DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action in response to the amendment filed 08/21/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are pending;
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-14, and 16 are currently amended; claims 5 and 15 are original; claim 11 has been cancelled; claim 17 was previously presented;
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on page 8 of the remarks filed 08/21/2025,
"With respect to the features 'wherein, both ends of the lock shaft are exposed from the slideway, and both ends of the lock shaft are connected with the battery box' in claim 2, it can be known based on the Fig.1, Fig.3, Fig.5 and Fig.7."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. None of the figures in the drawings filed 12/29/2023 show the claimed limitations "wherein, both ends of the lock shaft are exposed from the slideway, and are connected with the battery box" (claim 2, lines 1-3) as required by 37 CFR 1.83(a). In particular, the "both ends" of the "lock shaft" are not even seen in the drawings.
Applicant's arguments on page 8 of the remarks filed 08/21/2025,
"With respect to the features 'wherein, a mounting flange is arranged on the side wall of the longitudinal beam, and the lock base is arranged on the bottom of the mounting flange' in claim 10, the feature 'mounting flange' has been added in Fig. 3."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In Figure 3 of the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025, Applicant adds a reference number "211" and a reference line associated with the reference number "211." In the amended specification filed 08/21/2025, Applicant adds that the reference number "211" represents the "mounting flange" of claim 10. However, there is no support or evidence in the original disclosure of the present application indicating that the random part in Figure 3 of the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025, to which the reference line for the reference number "211" points, is the claimed mounting flange. As stated in the specification filed 12/29/2023, "the lock base 30 is arranged on the mounting flange, which makes the structure simple, preferably, the mounting flange is formed by extending outward from the side wall of the longitudinal beam 21, which can fully utilize the installation space outside the vehicle beam 52" (see paragraph 0101). The random part in Figure 3 does not appear to display such characteristics. As best understood, the random part in Figure 3 appears to be the folded plate (26) as referenced in Figure 4. Therefore, the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025 still fail to show the claimed limitations of claim 10.
Applicant's arguments on page 8 of the remarks filed 08/21/2025,
"With respect to the features "the lock tongue is pivotally arranged on the lock base, and the lock tongue can swing in the containing slot and the slideway to communicate or block the slideway" and "the lock linkage acts on the lock tongue, and the lock linkage is used to drive the lock tongue to swing", they have been shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. None of the figures in the drawings filed 12/29/2023 show the claimed limitations " a lock tongue, the lock tongue is pivotally arranged on the lock base, and the lock tongue can swing in the containing slot and the slideway to communicate or block the slideway; a lock linkage, the lock linkage acts on the lock tongue, and the lock linkage is used to drive the lock tongue to swing" (claim 14, lines 4-7) as required by 37 CFR 1.83(a). In particular, the pivotal arrangement of the lock tongue (37) and the acting of the lock linkage (38) on the lock tongue (37) are not even seen in the drawings
Applicant's arguments on page 11 of the remarks filed 08/21/2025,
"Xu does not clearly define the arrangement position of the locking hanging plate 21 on the transition bracket 1, in fact, for persons skilled in the art, it can be obtained that the locking hanging plate 21 is arranged on the transition bracket 1. Therefore, Xu does not disclose above features A."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Figures 1-3 of Xu, especially Figure 3 of Xu, clearly show that the lock body (2, fig 1), which comprises a locking plate (21, fig 3) and a locking base (22, fig 3), is arranged at least partially under the transition bracket (1, fig 1), which comprises a main beam (11, fig 3).
Applicant's arguments on page 12 of the remarks filed 08/21/2025,
"However, in Wang, according to Columns 7-10 and Figure 10, it can be seen that the batteries 200 is mounted within the frame of the bracket 100. Therefore, the installation method of the battery box in Wang is completely different from that of the present application. They are of completely different types of quick-swapping bracket assembly."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Moreover, the alleged position of the battery box can be seen in Figure 3 of Xu.
