DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. This Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on date: 12/05/2025.
Claims 1-25 and 43 are currently pending.
Claims 1-25 and 43 have been amended.
Claims 1, 25 and 43 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant argued: “the Patent Office rejected claims 1-8, 13-21, 23-25, and 43 under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Frenkel. However, the Patent Office acknowledged that Frenkel does not disclose a secondary node configured to communicate data via powerline communication through the electrical cable to the primary node, and instead relied on Denda to allegedly cure this deficiency. Therefore, Applicant treats this rejection as a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on a proposed combination of Frenkel and Denda” is found persuasive. Therefore, the final rejection is withdrawn. Applicant further argued: “The proposed modification to replace the core wireless communication architecture of Frenkel with the physical powerline communication of Denda would fundamentally change the principle of operation of the prior art invention. According to MPEP 2143.01(VI), a proposed modification that would change the principle of operation of the prior art invention or render it unsatisfactory for its intended purpose cannot support a conclusion of obviousness. Re-architecting the wireless mesh network of Frenkel to instead rely on physical powerline communication would destroy the fundamental wireless nature of the system described by Frenkel. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify Frenkel in the manner proposed by the Patent Office. Instead, the combination appears to be nothing more than a hindsight-based reconstruction of Applicant's claimed invention, which is improper in an obviousness analysis”. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. In response to applicant's argument that Denda is non-analogous art, and the combination is improper. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant's endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Denda discloses a powerline monitoring system having a master node and slave node disposed on powerlines for monitoring and detecting a fault about the condition of the powerlines in the power distribution system, wherein communicated data between the master node and slave via powerline communication through the powerlines. Therefore, the communicated data between the master node and slave node in Denda serves the same purpose as the communicated data between the primary node and secondary node in the present invention.
Examiner Notes
3. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-8, 19-21, 23-25, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenkel et al. (US. Pub. 2023/0417843 from previous citation; hereinafter “Frenkel”) in view of Denda (JP 2008299498 from previous citation; hereinafter “Denda”).
Regarding claim 1 and similarly claims 25 and 43, taking claim 1 as an example, Frenkel discloses, in Figs. 1-4, a system (a fault indicator system 100 in Fig. 2A) configured to monitor one or more conditions of an electric powerline (the system 100 configured for detecting a condition, such a fault, in power lines, see abstract and Fig. 1) comprising one or more electrical cables (three phases power lines 120 in Fig. 1), the system comprising: at least one primary node (a master sensor 12 in Figs. 1 and 3) operatively coupled to at least one electrical cable (the master sensor 12 coupled to a phase B power line of the three-phases power lines 120, see Figs. 1 and 3) of the one or more electrical cables and communicatively coupled to a central computing system (a server 20, see [0047-48]); and at least one secondary node (slave sensors 11 and 13 in Figs. 1 and 3) operatively coupled to at least one electrical cable (the slave sensor 11 coupled to a phase A power line and the slave sensor 13 coupled to a phase C power line of the three-phases power lines 120, see Figs. 1 and 3) of the one or more electrical cables and configured to communicate data via powerline communication to the at least one primary node (see Fig. 3 and [0049]), wherein the at least one primary node is configured to deliver the data to the central computing system (see at least in [0047-49]).
Frenkel does not discloses a primary node coupled to an electrical cable at a first location, and a secondary node coupled to the electrical cable at a second location and communicate data via powerline communication through the electrical cable to the primary node between the first and second locations.
Denda discloses an electrical grid monitoring system (Fig. 1) configured to monitor a condition of a power overhead line (5), comprising a primary node (a master device 10) coupled to an electrical cable (a three-phase cable or power overhead line 5) at a first location (see annotated Fig. 1 above), and a secondary node (slave devices 20a-20c) coupled to the electrical cable (5) at a second location (see annotated Fig. 1 above) and communicated data via powerline communication through the electrical cable to the primary node between the first and second locations (at least in “(1) Main overhead line 5” section of page 4 describes that a signal is transmitted from a master unit 10 to a RS slave unit 20a and ST slave unit 20b between RSs and between STs. In response to this transmission signal, the RS slave unit 20a and the ST slave unit 20b each return a predetermined reply signal to the master unit 10 via the RS and ST overhead lines, and the main unit 10 receives these signals.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the electrical grid monitoring system of Frenkel by having a primary node coupled to an electrical cable at a first location, and a secondary node coupled to the electrical cable at a second location and communicate data via powerline communication through the electrical cable to the primary node between the first and second locations, as taught by Denda, for purpose of providing the monitoring system that allows detection of disconnection of the overhead lines in a simple manner (see the summary).
