Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 2 and 3: reference numerals 752 and 751 do not have corresponding description in the Specification,
Fig. 16- reference numeral 680 is not disclosed in the original Specification but appears to be referring to gas discharge device 660 in light of specification upper page 20. Examiner recommends correcting reference numeral "680" in Fig. 16 to be "660" to overcome the drawing objection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “chamber a substrate holder” should read as “chamber; a substrate holder” to correct for typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "heat transfer gas control device" (claim 1, 7, 13, 14, 15); "temperature measurement device" (claim 5, 7); "coolant supply device" (claim 1); "substrate gas supply device" (claim 1).
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For the purpose of examination: "heat transfer gas control device" (claim 1, 7, 13, 14, 15) is interpreted in light of Fig. 14-16 and bottom page 18-19 as comprising a heat transfer gas supply device and a heat transfer gas discharge device wherein the heat transfer gas supply device includes a gas supply pipe, a gas supply source, a gas control device and a gas supply valve and wherein the heat transfer gas discharge device includes a gas discharge pipe, a pressure gauge, a pressure adjustment valve and a vacuum pump; and equivalents thereof; "coolant supply device" (claim 1) is interpreted in light of Fig. 2 and 3 as comprising a chiller and equivalents thereof in light of Fig. 2 and 3 and upper page 12 of original Specification “temperature measurement device" (claim 5, 7) does not have a corresponding structure to perform the claimed function of temperature measurement. Thus, this claim limitation raises rejections under U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) as further discussed below; "substrate gas supply device" (claim 1) does not have a corresponding structure to perform the claimed function of supplying a gas to a substrate rear surface. Thus, this claim limitation raises rejections under U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) as further discussed below.
Other claim interpretation:
Claim 2 limitation “heat structure” is interpreted as comprising a heater in light of Fig. 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (and dependent claims 2-16), claim 5 and 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1 limitation “substrate gas supply device” invokes interpretation under U.S.C. 112(f).
However, all recitations of “substrate gas supply device” in the Specification (upper page 3 original, middle page 7, page 8, page 10, bottom page 21) refers to “substrate gas supply device” or “substrate gas supply device 350” without further specifying a specific structure to perform the function of “supplies a gas to a substrate rear surface.” Additionally, Fig. 2 and 3 shows substrate gas supply device 350 as a box without any defining structural feature. Without any disclosure of any structure, materials, or acts for performing the functions or any link of structure to the functions, one cannot conclude that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention.
In light of the above, dependent claims 2-16 are also rejected at least due to dependency on rejected claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 7 limitation “temperature measurement device” invokes interpretation under U.S.C. 112(f).
All recitations of “temperature measurement device” in the original Specification (lower page 3, page 22) refers to Y without further specifying a specific structure to perform the function of “measure a temperature of the top plate…measure a temperature of the bottom plate…measure a temperature of the base structure” (claim 5) and “to control the difference between the temperature of the top plate and the temperature of the bottom plate to be within a predetermined range” (claim 7). Additionally, Fig. 2 and 3 shows temperature measurement device 1000 as a box without any defining structural feature. Without any disclosure of any structure, materials, or acts for performing the functions or any link of structure to the functions, one cannot conclude that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 (dependent claim 2-16), claim 3 (dependent claim 8), claim 8 and claim 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, limitation “the heat transfer gas” in line 13 does not have sufficient antecedent basis in the claims.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets “the heat transfer gas” as “a heat transfer gas.”
Regarding claim 3, limitation "wherein the heat transfer adjustment structure has a plurality of inner spaces by a top plate, a bottom plate, a side wall and a separation wall" is unclear and confusing whether the plurality of inner spaces recited in claim 3 is the same or different from "a heat transfer adjustment structure…has a plurality of inner spaces" recited in claim 1.
For the purpose of claim interpretation, the Examiner interprets the above discussed limitation as "wherein the heat transfer adjustment structure has [a] the plurality of inner spaces by a top plate, a bottom plate, a side wall and a separation wall"
Regarding claim 8, limitation "the side surface of the heat transfer adjustment structure" is unclear if this side surface claimed in claim 8 is referring to the "side wall" recited in claim 3 or referring to a different structure.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets the above discussed limitation as "the side wall of the heat transfer adjustment structure."
Regarding claim 16, limitations “the top plate and the bottom plate” do not have sufficient antecedent basis in the claims. Claim 15 on which claim 16 depends does not recite “a top plate” and “a bottom plate.”
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets the above discussed limitation as “[[the]] a top plate and [[the]] a bottom plate.”
