DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Final Rejection supersedes the final rejection mailed 04/22/2026.
This is a final rejection in response to the communication on 07/15/2026, see interview summary. Claims 1 and 5-17 are currently pending with claims 1 and 7 amended, claims 16-17 new and claims 2-4 canceled.
In response to applicant's communication dated 07/15/2026 regarding the last Office action, the following corrective action is taken.
The period for reply of 3 MONTHS set in said Office Action is restarted to begin with the mailing date of this letter.
A corrected copy of the last Office Action is enclosed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/2026, with respect to the prior art and art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, examiner agrees that the prior art in the last rejection do not teach all the limitations in the claims as amended. However, the prior art US Patent 9,777,704 to Minadeo et al. teaches where bolts attached to a bushing in an attachment system of a root of a wind turbine blade maybe offset relative to the bushing. See rejection to follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 5-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2021/0222669 to Borchers et al. (Borchers) in view of US Patent 9,777,704 to Minadeo et al. (Minadeo) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2007/0253819 to Doorenspleet et al. (Doorenspleet).
In Reference to Claim 1
Borchers discloses a root assembly (Fig. 3: 112) of a wind turbine blade (108, see also figure 1) for a wind turbine (106, see also figure 1), wherein
a root portion of the root assembly (of 108) comprises a root segment (Fig. 3: portion of 108 as seen for instance), the root segment having a first centerline (U-sub-R for instance) located in the mean center of a thickness (¶ [0052], mean of laminates of 116 for instance) of the root segment measured along a radial direction (from center 15 for instance) of the root segment and extending along a circumferential direction of the root segment (see ¶ [0052]),
a root attachment face (left portion of 112 interfacing 22’ for instance) of the root portion is attached to a bearing or a hub flange (22’ for instance) of the root assembly by multiple bolts or root inserts (24 for instance), the multiple bolts or root inserts being arranged with their centers along a second centerline (U-sub-RB for instance) extending along the circumferential direction of the root segment (see ¶ [0052]),
wherein the second centerline (U-sub-RB) is offset from the first centerline (U-sub-R),
wherein the second centerline (U-sub-RB) is offset from the first centerline (U-sub-R) in a direction towards an inside of the root portion (towards 15 for instance), and
wherein the second centerline extends parallel to the first centerline (claim 1, the circumferences being coaxial for instance).
Borchers does not explicitly teach “... the center of a thickness of the root segment ...” nor does Borcher teach “... wherein a first set of the multiple bolts have a first length and a second set of the multiple bolts have a second length, wherein the second length is greater than the first length, wherein each of the multiple bolts is connected to one of multiple bushings fixedly arranged within the root segment such that the multiple bolts are arranged adjacent to each other along a circumference of the root portion ...” or “... wherein the second centerline is offset from the first centerline by 0.5 % to 5 % of the thickness of the root segment ...” or “... wherein an attachment point of a respective bolt of the multiple bolts to a respective bushing of the multiple bushings is offset from a center of the respective bushing ....”
Regarding the claimed limitations “... the center of a thickness of the root segment ...”:
Minadeo is related to a root segment (Fig. 2, 22 for instance) of a wind turbine blade (20) for a wind turbine (10 for instance, see figure 1), as the claimed invention, as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the root segment (Fig. 6, 22) has a first centerline located in the center of a thickness of the root segment (of 22, see annotated figure of Minadeo), and teaches wherein an attachment point of a respective bolt of the multiple bolts (42 for instance) to a respective bushing of the multiple bushings (44 for instance) is offset from a center of the respective bushing (see centerlines in annotated figure of Minadeo for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Borchers wherein the root segment (of Borchers) has a first centerline located in the center of a thickness of the root segment (as taught by Minadeo) and wherein an attachment point of a respective bolt of the multiple bolts to a respective bushing of the multiple bushings is offset from a center of the respective bushing (as taught by Minadeo), so as to use an art known technique (of having a root segment having a thickness and a center of said thickness and configuration of a bolt and bushing connection as taught by Minadeo) into the system of Borchers and predictably provide a root segment for the wind turbine blade and connect the root of the blade to the hub.
