This office action is in response to application filed on 12/28/2023.
Claims 42-67 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/28/2023 and 02/09/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 50, 56, 59, 60, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term "and/or" in claims 50, 56, 59, 60, and 67 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "and/or" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 42, 44-46, 51, 53-55, 60-62, and 65-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (US20250008605A1) (hereinafter "Zhou").
Regarding claim 42, Zhou discloses a method performed by a relay communication device configured to relay traffic for a remote communication device, the method comprising:
receiving, from the remote communication device, an equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request.);
transmitting, to a network node in a communication network, a report that reports the equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device as identifying the remote communication device for which the relay communication device is to relay traffic; and ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request. The remote UE may also provide its location information (such as civic information, geographic information, etc.) via sending the ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message. [0075] The ProSe UE-to-Network Relay also provides the location information received from the remote UE to the network during this PDU session establishment procedure.)
relaying traffic between the remote communication device and the communication network ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network.)
Regarding claim 44, Zhou discloses the method, further comprising:
receiving, from the remote communication device, a request for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device ([0070] In an embodiment, there is provided a method for obtaining, by a remote UE, emergency connectivity services via UE-to-Network relay. [0072] Step S902: the remote UE selects a UE-to-Network Relay and initiates a connection establishment for unicast mode communication by sending a ProSe Direct Link establishment request.);
making a decision to transmit an identity request to the remote communication device, based on the received request lacking the equipment identifier; and ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc.)
according to the decision, transmitting, to the remote communication device, an identity request requesting information identifying the remote communication device, wherein the equipment identifier is received in response to the identity request ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc.).
Regarding claim 45, Zhou discloses the method, wherein the equipment identifier is a Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI) ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc.).
Regarding claim 46, Zhou discloses the method, wherein said relaying comprises relaying traffic between the remote communication device and the communication network for an emergency service ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network.).
Regarding claim 51, Zhou discloses a method performed by a remote communication device, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a relay communication device configured to relay traffic for the remote communication device, an equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device; and ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request.)
transmitting traffic to a communication network via the relay communication device, with the equipment identifier identifying the remote communication device to the communication network ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network. [0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request. The remote UE may also provide its location information (such as civic information, geographic information, etc.) via sending the ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message. [0075] The ProSe UE-to-Network Relay also provides the location information received from the remote UE to the network during this PDU session establishment procedure.).
Regarding claim 53, Zhou discloses the method, further comprising:
transmitting, to the relay communication device, a request for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device, wherein the request lacks the equipment identifier; and ([0070] In an embodiment, there is provided a method for obtaining, by a remote UE, emergency connectivity services via UE-to-Network relay. [0072] Step S902: the remote UE selects a UE-to-Network Relay and initiates a connection establishment for unicast mode communication by sending a ProSe Direct Link establishment request.)
after transmitting the request, receiving, from the relay communication device, an identity request requesting information identifying the remote communication device, wherein the equipment identifier is transmitted in response to the identity request ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc.).
Regarding claim 54, Zhou discloses the method, wherein the equipment identifier is a Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI) ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc.).
Regarding claim 55, Zhou discloses the method, wherein the traffic is for an emergency service ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network.).
Regarding claim 60, Zhou discloses a method performed by a network node in a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, from a relay communication device configured to relay traffic for the remote communication device, a report that reports an equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device as identifying the remote communication device for which the relay communication device is to relay traffic; and ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request. The remote UE may also provide its location information (such as civic information, geographic information, etc.) via sending the ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message. [0075] The ProSe UE-to-Network Relay also provides the location information received from the remote UE to the network during this PDU session establishment procedure.)
using the equipment identifier to identify the remote communication device and/or to determine that the remote communication device has an ongoing session ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network. [0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request. The remote UE may also provide its location information (such as civic information, geographic information, etc.) via sending the ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message. [0075] The ProSe UE-to-Network Relay also provides the location information received from the remote UE to the network during this PDU session establishment procedure.).
