DETAILED ACTION
Claims in Consideration
Claims 11, 14, and 15, are canceled.
Claims 1-10, 12, 13, and 16-23, are pending in this application.
Response to Amendments
The previous rejection to claim 13 has been removed in view of the applicant's amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/27/2023, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 102. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of 35 USC 103 rejection is made in view of the combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, wherein Rose and Bill have been added to cure the deficiencies of Chaudhri.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13, 16-20 and 23, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (US 20200099755 A1, published: 3/26/2020), in view of Bill (US 20110239137 A1, published: 9/29/2011), and in further view of Chaudhri et al. (US 20120311443 A1, published: 12/6/2012).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Rose teaches a media collection generation method, comprising: displaying, in a playback interface, target media that is currently played, wherein the playback interface comprises a favorite control (the player front end component assembles the item page from data obtained from metadata associated with user-defined ‘favourites’ [Rose, 0328,FIG. 6]. A media item overlay in drawers and list views provides the user in situ with the ability to play, (add to the) favourite (list), download and recommend the media item [Rose, 0367]; Examiner's Note: wherein the ability to play implies something can be currently playing).
Rose does not teach in response to an operation performed on the favorite control, displaying a plurality of emotional identifications within the playback interface, the plurality of emotion identifications representing a plurality of preset emotion types; and adding, in response to a first interactive operation for a target emotion identification, the target media to a target emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification, wherein the target emotion identification is among the plurality of emotion identifications.
However, Bill teaches in response to an operation performed on the favorite control, displaying a plurality of emotional identifications within the playback interface, the plurality of emotion identifications representing a plurality of preset emotion types; and adding, in response to a first interactive operation for a target emotion identification, the target media to a target emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification, wherein the target emotion identification is among the plurality of emotion identifications (once a user's mood is determined, the mood information may be used to control playlisting. A user who is currently in a "content" mood may be transitioned to a "happy" mood by playing more up-beat songs. A user who is currently in a "sad" mood may be transitioned to a "happy" mood by playing up-beat songs or songs from the user's favorite album or by the user's favorite artist [Bill, 0048]. GUI 700 includes track and media player controls 710, a mood indicator 720, a mood preservation control 730, a mood correction control 740, and an advertisement display 750 [Bill, 0119]. The optional mood indicator 720 features a display that informs a user as to their mood state/status as determined by with respect to a mood-based playlisting system [Bill, 0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the media playback with favorite interface invention of Rose to include the emotional identifications displayed in the playback feature of Bill.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to offer users a list of proposed emotional identifications to choose favorites. Such will provide users with a means of easily assigning favorites based on their emotional involvement with played back matter.
The combination of Rose and Bill, does not explicitly teach adding the target media to a target media collection corresponding to the target identification.
However, Chaudhri teaches adding the target media to a target media collection corresponding to the target identification (if the media player application finds songs in the media library belonging to the same genre of music, then the media player application adds the found songs to the playback queue [Chaudhri, 0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the media playback with favorite interface invention of the combination of Rose and Bill, to include the adding of music to a collection feature of Chaudhri.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow users to add their favorite media more easily so that they can later access it for playback. Such gives users the freedom to enter and playback matter according to what is in their preferences.
Claims 12 and 13, sharing similar elements of claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 1. Chaudhri further teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying or playing, in response to a second interactive operation for the target emotion media collection, media within collections belonging to the target emotion media collection (if the media player application finds songs in the media library belonging to the same genre of music, then the media player application adds the found songs to the playback queue [Chaudhri, 0042]).
Claim 16, sharing similar elements of claim 2, is likewise rejected.
Claim 3. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 2. Chaudhri further teaches wherein after displaying media within collections belonging to the target emotion media collection, the method further comprises: removing, in response to a third interactive operation for a media within a target collection of the target emotion media collection, the media within the target collection from the target emotion media collection, or changing a playback order, within the target emotion media collection, of the media within the target collection (once the media player application has processed the action associated with the icon selected by the user, the media player application removes the menu 114 from the GUI 100 without disrupting the currently playing song [Chaudhri, 0025]).
Claim 17, sharing similar elements of claim 3, is likewise rejected.
Claim 4. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 1. Chaudhri further teaches wherein adding, in response to a first interactive operation for a target emotion identification, the target media to a target emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification comprises: displaying, in response to the first interactive operation for the target emotion identification, a custom media collection list, the custom media collection list comprising at least one custom media collection; and adding, in response to a tap operation for a target custom media collection, the target media to a target emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification within the target custom media collection (if the media player application finds songs in the media library belonging to the same genre of music, then the media player application adds the found songs to the playback queue. The media player application may add a pre-determined number of the found songs to the playback queue. In an alternative implementation, the media player application may add all the found songs to the playback queue. The songs may be added at the start of the playback queue such that the newly added songs are played by the media player application immediately after the currently playing song has completed playing. In an alternative implementation, the found songs are added at the end of the playback queue such that the newly added songs are played by the media player application after all the preceding songs in the playback queue have completed playing [Chaudhri, 0042]).
Claim 18, sharing similar elements of claim 4, is likewise rejected.
