DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 26-28 are directed to an invention that lacks unity of invention with the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claims 26-28 require the probe array, lighting system, and objective lens of the invention originally claimed; however, they lack the collector lens of the invention originally claimed.
As was found in the both the restriction of 1/23/26 and the Non-final rejection of 4/9/26, the claimed probe array, lighting system, and objective lens of claim 1, and now of claims 26-28, is anticipated by Ng. As such, the collection of technical features shared between claim 1 and claims 26-28 is not a special technical feature.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 26-28 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the lighting system is configured to modulate a power of the actuation light beams to actuate the probes, and the lighting system is configured to modulate the power of some or all of the actuation light beams independently” in claim 2. The specification provides at least three structures that correspond to such a function: Acousto-optic modulators, electro-optic modulators, and power modulation integrated into the lasers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 19, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0117163 A1 [Ng] in view of US 6,884,981 B2 [Proksch].
Regarding Claim 1:
Ng teaches a probe microscope (Fig. 7, abstract) comprising:
a probe array comprising an array of probes, each probe comprising a cantilever and a probe tip (as shown in Fig. 7b below);
a lighting system comprising a plurality of light sources, wherein each light source is configured to output a respective light beam (as shown in Fig. 7a below);
and an objective lens configured to receive the light beams (Fig. 7 (44)) and focus each light beam onto the cantilever of a respective one of the probes (para 28).
However, Ng fails to teach a collector lens upstream of the objective lens and configured to collect the light beams from the light sources
Proksch teaches a probe microscope (abstract) comprising a collector lens arrangement (Fig. 2 (14, 15)) upstream of an objective lens (Fig. 2 (5)) and configured to collect multiple light beams (as shown in Fig. 2) in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (4:57-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the lens arrangement of Proksch upstream of the objective lens of Ng. One would have been motivated to do so in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (Proksch 4:57-66).
Regarding Claim 8:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the probe microscope according to claim 1, wherein the light beams are detection light beams, the light sources are detection light sources (as shown in Ng Fig. 7 and described in Ng paras 30-33),
the probes are configured to reflect the detection light beams to generate sensing light beams (as shown in Ng Fig. 7 and described in Ng paras 30-33), and
the probe microscope further comprises a sensing system configured to receive the sensing light beams and determine positions of the probes from the sensing light beams (Ng paras 33-34).
Regarding Claim 19:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the probe microscope according to claim 1, wherein each light source comprises a light generator configured to generate and emit light. Ng paras 28, 50.
Regarding Claim 24:
Ng teaches a probe microscope (Fig. 7, abstract) comprising:
a probe array comprising an array of probes, each probe comprising a cantilever and a probe tip (as shown in Fig. 7b above);
a light generator array comprising an array of light generators, wherein each light generator is configured to generate and output a respective light beam (as shown in Fig. 7a above);
and an objective lens configured to receive the light beams (Fig. 7 (44)) and focus each light beam onto the cantilever of a respective one of the probes (para 28).
However, Ng fails to teach a collector lens upstream of the objective lens and configured to collect the light beams from the light sources
Proksch teaches a probe microscope (abstract) comprising a collector lens arrangement (Fig. 2 (14, 15)) upstream of an objective lens (Fig. 2 (5)) and configured to collect multiple light beams (as shown in Fig. 2) in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (4:57-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the lens arrangement of Proksch upstream of the objective lens of Ng. One would have been motivated to do so in order to adjust and optimize angular displacement and widths of the beams (Proksch 4:57-66).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-7, 9, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Ng in view of Proksch fails to teach a collector lens, because Proksch fails to teach a lens that converts parallel beams into angularly separated beams. This is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim describes the collector lens as “configured to collect light beams.” Simply looking at Fig. 2 of Proksch, it is clear that it achieves the function that is actually claimed.
Applicant argues that the lenses of Proksch serve a fundamentally different function than that of the claimed collector lens. This is not persuasive. Again, the claims describe the collector lens as “configured to collect light beams,” the lenses of Proksch clearly achieve this function.
Applciant argues that the lenses of Proksch are not configured to collect light beams from light source/generators because they are described as receiving light that was split into multiple beams by a DOE. This is not persuasive. There is no difference between light beams that originated separately and light beams that originated from splitting a single light beam. Applicant’s contention is purely rhetorical, and has no relationship with optical physics.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to add the collector of Proksch to Ng because this would be contrary to Ng’s design philosophy. This is not persuasive. The addition of Proksch would not only improve Ng by allowing for the optimization of the beams, but also would do so within the confines of Ng’s design philosophy by doing so with minimal additional parts all while maintaining distinct beam paths.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881