DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on 07/29/2024. Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18-22 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18-22 is as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023 and 10/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11, 15-16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "an axial surface" and “at least one pin”. It is unclear if this limitation is intended to claim antecedent basis to the same limitations recited in parent claim 1 or if this limitation intends to recite a second axial surface and a second pin. For examination purposes this will be interpreted to read “the axial surface” and “the at least one pin”. Claims 10-11 inherit this deficiency.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “wherein the base portion of the electrode has an axial surface”. It is unclear if this limitation is intended to claim antecedent basis to the same limitations recited in parent claim 1 or if this limitation intends to recite a second axial surface. For examination purposes this will be interpreted to read “the axial surface”.
Claim 16 recites “wherein further the electrode receptacle contact is the electrical pressure contact element”. “the electrode receptacle contact” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim 21 recites “wherein further the electrode receptacle contact is the electrical pressure contact element”. “the electrode receptacle contact” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-13, 15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Lous (WO 2020/070440) in view of Duan (CN 104739404)
Regarding claim 1, Le Lous teaches An electrode assembly, comprising: an electrode configured to be placed on a surface of a subject's body for recording an electric body signal (Fig 2 sensor 30); an electrode receptacle configured to receive the electrode (see Fig 2 receptacle to connected with sensor 30); and a coupling component configured to couple the electrode to the electrode receptacle (Figs 2-3 coupling component 45, wall 34, and general back surface of Fig 3 configured to couple to hole 20, opening 26, etc of receptacle), the coupling component having a locked configuration, in which the electrode is coupled to the electrode receptacle (configuration of Fig 1 when sensor 30 is coupled to receptacle), and an unlocked configuration, in which the electrode is decoupled from the electrode receptacle (configuration of Fig 2 is unlocked when sensor 30 is decoupled from receptacle), wherein the base portion of the electrode or the electrode receptacle has an axial surface facing a surface of the respective other of the electrode or electrode receptacle (Fig 2, axial surface of sensor receptacle facing sensor 30 as shown in Fig 2), wherein said axial surface comprises at least one groove (Fig 2, opening 26), and wherein the at least one groove is configured to couple with at least one pin arranged at the surface of the respective other of the electrode or the electrode receptacle (Figs 2-3, openings 26 couple with locking members 45).
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the coupling component comprises at least one protrusion, wherein at least one of the electrode and the electrode receptacle comprises a base portion having a lateral surface, wherein the at least one protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface, and wherein the coupling component comprises at least one recess at the respective other of the electrode or electrode receptacle, the at least one recess being configured to engage the at least one protrusion.
In related prior art, Duan teaches wherein the coupling component comprises at least one protrusion (Fig. 8, pin 3.1), wherein at least one of the electrode and the electrode receptacle comprises a base portion having a lateral surface (Fig 8, electrode 3 with pin 3.1 on lateral surface thereof), wherein the at least one protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface (Fig 8, pin 3.1 extends radially from lateral surface), and wherein the coupling component comprises at least one recess at the respective other of the electrode or electrode receptacle, the at least one recess being configured to engage the at least one protrusion (Fig 8, fixed lug boss 3.3 receives pin 3.1 to lock device). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lateral surface of the electrode of Le Lous to incorporate the at least one protrusion extending radially and configured to couple with a recess of the electrode receptacle. Doing so would advantageously provide an extra fixing capability to provide a secure coupling between the electrode and receptacle.
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the at least one groove has a varying depth along its length.