Claim 5. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 4. Chaudhri further teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying, in response to a second interactive operation for the target custom media collection, at least one emotion media collection belonging to the target custom media collection; and playing, in response to a tap operation for a target emotion media collection within the at least one emotion media collection, media within collections belonging to the selected target emotion media collection (if the media player application finds songs in the media library belonging to the same genre of music, then the media player application adds the found songs to the playback queue. The media player application may add a pre-determined number of the found songs to the playback queue. In an alternative implementation, the media player application may add all the found songs to the playback queue. The songs may be added at the start of the playback queue such that the newly added songs are played by the media player application immediately after the currently playing song has completed playing. In an alternative implementation, the found songs are added at the end of the playback queue such that the newly added songs are played by the media player application after all the preceding songs in the playback queue have completed playing [Chaudhri, 0042]).
Claim 19, sharing similar elements of claim 5, is likewise rejected.
Claim 6. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the favorite control is configured to favorite the target media after being triggered; and the displaying a plurality of emotion identifications within the playback interface of target media comprises: displaying, in response to a fourth interactive operation for the favorite control (‘Playing’—which shows information regarding the currently selected media item; overlays provide additional options such as favourite, recommend and a ‘go to website’ link [Rose, 0385]), the plurality of emotion identifications, wherein the fourth interactive operation is different from a trigger operation corresponding to the favorite control, the fourth interactive operation comprises one of the following: long press, double tap, and swipe (If the electronic device is provided with a touchscreen, the user can select a song by touching an area of the touchscreen displaying the desired song title in the GUI. In one implementation, the user gesture can be an momentary tap on the touchscreen. In another implementation, the user maintains the touch with the area of the touchscreen for a small but finite period of time that is predetermined by the media player application [Chaudhri, 0019]).
Claim 20, sharing similar elements of claim 6, is likewise rejected.
Claim 9. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 1. Rose further teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying, in response to a fifth interactive operation, an emotion media collection homepage, or, editing, in response to a sixth interactive operation, the emotion media collection homepage, the emotion media collection homepage being used for displaying a emotion media collection corresponding to at least one emotion identification to other users (when the user accesses /iplayer he is redirected to the homepage with the ‘People’ drawer open [Rose, 0282]).
Claim 23, sharing similar elements of claim 9, is likewise rejected.
Claim 10. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 9. Rose further teaches wherein the editing, in response to a sixth interactive operation, the emotion media collection homepage comprises: setting, in response to the sixth interactive operation, visibility parameters of the emotion media collections within the emotion media collection homepage, the visibility parameters representing visibility of the emotion media collections to other users when the emotion media collection homepage being accessed by the other users (when the user accesses /iplayer he is redirected to the homepage with the ‘People’ drawer open [Rose, 0282]).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 21, and 22, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rose et al. (US 20200099755 A1, published: 3/26/2020), Bill (US 20110239137 A1, published: 9/29/2011), and Chaudhri et al. (US 20120311443 A1, published: 12/6/2012), and in further view of Bromand et al. (US 20210074289 A1, published: 3/11/2021).
Claim 7. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 1. The combination does not teach wherein the method further comprises: sending the target emotion media collection, such that a target user obtains recommended media, wherein the target user is a user having a similar emotion media collection, the similar emotion media collection is a emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification and comprising media within at least one collection of the target emotion media collection, and the recommended media is media within collections that is within the target emotion media collection and not within the similar emotion media collection.
However, Bromand teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending the target emotion media collection, such that a target user obtains recommended media, wherein the target user is a user having a similar emotion media collection, the similar emotion media collection is a emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification and comprising media within at least one collection of the target emotion media collection, and the recommended media is media within collections that is within the target emotion media collection and not within the similar emotion media collection (yet another use case is for personalized recommendation, where the contents of a taste profile are used to represent an individual's taste. This API call uses a taste profile as a seed for obtaining recommendations or playlists of similar artists [Bromand, 0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the media playback interface invention of the combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, to include the recommendation feature of Bromand.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow users to choose content based on recommendations. Such would help users expand their media collection according to their personal preferences.
Claim 21, sharing similar elements of claim 7, is likewise rejected.
Claim 8. (Currently Amended): The combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, teaches the method according to claim 1. The combination does not teach wherein the method further comprises: receiving and displaying recommended media information from a target user, wherein the target user is a user having a similar emotion media collection, the similar emotion media collection is a emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification and comprising media within at least one collection of the target emotion media collection, and the recommended media is media within collections that is within the similar emotion media collection and not within the target emotion media collection.
However, Bromand teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving and displaying recommended media information from a target user, wherein the target user is a user having a similar emotion media collection, the similar emotion media collection is a emotion media collection corresponding to the target emotion identification and comprising media within at least one collection of the target emotion media collection, and the recommended media is media within collections that is within the similar emotion media collection and not within the target emotion media collection (yet another use case is for personalized recommendation, where the contents of a taste profile are used to represent an individual's taste. This API call uses a taste profile as a seed for obtaining recommendations or playlists of similar artists [Bromand, 0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the media playback interface invention of the combination of Rose, Bill, and Chaudhri, to include the recommendation feature of Bromand.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow users to choose content based on recommendations. Such would help users expand their media collection according to their personal preferences.
Claim 22, sharing similar elements of claim 8, is likewise rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172