DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on December 22, 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/578,636. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘636 encompass or are obvious over the present claims. The claims of US ‘636 do not include the claimed “pre-joining” step; however, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have arranged the bodies to be joined prior to heat fusing with the amorphous thermoplastic resin in order to control the formation of the laminated body. With respect to claims 5-7, the method claims of US ‘636 would result in the article of claims 5-7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/724,370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘370 encompass or are obvious over the present claims. The claims of ‘370 includes an “injection molding” step which occurs prior to the joining step. The injection molding step would function to arrange the materials in the claimed “pre-joining” step of the present claims. With respect to claims 5-7, the method claims of US ‘370 would result in the article of claims 5-7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/723,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘316 encompass or are obvious over the present claims. The claims of US ‘316 are directed to a specific joined body, i.e., a bumper reinforcement, whereas the present claims are directed to a generic joined body. The species claims of US ‘316 anticipate the present method claims. With respect to claims 5-7, the method claims of US ‘316 would result in the article of claims 5-7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/723,979. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘979 encompass or are obvious over the present claims. The present claims require that the solid joining agent is melted by heating and pressurizing the laminated body to join materials A and B, whereas the claims of US ‘979 require at least one of the solid joining agent, material A, or material B is heated to facilitate bonding of the laminate. The genus claims of US ‘979 would anticipate the present method claims since heating the solid joining agent would be clearly envisaged by the claims of US ‘979. With respect to claims 5-7, the method claims of US ‘979 would result in the article of claims 5-7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/871,881. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘881 encompass or are obvious over the present claims. The present claims are in product-by-process format; however, the same materials are used the article claims of US ‘881. Thus, the invention of the claims of US ‘881 are deemed to be the same or substantially the same as the claims of the present claims. See MPEP 2113.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/875,281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘281 encompass or are obvious over the present claims. The claims in US ‘281 are connected via an end-to-end arrangement, which reads on the generic arrangement of the present claims. Thus, the claims of US ‘281 anticipate the present claims. With respect to claims 5-7, the method claims of US ‘281 would result in the article of claims 5-7.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities. The use of the language “…at least one of …. and…” in claim 1 (lines 3 and 4), claim 4 (lines 2 and 3), claim 5 (lines 3 and 4), and claim 7 (lines 2 and 3) should be changed to “…at least one of … or …”. While the specification discloses the intention for this language to be claimed alternatives, as written, one different interpretation is that the “and” requires both components to be present, e.g., in claim 1 epoxy resin and phenoxy resin. As such, clarity of the claims would be enhanced by change the term “and” to “or” in this phrase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (WO2018/124215). US2021/0129488 is relied upon as the English language equivalent.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Takahashi discloses a joined body produced by the method comprising the steps of (a) pre-joining a base material A, a solid joining agent containing an amorphous thermoplastic resin, such as a phenoxy resin, and a base material B to form a laminated body; and (b) melting the solid joining agent by heating and pressurizing the laminated body to join the base material A and the base material B ([0091], Figures 5a-5c). With respect to the limitation that the amorphous thermoplastic resin has a heat of fusion of 15 J/g or less, this property would be inherent to the amorphous thermoplastic resin of Takahashi, since both Takashi and the present invention use identical resins for the solid joining agent material. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Takahashi discloses that the thermocompression temperature is not particularly limited, but it is, for example, in a range of 100-400°C, and preferably in a range of 150-300° C [0104], and the pressure is preferably 3-5 MPa [0105].
Regarding claim 3, Takashi discloses that the solid joining agent can be in the form of a film before melting [0090].
Regarding claim 4 and 7, Takashi discloses the use of a fiber-reinforced plastic (resin) as base material A and a metal as base material B (claim 1, Figures 1 and 5a-5c).
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781