U.S.C. 112(b) rejections due to interpretation under U.S.C. 112(f)
Claim 1 limitation “substrate gas supply device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. All recitations of “substrate gas supply device” in the Specification (upper page 3 original, middle page 7, page 8, page 10, bottom page 21) refers to “substrate gas supply device” or “substrate gas supply device 350” without further specifying a specific structure to perform the function of “supplies a gas to a substrate rear surface.” Additionally, Fig. 2 and 3 shows substrate gas supply device 350 as a box without any defining structural feature. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets “substrate gas supply device” as comprising a gas container, source or tank and equivalents thereof.
In light of the above, dependent claims 2-16 are also rejected at least due to dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claim 5 and 7, limitation “temperature measurement device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. All recitations of “temperature measurement device” in the original Specification (lower page 3, page 22) refers to Y without further specifying a specific structure to perform the function of “measure a temperature of the top plate…measure a temperature of the bottom plate…measure a temperature of the base structure”. Additionally, Fig. 2 and 3 shows temperature measurement device 1000 as a box without any defining structural feature. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets “temperature measurement device” as comprising a thermometer, thermocouple, temperature sensor and equivalents thereof.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strang et al. (US 2004/0063312 A1 hereinafter “Strang”).
Regarding independent claim 17, Strang teaches a multi-zone temperature control method (Fig. 9 and 10, para.[0061]-[0072]) by a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising gap assembly 104, Fig. 1, 2), comprising:
a step of installing a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 104, Fig. 1 and 2) between a heat source (comprising heating assembly 102, Fig. 1 and 2) and a heat sink (comprising cooling assembly 106, Fig. 1 and 2) (para. [0037]-[0038]);
a step of supplying a first heat transfer gas (step 230, Fig. 9 and 10, para. [0063]) to a first inner space (comprising a first one of sections of gap recess 111, Fig. 2) among multi-zones (comprising sections of gap recess 111, Fig. 2, para. [0057]) of the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 104, Fig. 2) (para. [0055]-[0057], [0061-][0072], Fig. 10);
a step of supplying a second heat transfer gas (step 230, Fig. 9 and 10, para. [0063]) to a second inner space (comprising a second one of sections of gap recess 111, Fig. 1) among multi-zones of the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 104, Fig. 2) (para. [0055]-[0057], [0061-][0072]);
a step of adjusting a pressure of the first heat transfer gas (step 335, Fig. 10, para. [0066]) (para. [0056]-[0057], [0061]-[0072]);
a step of adjusting a pressure of the second heat transfer gas (step 335, Fig. 10, para. [0099]) (para. [0056]-[0057],[0061] -[0072]); and
a step of controlling a heat transfer time (i.e. rate of heat transfer) by changing a heat transfer amount between the heat source and the heat sink in accordance with the change in a pressure of the first heat transfer gas and the change in a pressure of the second heat transfer gas (para. [0040],[0061]-[0072], claim 37-39, Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa (US 2017/0278737 A1) in view of Kawakami (US 6,558,508 B1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Koiwa teaches a substrate processing device (comprising processing apparatus 10, Fig. 1, para [004]), comprising:
a chamber (comprising chamber body 12, Fig. 1, para. [0044]);
a substrate holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 36, Fig. 1) which is located in the chamber (comprising 12, Fig. 1) and has an electrostatic chuck (comprising electrostatic chuck 36, Fig. 1 and 2) which fixes a substrate (comprising workpiece W, Fig. 1) using electrostatic force (para. [0045],[0060], [0065]);
a base structure (comprising cooling table 34, Fig. 1 and 2) which is located in the chamber (comprising 12, Fig. 1) and has a channel (comprising passage 34f, Fig. 1 and 2) formed therein (para. [0059]);
a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising plurality of heat transfer spaces DSN, Fig. 2) which is located between the substrate holder (comprising 36, Fig. 1 and 2) and the base structure (comprising 34, Fig. 1 and 2) and has a plurality of inner spaces (comprising DSN, Fig. 2);
a substrate gas supply device (comprising gas supply unit 19, Fig. 1) which is connected to the substrate holder (comprising 36, Fig. 1, 2, 3) and supplies a gas to a substrate rear surface (para. [0082]);
a chucking power supply device (comprising direct-current power source 60, Fig. 1) which is connected to the electrostatic chuck (comprising 36, Fig. 1) and supplies a chucking power to the electrostatic chuck (para. [0065]);
a heat transfer gas control device (comprising piping system PS, Fig. 4, para. [0092]-[0106]) {interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) as comprising a gas supply pipe (comprising pipe L12a, L12b, L12b, Fig. 4), a gas supply source (comprising GS, Fig. 4), a gas control device (comprising pressure regulator 104a-104c, Fig. 4) and a gas supply valve (comprising v11a-v11c, Fig. 4), a gas discharge pipe (comprising L15a-L15c, Fig. 4), a pressure adjustment valve (comprising V15a-V15c, Fig. 4) and a vacuum pump (comprising exhaust device VU, Fig. 4); and equivalents thereof} which is connected to the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 2) and supplies a heat transfer gas (para. [0069], [0092]-[0106]);
a high frequency power supply device (comprising high frequency power source 42, Fig. 1) which is connected to the base structure (comprising 34, Fig. 1) and supplies a high frequency power (para. [0056]-[0057]); and
a coolant supply device (comprising chiller TU, Fig. 1 and 4) which is connected to the channel (comprising 34f, Fig. 1 and 4) and supplies a coolant (i.e. refrigerant) (para. [0059]).
