Acknowledgement
The Amendment filed on 5/22/26, responding to the Restriction Requirement mailed on 02/24/2026, has been entered into the record. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this office action are claims 1-10.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, reading on claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 5/22/26 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seki (US20030146695, cited in IDS and Seki hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Seki teaches a display device (Fig. 3), comprising: a first light-emitting element (i.e., red LED), a second light-emitting element (i.e., green LED) adjacent to the first light-emitting element, a first insulating layer (112a) provided between the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element, a light-blocking layer (113) over the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer (112b) over the light-blocking layer, wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first pixel electrode (111 red), a first EL layer (110b1) over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode (12) over the first EL layer, wherein the second light-emitting element comprises a second pixel electrode (111 green), a second EL layer (110b2) over the second pixel electrode, the common electrode over the second EL layer, and wherein the common electrode is placed over the second insulating layer.
Regarding claim 2, Seki teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises an inorganic material, and wherein the second insulating layer comprises an organic material. ([0106] and [0107])
Regarding claim 7, Seki teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer (112a) comprises a region in contact with the first EL layer (110b1) and the second EL layer (110b2).
Regarding claim 9, Seki teaches a display module (Fig. 2A) comprising: display device according to claim 1; and at least one of a connector (5a) and an integrated circuit (6).
Regarding claim 10, Seki teaches an electronic device ([0378]- [0379], Fig. 27A-B i.e., cell phone or laptop) comprising: the display module according to claim 9; and at least one of a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone. Examiner notes, it is conventional that cell phones or laptops necessary include a camera, speaker, and a microphone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki in view of Tao (US2004/0075385, and Tao hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Seki teaches the first insulating layer comprise SiO2 or TiO2 but fails to teach aluminum oxide.
Tao in the same field of art teaches aluminum oxide along with SiO2 and TiO2 as material typically used to define an emissive area [0008].
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention filing would have readily recognized the equivalent substitution of these materials for the first insulating layer, by substituting Seki’s SiO2 or TiO2 material with Tao’s aluminum oxide, and would obtain predictable results. Thus, the claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. __, 82USPQ2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR).
Regarding claim 4, Seki in view of Tao teaches the display device according to claim 3, wherein the second insulating layer comprises an acrylic resin (Seki [0031]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
EVA YAN MONTALVO
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2818
/EVA Y MONTALVO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818