DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: the locking member in claim 5.
The fastening member in claim 11 is not being interpreted under 112(f) because the generic placeholder (fastening member) is modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function. Specifically, the generic place holder (fastening member) is defined in the claim as being a bolt and a nut.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itsuki et al, JP 6887688 B2 (see US 2022/0090261 A1 for English equivalent).
Itsuki et al teaches:
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 17, a vaporizable source material container 100 for storing and vaporizing a metal halide for thin film deposition as a vaporizable source material, the vaporizable source material container comprising: an inner container 12a accommodated in an outer container 12b, constituting a double-wall structure together with the outer container; a lid body 4 including an inner lid detachably fixed to the inner container and an outer lid detachably fixed to the outer container; a gas introduction pipe (pipe upstream of 8) connected to a carrier gas inlet 8 disposed in the lid body, wherein the portions of the inner container, the outer container, and the gas introduction pipe to be in contact in a gas and solid state with the metal halide (aluminum chloride, AlCl.sub.3) for thin film deposition are made of a metal (aluminum) material that is the same metal as the metal halide for thin film deposition and has a purity of 99 (2N) to 99.9999 (6N), and wherein the carrier gas G1 supplied through the carrier gas inlet flows into the inner container after passing through the gas introduction pipe, and mixed gas G3 which is the mixture of the metal halide for thin film deposition vaporized into a gas state G2 in the inner container by heating and the canier gas G1 entered into the inner container is released from a mixed gas outlet 18 provided in the lid body 4.
Regarding claim 4, the inner container is further provided with a dividing wall 22 for dividing the inner space into two spaces, one of which is a vaporizable source material storage space on the inner lid side, constituting an upper wall of the inner container, and the other of which is a carrier gas diffusion space on the bottom wall side of the inner container, wherein one or more through holes are formed in the dividing wall, wherein the end of the gas introduction pipe has a structure of penetrating through the dividing wall and extending to a position immediately above the bottom wall of the inner container, and wherein the carrier gas is released in the carrier gas diffusion space from the end of the gas introduction pipe, and the carrier gas diffused in the carrier gas diffusion space is released through the through holes into the vaporizable source material storage space storing the metal halide for thin film deposition. (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 7, one or more members 26 disposed in the inner container 12a and having a maximum length of 1 to 30 mm and made of the same material (aluminum) as a metal constituting the metal halide (aluminum chloride, AlCl.sub.3) for thin film deposition (Figure 3, Paragraph 0020)
Regarding claim 8, the fastening members and the joint members are electrolytic polished or chemical polished.
Regarding claim 9 and 10, a fluorocarbon polymer coating or ceramic coating is further applied to the surfaces subjected to electrolytic polishing or chemical polishing.
Regarding claim 11, comprising fastening members 6 for fixing the outer lid to the outer container, wherein the fastening members are each composed of a bolt member inserted into a bolt insertion hole provided in the outer container and the outer lid and a nut member screwed to the bolt member to be capable of fastening (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, one of the metal halide for thin film deposition is (aluminum chloride, AlCl.sub.3) which is a compound represented by a general formula; MXn, where M represents a metal element constituting the metal halide for thin film deposition, X a halogen element, and n the number of X atoms. (Other metal halides can be found in Paragraphs 0078-0079)
Regarding claim 13, a vaporizable source material to be used for thin film deposition by a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) method is stored therein.
Regarding claim 14, a vaporizable source material to be used for thin film deposition by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method is stored.
Regarding claim 15, a valve 30 is installed in a gas flow path downstream from the mixed gas outlet, the valve is a vacuum valve with a CV value (in terms of water) of 0.2 or greater.
Regarding claim 18, the metal halide for thin film deposition stored in the vaporizable source material container is heated by heating the sidewalls or both the sidewalls and a bottom plate of the vaporizable source material container (Paragraph 0081), and the carrier gas, supplied from the carrier gas inlet and released into the inner container, flowing through the gas introduction pipe, is also heated, and wherein mixed gas is generated by mixing the metal halide for thin film deposition vaporized by heating with the carrier gas heated in the gas introduction pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itsuki et al, JP 6887688 B2, in view of Nakagawa et al, US 2021/0371977 A1.
Itsuki et al was discussed above.
Itsuki et al differs from the present invention in that Itsuki et al does not teach all of the claimed well known design arrangements for supplying carrier gas to the metal halide.
Nakagawa et al teaches all of the claimed well known arrangements for suppling carrier gas to the metal halide. (See Figures)
The motivation for replacing the design arrangement of Itsuki et al with one of the alternate, well known designs taught by Nakagawa et al is to provide an alternate design arrangement as taught by Nakagawa et al. Furthermore, it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to replace the design arrangement of Itsuki et al with one of the alternate well known designs taught by Nakagawa et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed June 30, 2026, with respect to the 112 rejections of claims 7-10 have overcome the 112 rejections. The 112 rejection of claims 7-10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 30, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to the argument that Itsuki et al does not teach “the portions of … the gas introduction pipe to be … are made of a metal material that is the same metal as the metal halide for thin film deposition and has a purity of 2N to 6N.”, the Examiner disagrees for the following reasons:
Claim 1 requires “a gas introduction pipe connected to a carrier gas inlet disposed in the lid body,
wherein
the portions of the inner container, the outer container, and the gas introduction pipe to be in contact in a gas and solid state with the metal halide for thin film deposition are made of a metal material that is the same metal as the metal halide for thin film deposition and has a purity of 2N to 6N,” (emphsis added). Thus, the claim requires a gas introduction pipe connected to a carrier gas inlet disposed in the lid body and any portion of the inner container, the outer container, and the gas introduction pipe in contact (exposed to) the gas or solid state of the metal halide are made from the same metal as the metal halide and has a purity of 2N to 6N. There is no requirement for parts not exposed to the metal halide to be made the same pure metal. Itsuki et al teaches a gas introduction pipe (pipe upstream of 8) connected to a carrier gas inlet 8 disposed in the lid body and is not in contact (exposed to) the gas or solid state of the metal halide. Therefore, there is no requirement in claim 1 that the gas introduction pipe be made of a metal material that is the same metal as the metal halide with a purity of 2N to 6N, and the arguments based on this alleged requirement are moot.
The Examiner notes that if a reference provides an example in the specification, the example is sufficient to support a 102 rejection, even if it is only one of “a broad list of possible materials”. Thus, Itsuki et al teaches the use of aluminum and aluminum chloride and supports the 102 rejection of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160046408 A1 could be used to reject the claims under 102 or 103.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716