DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment of 01/22/2026.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
All previous claim objections are overcome by amendment.
Regarding claim 13, the erroneous period was at the end of line 6 after a space, corresponding to the comma in line 7 of the current version of the claim. Since a comma is more appropriate for the situation, the objection is withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are overcome by amendment.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103
Applicant’s argument is that Wang performs wavelength filtering using a magnetic field, however, this argument is moot. Wang is not relied on to teach the claim element specifically challenged.
Since the independent claims are not allowable, the dependent claims are not automatically allowable.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 does not properly use subscripts for the numbers in the chemical symbols listed.
In claim 4, the last two crystal classes are currently listed as “class 4” and “class 42 m”, but were listed as “class
4
-
” and “class
4
-
2m” in the previous version of the claims. It should be noted that the bar above the numeral 4 does change the meaning of the crystal class. Given that the status indicator listed for claim 4 is “Original”, that Applicant’s do not list claim 4 among the claims currently amended, and that “class 4” is still listed separately in the claim, it is assumed that this is a typographical error until such a time as Applicant clarifies otherwise and uses an appropriate status indicator.
The status indicator of claim 13 is incorrect. The punctuation of claim 13 is different in the current version than in the previous version (line 6 previously ended with “sequentially aligned with the first polarizer .”, while the corresponding section recites “sequentially aligned with the first polarizer,” in the current version. Any future versions of claim 13 should be marked either “Previously Presented”, “Currently Amended”, or an appropriate equivalent, depending on whether the claim is amended again therein, rather than “Original”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Patent Publication 20200192133) in view of Klipov (Non-Patent Literature “Large Quartz Crystals for High Power Optical and Laser Applications”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system, comprising:
a first polarizer (FIG. 2, polarizer P0) configured to transmit an electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization in a first direction of polarization (FIG. 2, polarization state oriented vertically on the page), wherein the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization includes all wavelengths in a spectral range (FIG. 2, all three initial wavelengths are included in the polarized light downstream of polarizer P0);
a crystal filter (FIG. 2, dispersive magneto-optic material MO) in communication with the first polarizer to receive the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization (FIG. 2, note that the light coming from polarizer P0 is polarized vertically on the page), wherein the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization includes a plurality of different wavelengths within a spectral range (FIG. 2, wavelengths λ1, λ2, and λ3), wherein the crystal filter is configured to rotate the first direction of polarization for the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization by different rotation angles for the different wavelengths in the spectral range (FIG. 2, each wavelength has a different polarization orientation downstream of dispersive magneto-optic material MO);
a second polarizer (FIG. 2, polarizer P1) in communication with the crystal filter to receive the plurality of different wavelengths and transmit an electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization in a second direction of polarization (FIG. 2, light exiting polarizer P1); and
a sensor configured to sense and output a signal indicative of a spectral image (FIG. 1, focal plane array 18) at a predetermined wavelength corresponding to the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (FIG. 2, λ2).
Wang uses a magneto-optic material to achieve the dispersive optical rotation, so does not rotate the polarization of light without application of a magnetic field.
In the same field of endeavor of optical rotation, Klipov does teach a way to rotate the polarization of light without application of a magnetic field (second page, third full paragraph, which describes how the screw component in the crystal structure of quartz explains its optical activity (rotation) in a particular direction. Note that the screw component and the associated optical rotation are present even without applying a magnetic field. Note that the optical rotation of quartz is dispersive based on wavelength (see the first paragraph of page 483 of Chandrasekhar (Non-Patent Literature “Theoretical Interpretation of the Optical Activity of Quartz”))). By using quartz, Klipov is able to observe optical rotation without needing to apply a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang with the quartz crystals of Klipov in order to produce optical rotation without needing the complication of applying a magnetic field achieving the same predictable result of filtering light in a way that can be tuned by the angle of one or more polarizers (see paragraph 20 of Wang).
Regarding claim 2, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches controller circuitry configured (FIG. 27, master controller 40) to rotate the second polarizer to change the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization to another second direction of polarization to tune the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (FIG. 27, actuator A1).
Regarding claim 3, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang does not explicitly teach that the crystal filter comprises at least one of quartz, Te, Se, TeO2, AgGaS2, Benzil, LiIO3, HIO3, Bi12GeO20, HgS, Hg3Te2Cl2, GaSe, or (GaxIn1-x)2Se3.