Regarding claim 61, Zhou discloses the method, wherein the network node implements a Session Management Function (SMF) ([0043] The 5G ProSe Layer-2 Remote UE and 5G ProSe Layer-2 UE-to-Network Relay are served by the same NG-RAN. The Core Network entities (e.g., AMF, SMF, UPF) serving the 5G ProSe Layer-2 Remote UE and the 5G ProSe Layer-2 UE-to-Network Relay can be the same or different. [0053] In addition, the wireless network node 50 may comprise (perform) at least one network function such as an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), a user plane function (UPF), a policy control function (PCF), an application function (AF), etc.).
Regarding claim 62, Zhou discloses the method, wherein the equipment identifier is a Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI) ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc.).
Regarding claim 63, Zhou discloses the method, wherein the relay communication device is to relay traffic for the remote communication device for an emergency service ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network.).
Regarding claim 65, Zhou discloses a relay communication device configured to relay traffic for a remote communication device, the relay communication device comprising:
communication circuitry; and ([0053] The wireless network node 50 may include a processor 500 such as a microprocessor or ASIC, a storage unit 510 and a communication unit 520.)
processing circuitry configured to ([0053] The wireless network node 50 may include a processor 500 such as a microprocessor or ASIC, a storage unit 510 and a communication unit 520.):
receive, from the remote communication device, an equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request.);
transmit, to a network node in a communication network, a report that reports the equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device as identifying the remote communication device for which the relay communication device is to relay traffic; and ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request. The remote UE may also provide its location information (such as civic information, geographic information, etc.) via sending the ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message. [0075] The ProSe UE-to-Network Relay also provides the location information received from the remote UE to the network during this PDU session establishment procedure.)
relay traffic between the remote communication device and the communication network ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network.).
Regarding claim 66, Zhou discloses a remote communication device comprising:
communication circuitry; and ([0053] The wireless network node 50 may include a processor 500 such as a microprocessor or ASIC, a storage unit 510 and a communication unit 520.)
processing circuitry configured to: ([0053] The wireless network node 50 may include a processor 500 such as a microprocessor or ASIC, a storage unit 510 and a communication unit 520.)
transmit, to a relay communication device configured to relay traffic for the remote communication device, an equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device; and ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request.)
transmit traffic to a communication network via the relay communication device, with the equipment identifier identifying the remote communication device to the communication network ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network. [0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request. The remote UE may also provide its location information (such as civic information, geographic information, etc.) via sending the ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message. [0075] The ProSe UE-to-Network Relay also provides the location information received from the remote UE to the network during this PDU session establishment procedure.).
Regarding claim 67, Zhou discloses a network node of a communication network, the network node comprising:
communication circuitry; and ([0053] The wireless network node 50 may include a processor 500 such as a microprocessor or ASIC, a storage unit 510 and a communication unit 520.)
processing circuitry configured to: ([0053] The wireless network node 50 may include a processor 500 such as a microprocessor or ASIC, a storage unit 510 and a communication unit 520.)
receive, from a relay communication device configured to relay traffic for the remote communication device, a report that reports an equipment identifier associated with the remote communication device as identifying the remote communication device for which the relay communication device is to relay traffic; and ([0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request.)
use the equipment identifier to identify the remote communication device and/or to determine that the remote communication device has an ongoing session ([0005] Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a wireless communication method. In an embodiment, the wireless communication method comprising: transmitting, by a remote wireless communication terminal to a relay wireless communication terminal, a request for emergency services to allow the remote wireless communication terminal to establish a Protocol Data Unit, PDU, session providing an emergency service for the remote wireless communication terminal with a network. [0073] Step S903: the UE acting as the ProSe UE-to-Network Relay verifies the emergency service request from the remote UE and may send a ProSe Direct Link identifier update request message to ask for remote UE's identity information, e.g. PEI, MAC address, etc. [0074] Step S904: the remote UE sends a ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message including its identity information as requested in the above step by the ProSe Direct Link identifier update request. The remote UE may also provide its location information (such as civic information, geographic information, etc.) via sending the ProSe Direct Link identifier update accept message. [0075] The ProSe UE-to-Network Relay also provides the location information received from the remote UE to the network during this PDU session establishment procedure.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43, 52, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lu et al (US20250047724A1) (hereinafter "Lu").