Koiwa as applied above does not explicitly teach the heat transfer gas control device comprises a pressure gauge.
However, Kawakami teaches a substrate processing device (Fig. 1) including a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising intermediate dielectric plate 60 including indentations 61a, Fig. 7, col 8 line 52-col 11 line 5) comprising a heat transfer gas control device including a pressure gauge (comprising 66, Fig. 7, col 9 line 15-33) wherein the pressure gauge (comprising 66, Fig. 7) enables detection of the pressure in a gas pipe (comprising 64, Fig. 7) for suitable adjustment of the gas pressure detected by the pressure gauge (comprising 66, Fig. 7) (col 9 line 15-22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the heat transfer gas control device to include a pressure gauge because Kawakami teaches that such a configuration enables making a pressure adjustment in a gas pipe based on a detected pressure from the pressure gauge (Kawakami: col 9 line 15-22).
Regarding claim 2, Koiwa in view of Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Koiwa further teaches wherein the substrate holder (comprising 36 and 52, Fig. 1 and 2) includes a heat structure (comprising heaters HN including 56, 57, 58, Fig. 1 and 2) which adjusts a temperature of the substrate (W, Fig. 1) and the substrate processing device includes a heat power supply device (comprising heater power source 62, Fig. 1) which supplies a heat power to the heat structure (comprising 56, 57, 58, Fig. 1 and 2) (para. [0066]-[0067],[0091]).
Regarding claim 14, Koiwa in view of Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Koiwa further teaches wherein the heat transfer gas control device (comprising PS, Fig. 4) supplies or discharges the heat transfer gas to the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 1, 2; comprising DS1,DS2, DS3, Fig. 4) through a plurality of gas ports (comprising openings in lines connected to DS1, DS2 and DS3, Fig. 4) which are separately installed according to a spatial separation manner (see annotated Fig. 4 of Koiwa below).
Regarding claim 15, Koiwa in view of Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Koiwa further teaches the heat transfer gas control device (comprising PS, Fig. 4) adjusts a pressure of the heat transfer gas to control temperature change of the plurality of inner spaces (comprising DS1, DS2, DS3, Fig. 2) of the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 1, 2; comprising DS1, DS2, DS3, Fig. 4) (para. [0113]-[0116]).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa (US 2017/0278737 A1) in view of Kawakami (US 6,558,508 B1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 14, 15 above and further in view of Long et al. (US 2017/0098566 A1 hereinafter “Long”) and Strang et al. (US 2004/0063312 A1 hereinafter “Strang”).
Regarding claim 3, Koiwa in view of Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Koiwa further teaches the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 1) has the plurality of inner spaces (comprising DS1, DS2, DS3, Fig. 2 and 4) by a top plate (comprising 50, Fig. 2), a side wall (comprising fastening member 70, Fig. 2) and a separation wall (comprising first elastic member EM1 including 67, 68, 69, Fig. 1; comprising 67, 68, 69, Fig. 2) (para. [0068]-[0069]) and the heat transfer gas flows in or out through a gas port (comprising an opening in any one of the lines in PS connected to DS1 or DS2 or DS3, Fig. 4; see annotated Fig. 4 of Koiwa in claim 14 rejection below).
Koiwa in view of Kawakami does not explicitly teach a bottom plate and that the gas port is connected to the top plate, the bottom plate, the sidewall or a combination thereof.
However, Long teaches a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising thermal choke 308, Fig 5, 6, 7) can comprise a top plate and a bottom plate (see embodiment Fig. 6) as a known suitable alternative assembly configuration to seal the plurality of inner spaces (comprising cavities 318, Fig. 5, 6, 7) (para. [0074]).
Additionally, Strang teaches a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising gap assembly 104, Fig. 1, 2) including a gas port (comprising opening of gas feed 116 or opening of vacuum feed 138, Fig. 2) for flowing in or out the heat transfer gas, wherein the gas port is connected to a bottom plate (comprising lower plate of gap body 184, Fig. 2) (para.[0045]-[0046], [0054]-[0055]).
