DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants communication filed on February 19, 2026. No claims are amended. Claims 31-35 are newly added. Claims 16-35 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed February 19, 2026, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 6-8 that prior art, Publication No. 2020/0313755 A1 (“Chuang”) does not teach or suggest to transmit, to a user equipment, information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell. Examiner respectfully disagrees as also can be seen from the detailed office action.
Further, in view of the amended claims 31-35 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references as presented in this Office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-35 are therefore moot.
Chuang discloses transmit, to a user equipment, information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell (Fig. 3-4, [0029], “Under the proposed scheme, specific cell(s) in the neighbor cell list may be flagged as upcoming beams. This information may be useful in aiding cell change due to mobility of satellite or UAS platform 130 and may enable faster beam switching”. [0033], “In the example shown in FIG. 4, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6...assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier...Advantageously, under the proposed scheme, UE 110 may utilize the assistance information to achieve faster cell re-selection in RRC idle mode as well as faster beam switching in RRC connected mode” (equivalent to a case where the user equipment is within coverage of the cell and the neighboring cell is detectable at the user equipment). [0028], “Under the proposed scheme, assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110. For instance, the neighbor cell list may be broadcasted in the serving beam as in SIB3 and SIB4” (each beam may be considered a cell). [0024], “Referring to FIG. 3, scenario 300 pertains to a scenario of beam moving trajectory. In the example shown in FIG. 3, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6. Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier” (transmitting information on neighboring cells 2 and 7). [0020], “Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout. Thus, it would be desirable that common Doppler pre-compensation with respect to the beam spot center is applied by the satellite and that the position of beam spot center is indicated to the UE”. [0031], “The information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout), beam center location of the serving beam, beam center location of the next beam(s) in the first tier, and beam center location of the next beam(s) in the second tier. Under the proposed scheme, the assistance information may be delivered through SIB” (equivalent to sending to a user equipment information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 16, 17, 18, 20, 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200313755 A1 (Chuang et al.) (hereinafter Chuang).
In re claim 16, Chuang discloses an apparatus of a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 5:520, [0048], “apparatus 520 as a network node (e.g., satellite or UAS platform 130) of an NTN (e.g., NTN 100)”. [0022], “Referring to FIG. 1, NTN 100 may involve a UE 110, a network node 120 (e.g., a base station such as a gNB, eNB or transmit-receive point (TRP)) functioning as a gateway of a network 125 (e.g., a data network or a 5G mobile network), a satellite or UAS platform 130 orbiting around the Earth 140, and a plurality of beam footprints or cells 150”) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 5:522, [0038], “In some implementations, apparatus 520 may also include a transceiver 526 coupled to processor 522 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data”) and at least one memory (Fig. 5:524, [0038], “In some implementations, apparatus 520 may further include a memory 524 coupled to processor 522 and capable of being accessed by processor 522 and storing data therein”) including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit, to a user equipment (Fig. 1: 110), information indicating ephemeris corresponding to the cell (Fig. 6:610, [0031], “Under the proposed scheme, assistance information corresponding to the serving beam may further indicate certain information. The information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout)”. [0020], “Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout. Thus, it would be desirable that common Doppler pre-compensation with respect to the beam spot center is applied by the satellite and that the position of beam spot center is indicated to the UE” (providing ephemeris assistance information