In the same field of endeavor of optical rotation, Klipov does teach that the crystal filter comprises at least one of quartz, Te, Se, TeO2, AgGaS2, Benzil, LiIO3, HIO3, Bi12GeO20, HgS, Hg3Te2Cl2, GaSe, or (GaxIn1-x)2Se3 (quartz, described on the second page, third full paragraph, and elsewhere as having optical rotation). By using quartz, Klipov is able to observe optical rotation without needing to apply a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang, as modified by Klipov, by using the quartz crystal of Klipov as the specific means to produce the magnetic field-free way of rotating light, with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang does not explicitly teach that the crystal filter is a crystal in a crystal class, the crystal class comprising class 1, class 2, class 222, class 4, class 422, class 3, class 32, class 6, class 622, class 432, class 23, class m, class mm2, class
4
-
or class
4
-
2m.
In the same field of endeavor of optical rotation, Klipov does teach that the crystal filter is a crystal in a crystal class, the crystal class comprising class 1, class 2, class 222, class 4, class 422, class 3, class 32 (second page, second full paragraph, points out that quartz crystal has point symmetry group 32), class 6, class 622, class 432, class 23, class m, class mm2, class
4
-
or class
4
-
2m. By using quartz, which belongs to one of the claimed crystal classes, Klipov is able to observe optical rotation without needing to apply a magnetic field (see second page, second paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang, as modified by Klipov, by using the quartz crystal of Klipov, which belongs to one of the claimed crystal classes, as the specific means to produce the magnetic field-free way of rotating light, with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches that the crystal filter is substantially transparent (FIG. 2, note that the electromagnetic waves that enter dispersive magneto-optic material MO also exit it) and has dispersive optical-activity (DOA) at the spectral range (FIG. 2, different wavelengths of light are dispersed in terms of polarization direction). Note that the quartz of Klipov also exhibits these properties (see the first paragraph of section 1 of Klipov) and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a kind of quartz with these properties as the quartz used in the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang, as modified by Klipov. Also see the first paragraph of page 483 of Chandrasekhar (Non-Patent Literature “Theoretical Interpretation of the Optical Activity of Quartz”), which points out the rotary dispersion of quartz.
Regarding claim 6, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches controller circuitry (FIG. 27, master controller 40) configured to independently rotate the first polarizer (FIG. 27, using actuator A0) and the second polarizer (FIG. 27, using actuator A1), the first polarizer rotated by the controller circuitry to change the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization to another first direction of polarization, and the second polarizer rotated by the controller circuitry to change the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization to another second direction of polarization to tune the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization and the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (paragraph 130. Also see FIG. 2, which shows the electromagnetic waves in ways that may be instructive in interpreting FIG. 27).
Regarding claim 7, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the (as described above).
Wang further teaches the controller circuitry is configured to initially rotate the first polarizer and the second polarizer to a predetermined same direction of polarization to align the first polarizer and the second polarizer (FIG. 6 shows a case, case 1, in which polarizer P0 and polarizer P1 are aligned vertically along the page), before independent rotation of the first polarizer and the second polarizer to tune the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization and the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (FIG. 27, using separate actuators, A0 and A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches a motor configured to physically rotate at least one of the first polarizer (FIG. 27, actuator A0), the second polarizer (FIG. 27, actuator A1), or the crystal filter.
Regarding claim 9, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches a controller circuitry (FIG. 27, master controller 40) configured to rotate the first polarizer (FIG. 27, actuator A0), the second polarizer (FIG. 27, actuator A1), or both, wherein the first polarizer, or the second polarizer, or both comprise an electro-optically tunable polarizer tunably controlled by control signals from the controller circuitry (FIG. 27, master controller 40 uses electrical signals to tune the optical properties of the polarizers, specifically the direction of polarization).
Regarding claim 10, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches that the spectral range of the electromagnetic radiation wave is in a range of wavelengths from 400nm to 750nm (FIG. 1A, visible image sensor 1A. Note that wavelengths of 400 nm to 750 nm roughly correspond to the portion of the electromagnetic spectrum considered to be visible light.).
Wang does not explicitly teach that the crystal filter comprises a quartz single crystal cut along a (0001) surface.
In the same field of endeavor of optical rotation, Klipov does teach a quartz single crystal cut along a (0001) surface (second page, second and third full paragraphs). Klipov points out that (0001) cut quartz is often used for optical rotation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang, as modified by Klipov, with the (0001) cut quartz of Klipov as a means to perform the optical rotation of the polarization state of the light studied by Wang, due to the well-known suitability of such quartz for the purpose of optical rotation.
