CTFR 18/574,918 CTFR 73899 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1,2,4-9,11,16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) . As per claim 1, Laitinen (GB 2574238) teaches an apparatus, for spatial audio encoding, the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor (as computer program code being stored in memory and processed by a processor – pp 5 lines 17-20), cause the apparatus at least to: obtain a first spatial audio stream of a first spatial audio format configured to be encoded with a low bitrate (see pp lines 5-8, for a 2-N channel lineup; pp16 lines 21-29 showing a bitrate reduction option to combine the spatial metadata in addition to combining the transport signals”), wherein the first spatial audio stream comprises at least one audio signal and at least one first metadata ( see pp 27 lines 17-26 – metadata is mixed with the transport signals); obtain a second spatial audio stream of a second spatial audio format, wherein the second spatial audio stream comprises at least one second audio signal and at least one second metadata (see page 5, lines 9-12, wherein a further audio signal format may be at least one of 2-N channels of a spatial microphone array, 2-N channels of multichannel audio signals; first order ambisonics signal; and a high order ambisonics signal, and a spatial audio signal); wherein the at least one second metadata comprises at least oneobject direction parameter and at least on object spatial extent parameter ; convert the second spatial audio format into the first spatial audio format based at least in part on the at least one object direction parameter and the at least one object spatial extent parameter so as to encode a converted second spatial audio stream with the low bitrate, wherein the converted spatial audio stream, at least in part, represents spatial audio properties of the second spatial audio stream (as, converting the audio signal to a suitable parametric format – p16, line 22, furthermore, on p 16, lines 21-29 the parametric signals are combined; and can be based on an associate bitrate requirement, see also in terms of spatial information, modifying the spatial metadata by adding a second analyzed direction; or combining the spatial metadata from the 2 sources in addition to combining the transport signals); combine the first spatial audio stream and the converted second spatial audio stream so as to generate a combined spatial audio stream for encoding with the low bitrate; and encode the combined spatial audio stream (see pp 16, lines 23-29 – regarding bitrate, and combining the two sources as represented by metadata). Laitinen (GB 2574238) teaches the combining of spatial information for the first and second audio input via metadata (see Figure 2) and adding a secondary direction metadata block from stream 2 directions metadata – see Fig. 5, subblock 505. Laitinen (GB 2574238) further teaches the metadata containing direction, energy ratio, coherence parameters – abstract, operating on first order ambisonics or higher order ambisonics – page 19 lines 15-19. The encoded streams in Laitinen (GB 2574238) are then decoded/unpacked (pp 29, lines 23-30) using the spatial metadata (such as elevation, azimuth, distance, energy ratios, and other spatial parameters), see page 22, lines 22-29. Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches a further detailed decoder, that extracts the transport audio signals and metadata, and synthesizing the output spatial audio signals (figure 2, subblock 211-215), and in further detail, uses a spatial extent determiner/synthesizer (fig. 7, subblocks 711,713) that uses cross-stream information (operating on the channel information – para 0201, 0202), using spatial direction, spatial extent angle, a remainder using the spatial extent, and see para 0205, 0211. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of spatial audio signal processing to improve upon the demux-ing/decoding of Laitinen (GB 2574238) with a reconstitution of audio streams, on the decoding end, using cross-channel information such as spatial direction, spatial extent angels, energy ratios, as taught by Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) , because it would advantageously improve the spatial audio processing so as to be utilized in an expanded list of formats, including ambisonics (see Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) , abstract). As per claim 2, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first spatial audio format is a metadata assisted spatial audio format, and wherein the at least one first metadata is at least one spatial parameter comprising at least one of: at least one direction parameter: at least one energy ratio parameter; or at least one coherence parameter (examiner notes that the claim language is in the alternative format, and that the reference needs to match only one of the listed features – see p 16, 24-29 of Laitinen (GB 2574238) – “add a new spatial metadata block into spatial metadata or modify the spatial metadata by adding a second audio/spatial direction; fully combine the spatial metadata from the 2 sources in addition to combining the transport signals).. As per claim 4, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the apparatus comprises at least two microphones (see Laitinen (GB 2574238) as operating on information from a microphone array with 2-N channels/microphones – pp5 lines 5-12, and the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to obtain the first spatial audio stream of the first spatial audio format and to generate the first spatial audio stream of the first spatial audio format based on at least two microphone audio signals from the at least two microphones (see Figures 6/7, with the relationship between the ratio/energies for the streams 1 and 2, and the