An alternative embodiment of Le Lous further teaches wherein the locking member (Fig 3 locking member 46) could comprise a thread on a side wall to cooperate with a complementary thread on the helmet (Pg 10-11 of translation; the complementary female thread to the locking member 46 has a varying depth along its length). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking member 46 and openings 26 to provide the groove with a varying depth along its length in the form of complementary threads to arrive at claim 1. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one well-known locking member configuration (Fig 2, locking member 46 with interference fit with opening 26) for another well-known locking member configuration (Pg 10-11; complementary threads of locking member and groove) to yield the predictable result of providing a locking mechanism for the electrode to be secured within the receptacle.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the coupling component comprises at least one of a bayonet mount assembly, a bayonet connector assembly, a turn-lock assembly, a screw assembly (Pg 10-11 disclosing screw assembly of locking member 46 and complementary screw on receptacle), a snap-fit assembly, a friction assembly, or a magnetic assembly, wherein the coupling component is configured to be shifted between the unlocked configuration and the locked configuration by turning or rotating the electrode relative to the electrode receptacle (Pg 10-11, screw connection requires rotating or turning to lock and unlock).
Regarding claim 4, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the coupling component is configured to be shifted between the unlocked configuration and the locked configuration by translationally moving the electrode relative to the electrode receptacle (Figs 1-2; coupling components of electrode and receptacle requires at least some translational insertion relative to each other to lock or unlock)
Regarding claim 5, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the coupling component comprises a male coupling feature and a female coupling feature (Fig 2-3, locking member 46 and hole 26), wherein the electrode receptacle (20) comprises the male coupling feature and the electrode (10) comprises the female coupling feature, or wherein the electrode (10) comprises the male coupling feature and the electrode receptacle (20) comprises the female coupling feature (Figs 2-3, electrode 30 comprises male connector 46 and receptacle comprises female coupling 26).
Regarding claim 6, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Duan further teaches wherein the electrode comprises the base portion having the lateral surface from which the at least one protrusion extends radially outwards, wherein the at least one protrusion extends across at least a part of a circumference of the lateral surface, and wherein the at least one recess is formed at the electrode receptacle (Fig 8, pin 3.1 extends radially and across at least part of a circumference of lateral surface and corresponding recess 2.3 is formed at receptacle 2). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lateral surface of the electrode of Le Lous to incorporate the at least one protrusion extending radially and configured to couple with a recess of the electrode receptacle to arrive at claim 6. Doing so would advantageously provide an extra fixing capability to provide a secure coupling between the electrode and receptacle.
Regarding claim 8, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the at least one pin is arranged such that it extends into the at least one groove when the coupling component is shifted between the locked configuration and the unlocked configuration, wherein the at least one pin and the at least one groove are arranged such that, when the coupling component is shifted between the locked configuration and the unlocked configuration, the at least one pin is moved along the at least one groove (Fig 2, pg 10-11 of translation; pin 46 moves along groove 26 and extends into groove 26 when shifted between locked and unlocked configuration).
Regarding claim 9, in view of the combination of claim 8 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the base portion of the electrode or the electrode receptacle has an axial surface facing a surface of the respective other of the electrode or electrode receptacle, wherein said axial surface comprises at least one blocking cavity (Fig 2, axial surface of receptacle has locking edge 27 of hole 26), wherein the at least one blocking cavity is configured to couple with at least one pin arranged at the surface of the respective other of the electrode or the electrode receptacle (locking edge 27 defines blocking cavity to couple with pin 46 on electrode 30).
Regarding claim 10, in view of the combination of claim 9 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the at least one pin and the at least one blocking cavity are arranged such that the at least one pin extends into the at least one blocking cavity when the coupling component is in the locked configuration (Fig 1 in locked configuration pin 46 extends into locking edge 27 of hole 26), and does not extend into the at least one blocking cavity when the coupling component is in the unlocked configuration (Fig 2, in unlocked and uncoupled position the electrode 30 is disconnected from receptacle).
Regarding claim 11, in view of the combination of claim 10 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the at least one blocking cavity is arranged at a longitudinal end of the at least one groove, wherein the at least one pin, the at least one groove and the at least one blocking cavity are arranged such that, when the coupling component is shifted from the unlocked configuration to the locked configuration, the at least one pin is moved along the at least one groove, and once the coupling component reaches the locked configuration, the at least one pin extends into the at least one blocking cavity (Pg 10 of translation discloses configuration of locking edge 27 of opening 26 where pin moves along groove and locks within locking edge 27 when moved to the locked configuration).