Applicant's arguments on page 12 of the remarks filed 08/21/2025,
"Additionally, Wang does not clearly define the position relation of the crossbeam 112 and the upright column 100a, and from Figure 10, it cannot obtain the position relation of the crossbeam 112 and the upright column 100a without doubt. In fact, for persons skilled in the art, considering the crossbeam 112 and the upright column 100a are needed to form the frame to accommodate the batteries 200, it can be obtained that the crossbeam 112 and the upright column 100a are normally located at the same horizontal plane. Therefore, Wang does not disclose above features C."
have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Figure 10 of Wang clearly shows a vehicle body bracket (100, fig 10) comprising a longitudinal beam (111, fig 10, the front first beam 111), an upright column (100a, fig 10, see annotation, the front left corner column), and a crossbeam (112, fig 10, the left second beam 112), wherein the longitudinal beam is connected with the crossbeam by means of the upright column (see Figure 10), and the longitudinal beam, the upright column and the crossbeam are sequentially connected to form a rectangular frame (see Figures 9 and 10), a bottom surface (111a, fig 10, see annotation, the bottom surface of the front first beam 111 at the left indentation) of the longitudinal beam is higher than a top surface (112a, fig 10, see annotation, the edge surface of the left second beam 112 joining the substantially vertical side surface of the left second beam 112 and the substantially horizontal bottommost surface of the left second beam 112; note that the term "top" is commonly known to mean "the uppermost or upper part, surface, etc., of anything" [https://www.dictionary.com/browse/top, last accessed 12/27/2025]; as such, the edge surface 112a can be broadly and reasonable considered as a top surface, since it is an upper surface of the left second beam 112 relative to the substantially horizontal bottommost surface of the left second beam 112) the crossbeam.
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (112 – Crossbeam)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (111 – Longitudinal Beam)]
[AltContent: textbox (112a – Top Surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (111a – Bottom Surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (100a – Upright Column)]
Drawings
The replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because they introduce new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
In Figure 3 of the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025, Applicant adds a reference number "211" and a reference line associated with the reference number "211." In the amended specification filed 08/21/2025, Applicant adds that the reference number "211" represents the "mounting flange" of claim 10. However, there is no support or evidence in the original disclosure of the present application indicating that the random part in Figure 3 of the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025, to which the reference line for the reference number "211" points, is the claimed mounting flange. As stated in the specification filed 12/29/2023, "the lock base 30 is arranged on the mounting flange, which makes the structure simple, preferably, the mounting flange is formed by extending outward from the side wall of the longitudinal beam 21, which can fully utilize the installation space outside the vehicle beam 52" (see paragraph 0101). The random part in Figure 3 does not appear to display such characteristics. As best understood, the random part in Figure 3 appears to be the folded plate (26) as referenced in Figure 4. Therefore, the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025 are considered as new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
The drawings filed 12/29/2023 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature(s) "wherein, both ends of the lock shaft are exposed from the slideway, and are connected with the battery box" (claim 2, lines 1-3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings filed 12/29/2023 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature(s) "wherein, a mounting flange is arranged on a side wall of the longitudinal beam, and the lock base is arranged on the bottom of the mounting flange" (claim 10, lines 1-3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings filed 12/29/2023 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature(s) "the lock tongue is pivotally arranged on the lock base, and the lock tongue can swing in the containing slot and the slideway to communicate or block the slideway" (claim 14, lines 4 and 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings filed 12/29/2023 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature(s) "the lock linkage acts on the lock tongue, and the lock linkage is used to drive the lock tongue to swing" (claim 14, lines 6 and 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendments to the specification filed 08/21/2025 are objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because they introduce new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
In the amended specification filed 08/21/2025, Applicant adds that the reference number "211" represents the "mounting flange" of claim 10. In Figure 3 of the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025, Applicant adds a reference number "211" and a reference line associated with the reference number "211." However, there is no support or evidence in the original disclosure of the present application indicating that the random part in Figure 3 of the replacement drawings filed 08/21/2025, to which the reference line for the reference number "211" points, is the claimed mounting flange. As stated in the specification filed 12/29/2023, "the lock base 30 is arranged on the mounting flange, which makes the structure simple, preferably, the mounting flange is formed by extending outward from the side wall of the longitudinal beam 21, which can fully utilize the installation space outside the vehicle beam 52" (see paragraph 0101). The random part in Figure 3 does not appear to display such characteristics. As best understood, the random part in Figure 3 appears to be the folded plate (26) as referenced in Figure 4. Therefore, the amendments to the specification filed 08/21/2025 are considered as new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 10, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 12, "the quick-swapping bracket assembly" appears to be --the vehicle body bracket--.
