CTNF 18/575,361 CTNF 89876 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 9 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 missed appropriate punctuation mark at the end of the claim limitation at line 2. Claim 12 missed appropriate punctuation mark at the end of the claim limitation at line 5 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph , as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation “ the first assembly lines " in lines 6-7. It is unclear whether “ the first assembly lines ” was intended to relate back to “ a first assembly line ” in line 3. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the first assembly lines ” will be treated as if it were “ the first assembly line .” Claim 11 recites the limitation “ the first assembly wiring " and “ the second assembly wiring " in lines 8-9. It is unclear whether “ the first assembly wiring " and “ the second assembly wiring " was intended to relate back to “ a first assembly line " and “ a second assembly lines " in lines 3 and 5, respectively. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the first assembly wiring " and “ the second assembly wiring " will be treated as if it were “ the first assembly line " and “ the second assembly lines. " Claim 11 recites the limitation “ the second assembly wiring " in line 13. It is unclear whether “ the second assembly wiring ” was intended to relate back to “ a second assembly lines ” in line 5. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the second assembly wiring ” will be treated as if it were “ the second assembly lines .” 07-34-05 AIA Claim 13 recites the limitation “ the second assembly wiring " in line 2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the second assembly wiring ” will be treated as if it were “the second assembly lines.” Claim 14 recites the limitation of “ the first assembly wiring " in line 2 and “ the second assembly wiring " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the first assembly wiring ” and “ the second assembly wiring ” will be treated as if it were ““ the first assembly line ”” and “the second assembly lines,” respectively. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 15 recites the limitation “ the second opening " in line 3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the second opening ” will be treated as if it were “a second opening.” 07-34-05 AIA Claim 16 recites the limitation “ the first assembly wiring " in line 4 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the first assembly wiring ” will be treated as if it were “the first assembly line.” Claim 20 recites the limitation of “ the first assembly wiring " in line 2 and “ the second assembly wiring " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “ the first assembly wiring ” and “ the second assembly wiring ” will be treated as if it were ““ the first assembly line ”” and “the second assembly lines,” respectively. Claims 12-20 are rejected as if depending on rejected claim 11. Claims 17-19 are rejected as if depending on rejected claim 16. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance of the claim is the inclusion of the limitation of “ a third clad layer disposed on the same plane as the first clad layer below the first insulating layer, and wherein the third clad layer is configured to connected to the second conductive layer through a contact hole included in the first insulating layer ,” along with the other claimed features, as recited in claim 6. The reason for the allowance of the claim is the inclusion of the limitation of “ wherein the first assembly wiring is configured to vertically overlap the second assembly wiring, and wherein the second assembly wiring comprises an electrode hole in an area that is configured to vertically overlap the first assembly wiring ,” along with the other claimed features, as recited in claim 10. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akimoto (U.S. 2022/0262782 A1, hereinafter refer to Akimoto) . Regarding Claim 1: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) comprising: PNG media_image1.png 569 912 media_image1.png Greyscale a substrate ( 102 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); a first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) and a second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) alternately arranged on the substrate ( 102 ) and spaced apart from each other (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); a first insulating layer ( 112 ) disposed between the first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) and the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) and having different first and second thicknesses respectively (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); a planarization layer ( 156 ) disposed on the first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) and the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) and having a first opening (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); and a light emitting device ( 150 ) disposed inside the first opening and having a first electrode ( 117a1 ) configured to overlap the first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) and the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above), wherein the first electrode ( 117a1 ) is configured to be electrically connected to either the first assembly wiring or the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above). Regarding Claim 2: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein the first thickness is the thickness of the first insulating layer ( 112 ) in the area within the first opening, the second thickness is the thickness of the first insulating layer ( 112 ) in the area other than the first opening, and the second thickness is thicker than the first thickness (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above). Regarding Claim 3: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein the first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) comprises a first conductive layer ( 110a1 ) disposed on the substrate ( 102 ) and a first clad layer ( 110s1 ) in contact with the first conductive layer ( 110s1 ) ( note: a layer 110 is formed of a layered film of Al and Ti or the like, for example. In a layered film of Al and Ti, for example, Al is layered on a thin film of Ti, and Ti is further layered on Al ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0104]), wherein the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) includes a second conductive layer ( 116a1 ) disposed on the first insulating layer ( 112 ) and a second clad layer ( 116a1 ) in contact with the second conductive layer ( 116a1 ) ( note: wiring layer 116 is formed of a metal material similar to that of the first wiring layer 110, which is a layered film of Al and Ti or the like, for example. In a layered film of Al and Ti, for example, Al is layered on a thin film of Ti, and Ti is further layered on Al ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0108]), and wherein the first electrode ( 117a1 ) is configured to be in contact with the second clad layer ( 116a1 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above). Regarding Claim 4: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 3 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein the first conductive layer ( 110s1, Ti ) and the second conductive layer ( 116a1, Ti ) is configured to overlap the planarization layer ( 156 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above), and wherein a portion of each of the first clad layer ( 110s1, Al ) and the second clad layer ( 116a1, Al ) is disposed inside the first opening ( note: each of wiring layers 110 and 116 are formed of a metal material similar to that of the first wiring layer 110, which is a layered film of Al and Ti or the like, for example. In a layered film of Al and Ti, for example, Al is layered on a thin film of Ti, and Ti is further layered on Al; hence, a portion of a portion of each of the first clad layer (110s1, Al) and the second clad layer (116a1, Al) is disposed inside the first opening ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0104], and ¶ [0108]). Regarding Claim 5: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 4 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein the second clad layer ( 116a1, Al ) is configured to cover the first conductive layer ( 110s1, Ti ) on the first conductive layer ( 110s1, Ti ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0104], and ¶ [0108]). Regarding Claim 7: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 4 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein a second insulating layer ( 170 ) configured to cover the first clad layer ( 110s1, Al ) on the first clad layer ( 110s1, Al ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0104], and ¶ [0108]). Regarding Claim 9: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein a third insulating layer ( 170 ) disposed on the planarization layer ( 156 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above). Regarding Claim 11: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0002]) comprising: a substrate ( 102 ) on which a plurality of sub-pixels ( 20 ) are defined (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); a first assembly line ( 110s1 ) arranged along a plurality of sub-pixels ( 20 ) arranged on the same line among the plurality of sub-pixels ( 20 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); second assembly lines ( 116a1 ) arranged along a plurality of sub-pixels ( 20 ) arranged on the same line among the plurality of sub-pixels ( 20 ), and disposed adjacent to each of the first assembly lines ( 110s1 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); a planarization layer ( 156 ) comprising a first opening configured to overlap the first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) and the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); a first insulating layer ( 112 ) configured to have a plurality of thicknesses on the first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above); and a light emitting device ( 150 ) disposed in the first opening in each of the plurality of sub-pixels ( 20 ) and electrically connected to the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above). Regarding Claim 12: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 11 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein the first insulating layer ( 112 ) comprises a first thickness in an area that is configured to overlap the first opening and a second thickness in an area that is not configured to overlap the first opening (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above), and wherein the second thickness is thicker than the first thickness (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above). Regarding Claim 13: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 11 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) is disposed on the first insulating layer ( 112 ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above). Regarding Claim 14: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 11 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein the first assembly wiring ( 110s1 ) comprises a first conductive layer ( 110s1, Ti ), and a first clad layer ( 110s1, Al ) configured to be electrically connected to the first conductive layer ( 110s1 ) ( note: a layer 110 is formed of a layered film of Al and Ti or the like, for example. In a layered film of Al and Ti, for example, Al is layered on a thin film of Ti, and Ti is further layered on Al ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0104]), wherein the second assembly wiring ( 116a1 ) comprises a second conductive layer ( 116a1, Ti ); and a second clad layer ( 116a1, Al ) electrically connected to the second conductive layer ( 116a1 ) ( note: wiring layer 116 is formed of a metal material similar to that of the first wiring layer 110, which is a layered film of Al and Ti or the like, for example. In a layered film of Al and Ti, for example, Al is layered on a thin film of Ti, and Ti is further layered on Al ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0108]), wherein the first conductive layer ( 110s1, Ti ) and the first clad layer ( 110s1, Al ) are made of different materials (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0104]), and wherein the second conductive layer ( 116a1, Ti ) and the second clad layer ( 116a1, Al ) are made of different materials (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0108]). Regarding Claim 15: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as set forth in claim 14 as above. Akimoto further teaches wherein both the first clad layer ( 110s1, Al ) and the second clad layer ( 116a1, Al ) are configured to extend inside the second opening ( note: each of wiring layers 110 and 116 are formed of a metal material similar to that of the first wiring layer 110, which is a layered film of Al and Ti or the like, for example. In a layered film of Al and Ti, for example, Al is layered on a thin film of Ti, and Ti is further layered on Al; hence, both the first clad layer (110s1, Al) and the second clad layer (116a1, Al) are configured to extend inside the second opening ) (see Akimoto, Fig.1 as shown above, ¶ [0104], and ¶ [0108]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimoto (U.S. 2022/0262782 A1, hereinafter refer to Akimoto) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (U.S. 2018/0083218 A1, hereinafter refer to Choi) . Regarding Claim 8: Akimoto discloses a display device including a semiconductor light emitting device as applied to claim 1 above. Akimoto is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a reflective layer disposed on a side of the planarization layer in the first opening. Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed reflective layer were known to be disposed on a side of the planarization layer in the first opening in order to reflects light emitted from the side surfaces of the light-emitting diode, so that the light propagates substantially in a direction toward a front surface of the light-emitting diode. For support see Choi, which teaches wherein a reflective layer ( 515 ) disposed on a side of the planarization layer ( 400 ) in the first opening ( 430 ) (see Choi, Fig.4 and ¶ [0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Akimoto and Choi to enable reflective layer to be disposed on a side of the planarization layer in the first opening of Akimoto as taught by Choi in order to reflects light emitted from the side surfaces of the light-emitting diode, so that the light propagates substantially in a direction toward a front surface of the light-emitting diode. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BITEW A DINKE whose telephone number is (571)272-0534. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7 a.m. - 5 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davienne Monbleau can be reached at (571)272-1945. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 12 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/575,361 Page 14 Art Unit: 2812