DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on 02/03/2025. Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-18 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-18 is as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023 and 10/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the at least one fixture counterpart". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the pin" and “the through-hole”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the headset comprises a plurality of side bands, wherein the second connector element of each side band is configured to be connected to the first connector element such that the length of each of the plurality of side bands can be adjusted separately from the length of the others of the plurality of side band … wherein the first connector element comprises the at least one fixture counterpart, wherein the at least one fixture counterpart is configured to couple to the one or more of the plurality of fixture elements of each of the plurality of side bands.” This limitation is already recited in parent claim 10 and appears to be a duplicate recitation, thus making it unclear if applicant intends to recite a second set of these limitations or recite antecedent basis to the same structure of claim 10. For examination purposes, these limitations will be interpreted to be the same as claim 10.
Claim 18 recites “the headset according to claim 1 … at least one EEG measurement electrode”. It is unclear if “at least one EEG measurement electrode” is to be interpreted as a narrowing of “a measurement electrode” of claim 1 or reciting new and distinct measurement electrodes. For examination purposes, the eeg measurement electrode will be interpreted as a narrowing of the measurement electrode recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Low (U.S. PGPub No. 2011/0098593) in view of Christian (U.S. PGPub No. 2002/0152539).
Regarding claim 1, Low teaches A size-adjustable headset for monitoring bioelectrical signals, the headset comprising: a headband comprising a first connector element (Fig 2, head harness 10 with headband with Velcro 42 [0021]); at least one side band comprising a second connector element distant from a first end of the at least one side band (Fig 2 side band 20 with velcro 28 distant from first end of sideband 20); and at least one electrode contact configured to be electrically connected to a measurement electrode (Figs 1-2, electrode snap connector assemblies 68/69 each define contact and measurement electrodes), wherein the first connector element and the second connector element are configured to be connected to one another such that a length of the at least one side band between the first end and the first connector element can be adjusted (Figs 1-2 and [0021] Velcro connection allows for adjustable length).
Low fails to teach the headset further comprising a protection unit configured to, when the first connector element and the second connector element are connected to one another and when the protection unit is in a first state, block a disconnection of the first connector element and the second connector element, wherein the protection unit is configured to, when the first connector element and the second connector element are connected to one another and when the protection unit is in a second state, allow the disconnection of the first connector element and the second connector element, wherein the protection unit comprises a lock configured to, when actuated by a key, shift the protection unit from the first state to the second state or from the second state to the first state.
In related prior art, Christian teaches a similar headgear device comprising a protection unit (Fig 1 cover device 10 protecting adjustable fastening of headgear) configured to, when the first connector element and the second connector element are connected to one another and when the protection unit is in a first state, block a disconnection of the first connector element and the second connector element (see Fig 1, cover device 10 blocks disconnection of connector elements), wherein the protection unit is configured to, when the first connector element and the second connector element are connected to one another and when the protection unit is in a second state, allow the disconnection of the first connector element and the second connector element (Fig 1, when panel 48 is removed or open, the disconnection of connector portions is enabled), wherein the protection unit comprises a lock configured to, when actuated by a key, shift the protection unit from the first state to the second state or from the second state to the first state (Fig 3 lock of device 10 via hook and loop 42 shifts cover device 10 from first and second state and is capable of being actuated by a key). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector elements of Low in view of Christian to incorporate the protection unit to block a disconnection of the connector elements to arrive at the device of claim 1. Doing so would advantageously prevent the inadvertent disconnection of the connector elements during use to maintain connection and contact of electrodes with the user for physiological recording.
Regarding claims 2-3, Low teaches wherein the first connector element and the second connector element are configured to be connected to one another such that the length of the at least one side band between the first end and the first connector element can be adjusted between a plurality of predefined lengths (Figs 1-2, hook and loop fastener can be connected at different locations to adjust length at predefined lengths [0021]); wherein the first connector element and the second connector element are configured to be connected to one another in a plurality of predefined positions (Figs 1-2, hook and loop fastener can be connected at different locations to adjust length at predefined lengths [0021])).