Further, Examiner notes that the gas port (comprising an opening in any one of the lines in PS connected to DS1 or DS2 or DS3, Fig. 4) of Koiwa is connected to a bottom of the plurality of inner spaces (comprising DS1, DS2, DS3, Fig. 4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat transfer adjustment structure to have a bottom plate and to configure the gas port to be connected to the bottom plate because Long teaches/suggests a heat adjustment structure having a bottom plate as a known suitable alternative construction/assembly configuration of a heat adjustment structure which would seal the plurality of inner spaces, because Strang teaches/suggests an example of providing a gas port connected to a bottom plate of a heat adjustment structure wherein Koiwa already teaches the heat transfer gas is supplied or discharged from a lower/bottom of the plurality of inner spaces.
Regarding claim 4, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long and Strang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as applied above.
Koiwa further teaches wherein the heat transfer adjustment structure is divided into an inner circle (comprising DS1, Fig. 2 and 4) and an outer circle (comprising DS2 or DS3, Fig. 2 and 4) by the separation wall (comprising EM1 including 66, 68, 69, Fig. 1). Examiner further explains that the separation wall (comprising EM1, Fig. 1) is annular and has different diameters and are coaxially provided, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand in result in a circular region DS1 and an outer circular region DS2 or DS3 (para. [0068])
Regarding claim 8, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long and Strang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as applied above.
Koiwa further teaches wherein the side wall (comprising 70 including cylindrical portion 70a Fig. 2) of the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DS1, DS2, DS3, Fig. 2 and 4) is formed to have a curved structure (i.e. cylindrical) (para. [0072]).
Claim(s) 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa (US 2017/0278737 A1) in view of Kawakami (US 6,558,508 B1), Long et al. (US 2017/0098566 A1 hereinafter “Long”) and Strang et al. (US 2004/0063312 A1 hereinafter “Strang”) as applied to claims 3, 4, 8 above and further in view of Nasman et al. (US 2010/0020463 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long and Strang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as applied above.
Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long and Strang does not explicitly teach a temperature measurement device (interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) as comprising a thermometer, thermocouple, temperature sensor, and equivalents thereof) which is connected to the top of the heat transfer adjustment structure to measure a temperature of the top plate, is connected to the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure to measure a temperature of the bottom plate, and is connected to the base structure to measure a temperature of the base structure.
However, Nasman teaches a substrate processing device (Fig. 1) including a substrate holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 100, Fig. 2) comprising an electrostatic chuck (comprising chuck body 110, Fig. 2) and a base structure (comprising heat sink body 120, Fig. 2, para. [0031]), and a plurality of temperature sensors (not shown) coupled to a temperature monitor system (not shown) and configured to measure various regions of the substrate holder and the base structure (comprising 120, Fig. 2) (para. [0037]-[0039]). Nasman teaches that such a configuration enables providing sensor information to a control system to control a thermal gas supply system (i.e. back side gas supply system) during processing (para. [0039]).
Additionally, Koiwa teaches a controller (comprising MCU, Fig. 1) configured to control each component of the substrate processing device (para. [0050]).
Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill would understand that providing a temperature sensor connected to each of the top plate and at the bottom plate would enable one to measure the temperature of the heat transfer adjustment structure and enable providing sensor information of those specific locations to a control system to perform temperature control adjustments at those specific locations based on the sensor information.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one or more temperature sensors/temperature measurement device connected to the top of the heat transfer adjustment structure to measure a temperature of the top plate, is connected to the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure to measure a temperature of the bottom plate, and is connected to the base structure to measure a temperature of the base structure because Nasman teaches/suggests providing one or more temperature sensors in various regions of substrate holder and a base structure which enables providing sensor information to a control system/controller for temperature control/control of a heat transfer gas system during processing and because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a temperature sensor connected to each of the top plate and at the bottom plate would enable one to measure the temperature of the heat transfer adjustment structure and enable providing sensor information of those specific locations to the controller of Koiwa (comprising MCU, Fig. 1) to perform temperature control adjustments based on the sensor information.
Regarding claim 7, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long, Strang and Nasman teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as applied above including a temperature measurement device and a heat transfer gas control device.
Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long, Strang and Nasman does not explicitly teach the heat transfer gas control device communicates with the temperature measurement device to control the difference between the temperature of the top plate and the temperature of the bottom plate to be within a predetermined range.
However, Nasman teaches a substrate processing device (Fig. 1) including a substrate holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 100, Fig. 2) comprising an electrostatic chuck (comprising chuck body 110, Fig. 2) and a base structure (comprising heat sink body 120, Fig. 2, para. [0031]), and a plurality of temperature sensors (not shown) coupled to a temperature monitor system (not shown) and configured to measure various regions of the substrate holder and the base structure (comprising 120, Fig. 2) (para. [0037]-[0039]). Nasman teaches that such a configuration enables providing sensor information to a control system to control a thermal gas supply system (i.e. back side gas supply system) during processing (para. [0039]).