Regarding the claimed limitations “... wherein a first set of the multiple bolts have a first length and a second set of the multiple bolts have a second length, wherein the second length is greater than the first length, wherein each of the multiple bolts is connected to one of multiple bushings fixedly arranged within the root segment such that the multiple bolts are arranged adjacent to each other along a circumference of the root portion ...”:
Doorenspleet is related to a root assembly (Fig. 2: 400 for instance) of a wind turbine blade (Fig. 1: 40) for a wind turbine (100), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a first set of the multiple bolts (Fig. 8: 502 for instance) have a first length (as seen in figure 8) and a second set of the multiple bolts (504 for instance) have a second length (as seen in figure 8), wherein the second length is greater than the first length (as seen in figure 8), wherein each of multiple bolts (Fig. 6: 500 for instance) is connected to one of multiple bushings (600 for instance) fixedly arranged within a root segment (Figs. 3 and 6: in a portion of 400 for instance) such that the multiple bolts are arranged adjacent to each other along a circumference of the root portion (as seen in figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Borchers wherein a first set of the multiple bolts have a first length and a second set of the multiple bolts have a second length (as taught by Doorenspleet), wherein each of the multiple bolts is connected to one of multiple bushings fixedly arranged within the root segment such that the multiple bolts are arranged adjacent to each other along a circumference of the root portion (as taught by Doorenspleet), so as to use an art known technique (of using multiple bolts having different lengths in the connection of blade components as taught by Doorenspleet) into the system of Borchers and predictably connect the components of the root segment and flange of the system.
Regarding the claimed limitations “... wherein the second centerline is offset from the first centerline by 0.5 % to 5 % of the thickness of the root segment ...”, to the extent that the claimed invention produces the claimed desired results, the applied prior art structure being the same, does the same. In addition, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (such as having a circumferential center of the root portion be offset from a circumferential center of bolts of the root section as taught by Borchers), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II.
In Reference to Claim 5
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 1, wherein, the first centerline extends through the multiple bolts or root inserts (Borchers, see ¶ [0052]).
In Reference to Claim 6
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 1, wherein, at least half of the multiple bolts or root inserts (Borchers, 24) of the root assembly are arranged with their centers along the second centerline (Borchers, ¶ [0052], all of the bolts for instance).
In Reference to Claim 7
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 1, Doorenspleet further teaching wherein the bushings (600) are arranged adjacent to each other along the circumference of the root portion (Fig. 4: in 442 and 444 for instance), and adjacent bushings are offset from one another in a way such that adjacent bushings are provided at an axial distance (L minus S for instance) from one another (Figs. 4 and 6: such as 600 442 and 444, the arrangement as seen in figure 4), the axial distance (L minus S for instance) being measured in an axial direction (bottom to top for instance) from a root attachment face (410 for instance) to the bushings and between centers of the adjacent bushings (of bushings 600 in 442 and 444).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Borchers wherein the bushings are arranged adjacent to each other along the circumference of the root portion (as taught by Doorenspleet), and adjacent bushings are offset from one another in a way such that adjacent bushings are provided at an axial distance from one another (as taught by Doorenspleet), the axial distance being measured in an axial direction from the root attachment face to the bushings and between centers of the adjacent bushings (as taught by Doorenspleet), so as to use a known technique (such as the use a bushing for mounting purposes and the arrangement of the mounting system as taught by Doorenspleet) to the system of Borchers and predictably mount the blade of Borchers and for the mounting system to handle loads on the root portion of the rotor blade (Doorenspleet, [0003]).
In Reference to Claim 8
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the assembly according to claim 7, wherein, a quotient between the axial distance (Doorenspleet Fig. 4: L-S for instance, which is noted to be the same distance if moved to the centers of 442 and 444) and a bushing diameter (Doorenspleet: WR for instance) of the bushings is 2.5 or greater (Doorenspleet, [0027]: such as 0.5 to 10 times).
