DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 10/27/2025. Claims 1-20 and 23 are pending. Claims 1 and 14 were amended. Claim 23 was added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues (see pages 8-9 of arguments filed 10/27/2025):
The Examiner has equated the training signals ftest1 and ftest2 to the first and second signals input to the filter recited in claim 1. However, claim 1 recites that these first and second signals are generated by mixing a radio-frequency continuous-wave signal with a modulated synthesised signal, where the modulated synthesised signal is generated by modulating a signal output by a local oscillator with respective first and second modulations.
The applicant further argues (emphasis provided by the applicant):
In contrast the final sentence of paragraph [0053] of Lee states that "the training signal... may be generated by a transmission device, or a separate device other than the transmission device, or may be received over a wireless channel". Thus, the skilled person would understand from Lee that the training signals are generated externally. There is no mention of internally generating these signals on an integrated circuit itself, as recited in claim 1 and as described on page 4, lines 11-20 of the application as filed, by modulating a signal output by a local (i.e. on chip) oscillator. On-chip signal generation allows the cut-off frequency of the filter to be estimated without requiring external test equipment, using minimal extra components.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s conclusion “the skilled person would understand from Lee that the training signals are generated externally”. Nothing in Lee explicitly states the transmission device is internal. Further, it is known in the art that a frequency synthesizer/oscillator may be provided on an integrated circuit with Built-In Self-Test circuitry.
For example, US 2004/0148580 teaches:
The invention utilizes circuitry already existing in the transceiver, namely the modulation circuitry and local oscillator, to perform sensitivity testing. The on-chip LO is used to generate the modulated test signal that otherwise would need to be provided by expensive external RF test equipment with modulation capability. The modulated LO signal is mixed with an externally generated unmodulated CW RF signal to generate a modulated signal at IF which is subsequently processed by the remainder of the receiver chain.
See abstract, [0005]-[0006], [0014]-[0015].
Us 4,225,969 teaches:
A frequency synthesizer 18 provides local oscillator inputs to transmitter section 10 and to receiver section 14. The frequency synthesizer circuit can produce constant amplitude signals at different predetermined frequencies. Such a synthesizer normally includes a phase locked loop with a voltage controlled oscillator for establishing the frequency to be maintained by the loop. The controlling voltage for the voltage controlled oscillator is provided by a frequency control circuit 20, the output of which is a set of binary logic signals which control counters in the phase locked loop.”
See col. 3, lines 17-34.
US 9,331,979 teaches a test signal generator integrated in a semiconductor chip for outputting a modulated test signal. See Fig. 5; see col. 1, line 39 – col. 2, line 18.
Therefore, it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to use a local oscillator and modulation components present on a transceiver to generate test signals which would otherwise would need to be provided by expensive external RF test equipment with modulation capability. Further, the synthesizer disclosed is equivalent to known synthesizers in the art. While Lee fails to explicitly teach whether components are arranged on an integrated circuit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the components on an integrated circuit as outlined below.