to the UE for compensation for Doppler shift). [0002], “The present disclosure is generally related to wireless communications and networking and, more particularly, to utilization of assistance information for compensation for Doppler shift in non-terrestrial networks (NTNs)”. [0007], “Specifically, various proposed schemes in accordance with the present disclosure aim to provide solutions pertaining to utilization of assistance information for compensation for Doppler shift in NTNs, thereby mitigating or otherwise minimizing the impact of frequency jump”) and information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell (Fig. 3-4, [0029], “Under the proposed scheme, specific cell(s) in the neighbor cell list may be flagged as upcoming beams. This information may be useful in aiding cell change due to mobility of satellite or UAS platform 130 and may enable faster beam switching”. [0033], “In the example shown in FIG. 4, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6...assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier...Advantageously, under the proposed scheme, UE 110 may utilize the assistance information to achieve faster cell re-selection in RRC idle mode as well as faster beam switching in RRC connected mode” (equivalent to a case where the user equipment is within coverage of the cell and the neighboring cell is detectable at the user equipment). [0028], “Under the proposed scheme, assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110. For instance, the neighbor cell list may be broadcasted in the serving beam as in SIB3 and SIB4” (each beam may be considered a cell). [0024], “Referring to FIG. 3, scenario 300 pertains to a scenario of beam moving trajectory. In the example shown in FIG. 3, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6. Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier” (transmitting information on neighboring cells 2 and 7). [0020], “Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout. Thus, it would be desirable that common Doppler pre-compensation with respect to the beam spot center is applied by the satellite and that the position of beam spot center is indicated to the UE”. [0031], “The information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout), beam center location of the serving beam, beam center location of the next beam(s) in the first tier, and beam center location of the next beam(s) in the second tier. Under the proposed scheme, the assistance information may be delivered through SIB” (equivalent to sending to a user equipment information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell).
In re claim 17, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein, coverage of said cell and the neighboring cell is provided by at least one satellite that is moving with respect to the Earth's surface (Fig. 1, [0010], “In one embodiment, coverage of said cell and the neighboring cell is provided by satellite(s) that is (are) moving with respect to the Earth's surface, particularly by Low-Earth Orbit satellite(s)”).
In re claim 18, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein, the information indicating ephemeris corresponding to the cell and the information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell is transmitted through system information broadcast ([0026], “Under the proposed scheme, the assistance information may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB)”).
In re claim 20, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein, coverage of said cell and a first neighboring cell is provided by the same satellite, and the ephemeris corresponding to the first neighboring cell is indicated as same as ephemeris corresponding to said cell ([0005], “In an NTN, a satellite forms multiple beams projecting on the Earth with each beam covering a certain area on the Earth” (here beam represents a cell). As the satellite is moving relative to the Earth, the beams are also moving. When the satellite is at a low earth orbit (LEO), large values of Doppler shift and Doppler variation rates can be experienced due to the motion of the satellite. Accordingly, the satellite may pre-compensate for the Doppler shift during downlink transmissions, and the amount of pre-compensation is related to the satellite speed and the angle between the beam's boresight direction and the satellite's direction of movement. As a result, when the serving beam for a UE is switched from one beam to another due to the satellite's movement, there could be a significant frequency jump which could exceed 4 kHz” (same satellite for serving beam and neighboring beam and therefore same ephemeris of the satellite for serving and neighboring cell)).
