DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 3700 is used in specification paragraphs 0134, 0135, and does not appear in the Figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a film supply unit” in claim 1, interpreted as rollers (figure 2)
“a compression unit” in claim 1, interpreted as a roller and ring member (figure 6)
“a separator supply unit” in claim 2, interpreted as rollers (figure 2)
“a release film supply unit” in claim 7, interpreted as rollers (figure 10)
“a release film collecting unit” in claim 8, interpreted as rollers (figure 10)
“a combining unit” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the separator" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is recommended actively establishing the claim feature before referring to “the” feature.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the separator supply device” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2 actively establishes “a separator supply unit.” If applicant intends to refer back to a previously established feature it is recommended using the same language in order to clearly refer to the same feature.
Claim 11 depends from a rejected base claim, incorporates all the language of the base claim, and is rejected for the same reasons as the base claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second surface" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the side" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 limitation “a combining unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not recite “a combination unit” and the specification recites a “combining device 3700” but the figures do not include a reference number “3700.” Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsunaga [JP2020/162284, machine translation provided].
Matsunaga discloses a battery electrode manufacturing device comprising: a film supply unit (source of the film 10 is considered the film supply unit) that supplies a film (10) to an active material (active material spray particles) (Figure 4 shows a film 10 applied to an active material 4; it is noted particles 4 are an example of an active material the disclosed invention of Matsunaga includes several different layers and active materials and different figures refer to the active material by different reference numerals); wherein the active material (4,101) has been stacked on a strip-shaped base film (1, 130) (Figure 4 shows the active material 4 being stacked on a film 1; Figure 9 shows an active material 101 which is stacked on a film 130, page 5 of machine translation); wherein the active material is conveyed along a conveying direction in a chamber (202) whose interior is decompressed below atmospheric pressure (Figure 9 shows a film 130 on which the active material 101 is stacked within the chamber 202, page 5); a compression unit (31’) that compresses the active material, which has been supplied on the base film, via the film (Figure 4 shows roller 31’ that compresses the active material 4 into layer 13 via the film 10).
With respect to claim 15, Matsunaga discloses a battery electrode manufacturing method including: a film supply step of supplying a film to an active material (Figure 4 shows the supplying of a film 10 to an active material 4); wherein the active material (4, 101) has been stacked on a strip-shaped base film (1, 130), wherein the active material is conveyed along a conveying direction in a chamber (202) whose interior is decompressed below atmospheric pressure (Figures 4, 9; page 5 of machine translation); and a compression step of compressing the active material, which has been supplied on the base film, via the film (roller 31’ compresses the active material 4 into layer 13 as shown in Figure 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 2 and 7 specify the film supply unit is a separator supply unit and the film supply unit is a release film supply unit respectively. Matsunaga discloses the film (10) is a current collector and does not suggest a film supply unit that supplies a separator or release film.
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
December 9, 2025