Therefore, the claims stand rejected as outlined in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 12-15, 17, 20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0040592 (Lee) in view of US 9,331,797 (Kordik) and US 2004/0148580 (de Obaldia).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method of estimating a cut-off frequency of an electronic filter having a nominal transfer function and a nominal cut-off frequency, the method carried out on an integrated circuit (measuring, in real time, a deviation between an desired value of a cut-off frequency of a transmission/reception device having a desired cut-off frequency and desired and measured transfer function curve; see abstract; see [0022], [0050]; see Fig. 3) and comprising:
generating a first and a second synthesised signals (signals input to the LNA 310 of a receiver are generated at a pass frequency ftest1 and at a cut-off frequency ftest2 output by a transmission device, a separate device, or received over a wireless channel; see [0052]-[0053], [0063]);
mixing a radio-frequency continuous-wave signal with the first modulated synthesised signal in order to generate a first signal at a first frequency, the first frequency being less than the nominal cut-off frequency (mixer 312 mixes the signal having a pass frequency ftest1 received at the LNA with a carrier frequency generated by the oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal, wherein ftest1 is 1/10 of the cut-off frequency; see [0046], [0052]);
mixing the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal with the second modulated synthesised signal in order to generate a second signal at a second frequency, the second frequency being greater than the nominal cut-off frequency (mixer 312 mixes the signal having a cut-off frequency ftest2 received at the LNA with a carrier frequency generated by the oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal, wherein ftest2 is 1.2 or more of the cut-off frequency; see [0046], [0063]);
applying the first signal to an input of the filter while sampling an output of the filter in order to obtain a first magnitude measurement (mixer 312 mixes the signal at a pass frequency ftest1 with the carrier wave signal generated by oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal which is applied to a filter of the signal converter 316 and the digital processing unit 318 obtains a pass power Ppass at the pass frequency; see [0051]-[0052]; see Fig. 5);
applying the second signal to the input of the filter while sampling the output of the filter in order to obtain a second magnitude measurement (mixer 312 mixes the signal at the cut-off frequency ftest2 with the carrier wave signal generated by oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal which is applied to a filter of the signal converter 316 and the digital processing unit 318 obtains a pass power Pfc at the cut-off frequency ftest2; see [0051] and [0063]; see Fig. 5); and
estimating the cut-off frequency of the filter based on the nominal transfer function, the first magnitude measurement, and the second magnitude measurement (the cut-off frequency deviation is determined based on a designed transfer function curve; the pass power Ppass at the pass frequency ftest1, the pass power Pfc at the cut-off frequency ftest2; [0055], [0072]; see Fig. 5).
Lee fails to teach the method carried out on an integrated circuit, and generating on the integrated circuit a first and a second modulated synthesised signal by modulating a signal output by a local oscillator with respective first and second modulations.
De Obaldia teaches the method carried out on an integrated circuit (an on-chip receiver sensitivity test utilizes circuitry and local oscillator including on-chip LO to generate modulated test signals; see abstract; [0005]-[0006], [0014]-[0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of de Obaldia into Lee in order to gain the advantage of generating test signals utilizing circuitry already existing in the transceiver, wherein the on-chip LO is used to generate the modulated test signal that otherwise would need to be provided by expensive external RF test equipment with modulation capability.
Kordik teaches generating a first and a second modulated synthesised signal by modulating a signal output by a local oscillator with respective first and second modulations (a test signal is generated by modulating a test signal STEST with a local oscillator SLO to generate a test signal STESTRF, wherein in would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the signals ftest1 and ftest2 of Lee may be generated using respective first and second modulations; see Fig. 3; see col. 4, lines 10-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Kordik into Lee in order to gain the advantage of generating test signals using a local oscillator already present in a receiver/transceiver which are generated at different desired frequencies using different modulations.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches radio transceiver comprising a local oscillator, a transmitter circuit portion, a mixer and an electronic filter having a nominal cut-off frequency and a nominal transfer function (a wireless transmission/reception device comprises an oscillator 314, a transmission device, mixer 312, a filter in a signal converter 316 having a desired cut-off frequency and desired and measured transfer function curve; see abstract; see [0022], [0050]; see Fig. 3), the radio transceiver being configured to:
generate first and second signals (signals input to the LNA 310 of a receiver are generated at a pass frequency ftest1 and at a cut-off frequency ftest2 output by a transmission device, a separate device, or received over a wireless channel; see [0052]-[0053], [0063]);
mix a radio-frequency continuous-wave signal with the first modulated synthesised signal using the mixer in order to generate on the integrated circuit a first signal at a first frequency, the first frequency being less than the nominal cut-off frequency (mixer 312 mixes the signal having a pass frequency ftest1 received at the LNA with a carrier frequency generated by the oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal, wherein ftest1 is 1/10 of the cut-off frequency; see [0046], [0052]);
mix the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal with the second modulated synthesised signal using the mixer in order to generate a second signal at a second frequency, the second frequency being greater than the nominal cut-off frequency (mixer 312 mixes the signal having a cut-off frequency ftest2 received at the LNA with a carrier frequency generated by the oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal, wherein ftest2 is 1.2 or more of the cut-off frequency; see [0046], [0063]);
apply the first signal to an input of the filter while sampling an output of the filter in order to obtain a first magnitude measurement (mixer 312 mixes the signal at a pass frequency ftest1 with the carrier wave signal generated by oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal which is applied to a filter of the signal converter 316 and the digital processing unit 318 obtains a pass power Ppass at the pass frequency; see [0051]-[0052]; see Fig. 5);
apply the second signal to the input of the filter while sampling the output of the filter in order to obtain a second magnitude measurement (mixer 312 mixes the signal at the cut-off frequency ftest2 with the carrier wave signal generated by oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal which is applied to a filter of the signal converter 316 and the digital processing unit 318 obtains a pass power Pfc at the cut-off frequency ftest2; see [0051] and [0063]; see Fig. 5); and
estimate a cut-off frequency of the filter based on the nominal transfer function, the first magnitude measurement and the second magnitude measurement (the cut-off frequency deviation is determined based on a designed transfer function curve; the pass power Ppass at the pass frequency ftest1, the pass power Pfc at the cut-off frequency ftest2; [0055], [0072]; see Fig. 5).