In re claims 25 and 28, Chaung discloses a method (Fig. 6), and an apparatus for use by a user equipment in a non-terrestrial network (Fig. 5: 510, [0034], “Each of apparatus 510 and apparatus 520 may perform various functions to implement schemes, techniques, processes and methods described herein pertaining to utilization of assistance information for compensation for Doppler shift in NTNs”), comprising at least one processor (Fig. 5: 512), and at least one memory (Fig. 5: 514) including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a cell in the non-terrestrial network, information indicating ephemeris corresponding to the cell (Fig. 6:610, [0031], “Under the proposed scheme, assistance information corresponding to the serving beam may further indicate certain information. The information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout)”. [0020], “Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout. Thus, it would be desirable that common Doppler pre-compensation with respect to the beam spot center is applied by the satellite and that the position of beam spot center is indicated to the UE” (providing ephemeris assistance information to the UE for compensation for Doppler shift). [0002], “The present disclosure is generally related to wireless communications and networking and, more particularly, to utilization of assistance information for compensation for Doppler shift in non-terrestrial networks (NTNs)”. [0007], “Specifically, various proposed schemes in accordance with the present disclosure aim to provide solutions pertaining to utilization of assistance information for compensation for Doppler shift in NTNs, thereby mitigating or otherwise minimizing the impact of frequency jump”) and information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell (Fig. 3-4, [0029], “Under the proposed scheme, specific cell(s) in the neighbor cell list may be flagged as upcoming beams. This information may be useful in aiding cell change due to mobility of satellite or UAS platform 130 and may enable faster beam switching”. [0033], “In the example shown in FIG. 4, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6...assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier...Advantageously, under the proposed scheme, UE 110 may utilize the assistance information to achieve faster cell re-selection in RRC idle mode as well as faster beam switching in RRC connected mode” (equivalent to a case where the user equipment is within coverage of the cell and the neighboring cell is detectable at the user equipment). [0028], “Under the proposed scheme, assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110. For instance, the neighbor cell list may be broadcasted in the serving beam as in SIB3 and SIB4” (each beam may be considered a cell). [0024], “Referring to FIG. 3, scenario 300 pertains to a scenario of beam moving trajectory. In the example shown in FIG. 3, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6. Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier” (transmitting information on neighboring cells 2 and 7). [0020], “Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout. Thus, it would be desirable that common Doppler pre-compensation with respect to the beam spot center is applied by the satellite and that the position of beam spot center is indicated to the UE”. [0031], “The information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout), beam center location of the serving beam, beam center location of the next beam(s) in the first tier, and beam center location of the next beam(s) in the second tier. Under the proposed scheme, the assistance information may be delivered through SIB” (equivalent to sending to a user equipment information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell), wherein the neighboring cell is detectable at the user equipment when the user equipment is in coverage of said cell ([0024], “Referring to FIG. 3, scenario 300 pertains to a scenario of beam moving trajectory. In the example shown in FIG. 3, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6 (beam here refers to cells as shown in Fig. 3 where UE is in the coverage of serving cell 6). Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier (neighboring cells 2 and 7 detectable at the UE when UE is at cell 6). The assistance information may also indicate the information of beam 3 and beam 11 which may be the candidates of the beam after next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the second tier”. [0033], “In the example shown in FIG. 4, UE 110 is in the coverage of beam 6...assistance information may indicate the information of beam 2 and beam 7 which may be the candidates as the next beam to be the serving beam for UE 110 on the first tier...Advantageously, under the proposed scheme, UE 110 may utilize the assistance information to achieve faster cell re-selection in RRC idle mode as well as faster beam switching in RRC connected mode” (equivalent to a case where the user equipment is within coverage of the cell and the neighboring cell is detectable at the user equipment));
determine Doppler shift estimate for at least one of said at least one neighboring cell based on the received information indicating respective ephemeris ([0005], “When the satellite is at a low earth orbit (LEO), large values of Doppler shift and Doppler variation rates can be experienced due to the motion of the satellite. Accordingly, the satellite may pre-compensate for the Doppler shift during downlink transmissions, and the amount of pre-compensation is related to the satellite speed and the angle between the beam's boresight direction and the satellite's direction of movement”. [0020], “Assuming Doppler pre-compensation with Doppler shift=0 Hz with respect to beam spot center, Doppler shift with a moving beam is in the range of [−3.6 kHz, +3.6 kHz] and the Doppler discontinuity between adjacent beam spots could be 7.2 kHz (=13.2*544 Hz). Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout. Thus, it would be desirable that common Doppler pre-compensation with respect to the beam spot center is applied by the satellite and that the position of beam spot center is indicated to the UE” (estimating doppler shift based on ephemeris information of the satellite)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200313755 A1 (Chuang et al.) (hereinafter Chuang) in view of ERICSSON: "RRM Measurement Requirements", 3GPP DRAFT; R4-2101866, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 15 January 2021 (hereinafter Ericsson).