Regarding claim 43, Zhou fails to disclose the method, wherein the equipment identifier is received in a request for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device, wherein the request includes an emergency relay service code.
However, Lu discloses the method, wherein the equipment identifier ([0097] PEI) is received in a request ([0007] receiving a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) registration request) for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device, wherein the request includes an emergency relay service code ([0007] receiving a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) registration request message from a remote terminal device, wherein the remote terminal device accesses the network via a relay terminal device, the SIP registration request message is sent by the remote terminal device to the first CN element via the relay terminal device, and the SIP registration request message includes first information indicating that the remote terminal device accesses the network in a relay mode; and [0097] In some embodiments, the SIP registration request message further includes second information indicating identity information of the remote terminal device. In some embodiments, the identity information includes at least one of an IMPI, a SUPI, a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI), a PEI, a GPSI, and an MSISDN number. [0144] In some embodiments, the remote UE (remote terminal device) initiates a PC5 link establishment procedure to the relay UE (relay terminal device) to establish a unicast communication channel. During the PC5 link establishment procedure, the remote UE (remote terminal device) provides a relay service code to the relay UE (relay terminal device). Because the remote UE (remote terminal device) wants to use an emergency service, the relay service code corresponds to the emergency service).
Zhou and Lu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting emergency services using indirect communication paths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with Lu to create the method, wherein the equipment identifier is received in a request for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device, wherein the request includes an emergency relay service code.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate that connectivity service is needed in an emergency situation.
Regarding claim 52, Zhou fails to disclose the method, wherein the equipment identifier is transmitted in a request for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device, wherein the request includes an emergency relay service code.
However, Lu discloses the method, wherein the equipment identifier is transmitted in a request for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device, wherein the request includes an emergency relay service code ([0007] receiving a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) registration request message from a remote terminal device, wherein the remote terminal device accesses the network via a relay terminal device, the SIP registration request message is sent by the remote terminal device to the first CN element via the relay terminal device, and the SIP registration request message includes first information indicating that the remote terminal device accesses the network in a relay mode; and [0097] In some embodiments, the SIP registration request message further includes second information indicating identity information of the remote terminal device. In some embodiments, the identity information includes at least one of an IMPI, a SUPI, a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI), a PEI, a GPSI, and an MSISDN number. [0144] In some embodiments, the remote UE (remote terminal device) initiates a PC5 link establishment procedure to the relay UE (relay terminal device) to establish a unicast communication channel. During the PC5 link establishment procedure, the remote UE (remote terminal device) provides a relay service code to the relay UE (relay terminal device). Because the remote UE (remote terminal device) wants to use an emergency service, the relay service code corresponds to the emergency service).
Zhou and Lu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting emergency services using indirect communication paths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with Lu to create the method, wherein the equipment identifier is transmitted in a request for the relay communication device to relay traffic for the remote communication device, wherein the request includes an emergency relay service code.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate that connectivity service is needed in an emergency situation.
Regarding claim 56, Zhou fails to disclose the method, further comprising transmitting the equipment identifier, based on the traffic being for an emergency service and/or based on transmitting an emergency service relay code.
However, Lu discloses the method, further comprising transmitting the equipment identifier, based on the traffic being for an emergency service and/or based on transmitting an emergency service relay code ([0007] receiving a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) registration request message from a remote terminal device, wherein the remote terminal device accesses the network via a relay terminal device, the SIP registration request message is sent by the remote terminal device to the first CN element via the relay terminal device, and the SIP registration request message includes first information indicating that the remote terminal device accesses the network in a relay mode; and [0097] In some embodiments, the SIP registration request message further includes second information indicating identity information of the remote terminal device. In some embodiments, the identity information includes at least one of an IMPI, a SUPI, a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI), a PEI, a GPSI, and an MSISDN number. [0144] In some embodiments, the remote UE (remote terminal device) initiates a PC5 link establishment procedure to the relay UE (relay terminal device) to establish a unicast communication channel. During the PC5 link establishment procedure, the remote UE (remote terminal device) provides a relay service code to the relay UE (relay terminal device). Because the remote UE (remote terminal device) wants to use an emergency service, the relay service code corresponds to the emergency service).
