DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 10-26 are withdraw as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
An action on the merits for claims 1-9 is set forth below.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application contains sequence disclosures in accordance with the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825.
The sequence disclosures are located Figure 1B portion 110.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1); as well as
An amendment specifically directing entry of the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure into the application in accordance with 1.825(b)(2);
A statement that the "Sequence Listing" includes no new matter in accordance with 1.825(b)(5); and
A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.825(b)(4).
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) a) or b) above, Applicant must also provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter;
If the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is submitted according to item 1) b), c), or d) above, Applicant must also provide:
A replacement CRF in accordance with 1.825(b)(6); and
Statement according to item 2) a) or b) above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 are indefinite. Claim limitation “an amplifier configured to” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim limitation “offset capacitor” in claim 5 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not set forth any specific structure of the amplifier or the offset capacitor. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Washizu et al. (US Patent Application 2020/0033292 January 30, 2020 as cited by IDS).
With regard to claim 1, Washizu et al. teaches a device for sequencing (para 87). Washizu et al. teaches a nanopore (para 22) and as such this nanopore would be capable of sensing a polynucleotide. Washizu et al. teaches an amplifier that has a bias offset voltage between two terminals (para 6, 25, and 43). Washizu et al. teaches DC bias voltage that can be calibrated and applied (para 25) and as such teaches a bias compensation circuits that can store a voltage potential.
With regard to Claim 2, Washizu et al. teaches a bias compensation circuits that has a capacitor that stores voltage potential (p. pare 47-64).
With regard to claim 3, Washizu et al. teaches a nanopore with multiple sides (figure 1). Washizu et al. teaches that the capacitors for terminals (para 62-63). Washizu et al. teaches a switching circuit (para 42).
With regard to claim 4, Washizu et al. teaches that the electrode can be tied to ground voltage (para 63, 74 ).
With regard to claim 5, Washizu et al. teaches a capacitor that is configured to be used in during normal and calibration modes (para 42 and 62-63).
With regard to claim 6, Washizu et al. teaches terminal on the side of the nanopore and another on the switching (para 47-63).
With regard to claim 9, Washizu et al. teaches an analog to digital converter (para 52 and 69).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washizu et al. (US Patent Application 2020/0033292 January 30, 2020 as cited by IDS) in view of Nivala et al. (US Patent Application 2021/0340192 effective date 10/5/2018).
Washizu et al. teaches a device for sequencing (para 87). Washizu et al. teaches a nanopore (para 22) and as such this nanopore would be capable of sensing a polynucleotide. Washizu et al. teaches an amplifier that has a bias offset voltage between two terminals (para 6, 25, and 43). Washizu et al. teaches DC bias voltage that can be calibrated and applied (para 25) and as such teaches a bias compensation circuits that can store a voltage potential.
However, Washizu et al. does not teach that the nanopore is a polypeptide or ionic currents.
With regard to claim 7, Nivala et al. teaches that nanopores can be a polypeptide nanoprobe with a polymer opening (para 63).
With regard to claim 8, Nivala et al. teaches that the nanopore can include an electrical response that is ionic (para 111-112). Nivala et al. teaches that this structure includes polynucleotides with labels that can alter the current (para 109-112).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the structure of Washizu et al. to use one of the finite number of nanopores including polypeptides that can be used with an ionic current that alters with polynucleotides with labels. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as Nivala et al. teaches a nanopore structures that includes amplifies and currents (para 108) that would be capable of the same functionality of Washizu et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682