In re claim 19, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein coverage of at least one of the neighboring cell is provided by at least one satellite on same orbit as said cell ([0032], “Moreover, beam spot center may vary with motion of satellite or UAS platform 130 assuming moving beams and, thus, beam spot center may be a function of time based on trajectory of satellite or UAS platform 130 (e.g., motion and ephemeris of satellite or UAS platform 130). Accordingly, in order to predict the next beam on the first tier and the next beam on the second tear, UE 110 may need to know its location and determine next beams from satellite information” (discloses one satellite so its same satellite for serving cell and neighboring cell) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the ephemeris corresponding to said at least one of the neighboring cells is indicated in reference with respect to the ephemeris corresponding to said cell.
Ericsson discloses wherein the ephemeris corresponding to said at least one of the neighboring cells is indicated in reference with respect to the ephemeris corresponding to said cell (Page 4, lines 32-37, “1. Estimate UE position, and using ephemeris data estimate candidate neighbor cell(s) which should be visible at the current time at the current U E position. 2. Estimate difference of timing and frequency (doppler) between serving cell SSBs and neighbor cell SSBs, which is a function of UE position and ephemeris data of the serving / neighbor satellites. 3. Perform measurement of the neighbor SSBs, using the estimated time window and Doppler to make the measurement feasible and yield neighbor SS-RSRP/SS-RSRQ”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chuang with Ericsson to provide a method and system for cell re-selection using ephemeris data of satellite and to compensate for Doppler shift by the UE in a non-terrestrial network. The advantage of doing so is reducing UE energy consumption and improving user access to 3 GPP services provided by an NTN.
In re claim 21, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, coverage of said cell and a second neighboring cell is provided by different satellites on the same orbit, and the ephemeris corresponding to the second neighboring cell is indicated as the ephemeris corresponding to said cell with an offset related to orbital inter-satellite distance.
Ericsson discloses wherein, coverage of said cell and a second neighboring cell is provided by different satellites on the same orbit (Page 5, section 2.2.1, “RAN2 to discuss about trigger(s) of TN/ NTN mobility, once the Intra NTN mobility has sufficiently progressed. Intra NTN mobility refers to idle and connected mode mobility between NTN cells (e.g. intra or inter satellite)” (discloses inter satellite means multiple satellites on the same orbit)), and the ephemeris corresponding to the second neighboring cell is indicated as the ephemeris corresponding to said cell with an offset related to orbital inter-satellite distance (Page 3, lines 1-5, “Since a 15 or 30m difference in propagation path length (depending on UE capabilities) corresponds to around 0.05uSor O. 1 μs at the speed of light, this gives an order of magnitude estimate of the impact of a positioning error to a timing estimate based entirely on the estimated position, however it should be noted that a 2-D position error of 15m or 30mwill not directly correspond to a 15m or 30m error in the estimated propagation path between the UE and the satellite due to the geometry of the satellite (e.g. if it is directly overhead versus low on the horizon)” (discloses offset). Page 4, lines 32-37, “Estimate difference of timing and frequency (doppler) between serving cell SSBs and neighbor cell SSBs, which is a function of UE position and ephemeris data of the serving / neighbor satellites” (ephemeris corresponding to the second neighboring cell is indicated as the ephemeris corresponding to said cell with an offset related to orbital inter-satellite distance)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chuang with Ericsson to provide a method and system for cell re-selection using ephemeris data of satellite and to compensate for Doppler shift by the UE in a non-terrestrial network. The advantage of doing so is reducing UE energy consumption and improving user access to 3 GPP services provided by an NTN.
In re claim 22, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, coverage of said cell is provided by a satellite on a first orbit, coverage of a third neighboring cell and a fourth neighboring cell is provided by at least one satellite on a second orbit, and wherein, the ephemeris corresponding to the fourth neighboring cell is indicated in reference to the ephemeris corresponding to the third neighboring cell.
