaches an apparatus (target UE, figures 6 and 7), comprising: at least one processor (processor, figure 6); and at least one memory comprising computer program code (memory, figure 6), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor ([0133]-[0134]) to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message (SL PRS configuration request; [0028]; [0104]) from an anchor user equipment (anchor UE, figures 5 and 7); determine, based on at least one information (one or more SL PRS configuration data values; [0109]) indicated in the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message, a new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration for the anchor user equipment or maintain a current sidelink positioning reference signal configuration ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches receiving a request to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration based on SL PRS configuration data values); and
transmit a sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration response message (response; [0110]) to the anchor user equipment comprising the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration ([0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…SL PRS using the present SL PRS configuration…”; [0110]; [0113]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may send the SL PRS 754, 756 per the SL PRS configuration of the SL PRS-related data…”; teaches transmitting a communication comprising the new, changed SL PRS configuration).
transmit or receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS; 754/756, figure 7) to or from a target user equipment (target UE, figures 5 and 7), wherein the target user equipment corresponds to a user equipment to be positioned ([0113]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may send the SL PRS 754, 756 per the SL PRS configuration of the SL PRS-related data…”; teaches the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS), where the target UE is the UE to be positioned);
Regarding claim 68, Bao further teaches wherein the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration comprises at least one of: deactivation or suspension of a current sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, a new uplink or downlink positioning method to be applied, or a new anchor user equipment to be utilized for positioning a target user equipment ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches deactivating the present SL PRS configuration for the target UE of the new, changed SL PRS configuration).
Regarding claim 69, Bao further teaches wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message comprises at least one of: at least one reason why the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is made, a request for the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, a request for a different positioning method, a request for a different anchor user equipment, or status information of the anchor user equipment, or sidelink conditions that are observed by a target user equipment or the anchor user equipment ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches the request for SL PRS configuration comprises a request for a new, changed SL PRS configuration).
Regarding claim 70, Bao further teaches wherein the at least one reason comprises at least one of: a characteristic of a radio propagation channel between the anchor user equipment and the target user equipment, a sidelink measurement of the target user equipment, a current status of positioning performance of the target user equipment, a loading status of the anchor user equipment or the target user equipment, a resource status of the anchor user equipment or the target user equipment, a data traffic status of the anchor user equipment or the target user equipment, a battery status of the anchor user equipment or the target user equipment, or mobility characteristics of the anchor user equipment or the target user equipment ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS, e.g., if the target UE 510 is unable to measure, at least with a desired level of accuracy and/or confidence…”; [0109]; teaches the request for a new, changed SL PRS configuration is for improving the accuracy of the positing performance of the target UE).
Regarding claim 71, Bao further teaches wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration response message comprises at least one of: an instruction to maintain a current sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, an instruction to activate or deactivate at least one sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, a subset of sidelink positioning reference signal parameters to be modified, the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, a new uplink or downlink positioning method to be applied, or a new set of anchor user equipment to be utilized for positioning a target user equipment ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches informing the target UE of the new, changed SL PRS configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 61, 62, 65, 72, 73, and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAO et al. (hereinafter Bao) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0201774 A1) in view of Goyal et al. (hereinafter Goyal) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0295442 A1).
Regarding claim 61, Bao discloses the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration, but may not explicitly disclose wherein if the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is transmitted to the network element, the method further comprises: receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration response message from the network element.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Goyal teaches and suggests wherein if the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is transmitted to the network element (positioning server), the method further comprises: receiving a sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration response message from the network element ([0007]; [0102]; teaches sending a re-configuration request to a position server and receiving a reconfiguration response from the server).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sending a re-configuration request to a position server and receiving a reconfiguration response from the server as taught by Goyal with the method and apparatus for the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining a new, changed SL PRS configuration as disclosed by Bao for the purpose of improving positioning accuracy and sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, as suggested by Goyal.
Regarding claim 62, Bao, as modified by Goyal, further discloses the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration response message comprises at least one of: an instruction to maintain a current sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, an instruction to activate or deactivate at least one sidelink positioning reference signal configuration; a subset of sidelink positioning reference signal parameters to be modified, the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, a new uplink or downlink positioning method to be applied, or a new set of anchor user equipment to be utilized for positioning the target user equipment ([0028]; [0104]; “…The UEs 510, 520 may request SL PRS-related data (e.g., SL PRS assistance data and/or SL PRS configuration data)…request SL PRS-related data to change a present SL PRS configuration…to help improve reception and/or measurement of SL PRS…”; [0109]; teaches informing the target UE of the new, changed SL PRS configuration).
Regarding claim 65, Bao discloses the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message comprises: a validity indication on whether the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is applicable for the target user equipment, for a subset of target user equipment, or for a plurality of global target user equipment.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Goyal teaches and suggests wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message comprises: a validity indication on whether the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is applicable for the target user equipment, for a subset of target user equipment, or for a plurality of global target user equipment ([0003]; [0007]; [0102]; [0140]; teaches the re-configuration request comprises identification of the applicable target WTRUs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the re-configuration request comprises identification of the applicable target WTRUs as taught by Goyal with the method and apparatus for the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining a new, changed SL PRS configuration as disclosed by Bao for the purpose of improving positioning accuracy and sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, as suggested by Goyal.