Zhou and Lu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of supporting emergency services using indirect communication paths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with Lu to create the method, further comprising transmitting the equipment identifier, based on the traffic being for an emergency service and/or based on transmitting an emergency service relay code.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate that connectivity service is needed in an emergency situation.
Claims 47, 57, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Ramachandran et al (US20240121572A1) (hereinafter "Ramachandran").
Regarding claim 47, Zhou fails to disclose the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device.
However, Ramachandran discloses the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device ([0099] A device UE 24 may not be provisioned with any network credentials (e.g., a (new) mobile phone without a subscriber identity module (SIM) profile of a network). In this scenario, the device UE 24 may be provisioned with network credentials of the first responder network 200 via a universal provisioning server (e.g. as specified under root discovery service specified in GSMA-SGP.22 RSP Technical Specification) using out-of-band (e.g. Wi-Fi) communication link established between the device B 22 and the device UE 24 either directly or via another device UE 24 (e.g. a first responder UE connected to the device UE 24 via sidelink).).
Zhou and Ramachandran are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing cellular networks with indirect network connections for remote communication devices in an emergency scenario.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with Ramachandran to create the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provision a new device, which may lack a SIM profile of a network, with any network credentials.
Regarding claim 57, Zhou fails to disclose the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device.
However, Ramachandran discloses the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device ([0099] A device UE 24 may not be provisioned with any network credentials (e.g., a (new) mobile phone without a subscriber identity module (SIM) profile of a network). In this scenario, the device UE 24 may be provisioned with network credentials of the first responder network 200 via a universal provisioning server (e.g. as specified under root discovery service specified in GSMA-SGP.22 RSP Technical Specification) using out-of-band (e.g. Wi-Fi) communication link established between the device B 22 and the device UE 24 either directly or via another device UE 24 (e.g. a first responder UE connected to the device UE 24 via sidelink).).
Zhou and Ramachandran are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing cellular networks with indirect network connections for remote communication devices in an emergency scenario.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with Ramachandran to create the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provision a new device, which may lack a SIM profile of a network, with any network credentials.
Regarding claim 64, Zhou fails to disclose the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device.
However, Ramachandran discloses the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device ([0099] A device UE 24 may not be provisioned with any network credentials (e.g., a (new) mobile phone without a subscriber identity module (SIM) profile of a network). In this scenario, the device UE 24 may be provisioned with network credentials of the first responder network 200 via a universal provisioning server (e.g. as specified under root discovery service specified in GSMA-SGP.22 RSP Technical Specification) using out-of-band (e.g. Wi-Fi) communication link established between the device B 22 and the device UE 24 either directly or via another device UE 24 (e.g. a first responder UE connected to the device UE 24 via sidelink).).
Zhou and Ramachandran are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing cellular networks with indirect network connections for remote communication devices in an emergency scenario.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with Ramachandran to create the method, wherein the remote communication device lacks a universal integrated circuit card, or subscriber identity module, for storing a subscription identity associated with the remote communication device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provision a new device, which may lack a SIM profile of a network, with any network credentials.
Claims 48-50 and 58-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of 3GPP et al (S3-200655) (hereinafter "3GPP").
Regarding claim 48, Zhou fails to disclose the method, further comprising: making a decision to skip a security procedure with the remote communication device, based on the relay communication device receiving the equipment identifier and an emergency relay service code; and in accordance with the decision, skipping the security procedure with the remote communication device.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, further comprising: making a decision to skip a security procedure with the remote communication device, based on the relay communication device receiving the equipment identifier (Pg. 1: For NR based PC5 unicast mode, the UE shall be provisioned with the following: The list of V2X services, e.g. PSIDs or ITS-AIDs of the V2X applications, with Geographical Area(s) and their security policy which indicates the following) and an emergency relay service code (Pg. 1: NOTE 1: No integrity protection on signalling enables services that do not require security, e.g. emergency services.); and (Pg. 3 At link modification for adding a new V2X service to an existing PC5 unicast link, if the signalling security policies of the new V2X service exactly matches the security policies in use for the PC5 unicast link, the initiating UE sends the Link Modification Request, which includes both the signalling security policy and the user plane security policy of the initiating UE, to the receiving UE. Otherwise, the initiating UE shall establish a separate PC5 unicast link. The receiving UE(s) takes these into account when deciding whether to accept the request and/or apply the security in the Link Modification Accept message or the following service data.)
