DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/08/2024, 08/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant's Response to Election / Restriction filed on May 14, 2026. No claims amendment are made in the response filed on that date.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 14-15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 26-28, 30, 35 and 43 are currently pending, with claims 5, 14, 19, 27-28, 30 and 43 withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26 and 35 are under examination. This is the first action on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 14-15, 17, 19, 21, 23, 26-28, 30, 35) in the reply filed on May 14, 2026 is acknowledged 1.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following species in the reply filed on May 14, 2026 is acknowledged:
Species of selective processing: A) selective sequencing as described according to Fig. 13 (claim 23, 26) 2;
Species of polynucleotide: E) 3at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion (claim 1, 4) 4.
Claims 5, 14, 19, 27-28, 30 and 43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Examination on the merits commences on claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26 and 35.
Priority
For the instant claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 15, 17, 21, 23, 26 and 35 in this U.S. Application, the applicant claims priority of the US provisional application NO. 63/269,383, which has a filling date on March 15, 2022.
Claim Interpretation
In evaluating the patentability of the claims presented in this application, claim terms have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, as outlined in MPEP§ 2111.
Under BRI, claim 1 is interpreted to encompass any method comprising selective processing a polynucleotide in a manner capable of yielding the claimed outcome of generating two signals from two portions of the polynucleotide, with one signal being greater than the other.
Claim 1 recites:
A method of preparing at least one polynucleotide sequence for identification, comprising:
selectively processing
at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion, or
at least one first polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and at least one second polynucleotide sequence comprising a second portion,
such that a proportion of first portions are capable of generating a first signal and a proportion of second portions are capable of generating a second signal,
wherein the selective processing causes an intensity of the first signal to be greater than an intensity of the second signal.
Therefore, claim 1 comprises a single step of selectively processing a polynucleotide comprising a first and a second portion, such that the first portion is capable of generating a signal greater than the second portion is capable of generating. The application's disclosure does not define the terms "first portion" and "second portion" with any structural feature that directly support or relate to the recited functions.
The term "selectively processing" is not expressly defined in the application's disclosure.
Under BRI, "selectively processing" a polynucleotide is interpreted to encompasses any processing step that acts on a selected class of polynucleotides, rather than acting universally on all polynucleotide species. This includes, for example, selective hybridization in a microarray, selective digestion of DNA using DNase, selective separation using chromatography or immunoprecipitation, selective base modification via bisulfite treatment, selective amplification using target-specific primers, etc. A wide range of prior art discloses selectively processing polynucleotides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raj (Raj et al., Imaging individual mRNA molecules using multiple singly labeled probes. Nat Methods. 2008 Oct;5(10):877-9. doi: 10.1038/nmeth.1253. Epub 2008 Sep 21. PMID: 18806792; PMCID: PMC3126653.)
Regarding claim 1, Raj teaches a single RNA fluorescent probe hybridization method comprising selective processing a polynucleotide, capable of generating two signals from two portions of the polynucleotide, with one signal being greater than the other (Figure 1, first region being the 3' UTR region, capable of generating more fluorescent signal intensity than the GFP coding region as it can hybridize to more probes).
Regarding claim 2, Raj teaches a concentration of the first portions capable of generating the first signal is greater than a concentration of the second portions capable of generating the second signal, wherein the ratio between the concentration of the first portions capable of generating the first signal and the concentration of the second portions capable of generating the second signal is between 1.5:1 to 3:1 (Figure 1, 128:48 probes binding sites is 2.6:1).
Regarding claim 4, Raj teaches mRNA, which comprises forward strand sequence copy of a double-stranded DNA template, naturally, a first portion, such as a probe binding region in 3' UTR region, comprises sequence copies from the forward strand of DNA, and a probe binding region in the GFP coding region (second portion), also comprises sequence copies from the forward strand of DNA template, which is complementary to the DNA reverse strand.