Regarding claim 12, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches that the first polarizer and the second polarizer are linear polarizers (FIG. 2, the polarization states downstream of polarizer P0 are shown as linear polarization states, indicating that P0 is a linear polarizer. Polarizer P1 is shown as taking in one linear polarization state and transmitting it (associated with wavelength λ2), while the orthogonal polarization state (associated with wavelength λ3) is blocked. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand from this that polarizer P1 is a linear polarizer. Additionally, a component described as a “polarizer” (as Wang uses), absent any evidence to the contrary, would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to refer to a linear polarizer. Wang lacks such contrary evidence.).
Regarding claim 13, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
Wang further teaches that the crystal filter comprises a plurality of crystal filters and the second polarizer comprises a plurality of second polarizers (FIG. 27), and wherein a first one of the crystal filters (FIG. 27, MO1) and a first one of the second polarizers (FIG. 27, polarizer P1) are optically aligned to form a first group, and a second one of the crystal filters (FIG. 27, MO2) and a second one of the second polarizers (FIG. 27, P2) are optically aligned to form a second group, the first group optically and sequentially aligned with the first polarizer (FIG. 27, P0) such that the first one of the crystal filters is in optical communication with the first polarizer, and the first one of the second polarizers is optically aligned to optically communicate with the second one of the crystal filters (FIG. 27, optical communication occurs along optical axis 16).
Regarding claim 14, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 13 (as described above).
Wang further teaches that the crystal filters comprise right-handed crystals having a clockwise rotational direction of polarization for the electromagnetic radiation wave and left-handed crystals having a counter-clockwise rotational direction of polarization for the electromagnetic radiation wave (FIG. 26. While not explicit which set of crystal filters has clockwise and which has counter-clockwise rotation, the dispersive element in device 210 has a rotation direction opposite those in filter 200, so both rotation directions are represented).
Note that the quartz crystals used by Klipov also have left and right handed forms with opposite directions of rotation (see the first paragraph of page 483 of Chandrasekhar (Non-Patent Literature “Theoretical Interpretation of the Optical Activity of Quartz”), which points out that the two enantiomers of quartz have opposite rotation directions) and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang, as modified by Klipov, to use the two enantiomers of quartz to provide the two rotation directions, with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches a method of image analysis comprising:
transmitting electromagnetic radiation through a first polarizer (FIG. 2, polarizer P0);
generating, with the first polarizer, an electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization in a first direction of polarization (FIG. 2, polarization state oriented vertically on the page), wherein the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization includes all wavelengths in a spectral range (FIG. 2, all three initial wavelengths are included in the polarized light downstream of polarizer P0);
receiving, with a crystal filter in communication with the first polarizer, the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization (FIG. 2, dispersive magneto-optic material MO);
rotating, with the crystal filter, the first direction of polarization for the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization by different rotation angles for different wavelengths in the spectral range (FIG. 2, each wavelength has a different polarization orientation downstream of dispersive magneto-optic material MO);
receiving, with a second polarizer in communication with the crystal filter, the plurality of different wavelengths (FIG. 2, polarizer P1);
transmitting, with the second polarizer, an electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization in a second direction of polarization (FIG. 2, light exiting polarizer P1);
sensing, with a sensor, the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (FIG. 1, focal plane array 18); and
outputting, with the sensor, a signal representative of a spectral image at a predetermined wavelength corresponding to the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (FIG. 2, λ2).
Wang uses a magneto-optic material to achieve the dispersive optical rotation, so does not rotate the polarization of light without application of a magnetic field.
In the same field of endeavor of optical rotation, Klipov does teach a way to rotate the polarization of light without application of a magnetic field (second page, third full paragraph, which describes how the screw component in the crystal structure of quartz explains its optical activity (rotation) in a particular direction. Note that the screw component and the associated optical rotation are present even without applying a magnetic field. Note that the optical rotation of quartz is dispersive based on wavelength (see the first paragraph of page 483 of Chandrasekhar (Non-Patent Literature “Theoretical Interpretation of the Optical Activity of Quartz”))). By using quartz, Klipov is able to observe optical rotation without needing to apply a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of image analysis of Wang with the quartz crystals of Klipov in order to produce optical rotation without needing the complication of applying a magnetic field achieving the same predictable result of filtering light in a way that can be tuned by the angle of one or more polarizers (see paragraph 20 of Wang).
Regarding claim 16, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the method of claim 15 (as described above).
Wang further teaches controlling, with a controller circuitry (FIG. 27, master controller 40), rotation of the first polarizer to change the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization to another first direction of polarization (FIG. 27, using actuator A0), and controlling, with the controller circuitry, rotation of the second polarizer to change the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization to another second direction of polarization (FIG. 27, using actuator A1) to tune the electromagnetic radiation wave of first polarization and the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (paragraph 130. Also see FIG. 2, which shows the electromagnetic waves in ways that may be instructive in interpreting FIG. 27).
