DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. Note: The specification describes Fig. 4 as “a cross-section of a typical side sill 10 for a vehicle” (Paragraph 91, Page 17, lines 2-3). See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The Abstract uses the implied phrase “the present invention provides” in line 1.
The Abstract is constructed like a claim, rather than being “in narrative form.”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 118, line 4 (Page 23, line 13): “frame110” should be changed to --frame 110--.
Paragraph 126, line 5 (Page 25, line 9): “frame110” should be changed to --frame 110--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 6, the phrase “and having changing heights, and has upper and lower surfaces spaced apart from the side sill frame” is somewhat unclear as to which component is the subject of this phrase (i.e. the unit section or the reinforcing frame). It is suggested that the phrase be changed to --[[and]] , the reinforcing frame having changing heights. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 6, the phrase “and bonded to the first side sill frame” is somewhat unclear as to which component is the subject of this phrase. It is suggested that the phrase be changed to --[[and]] the second side sill frame bonded to the first side sill frame--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 states that “at least one of the first plane portion and the second plane portion includes an uneven portion.” It is confusing how a “plane” portion can include an uneven portion. If an uneven portion is present, then the element is no longer planar. The claim will be interpreted as if it requires a plane portion and an uneven portion. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 2023/0023627, hereinafter Ito).
With regard to claim 1, Ito discloses a side sill for a vehicle (see Fig. provided below), the side sill comprising;
a side sill frame (110) including a hollow portion (Fig. 2 illustrates the hollow internal portion of the side sill); and
a reinforcing frame (120) disposed in the hollow portion in a longitudinal direction of the side sill frame, wherein the reinforcing frame has a unit section (note that the claim does not define what is considered a “unit section,” thus this term is treated as mere nomenclature that generally refers to the generally periodic structure of the reinforcing frame) continued in the longitudinal direction of the side sill frame (see Fig. 4, which shows the corrugations continuing in the longitudinal direction of the sill) and having changing heights (see Figs. 4 and 5), and has upper (Fig. 5, 121a) and lower surfaces (Fig. 5, 121c) spaced apart from the side sill frame (cross-sectional view in Fig. 2 shows that the upper and lower surfaces are both spaced from the sill frame).
With regard to claim 2, Ito discloses that the unit section includes:
a first plane (121a) portion disposed to be parallel to the longitudinal direction of the side sill frame;
an inclined portion (121d) connected to the first plane portion and inclinedly disposed; and
a second plane portion (121c) connected to the inclined portion and provided in a position lower than the first plane portion.
With regard to claim 3, Ito teaches that the inclined portion includes:
a first inclined portion (121b) continued from the first plane portion to the second plane portion and disposed to be inclined downwardly; and
a second inclined portion (121d) continued from the second plane portion to the first plane portion and disposed to be inclined upwardly.
With regard to claim 4, Ito teaches that the side sill frame includes:
a first side sill frame (110A) to which one side of the reinforcing frame (120) is bonded (paragraph 0101; “the end portion of the tubular body and the impact absorbing member end portion which is at least one end portion of the impact absorbing member air joined (joining process)”); and
a second side sill frame (110B) to which the other side of the reinforcing frame is bonded (paragraph 0101; “the end portion of the tubular body and the impact absorbing member end portion which is at least one end portion of the impact absorbing member air joined (joining process)”), and bonded to the first side sill frame (Paragraph 0040, “the vehicle outer tubular body 110A and the vehicle inner tubular body 110B are joined by appropriate joining methods such as welding and bolts in a state where the flange portions are butted against each other”),
wherein the first plane portion and the second plane portion are disposed to face a junction of the first side sill frame and the second side sill frame (see Fig. 4).
With regard to claims 8-11, Ito teaches additional plane portions and inclined portions extending along the longitudinal direction of the vehicle, as seen in Fig. 4.
With regard to claim 12, Ito teaches that the seventh inclined portion and the eighth inclined portion have a curved plate shape (Ito teaches that the wave patter of the reinforcing element 120 can be “a shape like a sine curve”—see paragraph 0071).
With regard to claim 13, Ito teaches that the unit section includes:
a first unit section (defined as shown below in the annotated Fig.) disposed in an upper portion of the side sill frame in a height direction; and
a second unit section (defined as shown below in the annotated Fig.) disposed below the first unit section, wherein the first unit section includes:
a fifth plane portion (see Fig. below) disposed to be parallel to the longitudinal direction of the side sill frame;
a ninth inclined portion (see Fig. below) connected to the fifth plane portion and disposed to be inclined upwardly; and
a tenth inclined portion (see Fig. below) connected to the ninth inclined portion (note that all of the “portions” are connected by virtue of being part of the same piece of sheet metal) and disposed to be inclined downwardly, and the second unit section includes:
a sixth plane portion (see Fig. below) disposed to be parallel to the longitudinal direction of the side sill frame;
an eleventh inclined portion (see Fig. below) connected to the sixth plane portion (note that all of the “portions” are connected by virtue of being part of the same piece of sheet metal) and disposed to be inclined downwardly; and
a twelfth inclined portion (see Fig. below) connected to the eleventh inclined portion and disposed to be inclined upwardly.
