DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Status
Claims 11-20 are pending and being examined.
Claim Objections
The objection of Claim 1 is withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended to overcome the objection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s principal arguments are that Peeters’ lack of a definitive cooling system as claimed is not remedied by the cooling system of Cabaret due to Peeters being related to LED-based systems such office lighting systems, and Cabaret being related to a laser-based optical system, where Cabaret does not require overlaps between the exit cones of the different faces, due to the single incidence angle of the laser beam. And, further that the optional cooling means disclosed by Peeters are not compatible with the water-based colling of Cabaret.
The examiner, respectfully, disagrees since Peeters discloses numerous applications beyond office lighting systems (e.g. fiber-optics applications; [0042]), and Cabaret’s laser-based optical system is a fiber-optics system (col. 2, lines 45-60 and col. 3, lines 10-20), where the shape and dimensions of the solid luminescent light-concentrator of both Peeters and Cabaret are on the same order (Peeters: [0027] and [0058]-[0059]) and Cabaret: col. 3, lines 42-47), which is consistent with the shape and dimensions of the solid luminescent light-concentrator of the claimed invention (Instant Specification: [0067]).
The examiner contends that using the using water-based cooling system of Cabaret with Peeters would produce a substantially identical structure as the claimed invention, which would be represented by FIG. 6C of the instant application, such that the combined structure would also function (e.g. with overlaps between the exit cones of the different faces) as the claimed invention does, and as is discussed in the rejection below.
Further in response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The examiner’s combination of Peeters and Cabaret is not based on hindsight reconstruction, rather applying the known fiber-optics based system cooling technique (i.e. water-based cooling) of Cabaret to the fiber-optics based system of Peeters.
Lastly, no arguments against the rejections of claims 12-20 have been presented beyond their being patentable due to their dependence from claim 11. Thus, no response is being offered in view of the rebuttal(s) above for claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PEETERS (US 2018/0258345 A1-of record, hereafter Peeters) in view of Cabaret et al (US 4,984,246 A-of record, hereafter Cabaret).
Re claim 11, Peeters discloses in FIG. 1C (with references to FIG. 1A) a light emitting device (1 as in FIG. 1A) comprising:
a plurality of light emitting diodes (10 as in FIG. 1A; [0054] and [0056]) configured to emit an incident light (Ld: as in blue light 11 in FIG. 1A; [0054]);
a solid luminescent light-concentrator (120 as in FIG. 1A; [0055]) of index nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce as disclosed by the instant specification) comprising two parallel faces (146/145; [0058]), called first (upper) and second (lower) large (of length L; [0058]) faces (146/145), along a horizontal plane xy (lateral plane), and n ϵ N > 2 faces (141-144; [0058]) called side faces (vertical planes), at least one (both) of the first (upper) and second (lower) large (of length L) face (145 and 146) being illuminated ([0058]) by said incident light (blue light 11; [0058]), said concentrator (120) being configured to absorb ([0055]) said incident light (blue light 11) and then emit a luminescent light (as in green or red light 101 in FIG. 1A; [0055]), a portion of the luminescent light (green or red light 101) being guided ([0053]) by total internal reflection (due to Ce; [0024] and to the concentrator (120) being a parallelepiped with 6 faces parallel two by two surrounded by a medium of a lower index as disclosed by the instant specification) in the concentrator (120) and passes through a first so-called exit face (as in 142 in FIG. 1A; [0054]) of said concentrator (120) in contact with an exit medium (air) of index ns (~1) < nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce), and forms an exit beam (of green or red 101 light; [0055]), and
a so-called cooling system (combination of a heat sink and cooling elements; [0036]) comprising a cooling medium (thermally conductive materials and unspecified cooling elements; [0036]), the cooling system (combination of a heat sink and cooling elements) being adapted (configured; [0036]) to remove at least a portion of a heat generated ([0036]) within said concentrator (120) by said plurality of light-emitting diodes (10).
Peeters fails to disclose the so-called cooling system (combination of a heat sink and cooling elements) comprising the cooling medium (thermally conductive materials and unspecified cooling elements) in contact with at least one of the faces (141-146) of the concentrator (120), called cooled face, an index next of the cooling medium (thermally conductive materials and unspecified cooling elements) being such that nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce) > next > 1 and such that nₛ (~1) ≠ next, and adapted to the index (ns ~1) of the exit medium (air) and the index (nc) of the concentrator (120) to limit the loss in light extraction efficiency of the exit beam (of green or red 101 light) induced by the cooling medium (thermally conductive materials and unspecified cooling elements).