Regarding claim 12, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the electrode receptacle comprises an upper housing and a lower housing (Fig 2, connection opening 20 and accompanying electronics 19 define lower housing; upper housing defined by hollow imprint 15), wherein the upper housing and the lower housing are configured to be coupled to one another to form a housing for receiving the electrode (Fig 2, upper and lower housings are coupled), and wherein at least one male coupling feature or female coupling feature is formed by the coupled upper housing and lower housing (multiple female coupling features formed by coupled upper and lower housing of receptacle).
Regarding claim 13, in view of the combination of claim 12 above, an alternative embodiment of Le Lous further teaches wherein the coupling component is configured to be shifted between the unlocked configuration and the locked configuration by assembling or disassembling the upper housing and the lower housing (Fig 4 back casing 52 defines lower housing where back surface 50b couples with upper housing of receptacle as shown in Fig 2 when assembled or disassembled), wherein the upper housing and the lower housing are configured to hold the electrode in place when being assembled and are configured to release the electrode when being disassembled (Fig 4, disassembling casing 50 from housing of receptacle releases electrode and assembling the casing 50 to receptacle holds the electrode in place). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Le Lous in view of the alternative embodiment of Le Lous to incorporate the lower housing capable of assembling and disassembling with the upper housing to connect or release the electrode from the receptacle to arrive at claim 13. Doing so would advantageously provide a releasable locking mechanism to secure the electrode to the headwear to yield predictable results therein.
Regarding claim 15, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Le Lous further teaches wherein the base portion of the electrode has an axial surface facing a surface of the electrode receptacle (see axial surface of electrode 30 in Fig 3), wherein said axial surface comprises at least one trench configured to receive electronic wiring or an electrode receptacle contact and/or wherein said axial surface comprises an electrode contact region configured to contact an electrode receptacle contact (Fig 3 cylindrical fitting wall 34 for receiving electrical connections to electrical connection members 38).
Regarding claim 18, Le Lous teaches An electrode for recording an electric body signal (Fig 2 sensor 30) comprising: a base portion (Figs 2-3, protective element 40); a plurality of electrode pins attached to the base portion and configured to be placed on a surface of a subject's body for recording an electric body signal (Figs 2-3, pins 35); and at least one coupling feature for coupling to an electrode receptacle (Figs 2-3 coupling component 45, wall 34, and general back surface of Fig 3 configured to couple to hole 20, opening 26, etc of receptacle), wherein the base portion of the electrode has an axial surface facing a surface of the electrode receptacle (Fig 2, axial surface of sensor receptacle facing sensor 30 as shown in Fig 2), wherein said axial surface comprises at least one groove (Fig 2, opening 26), and wherein the at least one groove is configured to couple with at least one pin arranged at the surface of the electrode receptacle (Figs 2-3, openings 26 couple with locking members 45).
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the at least one coupling feature extends radially with respect to the base portion, and wherein the at least one coupling feature extends across at least a part of a circumference of the base portion, wherein the coupling feature comprises or is a protrusion, wherein the electrode comprises the base portion having a lateral surface, wherein the protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface, and wherein the protrusion is configured to engage at least one recess of a coupling component configured to couple the electrode to the electrode receptacle.
In related prior art, Duan teaches wherein the at least one coupling feature extends radially with respect to the base portion (Fig. 8, pin 3.1 extending radially), and wherein the at least one coupling feature extends across at least a part of a circumference of the base portion (Fig 8 pin extends across part of circumference of base), wherein the coupling feature comprises or is a protrusion (see pin 3.1), wherein the electrode comprises the base portion having a lateral surface, wherein the protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface (Fig 8, pin 3.1 extends radially from lateral surface), and wherein the protrusion is configured to engage at least one recess of a coupling component configured to couple the electrode to the electrode receptacle (Fig 8, fixed lug boss 3.3 receives pin 3.1 to lock device). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lateral surface of the electrode of Le Lous to incorporate the at least one protrusion extending radially and configured to couple with a recess of the electrode receptacle. Doing so would advantageously provide an extra fixing capability to provide a secure coupling between the electrode and receptacle.