Ericsson discloses wherein, coverage of said cell is provided by a satellite on a first orbit, coverage of a third neighboring cell and a fourth neighboring cell is provided by at least one satellite on a second orbit (See “In re claim 21”. Discloses coverage of said cell and neighboring cells can be different satellites), and wherein, the ephemeris corresponding to the fourth neighboring cell is indicated in reference to the ephemeris corresponding to the third neighboring cell (See ‘In re claim 21” discloses ephemeris corresponding to the second neighboring cell is indicated as the ephemeris corresponding to said cell. Chuang discloses in [0030], “That is, information on the next beam to arrive according to trajectory of satellite or UAS platform 130 as well as the beam after next beam, and so on, may be provided to UE 110” (third, fourth are just relative term for neighboring cells and so on)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chuang with Ericsson to provide a method and system for cell re-selection using ephemeris data of satellite and to compensate for Doppler shift by the UE in a non-terrestrial network. The advantage of doing so is reducing UE energy consumption and improving user access to 3 GPP services provided by an NTN.
In re claim 23, the combination discloses the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein Ericsson discloses the coverage of the third neighboring cell and the fourth neighboring cell is provided by different satellites on the second orbit, and wherein, the ephemeris corresponding to the fourth neighboring cell is indicated as the ephemeris corresponding to the third neighboring cell with an offset related to orbital inter-satellite distance (See “In re claim 21” and “In re claim 22”. All features are disclosed in claims 21 and 22 as these are design variations).
In re claim 24, the combination discloses the apparatus according to claim 22, wherein Ericsson discloses wherein the coverage of the third neighboring cell and the fourth neighboring cell is provided by same satellite on a second orbit (See ‘In re claim 20” discloses coverage of two cells can be provided by the same satellite and therefore the ephemeris information of the satellite is also the same for the two cells and “In re claim 21” wherein the said cell and neighboring cells can be on different orbits), and wherein, the ephemeris corresponding to the fourth neighboring cell is indicated as same as the ephemeris corresponding to the third neighboring cell (See “In re claim 20”. All features are disclosed in claim 20).
In re claims 26 and 29, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 25 and the method according to claim 28, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus further to: determine Doppler shift estimate for at least one of said at least one neighboring cell by reusing the ephemeris corresponding to the cell ([0005], “When the satellite is at a low earth orbit (LEO), large values of Doppler shift and Doppler variation rates can be experienced due to the motion of the satellite. Accordingly, the satellite may pre-compensate for the Doppler shift during downlink transmissions, and the amount of pre-compensation is related to the satellite speed and the angle between the beam's boresight direction and the satellite's direction of movement”. [0020], “Assuming Doppler pre-compensation with Doppler shift=0 Hz with respect to beam spot center, Doppler shift with a moving beam is in the range of [−3.6 kHz, +3.6 kHz] and the Doppler discontinuity between adjacent beam spots could be 7.2 kHz (=13.2*544 Hz). Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout. Thus, it would be desirable that common Doppler pre-compensation with respect to the beam spot center is applied by the satellite and that the position of beam spot center is indicated to the UE” (estimating doppler shift based on ephemeris information of the satellite)) but does not explicitly disclose by applying an offset to the ephemeris corresponding to the cell, based on the received information indicating respective ephemeris.
Ericsson discloses applying an offset to the ephemeris corresponding to the cell, based on the received information indicating respective ephemeris (Page 4, lines 32-37, “1. Estimate UE position, and using ephemeris data estimate candidate neighbor cell(s) which should be visible at the current time at the current U E position. 2. Estimate difference of timing and frequency (doppler) between serving cell SSBs and neighbor cell SSBs, which is a function of UE position and ephemeris data of the serving / neighbor satellites. 3. Perform measurement of the neighbor SSBs, using the estimated time window and Doppler to make the measurement feasible and yield neighbor SS-RSRP/SS-RSRQ”). Chuang discloses when same satellite, the ephemeris can be reused
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chuang with Ericsson to provide a method and system for cell re-selection using ephemeris data of satellite and to compensate for Doppler shift by the UE in a non-terrestrial network. The advantage of doing so is reducing UE energy consumption and improving user access to 3 GPP services provided by an NTN.