relationship between). As per claim 5, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second spatial audio format is an object audio format, and wherein the at least one second metadata is at least one object spatial parameter (see Laitinen (GB 2574238) page 1, lines 25-29, showing a ‘further metadata’, to match the claimed second metadata; see pp 19, lines 15-19, object based audio signal). As per claim 6, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the at least one object spatial parameter comprises at least one of: at least one object direction parameter; at least one object energy ratio parameter; or at least one object spatial extent parameter ( Laitinen (GB 2574238) as, the parameters can be one of direction, energy ratio, spatial extent (angle) – see figure 6, showing energy and ratio, and direction, on pp19 lines 17-19). As per claim 7, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to receive at least one external microphone audio signal, and wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to obtain the second spatial audio stream of the second spatial audio format to generate the second spatial audio stream based on the at least one external microphone audio signal (see Laitinen (GB 2574238) , as generating the second spatial audio stream based on the external microphone audio signal – see pp5, lines 9-10, further audio signal of a further audio signal format may be at least one of:2-N channels of a spatial microphone array). As per claim 8, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches at least one of : determine whether the second spatial audio stream of the second spatial audio format has a spatial extent; or convert the second spatial audio format into the first spatial audio format based on the determination of whether the second spatial audio stream of the second spatial audio format has a spatial extent (as, determining the spatial extent (angle) of the audio stream -- Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) para 0016). As per claim 9, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein the second instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to convert the second spatial audio format into the first spatial audio format and further cause the apparatus to at least one of : obtain an initial converted first spatial audio format direction parameter based on an object direction parameter from the second spatial audio format; or modify the initial converted first spatial audio format direction parameter to generate a converted first audio format direction parameter based on the spatial extent from the second spatial audio stream (as mapping to one of the claim elements, the claim element toward modifying the direction parameter based on spatial extent (angle) from the other channel/stream – see Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) , para 0120, wherein the spatial extent is used to determine the direct ratios, which are distilled from all the channels (see para 0110)). As per claim 11, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to convert the second spatial audio format into the first spatial audio format and further cause the apparatus to obtain a converted first spatial audio format energy ratio parameter based on the spatial extent from the second spatial audio stream (as using energy ratios based on the spatial information from the second spatial audio stream – see Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) , para 0017, 0104-0106, see explanation of the energy ratios over the N channels as N-1 ratios). As per claim 16, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein the second spatial audio stream of the second spatial audio format has no spatial extent or is a point-like object and the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to convert the second spatial audio format into the first spatial audio format and further cause the apparatus to at least one of : generate a first order ambisonic audio signal from the at least one second audio signal and the at least one second metadata, wherein the at least one second format audio signal is a point-like object audio signal and the at least one second metadata is a point-like object direction parameter; or analyze the first order ambisonic audio signal (as implementing the techniques for ambisonics formats -- Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) , para 0121, 0122). As per claim 17, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to generate the first order ambisonic audio signal and further cause the apparatus to at least one of : convert each separate point-like object to separate first order ambisonic audio signals; or sum the separate first order ambisonic audio signals together to form a combined first order ambisonic audio signal (see Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) as, operating on ambisonics audio signals – para 0121, 0122; and summing/combining the signals -- Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) – figure 7, subblock 721). As per claim 18, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to analyze the first order ambisonic audio signal and further cause the apparatus to at least one of: determine an intensity-related variable from the combined first order ambisonic audio signal; determine a converted first spatial audio format direction parameter direction parameter based on the intensity-related variable; determine a converted first spatial audio format energy ratio parameter based on the intensity-related variable and the combined first order ambisonic audio signal; set a converted first spatial audio format spread coherence parameter to zero; or set a converted first spatial audio format surround coherence parameter to zero (as, mapping to the first element of the list of elements, and ‘at least one of’ -- Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches operating on ambisonics audio signals – para 0121, 0122; and summing/combining the signals -- Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) – figure 7, subblock 721. As per claim 19, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein the second spatial audio stream of the second spatial audio format is a single point-like object and the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to convert the second spatial audio format into the first spatial audio format and further cause the apparatus to at least one of : set a converted first spatial audio format direction parameter direction parameter to a single point-like object at least one direction parameter; set a converted first spatial audio format energy ratio parameter to one; set a converted first spatial audio format spread coherence parameter to zero; or set a converted first spatial audio format surround coherence parameter to zero (as, to the claim element of ‘set a converted first spatial audio format energy ratio parameter to one – see Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) , para 0109 showing the reduction of the transmitted energy ratios – para 0014 – reducing the energy ratios to a remainder; and para 0108-0112, with emphasis on para 0109). As per claim 20, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to combine the first spatial audio stream and the converted second spatial audio stream so as to generate a combined spatial audio stream for encoding with the low bitrate to mix the first spatial audio stream and the converted second spatial audio stream (see pp 16, lines 1-7 – as merging the streams by directly mixing or combination of the parametric audio format). As per claim 21, the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to transmit the encoded combined spatial audio stream (as transmission – pp 18, lines 27-29, see also figure 1, output of conversion/encode/transmission – subblock 123,125). Claim 22 is a method claim whose steps are performed by apparatus claims 1,2,4-7,20,21 above and as such, claim 22 is similar in scope and content to the commonly found claim features of claims 1,2,4-7,20,21 above; therefore, claim 22 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 1,2,4-7,20,21 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 10,12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As per claims 10,12-14, the claim limitations toward converting the spatial audio stream from one to another, based on spatial extent (angle, direction, energy ratios) dependent upon the spatial extent of the other stream, is not explicitly taught by the prior art of record. Laitinen (GB 2574238) Figure 5 shows the combination of the metadata, and Figure 6 shows a decision tree using a weighted average of the stream metadata, but not a conversion representation dependent upon spatial extent. Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) teaches various cross-channel calculations toward spatial extent (angle), direction, energy ratios, as mapped against the rejected claims, above; but does not explicitly teach the combination of elements as found in claims 10,12-14 . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As per applicants arguments on page 10 of the response, the amended abstract is approved, and the previously presented objection to the abstract, has been removed. On page 11 to the page 12 top, of the response, the arguments are toward the newly amended claim language. These newly amended claim elements are not addressed using the combination of Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) . The summary on pg 12, of the Laitinen (GB 2574238) reference, is noted; however, the claims are now rejected with Laitinen (GB 2574238) in view of Pihlajakuja et al (20200015028) . On pg 13 of the response, similar arguments are presented; see the newly presented prior art combination. Furthermore, it is noted, that in the response throughout pg 11-13, applicants present mere allegation that the Laitinen (GB 2574238) does not teach the recited claim features; however, a compare/contrast/differential is not presented . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see related art listed on the PTO-892 form . Furthermore, the following references were found that match certain features found in applicants disclosure: Fuchs (20200221230) teaches interchannel Direction of Arrival using metadata, and inter-aural coherence information, (para 0006-0009). Stein (20190313200) teaches spatial audio streaming – para 0071, for ambisonics format – para 0102-0104. Dickens et al (20150248889) teaches rotation of multichannel audio signals to extract directional information (para 0023-0025). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Opsasnick, telephone number (571)272-7623, who is available Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Richemond Dorvil, can be reached at (571)272-7602. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /Michael N Opsasnick/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658 05/27/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 2 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 3 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 4 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 5 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 6 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 7 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 8 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 9 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 10 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 11 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 12 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 13 Art Unit: 2658 Application/Control Number: 18/574,918 Page 14 Art Unit: 2658