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the at least one groove has a varying depth along its length.
An alternative embodiment of Le Lous further teaches wherein the locking member (Fig 3 locking member 46) could comprise a thread on a side wall to cooperate with a complementary thread on the helmet (Pg 10-11 of translation; the complementary female thread to the locking member 46 has a varying depth along its length). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking member 46 and openings 26 to provide the groove with a varying depth along its length in the form of complementary threads to arrive at claim 18. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one well-known locking member configuration (Fig 2, locking member 46 with interference fit with opening 26) for another well-known locking member configuration (Pg 10-11; complementary threads of locking member and groove) to yield the predictable result of providing a locking mechanism for the electrode to be secured within the receptacle.
Regarding claim 19, Le Lous teaches An electrode receptacle for an electrode for recording an electric body signal (see Fig 2 receptacle to connected with sensor 30), the electrode receptacle comprising: an opening for receiving the electrode (see Fig 2), wherein the electrode is configured to be placed on a surface of a subject's body for recording an electric body signal (electrode 30 for placement on body); at least one coupling feature for coupling to the electrode (Figs 2-3 hole 20, opening 26, etc of receptacle for coupling with electrode 30); and an electrical pressure contact element arranged in a fixed position relative to the electrode receptacle and configured to contact the electrode when the electrode is held in a fixed position relative to the receptacle by the at least one coupling feature (Fig 2 contact blades 19 come into contact with electrical connection members 38 of electrode 30 when coupled together in a fixed position), wherein the base portion of the electrode receptacle has an axial surface facing a surface of the electrode (Fig 2 base surface of receptacle facing electrode 30), wherein said axial surface comprises at least one groove (Fig 2 openings 26), and wherein the at least one groove is configured to couple with at least one pin arranged at the surface of the electrode (Figs 2-3, openings 26 couple with locking members 45).
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the at least one coupling feature extends radially with respect to the base portion, and wherein the at least one coupling feature extends across at least a part of a circumference of the base portion, wherein the coupling feature comprises or is a protrusion, wherein the electrode comprises the base portion having a lateral surface, wherein the protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface, and wherein the protrusion is configured to engage at least one recess of a coupling component configured to couple the electrode to the electrode receptacle.
In related prior art, Duan teaches wherein the at least one coupling feature extends radially with respect to the base portion (Fig. 8, pin 3.1 extending radially), and wherein the at least one coupling feature extends across at least a part of a circumference of the base portion (Fig 8 pin extends across part of circumference of base), wherein the coupling feature comprises or is a protrusion (see pin 3.1), wherein the electrode comprises the base portion having a lateral surface, wherein the protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface (Fig 8, pin 3.1 extends radially from lateral surface), and wherein the protrusion is configured to engage at least one recess of a coupling component configured to couple the electrode to the electrode receptacle (Fig 8, fixed lug boss 3.3 receives pin 3.1 to lock device). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lateral surface of the electrode receptacle of Le Lous to incorporate the at least one protrusion extending radially and configured to couple with a recess of the electrode. Doing so would advantageously provide an extra fixing capability to provide a secure coupling between the electrode and receptacle.
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the at least one groove has a varying depth along its length.
An alternative embodiment of Le Lous further teaches wherein the locking member (Fig 3 locking member 46) could comprise a thread on a side wall to cooperate with a complementary thread on the helmet (Pg 10-11 of translation; the complementary female thread to the locking member 46 has a varying depth along its length). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking member 46 and openings 26 to provide the groove with a varying depth along its length in the form of complementary threads to arrive at claim 19. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one well-known locking member configuration (Fig 2, locking member 46 with interference fit with opening 26) for another well-known locking member configuration (Pg 10-11; complementary threads of locking member and groove) to yield the predictable result of providing a locking mechanism for the electrode to be secured within the receptacle.