In re claims 27 and 30, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 25 and the method according to claim 28, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus further to:
pre-compensate Doppler shift for respective one of said at least one neighboring cell, based on the respective Doppler shift estimate ([0005], “When the satellite is at a low earth orbit (LEO), large values of Doppler shift and Doppler variation rates can be experienced due to the motion of the satellite. Accordingly, the satellite may pre-compensate for the Doppler shift during downlink transmissions, and the amount of pre-compensation is related to the satellite speed and the angle between the beam's boresight direction and the satellite's direction of movement”. [0027], “Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, during initial access, assistance information may be utilized to facilitate beam switching in connected mode and to compensate for Doppler shift. Under the proposed scheme, during initial access, assistance information corresponding to the serving beam may also indicate other information. For instance, the assistance information may indicate other information on the beams around the potential trajectory due to movement of satellite or UAS platform 130”);
receive and measure Synchronization Signal/ Physical Broadcast Channel block from the respective one of said at least one neighboring cell for assessing at least one of signal level or signal quality of the respective neighboring cell ([0026], “The information may also include SSB information of the beam candidates as the next beam (first tier) (e.g., the starting frequency domain position thereof as well as periodicity...”. [0029], “TRS position as well as frequency pre-compensation values may be included for flagged cells as mentioned above. This may be helpful in reducing power consumption in UE 110 due to cell search and measurements, in addition to combating Doppler shift”).
Chuang does not explicitly disclose assessing at least one of signal level or signal quality of the respective neighboring cell.
Ericsson discloses assessing at least one of signal level or signal quality of the respective neighboring cell (Page 4, lines 32-37, “1. Estimate UE position, and using ephemeris data estimate candidate neighbor cell(s) which should be visible at the current time at the current U E position. 2. Estimate difference of timing and frequency (doppler) between serving cell SSBs and neighbor cell SSBs, which is a function of UE position and ephemeris data of the serving / neighbor satellites. 3. Perform measurement of the neighbor SSBs, using the estimated time window and Doppler to make the measurement feasible and yield neighbor SS-RSRP/SS-RSRQ”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chuang with Ericsson to provide a method and system for cell re-selection using ephemeris data of satellite and to compensate for Doppler shift by the UE in a non-terrestrial network. The advantage of doing so is reducing UE energy consumption and improving user access to 3 GPP services provided by an NTN.
Claims 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200313755 A1 (Chuang et al.) (hereinafter Chuang) in view of THALES: "Idle mode procedures in NR NTN", 3GPP DRAFT; R2-2009255, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 21 October 2020 (hereinafter Thales).
In re claim 31, Chuang discloses the apparatus according to claim 25, but does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the Doppler shit estimate for a neighboring cell of the at least one neighboring cell is based on whether coverages of said cell and of the neighboring cell are provided by the same satellite or by different satellites.
Thales discloses wherein determining the Doppler shit estimate for a neighboring cell of the at least one neighboring cell is based on whether coverages of said cell and of the neighboring cell are provided by the same satellite or by different satellites (Page 1, section 1: Introduction, lines 14-17, “Enhancement to existing measurement configurations to address absolute propagation delay difference between satellites (e.g. SMTC measurement gap adaptation to the SSB/CSI-RS measurement window)” (Thales discloses that the measurement of Doppler shift depends on propagation delay difference between different satellites, hence it matters if there are different satellites serving the cell or same satellite, for example Fig. 1 shows different satellites)). Thales also discloses transmitting information indicating ephemeris corresponding to at least one neighboring cell (Page 4, Proposal 4, “Neighboring satellite ephemeris and UE location could be used in NTN to assist the UE in the pointing of its directional antenna towards the satellite”). Section 3.2.1.1, “In case of directional UE, neighboring satellite ephemeris shall be used in order to re-adjust the pointing direction of the UE antenna in the direction of neighboring satellite before performing inter-satellite HO or inter-satellite cell reselection”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chuang with Thales to provide a method and system for cell re-selection using ephemeris data of satellite and to compensate for Doppler shift by the UE in a non-terrestrial network. The advantage of doing so is reducing UE energy consumption and improving user access to 3 GPP services provided by an NTN.
