DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 9/8/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2020/008853A1 (provided on IDS received 12/22/2023) relying on Kariyada et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0257541A1) as an English translation therefore, hereafter referred to as Kariyada.
As to claim 1, Kariyada discloses a magnetic memory element (fig 9, 8; [0107]) comprising:
a reference layer (120) of which a magnetization direction is fixed ([0070]);
a tunnel barrier layer (130) on the reference layer (120);
a magnetic storage layer (140) on the tunnel barrier layer (130) and of which a magnetization direction is changeable ([0071]);
a high magnetic anisotropy Hk application layer (165 / 150) on the magnetic storage layer (140) and configured to improve magnetic anisotropy of the magnetic storage layer (140);
a Cap layer (161) on the high Hk application layer (165/150); and
an upper electrode (162/163/170) on the Cap layer (161),
wherein a material of the Cap layer includes a nonmagnetic oxide ([0078]),
the Cap layer (161) is in surface contact with the high Hk application layer (165/150) and the upper electrode (162/163/170),
the upper electrode is configured to provide electrical connection with outside of the magnetic memory element ([0084]),
a material of the high Hk application layer ([0075]; [0105]) is different from the material of the Cap layer ([0078]), and
the material of the high Hk application layer is a high melting point metal having a melting point higher than a specific value ([0075]; [0105]).
As to claim 2, Kariyada discloses the magnetic memory element according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the material of the high Hk application layer includes at least one of W, Mo, or Ta ([0075]; [0105]).
As to claim 3, Kariyada discloses the magnetic memory element according to claim 2 (paragraphs above),
wherein the material of the high Hk application layer further includes at least one of Co, Fe, or B ([0075]; [0105]).
As to claim 4, Kariyada discloses the magnetic memory element according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a layer thickness of the high Hk application layer is equal to or more than 0.2 nm and equal to or less than 1.0 nm ([0076]; [0105]).
As to claim 6, Kariyada discloses the magnetic memory element according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the material of the Cap layer includes at least one of MgO, Gd, Tb, Dy, or Sc ([0078]).
As to claim 7, Kariyada discloses the magnetic memory element according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the material of the high Hk application layer includes Mo ([0075]; [0105]), and
the material of the Cap layer includes MgO ([0078]).
As to claim 8, Kariyada discloses the magnetic memory element according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a material of the tunnel barrier layer includes MgO ([0070]),
a material of the magnetic storage layer includes CoFeB ([0071]),
the material of the high Hk application layer includes Mo ([0075]; [0105]), and
the material of the Cap layer includes MgO ([0078]).
As to claim 9, Kariyada discloses the magnetic memory element according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein a coercive force of the magnetic memory element after being lowered by a thermal load during a semiconductor process is equal to or more than 1200 Oe ([0137]-[0142] fig 24C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kariyada in view of Oikawa et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0277745 A1), hereafter referred to as Oikawa.
As to claim 10, Kariyada discloses a semiconductor device ([0066]-[0067]) comprising
a magnetic memory element (fig 9, 8) arranged on a semiconductor substrate (100, [0067]),
wherein the magnetic memory element includes
a reference layer (120) of which a magnetization direction is fixed ([0070]);
a tunnel barrier layer (130) on the reference layer (120);
a magnetic storage layer (140) on the tunnel barrier layer (130) and of which a magnetization direction is changeable ([0071]);
a high magnetic anisotropy Hk application layer (165 / 150) on the magnetic storage layer (140) and configured to improve magnetic anisotropy of the magnetic storage layer (140); and
a Cap layer (161) on the high Hk application layer (165/150),
an upper electrode (162/163/170) on the Cap layer (161),
a material of the Cap layer includes a nonmagnetic oxide ([0078]),
the Cap layer (161) is in surface contact with the high Hk application layer (165/150) and the upper electrode (162/163/170),
the upper electrode is configured to provide electrical connection with outside of the magnetic memory element ([0084]),
wherein a material of the high Hk application layer ([0075]; [0105]) is different from the material of the Cap layer ([0078]), and
the material of the high Hk application layer is a high melting point metal having a melting point higher than a specific value ([0075]; [0105]).
Kariyada does not explicitly disclose a plurality of magnetic memory elements.
Nonetheless, Oikawa discloses a plurality of magnetic memory elements (fig 6, MTJ) on a semiconductor substrate (fig 6, SUB [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to incorporate a plurality of magnetic memory elements of Kariyada in an integrated circuit device as taught by Oikawa since this will improve the functionality of the memory elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Kariyada is not shown to expressly or inherently describe the newly presented claim limitations.
Examiner disagrees because Kariyada does disclose the newly presented claim limitations as detailed in the office action, above.
Applicant argued that Kariyada does not anticipate claims 2-4 and 6-9 because Kariyada does not disclose the limitation of claim 1.
Examiner disagrees because Kariyada does disclose the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Applicant argued Oikawa does not remedy the deficiencies of Kariyada.
Examiner disagrees because Kariyada does not include deficiencies with respect to claim 1.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US2021/0057641A1 appears to also anticipate the claim limitations because figure 1 shows a reference layer 1, tunnel barrier layer 2, magnetic storage layer 3, high Hk application layer 4, and a cap layer 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 10/7/2026