Regarding claim 20, Le Lous teaches A system comprising: an electrode assembly comprising: an electrode configured to be placed on a surface of a subject's body for recording an electric body signal (Fig 2 sensor 30); an electrode receptacle configured to receive the electrode (see Fig 2 receptacle to connected with sensor 30); and a coupling component configured to couple the electrode to the electrode receptacle Figs 2-3 coupling component 45, wall 34, and general back surface of Fig 3 configured to couple to hole 20, opening 26, etc of receptacle), the coupling component having a locked configuration, in which the electrode is coupled to the electrode receptacle (configuration of Fig 1 when sensor 30 is coupled to receptacle), and an unlocked configuration, in which the electrode is decoupled from the electrode receptacle (configuration of Fig 2 is unlocked when sensor 30 is decoupled from receptacle), wherein the base portion of the electrode or the electrode receptacle has an axial surface facing a surface of the respective other of the electrode or electrode receptacle (Fig 2, axial surface of sensor receptacle facing sensor 30 as shown in Fig 2), wherein said axial surface comprises at least one groove (Fig 2, opening 26), and wherein the at least one groove is configured to couple with at least one pin arranged at the surface of the respective other of the electrode or the electrode receptacle (Figs 2-3, openings 26 couple with locking members 45); and a holder configured to hold the receptacle in a fixed position relative to the surface of a subject's body (Fig 1 helmet 11).
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the coupling component comprises at least one protrusion, wherein at least one of the electrode and the electrode receptacle comprises a base portion having a lateral surface, wherein the at least one protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface, and wherein the coupling component comprises at least one recess at the respective other of the electrode or electrode receptacle, the at least one recess being configured to engage the at least one protrusion.
In related prior art, Duan teaches wherein the coupling component comprises at least one protrusion (Fig. 8, pin 3.1), wherein at least one of the electrode and the electrode receptacle comprises a base portion having a lateral surface (Fig 8, electrode 3 with pin 3.1 on lateral surface thereof), wherein the at least one protrusion extends radially from the lateral surface (Fig 8, pin 3.1 extends radially from lateral surface), and wherein the coupling component comprises at least one recess at the respective other of the electrode or electrode receptacle, the at least one recess being configured to engage the at least one protrusion (Fig 8, fixed lug boss 3.3 receives pin 3.1 to lock device). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lateral surface of the electrode of Le Lous to incorporate the at least one protrusion extending radially and configured to couple with a recess of the electrode receptacle. Doing so would advantageously provide an extra fixing capability to provide a secure coupling between the electrode and receptacle.
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the at least one groove has a varying depth along its length.
An alternative embodiment of Le Lous further teaches wherein the locking member (Fig 3 locking member 46) could comprise a thread on a side wall to cooperate with a complementary thread on the helmet (Pg 10-11 of translation; the complementary female thread to the locking member 46 has a varying depth along its length). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking member 46 and openings 26 to provide the groove with a varying depth along its length in the form of complementary threads to arrive at claim 20. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one well-known locking member configuration (Fig 2, locking member 46 with interference fit with opening 26) for another well-known locking member configuration (Pg 10-11; complementary threads of locking member and groove) to yield the predictable result of providing a locking mechanism for the electrode to be secured within the receptacle.
Claim(s) 16, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Lous in view of Duan, and in further view of Attal (EP 3372157)
Regarding claim 16, in view of the combination of claim 1 above, Le Lous further teaches an electrical pressure contact element arranged in a fixed pose relative to the electrode receptacle and configured to contact the electrode when the coupling component is in the locked configuration (Fig 2 contact blades 19 come into contact with electrical connection members 38 of electrode 30 when coupled together in a fixed position).
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the electrode assembly further comprises an electronic circuit board arranged on the electrode receptacle, wherein the electrical pressure contact element is arranged on the electronic circuit board, wherein further the electrode receptacle contact is the electrical pressure contact element.