Regarding claim 4, Low teaches wherein one of the first connector element and the second connector element comprises a plurality of fixture elements spaced apart from one another in a direction of the at least one side band, and wherein the respective other of the first connector element and the second connector element comprises at least one fixture counterpart configured to couple to one or more of the plurality of fixture elements (Figs 1-2, hook and loop fixture is defined by a plurality of ‘hooks’ (i.e., fixture elements spaced from one another) that mate with counterpart ‘loops’).
Regarding claim 13, Low teaches wherein the first connector element is arranged on an element of the headband configured to be placed in a temporal region of a user's head (Fig 2, first connector element 42 is in temporal region of head).
Regarding claim 14, Low teaches wherein the first end of the at least one side band is attached relative to the headband (Fig 2, first end of side band 20 is attached relative to headband).
Regarding claim 15, Low teaches a middle band attached to the headband, wherein the middle band is configured to extend between a front side and a rear side of the user's head, wherein the at least one side band is attached to the middle band (Fig 2, device has middle band between a front and rear side of head that is attached to side band 20).
Regarding claims 16-17, Low teaches a first circuit board (Fig 1 data acquisition module 50); and one or more wires electrically connecting the first circuit board with the at least one electrode contact (lead wire 56, 58, 60); a second circuit board comprising circuitry for collecting an electroencephalography measurement signal from the first circuit board (Fig 3 and [0031] step 104 circuit board of peripheral device receives EEG signals from module 50); wherein the second circuit board is removably coupled to the first circuit board ([0030-0031] peripheral device is removably wirelessly coupled to module 50).
Regarding claim 18, Low/Christian teaches An electroencephalography (EEG) measurement system comprising: the headset according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and at least one EEG measurement electrode, wherein the at least one electrode contact is electrically connected to the at least one EEG measurement electrode (Figs 1-2, electrode snap connector assemblies 68/69 each define an EEG contact and EEG measurement electrodes).
Claim(s) 5-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Low in view of Christian, and in further view of Cho (U.S. PGPub No. 2014/0053319).
Regarding claim 5, Low/Christain teach the device of claim 4. Low teaches that “the fastener may be a hook and loop, Velcro, snap, button, buckle or any other fastening device that allows for custom fit, adjustment and comfort” ([0021]).
Low fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of fixture elements comprises a hole and the at least one fixture counterpart comprises a plurality of pins, each of the plurality of pins configured to at least partially extend into the hole of a corresponding fixture element of the plurality of fixture elements.
In related prior art, Cho teaches a similar headgear device comprising a plurality of fixture elements comprises a hole and the at least one fixture counterpart comprises a plurality of pins (Figs 2a-b, protrusions 111a), each of the plurality of pins configured to at least partially extend into the hole of a corresponding fixture element of the plurality of fixture elements (Fig 2a-b holes 113a). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fastener of Low in view of Christian and Cho to incorporate the pins and hole fastener of Cho to arrive at the device of claim 5. Doing so would have been a simple substitution of one well-known fastener (Low [0021]) for another well-known fastener (Cho Figs 2a-b) to yield the predictable result of a fastening mechanism that allows for custom fit, adjustment, and comfort (Low [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Low/Christain/Cho teach the device of claim 5, Cho further teaches wherein the hole is a through-hole, wherein the pin is configured to extend into the hole from a first side of the hole, and wherein the pin is configured to protrude from the hole from a second side of the hole (see Fig 3a), and one or more of: wherein the second side is opposite to the first side (Fig 2-3a protrusions 111a extend from first side of hole to opposite second side), wherein the hole extends in a lateral direction of the at least one sideband and the pin extends in a lateral direction of the headband (Figs 2-3a pin 11a and hole 113a extend in lateral direction), or wherein the pin extends in a lateral direction of the at least one sideband and the hole extends in a lateral direction of the headband (Figs 2-3a pin 11a and hole 113a extend in lateral direction). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fastener of Low in view of Christian and Cho to incorporate the pins and hole fastener of Cho to arrive at the device of claim 6. Doing so would have been a simple substitution of one well-known fastener (Low [0021]) for another well-known fastener (Cho Figs 2a-b) to yield the predictable result of a fastening mechanism that allows for custom fit, adjustment, and comfort (Low [0021]).