Regarding claim 2, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches wherein the data is indicative of at least one of: a health of a component of the electric powerline; one or more environmental conditions at the secondary node; a state or operability of an electrical grid comprising the electric powerline; a presence of a fault in the electric powerline (see [0046-47]); or a location of a fault in the electric powerline.
Regarding claim 3, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches wherein the system is further configured to control field devices (see [0003-4]).
Regarding claim 4, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches comprising a plurality of primary nodes comprising the at least one primary node, wherein respective primary nodes of the plurality of primary nodes are positioned on: termination points of respective cables of the one or more electrical cables; branch points of respective cables of the one or more electrical cables; respective medium-voltage cables of the one or more electrical cables; or cable accessories of respective cables of the one or more electrical cables (see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 5, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches wherein the at least one primary node is configured to deliver the data to the central computing system via a wireless data communication, a mesh network, an Ethernet network, or fiber optic cables (see [0047, 49]).
Regarding claim 6, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches wherein the data communicated by the at least one secondary node indicates at least one of: a fault direction; fault measurements; fault alerts; electrical-asset-health alerts; a partial-discharge magnitude; a partial-discharge waveform; a partial-discharge calibration; partial-discharge statistical information; partial-discharge-based alerts; incipient faults; a temperature; cable diagnostic signals; a current waveform or a voltage waveform; waveform-based alerts; relative current phase information and relative voltage phase information; a current magnitude and current phase; a voltage magnitude and voltage phase; an impedance; power-quality measurements; load measurements; an amount of reactive power or active power; an estimated distance between the at least one secondary node and a detected fault, a detected partial-discharge event, or a waveform anomaly; relative time references or absolute time references; an identifier for the at least one secondary node; actuation and control signals; or timing or synchronization signals (see at least in [0011-12]).
Regarding claim 7, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches wherein at least one of the at least one primary node or the at least one secondary node comprise processing circuitry configured to: perform voltage and current monitoring, capturing, and analytics; perform partial-discharge monitoring, capturing, and analytics; perform temperature monitoring and analytics of an electronic device or of nearby components; determine a distance to an electrical fault; capture and analyze a voltage-waveform anomaly or a current-waveform anomaly; determine an electrical fault; detect and analyze an incipient fault; measure a load-balance of the electric powerline; measure and analyze active power and reactive power of the electric powerline; measure and analyze a phasor; assess an asset-health risk; predict a failure of a health of an electrical asset; analyze a direction to a fault; or synchronize monitoring nodes (see at least in [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches wherein, the central computing system comprises processing circuitry configured to, based on the data from the at least one secondary node: estimate a powerline-operability state; identify faulted segment of the powerline; determine a fault response; determine a precise fault location along the powerline; measure a synchrophasor; reduce conservation-voltage; control voltage; perform predictive maintenance on the powerline; assess asset risks; perform load profiling; classify and learn waveform anomalies; predict asset failures; analyze network connectivity; perform metering; reconfigure feeder lines; or generate safety alerts (see at least in [0011-12]).
Regarding claim 19, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Denda further teaches comprising a plurality of secondary nodes (20a-20c and 21a-21c) comprising the at least one secondary node, wherein each of the plurality of secondary nodes is coupled to a different respective phase (R, S, T phases) of the one or more electrical cables (see Figs. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 19, Denda further teaches wherein the at least one secondary node (20a,) does not have a direct data connection to any other secondary nodes (20b-20c and 21a-21c) of the plurality of secondary nodes (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 19, Denda further teaches wherein the plurality of secondary nodes (20 and 21) comprises two or more secondary nodes (20a-20c, 21a-21b) each coupled to a different phase (R, S, T) of an electrical cable of the electric powerline, wherein the two or more secondary nodes (20a, 21a) are coupled to each other via a direct data connection (power lines R, S, T).