In related prior art, Attal teaches a similar device wherein the electrode assembly further comprises an electronic circuit board arranged on the electrode receptacle (Fig 9, circuit board 129 within receptacle). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Le Lous in view of Duan and Attal to incorporate the circuit board in the electrode receptacle and connected with the electrical pressure contact of Le Lous to arrive at the device of claim 16. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of circuit boards to electrically connect to electrical components for processing or signal transmission is well-known in the art to yield predictable results therein (Pg 10 of Le Lous contact blades 19 ensure signal transmission to processing unit 2).
Regarding claim 21, in view of the combination of claim 16 above, Le Lous further teaches an electrical pressure contact element arranged in a fixed pose relative to the electrode receptacle and configured to contact the electrode when the coupling component is in the locked configuration (Fig 2 contact blades 19 come into contact with electrical connection members 38 of electrode 30 when coupled together in a fixed position); a first circuit board arranged at an element of the holder to be placed on a rear side of the user's head (Fig 1 headband at reference character 10/11 comprises circuitry for connection to processor 2); and wiring electrically connecting the first circuit board with the electrical pressure contact element (Pg 8 communication between headset 11 and processing unit can be wired)
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the electrode assembly further comprises an electronic circuit board arranged on the electrode receptacle, wherein the electrical pressure contact element is arranged on the electronic circuit board, wherein further the electrode receptacle contact is the electrical pressure contact element.
In related prior art, Attal teaches a similar device wherein the electrode assembly further comprises an electronic circuit board arranged on the electrode receptacle (Fig 9, circuit board 129 within receptacle). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Le Lous in view of Duan and Attal to incorporate the circuit boards in the electrode receptacle and headset as claimed Le Lous to arrive at the device of claim 21. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of circuit boards to electrically connect to electrical components for processing or signal transmission is well-known in the art to yield predictable results therein (Pg 10 of Le Lous contact blades 19 ensure signal transmission to processing unit 2).
Regarding claim 22, in view of the combination of claim 21 above, Le Lous further teaches a second circuit board comprising circuitry for collecting an electroencephalography, EEG, measurement signal from the first circuit board (Fig 1 processing unit 2), wherein the second circuit board is arranged at the element of the holder to be placed on the rear side of the user's head (Fig 1 and pg 8, communication between headset 11 and processing unit 2 can be wired).
Le Lous fails to teach wherein the first and second circuit board is removably coupled.
Attal further teaches wherein a similar second circuit board is removably coupled to the headset ([0212] control unit 2 and cable 14 are removably connected). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Le Lous in view of Duan and Attal to incorporate the second circuit board of the processing unit as removably coupled with the first circuit board of the headset to arrive at the system of claim 22. Doing so would advantageously enable the processing unit to be uncoupled from the headset when the headset is not in use, for example, to clean or dispose of the headset and/or to gather data from the processing unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 7 and 14, the Le Lous, Duan, Attal, Russell (U.S. PGPub No. 2012/0165645), and Laszlo (U.S. PGPub No. 2019/0196586) references fail to teach the at least one second protrusion extending radially inward from the inner surface, and wherein the at least one recess is axially confined by the at least one second protrusion and wherein the recess is formed by the at least one second protrusion and an inner wall of the electrode receptacle. The Le Lous reference fails to teach the second protrusion of the receptacle. Duan teaches a receptacle having a protrusion (2.3 and 2.31 of Fig 8), but fails to teach said protrusion extending radially inward from the inner surface of the opening and the at least one recess being axially confined by the at least one second protrusion. The Attal reference fails to cure the above noted deficiency. Other prior art deemed pertinent, such as Russel and Laszlo, equally fail to cure the above noted deficiencies. Any such combination made to arrive at claims 7 and 14 would necessarily rely on impermissible hindsight benefit using information gleaned from the applicant’s specification. No other pertinent prior art reference were found that would overcome the above deficiencies. Therefore, there is no motivation (either in these references or elsewhere in the art) for making such specific and significant modifications thereto to arrive at claim(s) 7 and 14.
Conclusion
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794