Regarding claim 6, Raj teaches the first signal and the second signal are spatially unresolved (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Raj teaches that the polynucleotide is attached to a solid support (Figure 1; supplementary method, page 3, the RNA is immobilized on a glass slide).
Regarding claim 10, it is anticipated by Raj because it does not further limit the claimed method.
Claim 10 depends from claim 1 and describes the polynucleotide "form a cluster on the solid support," but the method in base claim 1 does not require a solid support in its step.
Therefore, this claim language is interpreted as descriptive statement without any associated active steps and do not distinguish the claim from the prior art.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 21, 23, 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boutell (US20170298430A1 - Sequencing from multiple primers to increase data rate and density; Published on : 2017-10-19).
Boutell teaches a sequencing by synthesis method that is substantially the same as the embodiment disclosed in this application (Fig. 13; see page 54, para 2 in specification for description), which involves selective, concurrent sequencing of two regions of a polynucleotide strand using a mixture of blocked and unblocked primers ([0114]-[0124]).
Regarding claim 1, Boutell teaches a method comprising:
selectively processing at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion (FIG.1; [0114] polynucleotide construct comprising SBS3 and SBS8 primer binding sites for sequencing two separate sequence regions simultaneously; [0120]; [0122]; [0124] “blocked and unblocked primers are used to chemically differentiate between extension reads .”), such that a proportion of first portions are capable of generating a first signal and a proportion of second portions are capable of generating a second signal ([0120]; [0122]; [0124]), wherein the selective processing causes an intensity of the first signal to be greater than an intensity of the second signal ([0120]; [0122]; [0124]).
Regarding claim 2, Boutell teaches a concentration of the first portions capable of generating the first signal is greater than a concentration of the second portions capable of generating the second signal, wherein the ratio between the concentration of the first portions capable of generating the first signal and the concentration of the second portions capable of generating the second signal is between 1.25:1 to 5:1 ([0124] 100% primer 1 extension site: 25% primer 2 extension site is 4:1).
Regarding claim 4, Boutell teaches selectively processing at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion (FIG.1; [0114] polynucleotide construct comprising SBS3 and SBS8 primer binding sites for sequencing two separate sequence regions), wherein the at least one polynucleotide sequence comprises portions of a double-stranded nucleic acid template, and each of the first portions comprise a forward strand of the template, and each of the second portions comprise a reverse strand of the template or a forward complement strand of the template (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Boutell teaches the first signal and the second signal are spatially unresolved ([0120]; [0124] the signals are generated from sequencing the same strand polynucleotide strand thus they are colocalized).
Regarding claim 9, Boutell teaches the polynucleotide is attached to a solid support ([0154]; claim 23).
Regarding claim 10, it is anticipated by Boutell because it does not further limit the claimed method.
Claim 10 depends from claim 1 and describes the polynucleotide "form a cluster on the solid support," but the method in base claim 1 does not require a solid support in its step.
Therefore, this claim language is interpreted as descriptive statement without any associated active steps and do not distinguish the claim from the prior art.
Regarding claim 21, Boutell teaches conducting selective sequencing ([0114]-[0124]).
Regarding claim 23, Boutell teaches contacting first sequencing primer binding sites located after a 3'-end of the first portions with first primers and contacting second sequencing primer binding sites located after a 3'-end of the second portions with second primers, wherein the second primers comprises a mixture of blocked second primers and unblocked second primers (FIG. 1, SBS3 and SBS8 primer binding sites are after 3' ends of sequence portions of the polynucleotide; [0115-0118]; [0124]).
Regarding claim 26, Boutell teaches a second primer (SBS8’) hybridizing to the SBS8 sequence region ([0115-0117] SBS8 sequence is “TCTAGCCTTCTCGCCAAGTCGTCCTTACGGCTCTGGC”).