With regard to claim 17, Ito discloses that the unit section includes:
a first unit section (as defined in the Fig. provided below) disposed in an upper portion of the side sill frame in a height direction; and
a second unit section (as defined in the Fig. provided below) disposed below the first unit section,
wherein the first unit section includes:
a seventeenth inclined portion (see Fig. below) disposed to be inclined upwardly; and
an eighteenth inclined portion (see Fig. below) connected to the seventeenth inclined portion (note that all the “portions” of the reinforcing frame are connected given that they are part of the same piece of sheet metal) and disposed to be inclined downwardly, and
the second unit section includes:
a nineteenth inclined portion (see Fig. below) disposed to be inclined downwardly; and
a twentieth inclined portion (see Fig. below) connected to the nineteenth inclined portion (note that all the “portions” of the reinforcing frame are connected given that they are part of the same piece of sheet metal) and disposed to be inclined upwardly.
With regard to claim 19, Ito teaches that the reinforcing frame is formed of single sheet steel (paragraph 0042, “the impact absorbing member 120 is made of a high strength steel sheet”).
With regard to claim 20, Ito teaches that a thickness of the reinforcing frame is any one of 1.8 mm or more and 2.2 mm or less (Paragraph 0072, “the sheet thickness of tw of the web 121 is preferably 1.2 mm or more and 2.6 mm or less”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Wani et al. (US 2009/0250969, hereinafter Wani).
With regard to claim 5, Ito fails to teach that at least one of the first plane portion and the second plane portion includes an uneven portion.
Wani teaches a side sill stiffening structure similar to that of Ito. Wani teaches a plane portion (20) having an uneven portion (32).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Ito by providing the uneven portion of Wani, as the uneven portions allow the reinforcement element “to absorb more energy while holding its general shape and configuration, and then allow the unit to further dissipate energy by becoming a crush zone” (Wani, paragraph 0036).
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito.
With regard to claims 6 and 7, Ito contains some disclosure of the specific lengths of the parts of the device. Ito teaches certain lengths and angles as pointed out in the annotated Fig. below, and in Paragraphs 0070-0072. Ito further states that, within the dimensional ranges disclosed in Ito’s specification, “a sufficient absorption amount of impact absorbed energy…can be secured” (paragraph 0069). Thus, Ito teaches that the dimensions and angles of the reinforcing portion are result-effective variables.
However, Ito does not disclose the exact ranges claimed in the instant application. For example, Ito fails to teach that a length of the first plane portion and the second plane portion in the longitudinal direction of the side sill frame is any one value of 40 mm or more and 70 mm or less. Ito also fails to teach that an angle formed by an extension line of the first plane portion and the inclined portion and an angle formed by the extension line of the second plane portion and the inclined portion are any one value of 45° or more and 75° or less.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Ito to have dimensions within the specific ranges claimed in claims 6 and 7, with a reasonable expectation of success, given that Ito teaches that the dimensions are a result effective variable, and the optimization of such variables is a matter of routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 II).
With regard to claim 21, Ito fails to teach that the reinforcing frame has a tensile strength of 1180 MPa or more and a yield strength of 850 MPa or more and 1060 MPa or less. Ito does teach, however, that “the material of each of the web 121, the vehicle outer flange 122, and the vehicle inner flange 123 are all made of steel having a tensile strength of 980 MPa” (Paragraph 0135). It is noted that Ito also teaches highly similar structure, dimensions, and materials to the device disclosed by applicant.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Ito such that the reinforcing frame 120 has a tensile strength of 1180 MPa or more (rather than the disclosed 980 MPa) and a yield strength between 850 and 1060 MPa, with a reasonable expectation of success given that Ito provides guidance as to how the dimensions and materials of the reinforcing frame affect its strength (see paragraphs 0070-0072 and 0074, for example), and thus it would have been a matter of routine experimentation to adjust these values to achieve higher and higher levels of strength and impact absorption (MPEP 2144.05 II).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Rodgers et al. (US 2019/0263342, hereinafter Rodgers).
With regard to claim 14, it is believed that this claim refers to the Fig. 10 embodiment of applicant’s disclosure (see below), where the fifth plane portion 121e and the sixth plane portion 121f are in contact with each other. Ito fails to teach this configuration.
Applicant's Fig. 10 – The embodiment claimed in claim 14
However, Rodgers teaches a side sill reinforcement member (Paragraph 0055, “the energy-absorbing assembly 10 may be a rocker panel or assembly or a portion of a rocker assembly”) having the claimed configuration (Fig. 11).
Rodgers’ Fig. 11
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Ito such that the reinforcing frame had the shape of Rodgers’ Fig. 11, with a reasonable expectation of success, given that Rodgers teaches various cross-sectional shapes for reinforcing elements that can be used in vehicle side sills to absorb energy in impact events, and that “alternate or additional geometries” can be devised to adjust impact resistance characteristics (Rodgers, paragraph 0097). Thus, selecting particular geometries for the reinforcing element from the identified solutions present in the prior art would have been a matter of routine optimization.
With regard to claims 15 and 16, it is believed that these claims refer to the Fig. 11 embodiment of applicant’s disclosure (see Fig. below). Ito fails to disclose this particular geometry for the reinforcing frame.
Applicant's Fig. 11 – The embodiment claimed in claims 15 and 16
However, Rodgers teaches a side sill reinforcement member (Paragraph 0055, “the energy-absorbing assembly 10 may be a rocker panel or assembly or a portion of a rocker assembly”) having the claimed configuration (Fig. 10).
Rodgers' Fig. 10
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Ito such that the reinforcing frame had the shape of Rodgers’ Fig. 10, with a reasonable expectation of success, given that Rodgers teaches various cross-sectional shapes for reinforcing elements that can be used in vehicle side sills to absorb energy in impact events, and that “alternate or additional geometries” can be devised to adjust impact resistance characteristics (Rodgers, paragraph 0097). Thus, selecting particular geometries for the reinforcing element from the identified solutions present in the prior art would have been a matter of routine optimization.
Conclusion
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676