Regarding claim 23, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 19, Denda further teaches wherein the plurality of secondary nodes (20a-20c, 21a-21b) comprises two or more secondary nodes each coupled to a different phase of an electrical cable of the electric powerline (see Fig.1), wherein the system further comprises a common electronics module (the master node 10) for the two or more secondary nodes of the plurality, wherein the common electronics module is physically distinct from, and communicatively coupled to, the two or more secondary nodes (see Fig. 1
Regarding claim 24, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, Frenkel further teaches wherein the at least one primary node (the sensor 12) comprises: a transceiver ([0025] wherein each of the sensors comprises a transceiver) including active electronics, an antenna, and Global Positioning System (GPS) circuitry (see [0065]), the transceiver including a housing, the housing mountable to an enclosure, wherein the transceiver is configured to communicate with the central computing system located outside of the enclosure (see Figs. 2a-b); a monitoring device (see Fig. 4C) disposed in the enclosure that provides data related to a real-time condition of the electric powerline (see Fig. 5) within the enclosure; and a sensor analytics unit (see Fig. 4C) to process the data from the monitoring device, to generate a processed data signal, and to communicate the processed data signal to the transceiver (see [53-58, 99] and Fig. 4C).
6. Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenkel in view Denda and further in view of Mahoney et al. (US. Pub. 2020/0110114 previous citation; hereinafter “Mahoney”).
Regarding claim 9, Frenkel and Denda disclose the system of claim 1, except for specifying further comprising at least one removable connector device configured to removably and electrically couple the at least one secondary node to the at least one electrical cable.
Mahoney discloses, in Figs. 1-5, a test point sensor for high voltage removable connector comprising a removable connector device (a removable connector 120a in Fig. 1A) configured to removably and electrically couple the secondary node (a test point sensor 150a, see [00017]) to the electrical cable (a power cable such as 120b, see [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the fault indicator system of Frenkel by having a removable connector device configured to removably and electrically couple the at least the secondary node to the electrical cable as taught by Mahoney for purpose of providing the test point sensor that allows the deployment of a retrofittable sensor to the distribution grid without the utility/customer having to take an outage, the sensor can provide a sensing signal so that the monitoring hardware or analytics unit can detect, at least, faults, power flow, and power quality. Regarding claim 10, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 9, Mahoney further teaches wherein the connector device comprises a T-shaped connector device (Fig. 1A shows the connector 120a having a T-body).
Regarding claim 11, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 9, Mahoney further teaches wherein the secondary node comprises an intermediary plug (130) configured to removably couple the at least one secondary node to the connector device (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 12, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 11, Mahoney further teaches wherein the intermediary plug comprises processing circuitry (a circuit board 170 in Fig. 2) of the secondary node.
Regarding claim 13, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 11, Mahoney further teaches wherein the intermediary plug comprises a test point configured to enable local voltage testing to determine whether the electrical cable is energized while the intermediary plug is engaged with the connector device and while the connector device is engaged with the electrical cable (see [0020, 24, 32, 42]).
Regarding claim 14, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 13, Mahoney further teaches wherein the secondary node further comprises an end cap configured to encapsulate the test point, wherein external connections of the at least one secondary node are routed through the end cap (the TPVS 150a is shaped as a cover or an end cap that is shaped to fit over the head portion 135 of BIP 130 and outer surface 123 of cable accessory receptacle 122, see [0030] and Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 15, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 14, Mahoney further teaches wherein the end cap (150a in Fig. 1) further comprises processing circuitry (170) of the at least one secondary (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 14, Mahoney further teaches wherein primary electronics of the at least one secondary node are housed within a module (see Fig. 2) that is physically distinct from the intermediary plug and from the end cap (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 17, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 9, Mahoney further teaches wherein the at least one secondary node comprises: an intermediary plug (130 in Fig. 1A) comprising primary electrical (132) coupling for the at least one secondary node (150a); an extension module (170) comprising processing circuitry of the at least one secondary node (150a); and an end cap comprising external connections for the at least one secondary node (see Fig. 1A and 2-5).
Regarding claim 18, Frenkel and Denda and Mahoney disclose the system of claim 9, Mahoney further teaches wherein the removable connector device comprises an elbow connector (see Fig. 1B).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 22, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not disclose nor fairly suggest:
“ …the plurality of secondary nodes comprises two or more secondary nodes each coupled to a different phase of an electrical cable of the electric powerline, wherein the at least one secondary node comprises a common set of primary electronics for the two or more secondary nodes, and wherein the at least one secondary node comprises a direct data connection to each of the two or more secondary nodes” in combination with all other elements as claimed in claim 1 and 19.
Prior Art of Record
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nacson (U.S Pub. 20100315092) discloses fault prediction in electronic transmission networks (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
4/4/2026