in accordance with the decision, skipping the security procedure with the remote communication device (Pg. 2: A setting of OFF means that the UE shall only use NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm for the traffic, while a REQUIRED setting means that the UE shall only accept the connection if a non-NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm is used for protection of the traffic. If the security policy is PREFERRED, then the UE may accept any algorithm for that particular protection. One use of PREFERRED is to enable a security policy to be changed without updating all UEs at once. Pg. 3: At initial connection, the initiating UE includes its signalling security policy in the Direct Communication Request message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the request and/or apply the security in the Direct Security Mode Command message. Once the Direct Security Mode Command is received, the initiating UE then includes its user plane security policy in the Direct Security Mode Complete message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the connection and/or apply the security in the following service data.).
Zhou and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing emergency proximity services.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with 3GPP to create the method, further comprising: making a decision to skip a security procedure with the remote communication device, based on the relay communication device receiving the equipment identifier and an emergency relay service code; and in accordance with the decision, skipping the security procedure with the remote communication device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide services to a remote device in the event of an emergency.
Regarding claim 49, Zhou fails to disclose the method, further comprising, based on skipping the security procedure with the remote communication device, performing a direct security mode command procedure with null ciphering and integrity protection.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, further comprising, based on skipping the security procedure with the remote communication device, performing a direct security mode command procedure with null ciphering and integrity protection (Pg. 2: A setting of OFF means that the UE shall only use NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm for the traffic, while a REQUIRED setting means that the UE shall only accept the connection if a non-NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm is used for protection of the traffic. If the security policy is PREFERRED, then the UE may accept any algorithm for that particular protection. One use of PREFERRED is to enable a security policy to be changed without updating all UEs at once. Pg. 3: At initial connection, the initiating UE includes its signalling security policy in the Direct Communication Request message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the request and/or apply the security in the Direct Security Mode Command message. Once the Direct Security Mode Command is received, the initiating UE then includes its user plane security policy in the Direct Security Mode Complete message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the connection and/or apply the security in the following service data.)
Zhou and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing emergency proximity services.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with 3GPP to create the method, further comprising, based on skipping the security procedure with the remote communication device, performing a direct security mode command procedure with null ciphering and integrity protection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide services to a remote device in the event of an emergency.
Regarding claim 50, Zhou fails to disclose the method, wherein performing the direct security mode command procedure includes: transmitting a message of the direct security mode command procedure with a flag indicating an algorithm chosen for the null ciphering and integrity protection; and/or setting a root key to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection and/or setting each of one or more session keys to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, wherein performing the direct security mode command procedure includes: transmitting a message of the direct security mode command procedure with a flag indicating an algorithm chosen for the null ciphering and integrity protection; and/or (Pg. 2: A setting of OFF means that the UE shall only use NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm for the traffic, while a REQUIRED setting means that the UE shall only accept the connection if a non-NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm is used for protection of the traffic. If the security policy is PREFERRED, then the UE may accept any algorithm for that particular protection. One use of PREFERRED is to enable a security policy to be changed without updating all UEs at once. Pg. 3: At initial connection, the initiating UE includes its signalling security policy in the Direct Communication Request message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the request and/or apply the security in the Direct Security Mode Command message. Once the Direct Security Mode Command is received, the initiating UE then includes its user plane security policy in the Direct Security Mode Complete message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the connection and/or apply the security in the following service data.)
setting a root key to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection and/or setting each of one or more session keys to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection (Pg. 4: The UE initiating the establishment of a user plane bearer shall select an LCID whose associated value of Bearer for input to the security algorithms (see clauses 5.3.3.1.5.2 and 5.3.3.1.5.3) has not been used with the current keys, NRPEK and NRPIK. If this is not possible the UE shall initiate a re-keying (see clause 5.3.3.1.4.3) before establishing the user plane bearer.)