Additionally, Koiwa teaches a controller (comprising MCU, Fig. 1) configured to control each component (including heat transfer gas control device PS, Fig. 4) of the substrate processing device (para. [0050]). Koiwa further teaches adjusting the thermal resistances among the plurality of inner spaces of the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 1, 2) to enable setting a temperature distribution across the substrate holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 36, Fig. 1) (para.[0032], [0071], [0122]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that adjusting a thermal resistance in the inner spaces of the heat transfer adjustment structure would affect the temperature between a top and a bottom of the heat transfer adjustment structure. For example, if the thermal resistance in the inner space is lowered due to the supply of heat transfer gas into the inner space, the temperature difference between the top and bottom would be lower than in a situation when the thermal resistance is increased in the inner space due to vacuum insulating or low conductivity heat transfer gas preventing heat transfer between the top and the bottom of the heat transfer adjustment structure.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat transfer gas control device to communicate with the temperature measurement device and the controller of Koiwa to control the difference between the temperature of the top plate and the temperature of the bottom plate to be within a predetermined range (i.e. control the thermal resistance the plurality of inner spaces of the heat transfer adjustment structure) because Nasman teaches that configuring the temperature sensor/measurement device to be connected to the controller enables providing sensor information to control a thermal gas supply system during processing and because Koiwa teaches adjusting the thermal resistance in the plurality of inner spaces to enable providing a desired temperature distribution in the substrate holder.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa (US 2017/0278737 A1) in view of Kawakami (US 6,558,508 B1), Long et al. (US 2017/0098566 A1 hereinafter “Long”) and Strang et al. (US 2004/0063312 A1 hereinafter “Strang”) and Nasman et al. (US 2010/0020463 A1) as applied to claims 5, 7 above and further in view of Cox et al. (US 2015/0022936 A1 hereinafter “Cox”).
Regarding claim 6, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long, Strang, Nasman teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein coefficients of thermal expansion between the heat transfer adjustment structure and the base structure are set to have a difference within ±50%.
However, Koiwa teaches that the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 2), the base structure (comprising 34, Fig. 1 and 2) and the electrostatic chuck (comprising 36 including 52, Fig. 1 and 2) are structures that are coupled together to form a substrate holder assembly (comprising pedestal 14, Fig. 1 and 2) (para. [0052]-[0053], [0086]).
Additionally, Cox teaches a substrate holder assembly (abstract) comprising an encapsulating member (102, Fig. 2), a base (104, Fig. 2), and intermediate electrode assembly (comprising 106, Fig. 2) which are coupled together. Cox teaches selecting the materials for the encapsulating member (102, Fig. 2), a base (104, Fig. 2), and intermediate electrode assembly (comprising 106, Fig. 2) to have coefficients of thermal expansion that closely matched (i.e. to have a small difference, and specifically recites an example of 20 percent, para. [0029]) to reduce thermal expansion mismatch which may cause stress or failure under high thermal loads (para. [0028]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select materials for the heat transfer adjustment structure and the base structure to have coefficients of thermal expansion difference within ±50% because Koiwa establishes that the heat transfer adjustment structure and the base structure are components coupled together in a substrate support assembly and because Cox teaches/suggests selection of materials that are coupled together in a substrate support assembly to have a small difference in coefficient of thermal expansion (i.e. within 20 percent) to prevent stress or failure under high thermal loads due to thermal expansion mismatch (Cox: para. [0028]-[0029]).
Note: the taught range of Cox (20 percent) is within the claimed range of ±50%. Furthermore, the courts have held that the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)(See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa (US 2017/0278737 A1) in view of Kawakami (US 6,558,508 B1), Long et al. (US 2017/0098566 A1 hereinafter “Long”) and Strang et al. (US 2004/0063312 A1 hereinafter “Strang”) as applied to claims 3, 4, 8 above and further in view of Fujisato et al. (US 2010/0244350 A1 hereinafter “Fujisato”).
Regarding claim 10, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long and Strang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein a bottom surface of the top plate and a top surface of the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure are formed to have a spike structure.
However, Fujisato teaches a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising thermal conduction buffer layer 142, upper body block 132A, lower body block 132B, irregularities 134A and 134B, Fig. 2, para. [0051]-[0053]) wherein a bottom surface (comprising 134A, Fig. 5A) of the top plate (comprising 132A, Fig. 5A) and a top surface (comprising 134B, Fig. 5A) of the bottom plate (comprising 134B, Fig. 5A) are formed to have a spike structure (para. [0051]). Fujisato teaches that such a configuration increases a heat transfer surface area (para. [0051]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat adjustment structure to have a bottom surface of the top plate and a top surface of the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure are formed to have a spike structure because Fujisato teaches that such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of a heat transfer adjustment structure that enables increasing the heat transfer surface area (Fujisato: para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long and Strang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein a bottom surface of the top plate and a top surface of the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure are formed to have a fin structure.
