DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12, 13, 15-18, 20, 22-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/23/26.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the lighting system is configured to modulate a power of the actuation light beams to actuate the probes, and the lighting system is configured to modulate the power of some or all of the actuation light beams independently” in claim 2. The specification provides at least three structures that correspond to such a function: Acousto-optic modulators, electro-optic modulators, and power modulation integrated into the lasers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 19, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0117163 A1 [Ng] in view of US 6,884,981 B2 [Proksch].
Regarding Claim 1:
Ng teaches a probe microscope (Fig. 7, abstract) comprising:
a probe array comprising an array of probes, each probe comprising a cantilever and a probe tip (as shown in Fig. 7b below);
a lighting system comprising a plurality of light sources, wherein each light source is configured to output a respective light beam (as shown in Fig. 7a below);
and an objective lens configured to receive the light beams (Fig. 7 (44)) and focus each light beam onto the cantilever of a respective one of the probes (para 28).
However, Ng fails to teach a collector lens upstream of the objective lens and configured to collect the light beams from the light sources
Proksch teaches a probe microscope (abstract) comprising a collector lens arrangement (Fig. 2 (14, 15)) upstream of an objective lens (Fig. 2 (5)) and configured to collect multiple light beams (as shown in Fig. 2) in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (4:57-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the lens arrangement of Proksch upstream of the objective lens of Ng. One would have been motivated to do so in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (Proksch 4:57-66).
Regarding Claim 8:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the probe microscope according to claim 1, wherein the light beams are detection light beams, the light sources are detection light sources (as shown in Ng Fig. 7 and described in Ng paras 30-33),
the probes are configured to reflect the detection light beams to generate sensing light beams (as shown in Ng Fig. 7 and described in Ng paras 30-33), and
the probe microscope further comprises a sensing system configured to receive the sensing light beams and determine positions of the probes from the sensing light beams (Ng paras 33-34).
Regarding Claim 19:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the probe microscope according to claim 1, wherein each light source comprises a light generator configured to generate and emit light. Ng paras 28, 50.
Regarding Claim 24:
Ng teaches a probe microscope (Fig. 7, abstract) comprising:
a probe array comprising an array of probes, each probe comprising a cantilever and a probe tip (as shown in Fig. 7b above);
a light generator array comprising an array of light generators, wherein each light generator is configured to generate and output a respective light beam (as shown in Fig. 7a above);
and an objective lens configured to receive the light beams (Fig. 7 (44)) and focus each light beam onto the cantilever of a respective one of the probes (para 28).
However, Ng fails to teach a collector lens upstream of the objective lens and configured to collect the light beams from the light sources
Proksch teaches a probe microscope (abstract) comprising a collector lens arrangement (Fig. 2 (14, 15)) upstream of an objective lens (Fig. 2 (5)) and configured to collect multiple light beams (as shown in Fig. 2) in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (4:57-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the lens arrangement of Proksch upstream of the objective lens of Ng. One would have been motivated to do so in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (Proksch 4:57-66).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-7, 9, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881