DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/19/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 10-16 are pending. Claims 1-9 and 17 are cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/19/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 101879148 to Donghua University (“Donghua”, and note the attached translation in the Office action mailed 09/19/2025) in view of applicant’s admitted prior art (“AAPA”).
Regarding claim 10, Donghua teaches an apparatus (para [0001], [0012], [0027], translation, abstract) made from a hydrogel characterized in that the apparatus is made from a hydrogel of bacterial cellulose.
Donghua does not explicitly teach that the apparatus is usable as a dam and that the cellulose comprises nanocelluse. However, hydrogels made from bacterial cellulose were known in the art as dimensionally stable (see, e.g., AAPA, the present specification at page 1, paragraph beginning “Dimensionally stable”), and It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Donghua apparatus as was known wherein the cellulose comprises nanocellulose, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it was known as dimensionally stable. Further, the modified Donghua apparatus appears to be fully capable of being used as a rubber dam since it is disclosed a useful as a medical-grade patch (translation, abstract) and includes the claimed components.
Regarding claim 11, Donghua discloses an apparatus made of bacterial nanocellulose with a cellulose content of more than 0.5% by weight (translation, page 7, Embodiment 7).
Regarding claim 12, Donghua discloses an apparatus wherein the hydrogel made of bacterial nanocellulose is loaded with water and another substance (claims 1, 2 and 9).
Regarding claim 13, Donghua discloses an apparatus wherein the other substance is a pharmaceutical (claims 1, 2 and 9).
Regarding claim 14, Donghua does not explicitly teach the apparatus has a water content of between 7.5% and 99.5% by weight. However, it can be reasonably expected that the Donghua apparatus has a water content of between 7.5% and 99.5% by weight since water content of the bacterial cellulose hydrogel in preparation is disclosed as 70% - 90%. Note that similar and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 15, Donghua discloses an apparatus with a thickness of between 0.1-3 mm (translation, page 3, last paragraph). Note that similar and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.05(I). Further, since a thickness that is too low risks insufficient strength, while a thickness that is too high risks waste, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to optimize the thickness through routine experimentation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Donghua discloses sterilizing the apparatus (translation, abstract), but does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein in it is reprocessed by a method comprising washing the loaded utensil in a lye solution; and sterilizing the utensil. However, this is interpreted as a product-by-process claim, and product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The Donghua apparatus appears to be substantially identical to the claimed apparatus, and it is not clear what, if any, structure is implied by the recited steps. Note MPEP 2113(I) and (II). Thus, the Donghua apparatus appears to read on the claimed apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the presently claimed dam is impermeable) (remarks, para bridging pages 7-8) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that cellulose and nanocellulose are not necessarily interchangeable, such that the Dongua/AAPA modification would require processing (remarks, page 8, para beginning “In contrast”), the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Indeed, the breathability, or permeability, of nanocellulose depends on, inter alia, how it is processed (e.g., porous membranes).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714