Lee fails to teach generate first and second modulated synthesised signals by modulating a signal output by the local oscillator using the transmitter circuit portion with respective first and second modulations.
De Obaldia teaches the radio transceiver being arranged on an integrated circuit (an on-chip receiver sensitivity test utilizes circuitry and local oscillator including on-chip LO to generate modulated test signals; see abstract; [0005]-[0006], [0014]-[0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of de Obaldia into Lee in order to gain the advantage of generating test signals utilizing circuitry already existing in the transceiver, wherein the on-chip LO is used to generate the modulated test signal that otherwise would need to be provided by expensive external RF test equipment with modulation capability.
Kordik teaches generate first and second modulated synthesised signals by modulating a signal output by the local oscillator using the transmitter circuit portion with respective first and second modulations (a test signal is generated by modulating a test signal STEST with a local oscillator SLO to generate a test signal STESTRF, wherein in would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the signals ftest1 and ftest2 of Lee may be generated using respective first and second modulations; see Fig. 3; see col. 4, lines 10-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Kordik into Lee in order to gain the advantage of generating test signals using a local oscillator already present in a receiver/transceiver which are generated at different desired frequencies using different modulations.
Regarding claim 23, Lee teaches a circuit comprising a local oscillator, a mixer and an electronic filter having a nominal cut-off frequency and a nominal transfer function (a transmission/reception device comprises an oscillator 314, mixer 312, a filter in a signal converter 316 having a desired cut-off frequency and desired and measured transfer function curve; see abstract; see [0022], [0050]; see Fig. 3), the circuit being configured to:
generate first and second synthesised signals by modulating a signal output by the local oscillator using the transmitter circuit portion with respective first and second modulations (signals input to the LNA 310 of a receiver are generated at a pass frequency ftest1 and at a cut-off frequency ftest2 output by a transmission device, a separate device, or received over a wireless channel; see [0052]-[0053], [0063]);
mix a radio-frequency continuous-wave signal with the first modulated synthesised signal using the mixer in order to generate a first signal at a first frequency, the first frequency being less than the nominal cut-off frequency (mixer 312 mixes the signal having a pass frequency ftest1 received at the LNA with a carrier frequency generated by the oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal, wherein ftest1 is 1/10 of the cut-off frequency; see [0046], [0052]);
mix the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal with the second modulated synthesised signal using the mixer in order to generate a second signal at a second frequency, the second frequency being greater than the nominal cut-off frequency (mixer 312 mixes the signal having a cut-off frequency ftest2 received at the LNA with a carrier frequency generated by the oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal, wherein ftest2 is 1.2 or more of the cut-off frequency; see [0046], [0063]);
apply the first signal to an input of the filter while sampling an output of the filter in order to obtain a first magnitude measurement (mixer 312 mixes the signal at a pass frequency ftest1 with the carrier wave signal generated by oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal which is applied to a filter of the signal converter 316 and the digital processing unit 318 obtains a pass power Ppass at the pass frequency; see [0051]-[0052]; see Fig. 5);
apply the second signal to the input of the filter while sampling the output of the filter in order to obtain a second magnitude measurement (mixer 312 mixes the signal at the cut-off frequency ftest2 with the carrier wave signal generated by oscillator 314 to generate an intermediate signal which is applied to a filter of the signal converter 316 and the digital processing unit 318 obtains a pass power Pfc at the cut-off frequency ftest2; see [0051] and [0063]; see Fig. 5); and
estimate a cut-off frequency of the filter based on the nominal transfer function, the first magnitude measurement and the second magnitude measurement (the cut-off frequency deviation is determined based on a designed transfer function curve; the pass power Ppass at the pass frequency ftest1, the pass power Pfc at the cut-off frequency ftest2; [0055], [0072]; see Fig. 5).