However, Fujisato teaches a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising thermal conduction buffer layer 142, upper body block 132A, lower body block 132B, irregularities 134A and 134B, Fig. 2, para. [0051]-[0053]) wherein a bottom surface (comprising 134A, Fig. 2) of the top plate (comprising 132A, Fig. 2) and a top surface (comprising 134B, Fig. 2) of the bottom plate (comprising 134B, Fig. 2) are formed to have a fin structure (para. [0051]). Fujisato teaches that such a configuration increases a heat transfer surface area (para. [0051]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat adjustment structure to have a bottom surface of the top plate and a top surface of the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure are formed to have a fin structure because Fujisato teaches that such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of a heat transfer adjustment structure that enables increasing the heat transfer surface area (Fujisato: para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Koiwa in view of Kawakami, Long and Strang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein a bottom surface of the top plate and a top surface of the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure are formed to have an embossing structure (i.e. a protruding structure).
However, Fujisato teaches a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising thermal conduction buffer layer 142, upper body block 132A, lower body block 132B, irregularities 134A and 134B, Fig. 2, para. [0051]-[0053]) wherein a bottom surface (comprising 134A, Fig. 2, 5A, 5B) of the top plate (comprising 132A, Fig. 2, 5A, 5B) and a top surface (comprising 134B, Fig. 2, 5A, 5B) of the bottom plate (comprising 134B, Fig. 2, 5A, 5B) are formed to have an embossing structure (i.e. protrusions/protruding structure) (para. [0051]). Fujisato teaches that such a configuration increases a heat transfer surface area (para. [0051]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat adjustment structure to have a bottom surface of the top plate and a top surface of the bottom plate of the heat transfer adjustment structure are formed to have an embossing structure (i.e. protruding structure) because Fujisato teaches that such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of a heat transfer adjustment structure that enables increasing the heat transfer surface area (Fujisato: para. [0051]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koiwa (US 2017/0278737 A1) in view of Kawakami (US 6,558,508 B1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 14, 15 above and further in view of Long et al. (US 2017/0098566 A1 hereinafter “Long”).
Regarding claim 16, Koiwa in view of Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as applied above and Koiwa further teaches wherein the heat transfer adjustment structure varies a heat transfer amount according to the change of the pressure of the heat transfer gas to control a heat transfer time (i.e. heat transfer rate)(para. [0113]-[0116]). Koiwa additionally teaches a top plate (comprising 50, Fig. 2).
Koiwa in view of Kawakami as applied above does not explicitly teach a bottom plate and the heat transfer adjust structure varies a heat transfer amount between the top plate and the bottom plate.
However, Long teaches a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising thermal choke 308, Fig 5, 6, 7) can comprise a top plate and a bottom plate (see embodiment Fig. 6) as a known suitable alternative assembly configuration to seal the plurality of inner spaces (comprising cavities 318, Fig. 5, 6, 7) (para. [0074]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the heat transfer adjustment structure to have a bottom plate and to configure the gas port to be connected to the bottom plate because Long teaches/suggests a heat adjustment structure having a bottom plate as a known suitable alternative construction/assembly configuration of a heat adjustment structure which would seal the plurality of inner spaces (Long: para. [0074]). Additionally, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art that limitation "the heat transfer adjust structure varies a heat transfer amount between the top plate and the bottom plate" would be met when modifying the apparatus of Koiwa in view of Kawakami to include a bottom plate because Koiwa already teaches adjusting the heat transfer amount according to the chamber of pressure of the heat transfer gas to control a heat transfer time.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 9, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia de Gorordo et al. (US 2020/0395197 A1 hereinafter “Garcia”) in view of Koiwa (US 2017/0278737 A1) and Kawakami (US 6,558,508 B1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Garcia teaches a substrate processing device (comprising plasma processing chamber 100, Fig. 1, para. [0019]-[0020]), comprising:
a chamber (comprising chamber body 102, Fig. 1, para. [0020]);
a substrate holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 103, Fig. 1, para. [0023]) which is located in the chamber (comprising 102, Fig. 1) and has an electrostatic chuck (comprising 103, Fig. 1) which fixes a substrate using electrostatic force (para. [0023]);
a base structure (comprising facility plate 107 and/or cooling plate 230, Fig. 2) which is located in the chamber (comprising 102, Fig. 1) and has a channel (comprising coolant channel 192 and/or 196, Fig. 2) formed therein (para. [0025], [0036]);
a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising cooling base assembly 105, Fig. 1; comprising cooling base assembly 105 including adjustable thermal break 200, Fig. 2) which is located between the substrate holder (comprising 103, Fig. 1 and 2) and the base structure (comprising 107, Fig. 1 and 2) and has a plurality of inner spaces (comprising regions between supports 292, Fig. 2; Examiner notes that Fig. 2 of Garcia is substantially similar to the Fig. 9 embodiment of the instant application)(para. [0038]-[0042]);
a substrate gas supply device (comprising backside gas source, not shown but is disclosed in para. [0040] and [0051]) which is connected to the substrate holder (comprising 103, Fig. 1 and 2) and supplies a gas to a substrate (comprising 124, Fig. 1) rear surface (para. [0040], [0051]);
a chucking power supply device (comprising chucking power source 134, Fig. 1) which is connected to the electrostatic chuck (comprising 103, Fig. 1) and supplies a chucking power to the electrostatic chuck (comprising 103, Fig. 1) (para. [0027]);
a heat transfer gas control device {interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) as comprising a gas supply pipe (comprising 207, Fig. 2), a gas supply source (i.e. backside gas source, not shown), a gas control device (i.e. pressure controller), a gas discharge pipe (comprising 207, Fig. 2), and a vacuum pump (i.e. vacuum/ drain system); and equivalents thereof}which is connected to the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising adjustable thermal break 200, Fig. 2) and supplies the heat transfer gas (para. [0040]); and
a coolant supply device (comprising chiller 119 and/or 117, Fig. 1) which is connected to the channel (comprising 192 and/or 196, Fig. 1 and 2) and supplies a coolant (para. [0024],[0025], [0036]).