Therefore, a skilled artisan would readily understand that the sequence of SBS8’ primer is the reverse complement of SBS8 (SBS8’ : GCCAGAGCCGTAAGGACGACTTGGCGAGAAGGCTAGA), which comprises a fragment of SEQ ID NO: 11:
Regarding claim 35, Boutell teaches concurrently sequencing nucleobases in the first portion and the second portion based on the intensity of the first signal and the intensity of the second signal ([0114]-[0124]; claim 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutell (US20170298430A1 - Sequencing from multiple primers to increase data rate and density; Published on : 2017-10-19), in view of Singer (US20180334712A1 - Universal short adapters for indexing of polynucleotide samples; published on 2018-11-22) and as evidenced by
Launen (Loren Launen; Illumina Sequencing (for Dummies) -An overview on how our samples are sequenced; published February 13, 2017)
The teachings of Boutell are recited above and applied as for base claims 1 and 9.
A) Regarding claim 15, Boutell teaches a solid support comprises at least one first immobilised primer and at least one second immobilised primer by teaching bridge amplification ([0154]) and performing sequencing by synthesis using a flow cell with clustered array having standard construct comprising P5 and P7 as shown in FIG. 1 ([0114]).
A skilled artisan would readily understand that Boutell’s sequencing flow cell comprises P5 and P7 amplification primers immobilized on the flow cell to support cluster formation via bridge amplification, as Boutell’s construct comprises P5 and P7 sequences for hybridizing to their corresponding primers on the flow cell, and the uses of amplification primers such as P5 and P7 on sequencing flow cells is well known in the art, as evidenced by Singer and Launen.
Launen provides detailed teachings on bridge amplification and how the P5 and P7 primers, immobilized on the flow cell surface, captures sequencing library constructs (page 3):
"The flow cell (also called chip) has pre-attached short oligos (short sequences of DNA) poking up. I’m going to call them grafts, and they are the P7 and the P5 grafts. In our images P7 is black and P5 is red. Note that in the figure above, there are ends that are labelled as P5/P7 graft binding sites. That’s because those areas are complementary to the P7 and P5 grafts. So… base pairing will occur!
When you flow the single-stranded library across the flow cell your fragments will base pair with the grafts as shown in the figure below, and you’ll now have your library fragments attached to the flow cell."
Singer teaches:
"[0093]The terms “P5” and “P7” may be used when referring to amplification primers, e.g., universal primer extension primers. The terms “P5′” (P5 prime) and “P7′” (P7 prime) refer to the complement of P5 and P7, respectively. It will be understood that any suitable amplification primers can be used in the methods presented herein, and that the use of P5 and P7 are exemplary embodiments only. Uses of amplification primers such as P5 and P7 on flow cells is known in the art, as exemplified by the disclosures of WO 2007/010251, WO 2006/064199, WO 2005/065814, WO 2015/106941, WO 1998/044151, and WO 2000/018957. "
Singer also teaches that, SEQ ID NO: 1 is a P5 flow cell amplification primer binding sequence ([0204] SEQ ID NO: 8), and SEQ ID NO: 2 is a P7 flow cell amplification primer binding sequence ([0203] SEQ ID NO: 7).
While Boutell teaches different primer sequences for P5 and P7, a person of ordinary skill would understand that the P5 and P7 primer sequences and their corresponding binding sites in Boutell and Singer perform the same function of facilitating amplification on a sequencing flow cell.
Therefore, Modifying Boutell's sequencing method to utilize the specific P5 and P7 primers and corresponding primer binding sequences in the library construct, as taught in Singer would have been prima facie obvious as it represents the principle of KSR for a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
B) Regarding claim 17, Boutell teaches the limitations "polynucleotide sequence is attached to a first immobilised primer, wherein each polynucleotide sequence comprising the first portion and the second portion further comprises a second adaptor sequence, wherein the second adaptor sequence is substantially complementary to the second immobilized primer," by teaching bridge amplification ([0154]) and performing sequencing by synthesis using a flow cell with clustered array having standard construct comprising P5 and P7 as shown in FIG. 1 ([0114]).