However,
Cabaret discloses in FIG. 2 a light emitting device comprising: a so-called cooling system (20/5/22; col. 2, line 65 – col. 3, line 4) comprising a cooling medium (water 5; col. 3, lines 11-13) in contact (thermally; col. 3, lines 1-4) with at least one of face (14 and 16; col. 2, lines 52-59 and col. 3, lines 1-4) of a concentrator (1; col. 2, lines 52-59), called cooled face (cooled surfaces 14/16), an index next (~1.333 for water) of the cooling medium (water) being such that nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce) > next (~1.333 for water) > 1 and such that nₛ (~1) ≠ next (~1.333 for water), and adapted to an index (ns ~1) of an exit medium (air) and the index (nc ~1.83 for Nd/YAG) of the concentrator (1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Peeters by using the cooling system of Cabaret with the light emitting device of Peeters, the so-called cooling system comprising the cooling medium in contact with at least one of the faces (141-146) of the concentrator (120), called cooled face, an index next of the cooling medium being such that nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce) > next > 1 and such that nₛ (~1) ≠ next, to obtain effective cooling of the bar in simple manner (Cabaret; col. 2, lines 13-17).
Lastly, with respect to the limitations of an index next of the cooling medium being such that nc > next > 1 and such that nₛ (~1) ≠ next, and adapted to the index of the exit medium and the index of the concentrator to limit the loss in light extraction efficiency of the exit beam induced by the cooling medium, the structure of Peeters and Cabaret is substantially identical to the claimed invention, comprised of substantially identical materials, and operated in a substantially manner. It would be expected that the structure of Peeters and Cabaret would exhibit the characteristics of an index next of the cooling medium being such that nc > next > 1 and such that nₛ (~1) ≠ next, and adapted to the index of the exit medium and the index of the concentrator to limit the loss in light extraction efficiency of the exit beam induced by the cooling medium, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2112.01).
Re claim 13 Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 11, wherein the index (~1.333) of the cooling medium (Cabaret: water 5) is such that next ≤ ns/tan(sin-1(ns/nc)), when next (~1.333), ns (~1) and nc (~1.83), as would be part of the modified cooling system discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 14 Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 11.
But, do not explicitly disclose wherein the cooling medium (Cabaret: water 5) is in contact with at least 90% of said cooled face (Cabaret: cooled surfaces 14/16).
However, Cabaret discloses in the embodiment of FIG. 1 wherein the cooling medium is in contact with at least 90% of said cooled face (Cabaret: cooled surfaces 14/16) in a cross-section view.
Thus, it would have been obvious to have the cooling medium is in contact with at least 90% of the entire said cooled face to increase the effective cooling of the bar in simple manner (Cabaret; col. 2, lines 13-17).
Re claim 15 Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 11, wherein the cooling medium (Cabaret: water 5) is in contact with the first (upper) and the second (lower) large faces (of length L), as would be part of the modified cooling system discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 16 Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 11, wherein the cooling system (Cabaret: 20/5/22) comprises a layer (interfaces of 14/1/16) in a heat conducting material (water) that conducts the heat to mechanical radiators (22), said layer forming the cooling medium (water 5), as would be part of the modified cooling system discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 17 Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 11, wherein the cooling medium is water (see claim 11), as would be part of the modified cooling system discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 18 Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 17, wherein the cooling system (Cabaret: 20/5/22) comprises a holder (structure 3/4/7; col. 2, line 55 – col. 3, line 13) adapted to support the concentrator (1) and the plurality of light emitting diodes (Peeters: 10), a channel connected (20/22) to a water supply (5), the channel (20/22) being adapted to transport said water (5), the holder (structure 3/4/7) comprising sealing elements (unlabeled features adjacent 20/7 and 22/7) adapted to ensure the sealing (prevent water leakage) of the device (1), as would be part of the modified cooling system discussed for claim 11.