Regarding claim 17, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the method of claim 15 (as described above).
Wang further teaches controlling, with a controller circuitry (FIG. 27, master controller 40), rotation of the second polarizer to change the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization to another second direction of polarization to tune the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (FIG. 27, actuator A1).
Regarding claim 18, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the method of claim 15 (as described above).
Wang further teaches sequentially rotating the second polarizer to a plurality of different rotatable orientations to change the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization to multiple different corresponding second directions of polarization to tune the electromagnetic radiation wave of second polarization (shown in FIG. 19, but used elsewhere, too, including FIG. 27).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches a tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system, comprising:
a first polarizer (FIG. 2, polarizer P0) configured to generate from electromagnetic radiation a polarized electromagnetic radiation of one direction (FIG. 2, polarization state oriented vertically on the page) comprising a plurality of wavelengths (FIG. 2, all three initial wavelengths are included in the polarized light downstream of polarizer P0);
a crystal filter (FIG. 2, dispersive magneto-optic material MO) in optical axial alignment with the first polarizer, the crystal filter configured to receive the polarized electromagnetic radiation of one direction and to rotate the direction of polarization by different rotation angles for different wavelengths (FIG. 2, each wavelength has a different polarization orientation downstream of dispersive magneto-optic material MO);
a second polarizer (FIG. 2, polarizer P1) in optical axial alignment with the crystal filter, the second polarizer configured as a tunable spectral filter to generate a transmission spectrum at each of a plurality of different polarization directions according to an axial orientation of the second polarizer with respect to an optical axis of the second polarizer (FIG. 2, light exiting polarizer P1); and
a sensor configured to generate a spectral frame (FIG. 1, focal plane array 18) for the transmission spectrum at each of the plurality of different polarization directions, the spectral frame representative of a spectral image at a respective polarization direction (FIG. 2, λ2).
Wang uses a magneto-optic material to achieve the dispersive optical rotation, so does not rotate the polarization of light without application of a magnetic field.
In the same field of endeavor of optical rotation, Klipov does teach a way to rotate the polarization of light without application of a magnetic field (second page, third full paragraph, which describes how the screw component in the crystal structure of quartz explains its optical activity (rotation) in a particular direction. Note that the screw component and the associated optical rotation are present even without applying a magnetic field. Note that the optical rotation of quartz is dispersive based on wavelength (see the first paragraph of page 483 of Chandrasekhar (Non-Patent Literature “Theoretical Interpretation of the Optical Activity of Quartz”))). By using quartz, Klipov is able to observe optical rotation without needing to apply a magnetic field.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang with the quartz crystals of Klipov in order to produce optical rotation without needing the complication of applying a magnetic field achieving the same predictable result of filtering light in a way that can be tuned by the angle of one or more polarizers (see paragraph 20 of Wang).
Regarding claim 20, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 19 (as described above).
Wang further teaches a controller circuitry configured to axially rotate the second polarizer to each of the different polarization directions (FIG. 27, master controller 40, connected to actuator A1).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Patent Publication 20200192133) in view of Klipov (Non-Patent Literature “Large Quartz Crystals for High Power Optical and Laser Applications”) and Ades (Non-Patent Literature “Optical activity of tellurium to 20 µm”).
Regarding claim 11, Wang, as modified by Klipov, teaches or renders obvious the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of claim 1 (as described above).
While Wang generally teaches the use of a broader spectral range (see FIG. 7, FIG. 8, etc., which plot a spectral range from 2 or 3 µm to 14 µm), a spectral range of the electromagnetic radiation wave in a range of wavelengths from 3.8 µm to 6 µm is encompassed by the range disclosed by Wang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have studied the particular subrange of 3.8 µm to 6 µm out of the broader range studied by Wang in order to measure particular optical phenomena associated with that particular subrange of wavelengths.
Wang does not explicitly teach that the crystal filter comprises a tellurium (Te) single crystal cut along a (0001) surface.
In the same field of endeavor of rotating the polarization of light, Ades teaches that the crystal filter comprises a tellurium (Te) single crystal cut along a (0001) surface (paragraph 1). Ades shows that tellurium cut along that particular plane can be used for left- and right-handed optical rotations in the wavelength range claimed (FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tunable hyperspectral-polarimetric imaging system of Wang, as modified by Klipov, with the (0001) cut tellurium of Ades as an alternative to the quartz of Klipov in order to take advantage of the dispersive levorotatory and/or dextrorotatory effects of tellurium in the desired wavelength range, still without applying a magnetic field.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877