DEATAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 06/18/26.
Claims 1-13 & 15-21 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 14, 16 & 19-20 are amended.
Claim 14 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed on 06/18/26, regarding a drawing objection (Figs 1-2) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the drawing objection is withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment filed on 06/18/26, regarding a specification objection (spec) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the specification objection is withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment filed on 06/18/26, regarding a claim objection (5, 7, 14, 16 & 19-20) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment filed on 06/18/26, regarding a 101 rejection (claim 11) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the 101 rejection is withdrawn.
10. Applicant's arguments and amendment filed on 06/18/26, regarding to a 102 & 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are moot with the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claims Objections
11. Claims 2, 4 & 12 is objected to because of minor informalities:
12. Claim 12, in part, recites, “…A non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform a method, the method comprising: …in the preamble. It’s suggested to change it to: “A non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry to one or both control and perform steps, the steps comprising:” to avoid hybrid claims.
13. Claim 2, recites, “a wireless device for a wireless communication network, the wireless device configured to” in the preamble. It’s suggested to amend it to: “a wireless device for a wireless communication network, the wireless device comprising: a processor configured to” to recite a structure as required by a machine claim.
14. Claim 4 is also rejected for the same reason as claim 2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1-12 & 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (hereinafter referred as Singh) International Publication No. WO 2020/159709 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Lei et al. (hereinafter referred as Lei) US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0352692 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 2: Singh discloses a method/wireless device (See FIG. 4 0053; a User Equipment (UE) 402) for a wireless communication network, the wireless device configured to:
transmit, in a random access message associated to first reference signaling (Corresponding to Msg 1 (random access preamble)), a measurement report pertaining to second reference signaling (Corresponding to Msg 3 (measurement report)) (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 transmits Msg 1 (Random access preamble) to initiate a random access procedure with a base station 404. the UE 402 may transmit a third random access message (e.g., Msg 3) to the base station 404. The UE 402 reports the measurement of the narrowband for Msg 2, performed at 405, by including a report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station).
Singh does not explicitly disclose receive first reference signalling and initiating a random access procedure based on the first reference signalling.
However, Lei from the same field of endeavor discloses receive first reference signalling and initiating a random access procedure based on the first reference signalling (See FIG. 6 & Para. 0091; the random access procedure is initiated when the UE first receives reference signal configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receive first reference signalling and initiating a random access procedure based on the first reference signalling as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claims 3 & 4: Singh discloses a method/ network node (See FIG. 4 0053; a base station 404) for a wireless communication network,
the network node configured to:
communicate with the wireless device based on a random access message received from the wireless device, the random access message being associated to first reference signaling (Corresponding to Msg 1 (random access preamble)) and comprising a measurement report pertaining to second reference signaling (Corresponding to Msg 3 (measurement report)) (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 transmits Msg 1 to initiate a random access procedure with a base station 404. the UE 402 may transmit a third random access message (e.g., Msg 3) to the base station 404. The UE 402 reports the measurement of the narrowband for Msg 2, performed at 405, by including a report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station. The base station to adapt communication to the needs of the UE 402 based on the conditions of the narrowband experienced at the UE 402. The method further enables the UE 402 to determine which narrowband to measure and report to the base station and enables the base station to identify the measurements reported during the random access procedure).
Singh does not explicitly disclose transmit, to a wireless device, first reference signalling; and as part of a random access procedure that is initiated by the wireless device based on the first reference signalling.
However, Lei from the same field of endeavor discloses transmit, to a wireless device, first reference signalling; and as part of a random access procedure that is initiated by the wireless device based on the first reference signalling (See FIG. 6 & Para. 0091; the random access procedure is initiated when the UE first receives reference signal configuration from gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmit, to a wireless device, first reference signalling; and as part of a random access procedure that is initiated by the wireless device based on the first reference signalling as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the random access message is a Message 3 (msg3) in a random access procedure (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0060; Msg 3 to initiate a random access procedure).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Lei discloses the method, wherein one or both of the first reference signaling and the second reference signaling is synchronisation signaling (See Para. 0091; reference signal (RS) is SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein one or both of the first reference signaling and the second reference signaling is synchronisation signaling as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Lei discloses the method, wherein the measurement report is represented as Medium Access Control (MAC) layer information (See Para. 0086 & 0092; MAC layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the measurement report is represented as MAC layer information as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report indicates at least one signaling characteristic of the second reference signaling (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 reports the measurement of the narrowband for Msg 2, performed at 405, by including a report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report indicates at least one signaling characteristic differentially relative to the first reference signaling (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 transmits Msg 1 to initiate a random access procedure with a base station 404. the UE 402 may transmit a third random access message (e.g., Msg 3) to the base station 404. The UE 402 reports the measurement of the narrowband for Msg 2, performed at 405, by including a report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station).