Re claim 19 Peeters discloses the device according to claim 11, comprising a mirror (as in 21 in FIG. 1A; [0055]) covering a face (141) of the concentrator (120) opposite to the exit face (142).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peeters and Cabaret as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Schultz (US 2007/0096139 A1-of record).
Re claim 12 Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 11.
But, fail to disclose wherein the index next (Cabaret: ~1.333 for water) of the cooling medium (water 5) is such that the loss in light extraction efficiency of the exit beam (Peeters: of green or red 101 light) is lower or equal to 15%.
However,
Schultz discloses in FIG. 3 a light emitting device (70) comprising: an exit medium (encapsulation material 65; [0024]) of index ns (at least 1.5; [0024]) contacting an exit face (upper plane) of a solid luminescent light-concentrator (62; [0024]) of index nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce), where ns (at least 1.5) < nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Peeters and Cabaret by using the exit medium of index ns (at least 1.5) contacting an exit face of the solid luminescent light-concentrator of index nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce), where ns (at least 1.5) < nc (~1.83 for YAG:Ce), as disclose by Schultz, to collimate the exit beam into convergent light (Schultz; [0024]).
Lastly, with respect to the limitations of wherein the index next of the cooling medium is such that the loss in light extraction efficiency of the exit beam is lower or equal to 15%, the structure of Peeters and Cabaret and Schultz is substantially identical to the claimed invention, comprised of substantially identical materials, and operated in a substantially manner. It would be expected that the structure of Peeters and Cabaret and Schultz would exhibit the characteristics of the index next of the cooling medium is such that the loss in light extraction efficiency of the exit beam is lower or equal to 15%, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP § 2112.01).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peeters and Cabaret as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kuba et al (US 5,557,628 A-of record, hereafter Kub).
Re claim 20, Peeters and Cabaret disclose the device according to claim 11.
But, fail to disclose the device comprising an additional solid luminescent light concentrator, said exit beam pumping the additional concentrator via a so called receiving face of the additional concentrator, in contact with the exit medium, wherein the additional concentrator is adapted to absorb the exit beam and then emit an additional luminescent radiation, wherein a portion of the additional luminescent radiation passes through a so-called additional exit face of the additional concentrator and forms an exit beam wherein the additional exit face is in contact with an additional exit medium of index n's, wherein the index ns of the exit medium is adapted to the index of the additional concentrator and the index n's of the additional exit medium to achieve the highest extraction efficiency possible of the additional exit beam.
However,
Kuba discloses in FIGS. 84A-84B a light emitting device comprising: an additional solid luminescent light concentrator (right 1; col. 29, lines 15-25), said exit beam (100; col. 29, lines 15-25) pumping the additional concentrator (right 1) via a so called receiving face (left face) of the additional concentrator (right 1), in contact with the exit medium (air), wherein the additional concentrator (right 1) is adapted to absorb the exit beam (100) and then emit an additional luminescent radiation (1000; col. 29, lines 15-25), wherein a portion (all) of the additional luminescent radiation (1000) passes through a so-called additional exit face (right face) of the additional concentrator (right 1) and forms an exit beam (1000) wherein the additional exit face (right face) is in contact with an additional exit medium (air) of index n's (~1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Peeters and Cabaret by using the amplifier of Schultz, comprising an additional solid luminescent light concentrator, said exit beam pumping the additional concentrator via a so called receiving face of the additional concentrator, in contact with the exit medium, wherein the additional concentrator is adapted to absorb the exit beam and then emit an additional luminescent radiation, wherein a portion of the additional luminescent radiation passes through a so-called additional exit face of the additional concentrator and forms an exit beam wherein the additional exit face is in contact with an additional exit medium of index n's, to form a high power output beam (Schultz; col. 29, lines 15-25), wherein the index ns (~1) of the exit medium (air) is adapted to the index (~1.83 for Nd/YAG) of the additional concentrator (right 1) and the index n's (~1) of the additional exit medium (air) to achieve the highest extraction efficiency possible of the additional exit beam (1000), as disclosed for the light emitting device of claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Both US 7982229 B2; and US 7316497 B2 disclose light-emission systems comprising solid luminescent light-concentrator without disclosing cooling systems as claimed above.
Current efforts in light-emission systems comprising solid luminescent light-concentrators include cooling systems with index-matched solutions reducing the amount of light loss output due to the cooling medium.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892