DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication US 2014/0110833 to Yoo et al.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo et al. teach a power module comprising:
a base plate (111);
a ceramic substrate (113; ¶ [0029]) bonded to an upper surface of the base plate;
a semiconductor chip (120a) bonded to an upper surface of the ceramic substrate;
a spacer (115b) bonded to the upper surface of the ceramic substrate to be spaced apart from the semiconductor chip;
a connecting pin (130a; ¶ [0014]) installed on an electrode layer formed on an upper surface of the spacer; and
a bonding wire (121) connecting terminals of the semiconductor chip to the electrode layer of the spacer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo et al. teach a power module, further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) substrate connected to the connecting pin, wherein the semiconductor chip is electrically connected to the PCB substrate through the bonding wire, the electrode layer, and the connecting pin.
Yoo et al. do not explicitly teach that the PCB is disposed above the ceramic substrate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to dispose the PCB above the ceramic substrate since it is desirable to provide a base for the PCB, as well as not needing to add the additional step of creating a via through the substrate to provide connection to the pin.
Regarding claim 5, Yoo et al. do not teach a power module wherein the semiconductor chip is a gallium nitride (GaN) chip. GaN is a well-known material that is ideally suited for use in power modules. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a GaN chip, since it is a known material that is well suited for the intended use.
Regarding claim 6, Yoo et al. do not teach a power module wherein the ceramic substrate is an active metal brazing (AMB) substrate. Yoo et al. do not teach or suggest any specific type of ceramic. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select an active metal brazing substrate since this is a known material that is well suited for the intended use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7 – 16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest a power module as recited in claims 7 and 11, including “an upper ceramic substrate disposed to be spaced apart above the lower ceramic substrate” (claim 7), and “a printed circuit board (PCB) substrate disposed above the ceramic substrate and including a driving device; and a lead wire connecting a terminal of the semiconductor chip to the driving device.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0238315 to Qiao et al., an intervening reference, teach a power module including a ceramic substrate, a spacer, a connecting pin on an upper surface of the space. Qiao et al. do not teach the bonding wire connected to the spacer electrode and terminals of a semiconductor chip.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897