As evidenced by Launen (pages 2-3) and discussed for claim 15 above, these claimed features are encompassed by bridge amplification using a flow cell for sequencing polynucleotide constructs comprising P5 and P7 regions.
Double Patenting- Obvious Type
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10, 21, 23 and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11555218B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over claims of the '218 patent.
Instant claim 1 recites:
A method of preparing at least one polynucleotide sequence for identification, comprising:
selectively processing
at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion (‘218 Patent, claim 1, 23), or
at least one first polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and at least one second polynucleotide sequence comprising a second portion,
such that a proportion of first portions are capable of generating a first signal and a proportion of second portions are capable of generating a second signal,
wherein the selective processing causes an intensity of the first signal to be greater than an intensity of the second signal.
Therefore, instant claims 1-2, 6, 9, 10, 21 and 35 are anticipated by claims 1 and 23 of the '218 patent. Instant claim 23 is anticipated by claim 24 of the '218 patent.
Claims 1-2, 6, 9, 10, 21, 23 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 12 of copending Application No. 18/153,946 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims (filed on 03/20/2026) of the '946 application.
Instant claim 1 recites:
A method of preparing at least one polynucleotide sequence for identification, comprising:
selectively processing
at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion (‘946 Application, claim 1), or
at least one first polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and at least one second polynucleotide sequence comprising a second portion,
such that a proportion of first portions are capable of generating a first signal and a proportion of second portions are capable of generating a second signal,
wherein the selective processing causes an intensity of the first signal to be greater than an intensity of the second signal.
Therefore, instant claims 1-2, 6, 10, 21 and 35 are anticipated by claims 1 of the '946 application. Instant claims 9; 23 are anticipated by claims 12; 10 of the '946 application, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10, 21, 23 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27, 30, 33, 35 of copending Application No. 18/850,983 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims (filed on 09/25/2024) of the '983 application.
Instant claim 1 recites:
A method of preparing at least one polynucleotide sequence for identification, comprising:
selectively processing
at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion (‘983 Application, claim 30), or
at least one first polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and at least one second polynucleotide sequence comprising a second portion,
such that a proportion of first portions are capable of generating a first signal and a proportion of second portions are capable of generating a second signal,
wherein the selective processing causes an intensity of the first signal to be greater than an intensity of the second signal.
Therefore, instant claims 1-2, 6,9,10 are anticipated by claim 30 of the '983 application. Instant claims 21; 23; 35 are anticipated by claims 33; 35; 27 of the '983 application, respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art
Below are relevant prior art not used in rejection but pertinent to the claims or disclosure.
The following references also teach selective processing of polynucleotides:
US20060134633A1 - Double ended sequencing ; See FIG. 8;
US20180312917A1 - Orthogonal deblocking of nucleotides;
US20150031560A1- Sequencing by orthogonal synthesis;
Liu et al. Multiplex dosage pyrophosphorolysis-activated polymerization: application to the detection of heterozygous deletions. Biotechniques. 2006 May;40(5):661-8. doi: 10.2144/000112164. PMID: 16708764; See Figure 1
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIAN NMN YU/Examiner , Art Unit 1681 /AARON A PRIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681
1 Claim 43 is withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected group II.
2 Claims 27-28 and 30 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species B-D.
3 Here is it noted that Applicant's remarks contain clerical error: in the remarks, page 2 (see below), Applicant cites the wrong species identifier for the elected species: the species which "at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion (claim 1, 4)," is species E in the Requirement for Restriction/Election (mail date03/17/2026, page 4), not F.
For clarity of record here, the Examiner acknowledges that the elected species is "at least one polynucleotide sequence comprising a first portion and a second portion," identified in the last Office Action as Species E and encompassed by claims 1, 4 and 17.
4 Claims 5, 14 and 19 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species F.