DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ushijima et al (WO 2021/060516 A1), where US 2022/0341054 (‘054) is used as an accurate translation.
Ushijima et al teaches a polycrystalline SiC formed body, wherein a resistivity is 0.050 Wcm or less (‘054 [0030]). Ushijima et al also teaches adjusting resistivity by adding a predetermined amount of nitrogen, and a nitrogen content of 200 ppm or more (‘054 [0031]-[0034]). Ushijima et al also teaches a Raman spectrum peak within a range of 790 to 800 cm-1 is a peak indicating b-SiC and does not teach any peak at 950-970 cm-1. Also, Ushijima et al also teaches a substantially similar method of growth as taught by applicant. Ushijima et al teaches a graphite substrate having a diameter of 160 mm and a thickness of 5 mm was set in a CVD furnace. Trimethylchlorosilane (raw material gas), hydrogen (carrier gas), and nitrogen gas were introduced into the CVD furnace and a polycrystalline SiC film was formed on the graphite substrate at 1500° C. for 10 hours and the film formation condition in table 1 ([0071]-[0079]) are substantially similar to the method of Example 1 and conditions taught in applicant’s Table 1. The conditions of Table 1 of ‘054 and applicant’s table 1 recite similar raw material gas flow rates (10.50 L/min) , carrier gas flow rate (129.50 L/min), gas residence times (32.7 sec vs 33.1 sec), concentration of raw material gas (7.5%), nitrogen content (205-960 ppm vs 340-1150 ppm). Therefore, the SiC body is expected to have an average of peak intensity ratios (A/B) is 0.040 or less because Ushijima et al teaches a Raman spectrum peak within a range of 790 to 800 cm-1 is a peak indicating b-SiC and does not teach any peak at 950-970 cm-1 thus the ratio is 0; and a similar method would be expected to produce a product with similar properties. In the alternative, any difference would be minor and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time of filing.
Referring to claim 2, Ushijima et al teaches explicit examples with nitrogen content ranging from 205 to 960 ppm (table 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the TO and LO peaks are always present therefore Ushijima et al cannot teach a ratio of 0 is not correct is noted but is not found persuasive. First, applicant’s paragraph [0011] merely teaches “the peak intensity “A” is an intensity (maximum value) of a peak within a range of wavenumber of 950 to 970 cm-1 in Raman spectrum. This peak is known as the LO (longitudinal optical phonon) peak of a polycrystalline SiC material, and decreases with an increase in the stacking fault (the same applies to N2 content) to be shifted to a broad band, from which it is thus said to be possible to evaluate the concentration of the carrier.” Paragraph [0011] does not teach the peak is always present. Second, applicant’s Table 2 teaches Raman peak intensity ratios having values of 0.000 (see examples 2-7); therefore, the examiner maintains that ratios of 0.000 are possible and supported by applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant’s argument that the method of Ushijima et al is different from the claimed invention is noted but not found persuasive. Applicant teaches a method of obtain the claimed properties by increasing the nitrogen concentration. Likewise, Ushijima et al teaches increasing the nitrogen concentration by decreasing the concentration of other gases. Ushijima et al teaches flowing raw material gases at an initial step and decreasing the raw material flow in a final step, and keeping the nitrogen flow constant; therefore, the nitrogen concentration in the gas flow mixture is increasing from the initial to the final step (see table 1); therefore, is substantially similar to the method taught by applicant.
The examiner maintains that the Ushijima et al teaches a similar product and method of manufacturing; therefore, would meet the claimed limitations. It is also noted that the Ushijima et al prior art reference has a common invention/assignee; therefore, the complete Raman spectrum should be available for the SiC taught by prior art to determine whether the product meets the claimed limitation. There is no persuasive evidence to show that the SiC taught by Ushijima et al does not meet the claimed properties or that the properties would have been unobvious from the similar method of manufacturing; therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 2017/0018139A teaches a SiC having raman peaks at 797 cm-1 and 900 cm-1 wherein the peak at 797 cm-1 is much larger than the peak at 900 cm-1 however no explicit value are taught in Fig 3.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714