DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 14-26, in the reply filed on 31 July 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner’s conclusory statement is insufficient to provide a basis for this restriction requirement. This is not found persuasive because the prior art teaches the special technical feature, thus the Groups I-III lack unity (i.e. the same or corresponding technical feature).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 23-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 31 July 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 14 requires at least one “urethane component” while dependent claim 15 requires “wherein the at least one urethane component comprises a polyisocyanate…”. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that a urethane linkage comprises a reacted isocyanate (compound with –OH functionalization reacts with a compound of -NCO functionalization, thus producing a urethane linkage), thus the term “urethane component” indicates a reaction product of a polyisocyanate and an OH containing compound. It is unclear if the “polyisocyanate” required by claim 15 is intended to be an additional polyisocyanate compound added to the urethane component of claim 14 or if the urethane component of claim 15, is prepared from a polyisocyanate listed in the group of claim 15. For purpose of further Examination, the Examiner is interpreting the urethane component is prepared from a polyisocyanate compound listed in claim 15.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "wherein the at least one multifunctional reactive diluent" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Independent claim 14 requires “wherein the amine-functional (meth)acrylate monomer is not an amide” while dependent claim 20 requires “wherein the at least one amine-functional (meth)acrylate monomer… is selected from the group consisting of… N-[3-(dimethaylamino)propyl]methacrylamide”. Furthermore, N-[3-(dimethaylamino)propyl]methacrylamide is a compound that falls outside the scope of formula (I), required by independent claim 14. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al. (JP 2015-028607), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 14-18, and 20; Kudo et al. teaches a photopolymerizable composition comprising, in a preferred embodiment, 40 wt% of a urethane component (urethane acrylamide oligomer prepared from a trimer of hexamethylene diisocyanate) [T2, Ex17; 0103]. Kudo et al. teaches the composition further comprises 1 to 40 wt% of a monofunctional (meth)acrylate, such as 2-ethylhexyl (meth) acrylate isobornyl and (meth)acrylate [045-046], 0.1 to 30 wt% of a polymerizable tertiary amine, such as diethylaminoethyl (meth)acrylate [050-053], and 0.5 to 5 wt% of a photopolymerization initiator, such as bisacylphospine oxides [078-080]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP §2144.05. The Examiner makes note that instant components e) and f) are optional, and thus not explicitly required by the claims.
Kudo et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Kudo et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment containing at least one urethane component, at least one monofunctional reactive diluent, at least one initiator, and at least one amine-functional (meth)acrylate monomer. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a composition containing at least one urethane component, at least one monofunctional reactive diluent, at least one initiator, and at least one amine-functional (meth)acrylate monomer based on the invention of Kudo et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Kudo et al. suggests that the composition can contain at least one urethane component [T2, Ex17; 0103], at least one monofunctional reactive diluent [045-046], at least one initiator [078-080], and at least one amine-functional (meth)acrylate monomer[050-053]. Additionally, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) [see MPEP 2144.06].
Regarding claims 19, 21, and 22; the limitations of the claims merely further define optional limitations of the independent claim and thus are encompassed by the rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11891469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the same art specific subject matter, namely a photopolymerizable composition. The essential difference between the instant application and the patent is that the instant application require the at least one amine-functional (meth)acrylate monomer of formula (I) is not an amide. However, the patent claims amine-functional (meth)acrylate monomers falling within the scope of instant formula (I), thus the instant claims and patented claims substantially overlap in scope.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767