DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/22/2023 and 04/23/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2019/0006713 to Takahashi et al.
With respect to claim 19, Takahashi et al. teach a nonaqueous electrolyte solution for a sodium ion battery or a potassium ion battery comprising: (I) a nonaqueous organic solvent; (II) a solute of an ionic salt; and (III) a phosphorus compound having a P—Cl bond (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0039]-[0045]).
With respect to claim 20, Takahashi et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, wherein a concentration x of the (III) satisfies 0.01 mass %≤x≤3.20 mass % in terms of a chlorine atom (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0044] and ).
With respect to claim 21, instant claim is proviso upon limitation, an organochlorine compound, which is not positively required by the claim 19; therefore, the limitation of instant claims do not come into force.
With respect to claim 20, Takahashi et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, wherein the phosphorus compound having a P—Cl bond comprises phosphorus trichloride (Takahashi et al.: Section [0047]).
With respect to claim 23, instant claim is proviso upon limitation, a sulfone compound having an S(=O)2-Cl, which is not positively required by the claim 19; therefore, the limitation of instant claims do not come into force.
With respect to claim 24, instant claim is proviso upon limitation, a sulfine compound having an S(=O)-Cl bond, which is not positively required by the claim 19; therefore, the limitation of instant claims do not come into force.
With respect to claim 25, instant claim is proviso upon limitation, a silicon compound having a Si-Cl bond, which is not positively required by the claim 19; therefore, the limitation of instant claims do not come into force.
With respect to claim 26, Takahashi et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, wherein the (II) is an ionic salt containing a pair of a cation consisting of sodium, and a hexafluorophosphate anion (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0053] and [0055]).
With respect to claim 27, Takahashi et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, wherein the (II) is an ionic salt containing a pair of a cation consisting of potassium, and a hexafluorophosphate anion (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0053] and [0055]).
With respect to claim 28, Takahashi et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, wherein the (I) comprises dibutyl ether (a chain ether) (Takahashi et al.: Section [0056]).
With respect to claim 29, instant claim is proviso upon limitation, a cyclic ester, which is not positively required by the claim 28; therefore, the limitation of instant claims do not come into force.
With respect to claim 30, instant claim is proviso upon limitation, a chain ester, which is not positively required by the claim 28; therefore, the limitation of instant claims do not come into force.
With respect to claim 31, Takahashi et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, wherein the (I) comprises ethylene carbonate (Takahashi et al.: Section [0056]).
With respect to claim 32, Takahashi et al. teach the nonaqueous electrolyte solution, further comprising cyclohexylbenzene (Takahashi et al.: Section [0093]).
With respect to claim 33, Takahashi et al. teach a nonaqueous sodium ion battery comprising: at least a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and the nonaqueous electrolyte solution (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0055] and [0059]).
With respect to claim 34, Takahashi et al. teach a nonaqueous potassium ion battery comprising: at least a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and the nonaqueous electrolyte solution (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0055] and [0059]).
With respect to claim 35, Takahashi et al. teach a method for producing a nonaqueous sodium ion battery, comprising: preparing the nonaqueous electrolyte solution; and filling an empty cell including at least a positive electrode and a negative electrode with the nonaqueous electrolyte solution (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0055] and [0059]).
With respect to claim 36, Takahashi et al. teach a method for producing a nonaqueous potassium ion battery, comprising: preparing the nonaqueous electrolyte solution; and filling an empty cell including at least a positive electrode and a negative electrode with the nonaqueous electrolyte solution (Takahashi et al.: Sections [0055] and [0059]).
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 6/13/2026