DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18575477 application filed December 29, 2023, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on April 15, 2026. Claims 1-26 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s withdrawal of claims 16-26 acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of the invention of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on April 15, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-26 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “etching the graphene layer to remove the first portions of the graphene layer, wherein the second portions of the graphene layer form a plurality of graphene active regions between the source and the drain electrode of each of the plurality of graphene field effect transistors for detection of an analyte therein”, but the terms “the source and the drain electrode” lack antecedent basis. Although claim 1 recites “transferring a graphene layer onto a substrate having sources, drains, and side gates for a plurality of graphene field effect transistor devices located thereon” prior to the above sentence, the terms sources and drains are not equivalent to the terms “the source and the drain electrode”. One of skills in the art would not be clear how to etch the graphene layer to produce the plurality of graphene active regions between the source and the drain electrode without knowing the position of the source and the drain electrode. For the purpose of examining it will be assumed that the source and the drain electrode are the same as the source and the drain.
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The terms “the deposited metal” lacks antecedent basis because no deposition of metal is recited previously.
Claims 2-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they are directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (“Detection of a multi-disease biomarker in Saliva with Graphene Field Effect Transistors”, Medical Devices & Sensors, Vol. 3, Issue 6, December 2020), hereinafter “Kumar”, in view of Hoffman et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20170018626), hereinafter “Hoffman”.--Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12: Kumar teaches a method of manufacturing a G-FET device for biosensing, comprising (Section 2.1)i) obtaining a graphene layer that is formed over a SiO2/Si substrate, then baking the graphene layer at 300°C for 9 hr in vacuum to remove impurities and improving its adhesion to a substrate;ii) depositing a first protection layer of aluminum oxide on the graphene layer, then baking at 175°C for 5 min in Ar atmosphere to remove impurities and improving its adhesion of the aluminum oxide layer;iii) depositing a photoresist pattern on the graphene layer by lithography, then forming an electrode layer by depositing Au/Cr then lift-off by using a remover;iv) patterning the graphene layer by using photolithography and oxygen plasma ashing;v) depositing a second protection layer of aluminum oxide on the substrate, then baking at 175°C for 10 min;vi) forming an opening in the second protection layer by forming a photoresist mask, i.e. S1805 photoresist, then etching through the mask, wherein the opening comprises the biosensing window (Fig. (a) and Fig. (b) in page 6). It is noted that the photoresist pattern in step (iii) reads on the second photoresist, the photoresist mask in step (vi) reads on the third photoresist layer, the first protection layer reads on the first passivation layer, and the second protection layer reads on the second passivation layer, as recited in claim 1. Kumar fails to teach the claimed feature “transferring a graphene layer onto a substrate having sources, drains, and side gates for a plurality of graphene field effect transistor devices located thereon”. Hoffman, also directed to fabricating a G-FET for biosensing (abstract), teaches that the G-FET may be fabricated by using conventional CMOS chip fabrication to enable a large scale, high quality, low-cost manufacturing ([0014, 0018]), comprising providing a SiO2/Si substrate that includes a source electrode and a drain electrode in the SiO2 layer, then attaching a graphene layer (Fig. 17, [0309]) that provides a reaction zone to the substrate ([0066], Fig. 1 and 5A), then forming a protection layer on the graphene layer (Fig. 26D) then forming trenches through a protection layer to expose the source electrode and the drain electrode, then filling the trenches with copper or aluminum to form interconnection (Fig. 26E, 26I, [0329]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use the a SiO2/Si substrate that includes a source electrode and a drain electrode as the substrate, then forming the interconnection to the electrode layer, i.e. step iii, in the invention of Kumar because Hoffman teaches that this would advantageously enable large scale, high quality, and low-cost manufacturing.--Claim 5: Since Kumar teaches that the first protection layer of aluminum oxide, having thickness 3 nm, and second protection layer of aluminum oxide, having thickness 20 nm, (Page 5) are to protect the graphene layer during manufacturing, the thickness of the aluminum oxide is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the thickness, such as to 50 nm or more, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). It is noted that Hoffman discloses that aluminum oxide passivation layer may have a suitable thickness, such as less than 9 nm to about 100 nm ([0035, 0212]).--Claims 6, 8: Hoffman teaches that the channel of the G-FET may have a length as short as a fabrication process may allow, such as of less than 20 nm -1 micron, and the width of the channel may be as wide as possible ([0198, 0331]). Therefore, the dimensions of the substrate and the window are result-effective variables, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the dimensions of the substrate and the window, such as to the claimed ranges, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). --Claim 15: Kumar further teaches to mount a PDMS well on the G-FET device (Section 2.1)
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713