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report only pertains to the second reference signaling (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 transmits Msg 1 to initiate a random access procedure with a base station 404. the UE 402 may transmit a third random access message (e.g., Msg 3) to the base station 404. report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station).
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report is based on measurement performed during a random access procedure (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; the UE initiate a random access procedure with a base station 404 based on the measurement report).
Regarding claim 12: Singh discloses Singh discloses a computer storage medium (See FIG. 3 0042; a User Equipment (UE) includes a memory 360) storing a computer program comprising instructions causing processing circuitry (See FIG. 3 0042; a User Equipment (UE) includes a controller/processor 359) to one or both control and perform a method, the method comprising:
transmitting, in a random access message associated to first reference signaling, a measurement report pertaining to second reference signaling (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 transmits Msg 1 to initiate a random access procedure with a base station 404. the UE 402 may transmit a third random access message (e.g., Msg 3) to the base station 404. The UE 402 reports the measurement of the narrowband for Msg 2, performed at 405, by including a report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station).
Singh does not explicitly disclose receive first reference signalling and initiating a random access procedure based on the first reference signalling.
However, Lei from the same field of endeavor discloses receive first reference signalling and initiating a random access procedure based on the first reference signalling (See FIG. 6 & Para. 0091; the random access procedure is initiated when the UE first receives reference signal configuration).
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the random access message is a Message 3 (msg3) in a random access procedure (See FIG. 4 & Para. 0060; Msg 3 to initiate a random access procedure).
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein one or both of the first reference signaling and the second reference signaling is synchronisation signaling (See Para. 0091; reference signal (RS) is SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein one or both of the first reference signaling and the second reference signaling is synchronisation signaling as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report is represented as Medium Access Control (MAC) layer information (See Para. 0086 & 0092; MAC layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the measurement report is represented as MAC layer information as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report indicates at least one signaling characteristic of the second reference signaling (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 reports the measurement of the narrowband for Msg 2, performed at 405, by including a report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station).
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report indicates at least one signaling characteristic differentially relative to the first reference signaling (See FIG. 4, Para. 0053-0055 & 0061; The UE 402 transmits Msg 1 to initiate a random access procedure with a base station 404. the UE 402 may transmit a third random access message (e.g., Msg 3) to the base station 404. The UE 402 reports the measurement of the narrowband for Msg 2, performed at 405, by including a report of the measurement in Msg 3 415 that the UE transmits to the base station).
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the synchronisation signaling is SSB/PBCH signaling (See Para. 0091; reference signal (RS) is SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the synchronisation signaling is SSB/PBCH signaling as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose the method.
Furthermore, Singh discloses the method, wherein the measurement report is represented as a MAC CE element (See Para. 0086 & 0092; MAC layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the measurement report is represented as a MAC CE element as taught by Lei in the system of Singh in order to provide channel state information in a random-access message (See Para. 0002; lines 1-2).
17. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh, in view Lei, further in view of Hyoungsuk et al. (hereinafter referred as Hyoungsuk) International Publication No. WO 2021/067921 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 21: The combination of Singh and Lei disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the at least one signaling characteristic is one or both of signal strength and signal quality.
However, Hyoungsuk from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the at least one signaling characteristic is one or both of signal strength and signal quality (See Para. 0236; A wireless device may measure one or more downlink reference signals and, based on measured received signal strength and/or quality (or based on other selection rule), may select at least one downlink reference signals among the one or more downlink reference signals. The wireless device may respectively transmit an RAP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one signaling characteristic is one or both of signal strength and signal quality as taught by Hyoungsuk in the combined system of Singh and Lei in order to enable the wireless device and the base station to operate in a wireless environment. (See Para. 0209; lines 7-8).
Conclusion
18. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
19. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Pezeshki et al. 2025/0337474 A1 (Title: Beam blockage event prediction) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Li et al. 2025/0193087 A1 (Title: Machine learning for beam prediction) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Yuan et al. 2025/0183984 A1 (Title: Power control parameters reset associated with beam failure…) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469