Garcia does not explicitly teach a high frequency power supply device which is connected to the base structure and supplies a high frequency power; and the heat transfer gas control device further comprises a pressure gauge, a gas supply valve, and a pressure adjustment valve.
However, Koiwa teaches a substrate processing device (comprising processing apparatus 10, Fig. 1, para [004]), comprising a high frequency power supply device (comprising high frequency power source 44, Fig. 1) which is connected to the base structure (comprising cooling table 34, Fig. 1) and supplies a high frequency power (para. [0056]-[0057]). Koiwa teaches that such a configuration enables attraction of ions (para. [0057]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add/provide a high frequency power supply device which is connected to the base structure and supplies a high frequency power because Koiwa teaches that such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of a substrate processing device which would enable attraction of ions (Koiwa: para. [0057]).
Garcia in view of Koiwa as applied above does not explicitly teach the heat transfer gas control device further comprises a pressure gauge, a gas supply valve, and a pressure adjustment valve.
However, Koiwa further teaches a heat transfer gas control device (comprising piping system PS, Fig. 4, para. [0092]-[0106]) {interpreted under U.S.C. 112(f) as comprising a gas supply pipe (comprising pipe L12a, L12b, L12b, Fig. 4), a gas supply source (comprising GS, Fig. 4), a gas control device (comprising pressure regulator 104a-104c, Fig. 4) and a gas supply valve (comprising v11a-v11c, Fig. 4), a gas discharge pipe (comprising L15a-L15c, Fig. 4), a pressure adjustment valve (comprising V15a-V15c, Fig. 4) and a vacuum pump (comprising exhaust device VU, Fig. 4); and equivalents thereof} which is connected to the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 2) and supplies a heat transfer gas (para. [0069], [0092]-[0106]).
Further, Kawakami teaches a substrate processing device (Fig. 1) including a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising intermediate dielectric plate 60 including indentations 61a, Fig. 7, col 8 line 52-col 11 line 5) comprising a heat transfer gas control device including a pressure gauge (comprising 66, Fig. 7, col 9 line 15-33) wherein the pressure gauge (comprising 66, Fig. 7) enables detection of the pressure in a gas pipe (comprising 64, Fig. 7) for suitable adjustment of the gas pressure detected by the pressure gauge (comprising 66, Fig. 7) (col 9 line 15-22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the heat transfer gas control device to include a gas supply valve and a pressure adjustment valve because Koiwa teaches that such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration of a heat transfer gas control device suitable for controllably supplying gas to the heat transfer adjustment structure and it would further be obvious to provide a pressure gauge because Kawakami teaches that such a configuration enables making a pressure adjustment in a gas pipe based on a detected pressure from the pressure gauge (Kawakami: col 9 line 15-22).
Regarding claim 2, Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Garcia further teaches wherein the substrate holder (comprising 103, Fig. 1 and 2) includes a heat structure (comprising one or more resistive heaters 128, Fig. 1 and 2, para. [0028]) which adjusts a temperature of the substrate (comprising 124, Fig. 1) and the substrate processing device includes a heat power supply device (comprising heater power source 136, Fig. 1) which supplies a heat power to the heat structure (para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Garcia further teaches the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 200, Fig. 2) has a plurality of inner spaces (comprising regions between 292, Fig. 2) by a top plate (i.e. "top sheet" not shown, para. [0039]), a bottom plate (i.e. "bottom sheet" not shown, para. [0039]), a sidewall (comprising gasket 244, Fig. 2, para. [0037]) and a heat transfer gas flows in or out through a gas port (comprising opening of fluid conduit 207, Fig. 2) which is connected to the bottom plate (para. [0039]).
Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami as applied above does not clearly and explicitly teach a separation wall.
However, Koiwa further teaches the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising DSN, Fig. 1) has a separation wall (comprising first elastic member EM1 including 67, 68, 69, Fig. 1; comprising 67, 68, 69, Fig. 2) (para. [0068]-[0069]). Koiwa teaches that such a configuration enables providing independent heat transfer inner spaces which can be individually adjusted to provide different thermal resistances from each other and provides a temperature distribution across the substrate holder/electrostatic chuck (comprising 36, Fig. 1) (para. [0068]-[0070], [0122]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the heat transfer adjustment structure (Garcia: 200, Fig. 2) to include a separation wall because Koiwa teaches that such a configuration enables providing independent heat transfer inner spaces which can be individually adjusted to provide different thermal resistances from each other and provides a temperature distribution across the substrate holder/electrostatic chuck (Koiwa: para. [0068]-[0070], [0122]).
Regarding claim 9, Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Garcia further teaches a plurality of support columns (comprising standoffs 292, Fig. 2) between the top plate (i.e. "top sheet" para. [0039]) and bottom plate (i.e. "bottom sheet" para. [0039]) of the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 200, Fig. 2) (para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Garcia further teaches wherein the heat transfer gas control device (comprising fluid conduit 207, Fig. 2) supplies or discharges the heat transfer gas to the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 200, Fig. 2) through a single gas port (comprising opening of 207, Fig. 2) according to a temporal separation manner (i.e. different times) (para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Garcia further teaches wherein the heat transfer gas control device (comprising fluid conduit 207, Fig. 2) supplies or discharges the heat transfer gas to the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 200, Fig. 2) through a plurality of gas ports (comprising openings of 207, Fig. 2) which are separately installed according to a spatial separation (para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Garcia further teaches wherein the heat transfer gas control device adjusts a pressure of the heat transfer gas to control temperature change of the plurality of inner spaces (comprising spaces between 292, Fig. 2) of the heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 200, Fig. 2) (para. [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Garcia in view of Koiwa and Kawakami teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Garcia further teaches wherein the heat transfer adjustment structure varies a heat transfer amount between a top plate (i.e. "top sheet" para. [0039]) and a bottom plate (i.e. "bottom sheet" para. [0039]) according to the change of the pressure of the heat transfer gas to control a heat transfer time (i.e. rate of heat transfer)(para. [0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buchberger, JR. (US 2015/0060013 A1) teaches a multi-zone temperature control method by a heat transfer adjustment structure, comprising: a step of installing a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising compartments 206, Fig. 2) between a heat source (comprising one or more heating elements 204, Fig. 2) and a heat sink (comprising cooling base 210, Fig. 2) (para. [0029]-[0030]); a step of supplying a first heat transfer gas (para. [0036], [0046]) to a first inner space (comprising one of the compartments 206, Fig. 2; comprising 302 or 304, Fig. 3A; comprising one of 302, 303, 305, Fig. 3B; comprising one of 302, 303, 305, 307, Fig. 3C; para. [0031], [0038]-[0039]) among multi-zones of the heat transfer adjustment structure (as understood from Fig. 3A-3C and para.[0031], [0038]-[0039]; a step of supplying (para. [0036], [0046]) a second heat transfer gas to a second inner space (comprising a different one of the compartments 206, Fig. 2; comprising the other of 302 or 304, Fig. 3A; comprising a different one of 302, 303, 305, Fig. 3B; comprising a different one of 302, 303, 305, 307, Fig. 3C; para. [0031], [0038]-[0039]) among multi-zones of the heat transfer adjustment structure(as understood from Fig. 3A-3C and para.[0031], [0038]-[0039]; a step of adjusting a pressure of the first heat transfer gas (para. [0046]); a step of adjusting a pressure of the second heat transfer gas (para. [0046]); and a step of controlling a heat transfer time by changing a heat transfer amount between the heat source and the heat sink in accordance with the change in a pressure of the first heat transfer gas and the change in a pressure of the second heat transfer gas (para. [0037]).
Ko et al. (US 2021/0358726 A1) teaches a substrate processing device (Fig. 1) comprising a heat transfer adjustment structure (comprising 400, Fig. 3) having a plurality of inner spaces (comprising 424 and 410, Fig. 5; comprising 410 and 434, Fig. 6; para. [0070]); a an electrostatic chuck (comprising 11 including chuck body 200, Fig. 3, para. [0058]); a base structure (comprising chuck base 300, Fig. 2, para. [0058]) including a channel (comprising 310, Fig. 3, para. [0059]); a chuck power source (comprising 215, Fig. 2, para. [0072]) connected to the electrostatic chuck (comprising 200, Fig. 2,); a high frequency power supply (comprising 335, Fig. 2) connected to the base structure (comprising 300, Fig. 2, para. [0075]).
/LAUREEN CHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716