Regarding claim 8, Low/Christian/Cho teach the device of claim 4, Cho further teaches wherein the pin comprises a first axial end and a second axial end (Figs 2a-3, pins 111a have first and second axial ends), the first axial end being closer to the headband than the second axial end (Figs 2a-3, first axial end is directly connected to band), wherein the pin comprises an end element at the second axial end, the end element being radially wider than a part of the pin adjacent to the end element (Fig 2-3a, protrusion 111a has wider end element at second axial end).
Christian further teaches wherein the protection unit is configured to, in the first state, couple to the end element of the pin to restrict movement of the hole relative to the pin in an axial direction of the pin (Figs 3, 6, pin has similar radially wider end element with a through hole connection; the cover device 10 restricts movement of the hole relative to the pin). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Low in view of Christian and Cho to incorporate the pin and hole fastener and protection unit of Christian and Cho to arrive at the device of claim 8. Doing so would have been a simple substitution of one well-known fastener (Low [0021]) for another well-known fastener (Cho Figs 2a-b) to yield the predictable result of a fastening mechanism that allows for custom fit, adjustment, and comfort (Low [0021]) and advantageously prevent the inadvertent disconnection of the connector elements during use to maintain connection and contact of electrodes with the user for physiological recording.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Low in view of Christian, and in further view of Stoler (U.S. PGPub No. 2005/0197556).
Regarding claim 10, Low/Christain teach the device of claim 1.
Low fails to teach wherein the headset comprises a plurality of side bands, wherein the second connector element of each side band is configured to be connected to the first connector element such that the length of each of the plurality of side bands can be adjusted separately from the length of the others of the plurality of side bands, wherein the first connector element comprises the at least one fixture counterpart, wherein the at least one fixture counterpart is configured to couple to the one or more of the plurality of fixture elements of each of the plurality of side bands.
In related prior art, Stoler teaches a similar device wherein the headset comprises a plurality of side bands (Fig 1 side bands 11), wherein the second connector element of each side band is configured to be connected to the first connector element such that the length of each of the plurality of side bands can be adjusted separately from the length of the others of the plurality of side bands (Fig 1 each band 11 is connected to connector element of headband 10), wherein the first connector element comprises the at least one fixture counterpart (Fig 1 [0029] headband 10 has hook and loop material), wherein the at least one fixture counterpart is configured to couple to the one or more of the plurality of fixture elements of each of the plurality of side bands (Fig 1 each band 11 has corresponding hook and loop material to make length adjustable). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Low in view of Stoler to incorporate the plurality of sidebands each connected to the first connector element to arrive at the device of claim 10. Doing so would advantageously allow for more electrodes to be utilized to gather more EEG leads in accordance with the 10/20 system ([0006]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Low in view of Christian, in view of Stoler and Cho.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the combination of claim 10 above, Stoler, as stated above, teaches a plurality of side bands (Fig 1 side bands 11), wherein the second connector element of each side band is configured to be connected to the first connector element such that the length of each of the plurality of side bands can be adjusted separately from the length of the others of the plurality of side bands (Fig 1 each band 11 is connected to connector element of headband 10), wherein the first connector element comprises the at least one fixture counterpart (Fig 1 [0029] headband 10 has hook and loop material), wherein the at least one fixture counterpart is configured to couple to the one or more of the plurality of fixture elements of each of the plurality of side bands (Fig 1 each band 11 has corresponding hook and loop material to make length adjustable).
Low/Christian/Stoler fails to teach wherein the pin is configured to extend through the through-hole of each of the plurality of side bands.
Cho teaches wherein the pin is configured to extend through the through-hole of each of the plurality of side bands (Figs 2a-b, protrusions 111a). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sideband of Low in view of Stoler, Christian, and Cho to incorporate the pin and through hole connection mechanism such that each side band has a through hole capable of mating with the pins of the first connector element to arrive at claim 12. Doing so would have been a simple substitution of one well-known fastener (Low [0021]) for another well-known fastener (Cho Figs 2a-b) to yield the predictable result of a fastening mechanism that allows for custom fit, adjustment, and comfort (Low [0021]).
Conclusion
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794