DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ushijima et al (WO 2021/060516 A1), where US 2022/0341054 (‘054) is used as an accurate translation.
Ushijima et al teaches a polycrystalline SiC formed body, wherein a resistivity is 0.050 Wcm or less (‘054 [0030]). Ushijima et al also teaches adjusting resistivity by adding a predetermined amount of nitrogen, and a nitrogen content of 200 ppm or more (‘054 [0031]-[0034]). Ushijima et al also teaches a Raman spectrum peak within a range of 790 to 800 cm-1 is a peak indicating b-SiC and does not teach any peak at 950-970 cm-1. Also, Ushijima et al also teaches a substantially similar method of growth as taught by applicant. Ushijima et al teaches a graphite substrate having a diameter of 160 mm and a thickness of 5 mm was set in a CVD furnace. Trimethylchlorosilane (raw material gas), hydrogen (carrier gas), and nitrogen gas were introduced into the CVD furnace and a polycrystalline SiC film was formed on the graphite substrate at 1500° C. for 10 hours and the film formation condition in table 1 ([0071]-[0079]) are substantially similar to the method of Example 1 and conditions taught in applicant’s Table 1. The conditions of Table 1 of ‘054 and applicant’s table 1 recite similar raw material gas flow rates (10.50 L/min) , carrier gas flow rate (129.50 L/min), gas residence times (32.7 sec vs 33.1 sec), concentration of raw material gas (7.5%), nitrogen content (205-960 ppm vs 340-1150 ppm). Therefore, the SiC body is expected to have an average of peak intensity ratios (A/B) is 0.040 or less because Ushijima et al teaches a Raman spectrum peak within a range of 790 to 800 cm-1 is a peak indicating b-SiC and does not teach any peak at 950-970 cm-1 thus the ratio is 0; and a similar method would be expected to produce a product with similar properties. In the alternative, any difference would be minor and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time of filing.
Referring to claim 2, Ushijima et al teaches explicit examples with nitrogen content ranging from 205 to 960 ppm (table 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 2017/0018139A teaches a SiC having raman peaks at 797 cm-1 and 900 cm-1 wherein the peak at 797 cm-1 is much larger than the peak at 900 cm-1 however no explicit value are taught in Fig 3.
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714