Regarding claim 72, Bao discloses the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration, but may not explicitly disclose based on the sidelink positioning reference signal request message, re-allocate the anchor user equipment to assist positioning of another different target user equipment, or remove the anchor user equipment from a list of candidates that can assist in sidelink positioning.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Goyal teaches and suggests based on the sidelink positioning reference signal request message, re-allocate the anchor user equipment to assist positioning of another different target user equipment, or remove the anchor user equipment from a list of candidates that can assist in sidelink positioning ([0120]; [0125]; [0138]; teaches removing anchor WTRU from a list of anchor WTRUs that can assist in sidelink positioning).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate removing anchor WTRU from a list of anchor WTRUs that can assist in sidelink positioning as taught by Goyal with the method and apparatus for the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining a new, changed SL PRS configuration as disclosed by Bao for the purpose of improving positioning accuracy and sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, as suggested by Goyal.
Regarding claim 73, Bao discloses the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message comprises at least one of: a validity indication on whether the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is applicable for a target user equipment, for a subset of target user equipment, or for a plurality of global target user equipment, or status information of an anchor user equipment, or sidelink conditions that are observed by the target user equipment or the anchor user equipment.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Goyal teaches and suggests wherein the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message comprises at least one of: a validity indication on whether the sidelink positioning reference signal reconfiguration request message is applicable for a target user equipment, for a subset of target user equipment, or for a plurality of global target user equipment, or status information of an anchor user equipment, or sidelink conditions that are observed by the target user equipment or the anchor user equipment ([0003]; [0007]; [0102]; [0140]; teaches the re-configuration request comprises identification of the applicable target WTRUs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the re-configuration request comprises identification of the applicable target WTRUs as taught by Goyal with the method and apparatus for the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining a new, changed SL PRS configuration as disclosed by Bao for the purpose of improving positioning accuracy and sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, as suggested by Goyal.
Regarding claim 74, Bao discloses the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration is determined based on the validity indication or the status information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Goyal teaches and suggests wherein the new sidelink positioning reference signal configuration is determined based on the validity indication or the status information ([0003]; [0007]; [0102]; [0140]; teaches the re-configuration request comprises identification of the applicable target WTRUs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the re-configuration request comprises identification of the applicable target WTRUs as taught by Goyal with the method and apparatus for the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining a new, changed SL PRS configuration as disclosed by Bao for the purpose of improving positioning accuracy and sidelink positioning reference signal configuration, as suggested by Goyal.
Claims 66 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAO et al. (hereinafter Bao) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0201774 A1) in view of GANGAKHEDKAR et al. (hereinafter Gangakhedkar) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0239181 A1).
Regarding claims 66 and 76, Bao discloses the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining to change the present SL PRS configuration thus determining a new SL PRS configuration, but may not explicitly disclose determining reconfiguration of sidelink positioning reference signal resources based on an anchor user equipment suitability, or coupling of sidelink resources with one or more other target user equipment, wherein coupling of sidelink resources with the one or more other target user equipment comprises adjusting sidelink positioning reference signal resources for the target user equipment and the one or more other target user equipment, wherein the anchor user equipment suitability is defined by one or more elements affecting positioning accuracy comprising a line-of-sight condition between the anchor user equipment and the target user equipment, mobility conditions of the anchor user equipment, energy availability of the anchor user equipment, a confidence level of position of the anchor user equipment, or scheduling and traffic patterns at the anchor user equipment.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Gangakhedkar teaches and suggests determining reconfiguration of sidelink positioning reference signal resources based on an anchor user equipment suitability, or coupling of sidelink resources with one or more other target user equipment, wherein coupling of sidelink resources with the one or more other target user equipment comprises adjusting sidelink positioning reference signal resources for the target user equipment and the one or more other target user equipment ([0008]; [0015]; [0078]; [0079]; teaches determining suitability of the anchor node to the target node), wherein the anchor user equipment suitability is defined by one or more elements affecting positioning accuracy comprising a line-of-sight condition between the anchor user equipment and the target user equipment, mobility conditions of the anchor user equipment, energy availability of the anchor user equipment, a confidence level of position of the anchor user equipment, or scheduling and traffic patterns at the anchor user equipment ([0008]; [0014]; [0079]; [0164]; teaches suitability is defined by position accuracy comprising energy availability of the anchor node and line-of-sight between the anchor and target node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining suitability of the anchor node to the target node and suitability is defined by position accuracy comprising energy availability of the anchor node and line-of-sight between the anchor and target node as taught by Gangakhedkar with the method and apparatus for the anchor UE and the target UE communicating sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) and determining a new, changed SL PRS configuration as disclosed by Bao for the purpose of improving positioning accuracy and improving the localisation of remote nodes in a communication system, as suggested by Gangakhedkar.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
January 9, 2026