Lee fails to teach an integrated circuit, generate on the integrated circuit modulated synthesised signals by modulating a signal output by the local oscillator using the transmitter circuit portion with respective first and second modulations.
De Obaldia teaches the radio transceiver being arranged on an integrated circuit (an on-chip receiver sensitivity test utilizes circuitry and local oscillator including on-chip LO to generate modulated test signals; see abstract; [0005]-[0006], [0014]-[0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of de Obaldia into Lee in order to gain the advantage of generating test signals utilizing circuitry already existing in the transceiver, wherein the on-chip LO is used to generate the modulated test signal that otherwise would need to be provided by expensive external RF test equipment with modulation capability.
Kordik teaches generate first and second modulated synthesised signals by modulating a signal output by the local oscillator using the transmitter circuit portion with respective first and second modulations (a test signal is generated by modulating a test signal STEST with a local oscillator SLO to generate a test signal STESTRF, wherein in would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the signals ftest1 and ftest2 of Lee may be generated using respective first and second modulations; see Fig. 3; see col. 4, lines 10-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Kordik into Lee in order to gain the advantage of generating test signals using a local oscillator already present in a receiver/transceiver which are generated at different desired frequencies using different modulations.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the first signal comprises a first intermediate-frequency signal, and the second signal comprises a second intermediate-frequency signal (The mixer 312 outputs intermediate frequency band signals by mixing radio frequency band signals received from the LNA 310 with a carrier frequency generated by the oscillator 314. The mixer 312 applies the intermediate frequency band signals to an input of the signal converter 316. See [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal has a fixed frequency (oscillator 314 generates a carrier frequency which would reasonably be fixed in order to accurately perform the method of claim 1 using a constant carrier frequency; see Fig. 3; see [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches wherein the electronic filter is included in a radio transceiver, the method further comprising generating the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal externally to the radio transceiver and receiving the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal at an antenna of the radio transceiver (the invention relates to an analog filter in a wireless transmission/reception device, and wherein an external device applies a training signal to an input of the reception device, or applies a training signal received in a wireless environment to an input of the reception device, including over a wireless channel, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand the a wireless channel of a wireless transmission/reception device to be an antenna; see [0003], [0043], [0052]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, wherein the electronic filter is included in a radio transceiver, the method further comprising the radio transceiver generating the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal internally based on the signal output by the local oscillator of the radio transceiver (the filter is included in the signal converter 16 and oscillator 314 generates the carrier frequency; see Fig. 3; see [0046]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Lee teaches wherein the filter comprises a low-pass anti-aliasing filter included in a receiver circuit portion of the radio transceiver (the filter is a LPF of a receiver known in the art to perform anti-aliasing; see Figs. 1, 3, 5).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Lee teaches further comprising calibrating the filter in dependence on the estimated cut-off frequency (see [0020]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches wherein the first frequency is less than 75% of the nominal cut-off frequency and the second frequency is greater than 150% of the nominal cut-off frequency (ftest1 is 1/10 of the cut-off frequency and ftest2 is 1.2 or more of the cut-off frequency; see [0046], [0052], [0063]).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0040592 (Lee) in view of US 9,331,797 (Kordik) and US 2007/0146062 (Otsuka), and in further view of US 2004/0148580 (de Obaldia).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Lee fails to teach wherein the radio transceiver is configured to generate the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal by using a signal converter module to generate, from a signal output from the local oscillator, a test signal comprising a plurality of harmonics of the signal output from the local oscillator, at least one of the plurality of harmonics providing the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal.