In Reference to Claim 9
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 7, wherein, a quotient between the axial distance (Doorenspleet Fig. 4: L-S for instance, which is noted to be the same distance if moved to the centers of 442 and 444) and a bushing diameter (Doorenspleet: WR for instance) of the bushings is in the range of 2. 5 to 5 (Doorenspleet, [0027]: such as 0.5 to 10 times).
In Reference to Claim 10
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 7, wherein, a quotient between the axial distance (Doorenspleet Fig. 4: L-S for instance, which is noted to be the same distance if moved to the centers of 442 and 444) and a bushing diameter (Doorenspleet: WR for instance) of the bushings is within the range of 2.7 to 4.8 (Doorenspleet, [0027]: such as 0.5 to 10 times).
In Reference to Claim 11
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 7, wherein, a quotient between the axial distance (Doorenspleet Fig. 4: L-S for instance, which is noted to be the same distance if moved to the centers of 442 and 444) and a bushing diameter (Doorenspleet: WR for instance) of the bushings is within the range of 3 to 4.5 (Doorenspleet, [0027]: such as 0.5 to 10 times).
In Reference to Claim 12
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 7, and wherein the first set of bolts of the multiple bolts having the first length and the second set of bolts of the multiple bolts having the second length are alternatingly connected to the adjacent offset bushings (Doorenspleet as seen in figures 4 and 8, of 502 and 504).
In Reference to Claim 13
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 1,
Doorenspleet further teaching wherein, multiple bolts (Fig. 6: 500 for instance) are secured against a bearing or the hub flange (300 for instance) by nuts (510 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Borchers wherein, the multiple bolts are secured against the bearing or the hub flange by nuts, as taught by Doorenspleet, so as to use a known technique (such as a mounting system as taught by Doorenspleet) to the system of Borchers and predictably mount the blade of Borchers and for the mounting system to handle loads on the root portion of the rotor blade (Doorenspleet, [0003]).
In Reference to Claim 14
Borchers, as modified Minadeo and by Doorenspleet, discloses a wind turbine blade (Borchers, Fig. 1: 106) comprising the root assembly (Borchers, of blade 108 for instance) according to claim 1.
In Reference to Claim 15
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the wind turbine (Borchers, Fig. 1: 106) comprising at one wind turbine blade (Borchers, 108) according to claim 14.
In Reference to Claim 16
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 1, Minadeo further teaching, wherein an attachment point of a respective bolt of multiple bolts to a respective bushing of multiple bushings (Fig. 6, of 42 to 44 for instance) is offset from the center of the respective bushing by an amount corresponding to an amount the second centerline is offset from the first centerline (as seen in annotated figure of Minadeo, this can be seen without the annotated lines which are used for emphasis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Borchers wherein the attachment point of the respective bolt of the multiple bolts to the respective bushing of the multiple bushings (of Borcher) is offset from the center of the respective bushing by an amount corresponding to an amount the second centerline is offset from the first centerline (as taught by Minadeo), so as to use an art known technique (of using multiple bolts and bushings in the connection of blade components as taught by Minadeo) into the system of Borchers and predictably connect the components of the system.
In Reference to Claim 17
Borchers, as modified by Minadeo and Doorenspleet, discloses the root assembly according to claim 1, Minadeo further teaching, wherein attachment point of each respective bolt of multiple bolts to respective bushing of multiple bushings is offset from respective center of each respective bushing (Fig. 6, of 42 to 44 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Borchers wherein attachment point of each respective bolt of the multiple bolts to each respective bushing of the multiple bushings (of Borcher) is offset from each respective center of each respective bushing (as taught by Minadeo), so as to use an art known technique (of using multiple bolts and bushings in the connection of blade components as taught by Minadeo) into the system of Borchers and predictably connect the components of the system.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show mounting systems for root portions of wind turbine blades.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745