In re claim 32, the combination discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein Thales discloses wherein, when coverages of said cell and of the neighboring cell are provided by different satellites, the determining of the Doppler shit estimate for the neighboring cell is further based on whether the different satellites are in the same orbit or not (Page 1, section 1: Introduction, lines 14-17, “Enhancement to existing measurement configurations to address absolute propagation delay difference between satellites (e.g. SMTC measurement gap adaptation to the SSB/CSI-RS measurement window)” (Thales discloses that the measurement of Doppler shift depends on propagation delay difference between different satellites, hence it matters if there are different satellites serving the cell or same satellite, for example Fig. 1 shows different satellites). Page 3, section 3.2, “In earth moving cell scenario with LEO satellite, the satellite trajectory is predictable over time. Knowing the satellite trajectory, information about the list of potential next cells could be informed to the UE. This information can assist the UE to target the potential neighbor cells to be selected first in the cell reselection procedure”. Page 5, proposal 8, “An ephemeris storage format based on orbital parameters” (here trajectory implies orbit information)).
In re claim 33, the combination discloses the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein Chuang discloses wherein, when coverages of said cell and the neighboring cell are provided by the same satellite, then the ephemeris corresponding to the neighboring cell is the same as the ephemeris corresponding to said cell (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0020], “Typical satellite ephemeris may include trajectory and beam layout”. [0023], “The half-power contour of a beam and that of the surrounding adjacent beams are non-overlapped or partially overlapped. Under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure, a sub band may be arranged for data scheduling through each beam, and adjacent beams may be arranged by using different sub bands in order to minimize or otherwise reduce interference from downlink perspective”. [0025], “For instance, the assistance information may indicate information on the beams around the potential trajectory due to movement of satellite” (said cell and neighboring cell may project same trajectory as seen by the satellite due to distance)).
In re claim 34, the combination discloses the apparatus according to claim 32, wherein Thales discloses wherein, when coverage of said cell and the neighboring cell are provided by different satellites on the same orbit, then the ephemeris corresponding to the neighboring cell is the ephemeris corresponding to said cell modified with an offset related to orbital inter-satellite distance (Page 5, section 3.2.2.2, lines 1-3, “As already proposed during the SI phase, a format based on orbital parameters shall be preferred to PVT formats in order to optimize the storage space. Indeed, the storage of orbital planes can be communalized between the satellites sharing the same orbital planes” (discloses different satellites sharing same orbits). Chuang discloses ([0026],“The information may also include SSB information of the beam candidates as the next beam (first tier) (e.g., the starting frequency domain position thereof as well as periodicity and symbol offset thereof) and SSB information of the beam candidates as the beam after next beam (second tier) (e.g., the starting frequency domain position thereof as well as periodicity and symbol offset thereof)” (A person skilled in art can appreciate that for accuracy of Doppler shift calculation an offset will be used for satellites with different orbits projecting ephemeris data of said cell and neighboring cell)).
In re claim 35, the combination discloses the apparatus according to claim 32, wherein Thales discloses wherein, when coverage of said cell and the neighboring cell are provided by different satellites on different orbits, then the ephemeris corresponding to the neighboring cell is the ephemeris corresponding to the neighboring cell (See “In re claim 34”. All features are covered in claim 34. If satellites are in different orbits, then no offset and ephemeris corresponding to the neighboring cell is the ephemeris corresponding to the neighboring cell)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649