De Obaldia teaches wherein the radio transceiver is configured to generate the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal by using a signal converter module to generate, from a signal output from the local oscillator, a test signal comprising a plurality of harmonics of the signal output from the local oscillator, at least one of the plurality of harmonics providing the radio-frequency continuous-wave signal (the continuous wave may be provided from a second oscillator on chi, or some harmonic of it may be used to provide the unmodulated CW RF signal; see [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of de Obaldia into Lee in order to provide an equivalent function as Lee using a harmonic of the oscillator instead of a fundamental frequency without requiring any undue experimentation or providing any new or unexpected result, or otherwise modifying the operation of Lee.
Claim(s) 8, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0040592 (Lee) in view of US 9,331,797 (Kordik), and in further view of US 2007/0146062 (Otsuka).
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 18, Lee fails to teach comprising estimating the cut-off frequency based on a ratio of the second magnitude measurement to the first magnitude measurement; and calculating a ratio of the second magnitude measurement to the first magnitude measurement; and estimating the cut-off frequency by performing a calculation based on the nominal transfer function, using the calculated ratio as an input parameter.
Otsuka comprising estimating the cut-off frequency based on a ratio of the second magnitude measurement to the first magnitude measurement; and calculating a ratio of the second magnitude measurement to the first magnitude measurement; and estimating the cut-off frequency by performing a calculation based on the nominal transfer function, using the calculated ratio as an input parameter. (calculating the cutoff frequency may be determined by the ratios between two measured values, wherein the eqn. (3) may be expressed as a ratio of two measured values based on a known quotient rule relationship for logarithmic equations, i.e. log(M) - log(N) = log(M/N); see [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Otsuka into Lee in order to gain the advantage of calculating the cutoff frequency using the two measured values of Lee using the relationship disclosed in Otsuka.
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0040592 (Lee) in view of US 9,331,797 (Kordik) and US 2007/0146062 (Otsuka), and in further view of US 2018/0351535 (Karmaker).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, the combination of Lee, Kordik, and Otsuka teaches comprising: calculating a ratio of the second magnitude measurement to the first magnitude measurement as outlined in the rejection of claims 8, 10, and 18 above, but fails to teach estimating the cut-off frequency using a look-up table stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium using the calculated ratio as an index, the look-up table comprising a plurality of elements each indicating an estimate of the cut-off frequency for a given ratio.
Karmaker teaches estimating the cut-off frequency using a look-up table stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium using the calculated ratio as an index, the look-up table comprising a plurality of elements each indicating an estimate of the cut-off frequency for a given ratio (calibrating a tunable active filter may be performed using a look-up table; see [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a look-up table as disclosed in Karmaker into Lee in order to gain the advantage of calculating the cutoff frequency using a look-up table to avoid the use of complex formulas which may be difficult to implement using digital logic.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0040592 (Lee) in view of US 9,331,797 (Kordik) and US 2007/0146062 (Otsuka), and in further view of US 2013/0028363 (Rofougaran).
Regarding claim 9, Lee fails to teach comprising: taking a first plurality of samples at the output of the filter while applying the first signal to the input of the filter; taking a second plurality of samples at the output of the filter while applying the second signal to the input of the filter; calculating a first root-mean-squared value from the first plurality of samples in order to obtain the first magnitude measurement; and calculating a second root-mean-squared value from the second plurality of samples in order to obtain the second magnitude measurement.
Rofougaran teaches in [0351] wherein “The sample processing module 396 receives, for a given sampling period, the plurality of samples and processes them to produce a processed sample. The processing may be to average the sample values, perform a root mean square on the sample values, to perform a weighted average on the sample values, or some other mathematical function on the sample values to produce a representative sample value.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to collect multiple samples and process the samples using statistical analysis such as an average, RMS, a weighted average, or some other mathematical function as disclosed in Rofougaran into Lee in order to gain the advantage of reducing noise present in a measured values which is routine and well-understood in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858