Zhou and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing emergency proximity services.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with 3GPP to create the method, wherein performing the direct security mode command procedure includes: transmitting a message of the direct security mode command procedure with a flag indicating an algorithm chosen for the null ciphering and integrity protection; and/or setting a root key to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection and/or setting each of one or more session keys to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide services to a remote device in the event of an emergency.
Regarding claim 58, Zhou fails to disclose the method, further comprising, based on failure of or skipping of a security procedure with the relay communication device, performing a direct security mode command procedure with null ciphering and integrity protection.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, further comprising, based on failure of or skipping of a security procedure with the relay communication device, performing a direct security mode command procedure with null ciphering and integrity protection (Pg. 2: A setting of OFF means that the UE shall only use NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm for the traffic, while a REQUIRED setting means that the UE shall only accept the connection if a non-NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm is used for protection of the traffic. If the security policy is PREFERRED, then the UE may accept any algorithm for that particular protection. One use of PREFERRED is to enable a security policy to be changed without updating all UEs at once. Pg. 3: At initial connection, the initiating UE includes its signalling security policy in the Direct Communication Request message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the request and/or apply the security in the Direct Security Mode Command message. Once the Direct Security Mode Command is received, the initiating UE then includes its user plane security policy in the Direct Security Mode Complete message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the connection and/or apply the security in the following service data.).
Zhou and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing emergency proximity services.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with 3GPP to create the method, further comprising, based on failure of or skipping of a security procedure with the relay communication device, performing a direct security mode command procedure with null ciphering and integrity protection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide services to a remote device in the event of an emergency.
Regarding claim 59, Zhou fails to disclose the method, wherein performing the direct security mode command procedure includes: receiving a message of the direct security mode command procedure with a flag indicating an algorithm chosen for the null ciphering and integrity protection; and/or setting a root key to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection and/or setting each of one or more session keys to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection.
However, 3GPP discloses the method, wherein performing the direct security mode command procedure includes: receiving a message of the direct security mode command procedure with a flag indicating an algorithm chosen for the null ciphering and integrity protection; and/or (Pg. 2: A setting of OFF means that the UE shall only use NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm for the traffic, while a REQUIRED setting means that the UE shall only accept the connection if a non-NULL confidentiality or integrity algorithm is used for protection of the traffic. If the security policy is PREFERRED, then the UE may accept any algorithm for that particular protection. One use of PREFERRED is to enable a security policy to be changed without updating all UEs at once. Pg. 3: At initial connection, the initiating UE includes its signalling security policy in the Direct Communication Request message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the request and/or apply the security in the Direct Security Mode Command message. Once the Direct Security Mode Command is received, the initiating UE then includes its user plane security policy in the Direct Security Mode Complete message. The receiving UE(s) takes this into account when deciding whether to accept the connection and/or apply the security in the following service data.)
setting a root key to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection and/or setting each of one or more session keys to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection (Pg. 4: The UE initiating the establishment of a user plane bearer shall select an LCID whose associated value of Bearer for input to the security algorithms (see clauses 5.3.3.1.5.2 and 5.3.3.1.5.3) has not been used with the current keys, NRPEK and NRPIK. If this is not possible the UE shall initiate a re-keying (see clause 5.3.3.1.4.3) before establishing the user plane bearer.)
Zhou and 3GPP are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of establishing emergency proximity services.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Zhou with 3GPP to create the method, wherein performing the direct security mode command procedure includes: receiving a message of the direct security mode command procedure with a flag indicating an algorithm chosen for the null ciphering and integrity protection; and/or setting a root key to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection and/or setting each of one or more session keys to a value specific for null ciphering and integrity protection.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide services to a remote device in the event of an emergency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jacobs et al (US20100279647A1) discloses methods for relaying out of range emergency information.
Qaisrani et al (US20220109969A1) discloses methods wherein a UE may transmit, using the peer-to-peer communication session, an emergency notification to a relay UE.
Manithara Vamanan et al (US20230262576A1) discloses techniques of improving the coverage and reliability of cellular emergency service by utilizing a user equipment-to-network relay.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419