Claim 7, line 3, "there is a space" appears to be --a spaced is formed--.
Claim 7, line 6, "passes" appears to be --is configured to pass--.
Claim 10, line 3, "the bottom" appears to be --a bottom--.
Claim 13, line 2, "the cross-section" appears to be --a cross-section--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the "battery box" and the "electric vehicle" are functionally recited in an early portion of the body of claim 1, "wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly is configured to lock a battery box onto an electric vehicle" (lines 2 and 3), as functional elements that are not required structures within the scope of claim 1. However, the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box" (e.g., the "lock shaft" of the "battery box"), the "electric vehicle" are positively recited in a later portion of the body of claim 1, "the vehicle body bracket is fixed onto the electric vehicle… the opening is used for a lock shaft on the battery box entering and exiting the slideway, and both the opening and the slideway pass through the lock base along an axial direction of the lock shaft" (lines 5 and 8-10), as required structures within the scope of claim 1. The positive recitations of the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box" (e.g., the "lock shaft" of the "battery box"), the "electric vehicle" in the later portion of the body of claim 1, following the functional recitations of the "battery box" and the "electric vehicle" in the early portion of the body of claim 1, render the scope of claim 1 indefinite. It is not clear as to whether claim 1 is directed to a combination of the "quick-swapping bracket assembly," the "battery box," and the "electric vehicle" or directed to a subcombination of the "quick-swapping bracket assembly" for the "battery box" and the "electric vehicle." Applicant is advised to clearly claim the combination in the preamble or properly place the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box" (e.g., the "lock shaft" of the "battery box"), the "electric vehicle" in intended use in the body of the claim. For the purpose of examination, based on the functional recitations of the "battery box" and the "electric vehicle" in the early portion of claim 1, the Examiner considers claim 1 to be directed to a subcombination of the "quick-swapping bracket assembly" for the "battery box" and the "electric vehicle." As such, any recitation of the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and/or the component(s) of the "electric vehicle" is considered to be functional or intended use. Similar rejection and similar interpretation apply to claims 2-4, 13, and 16, which positively recite the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and/or the component(s) of the "electric vehicle." Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 9, since claim 9 recites "a plurality of reinforcement plates" (line 2), it is not clear as to which one of the "plurality of reinforcement plates" the limitation "the reinforcement plate" in line 4 refers to. Note that this rejection was similarly presented in the Office action mailed 05/21/2025 but has not yet been overcome by the amendment filed 08/21/2025. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5-8, 10, 12, 14, 15, and 17 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12-14, 16, and 17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 202764685 U)1 in view of Xu et al. (CN 112297811 A)2, hereinafter Xu, and Wang et al. (US 12,087,955 B2), hereinafter Wang.
Applicant is reminded that, as discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and the component(s) of the "electric vehicle" are considered as functional elements that are not required elements within the scope of each of claims 1-10 and 12-16. As such, any recitation of the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and/or the component(s) of the "electric vehicle" is considered to be functional or intended use.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a quick-swapping bracket assembly (translation, lines 128-162, the quick-swapping bracket assembly includes the frame in line 144 and the locking mechanism in line 128) with high locking stability, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly is configured to lock a battery box onto an electric vehicle (translation, lines 128-162, the quick-swapping bracket assembly has the configuration to perform the above intended use), the quick-swapping bracket assembly comprises: a vehicle body bracket (translation, lines 143-145, the frame in line 144), and the vehicle body bracket is fixed onto the electric vehicle (translation, lines 143-145); a lock base (see Figure 3, the locking mechanism as shown in Figure 3), and an opening (4, fig 3) and a slideway (3, fig 3) extending from the opening are arranged at a bottom of the lock base (see Figure 3), and the opening is used for a lock shaft on the battery box entering and exiting the slideway (see Figure 3, the opening 4 is capable of performing the above intended use), and both the opening and the slideway pass through the lock base along an axial direction of the lock shaft (see Figure 3, the opening 4 and the slideway 3 are capable of performing the above intended use).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the quick-swapping bracket assembly, (1) wherein the lock base is arranged under the vehicle body bracket; (2) wherein the vehicle body bracket comprises a longitudinal beam; the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises an upright column and a crossbeam, the longitudinal beam is connected with the crossbeam by means of the upright column, and the longitudinal beam, the upright column and the crossbeam are sequentially connected to form a rectangular frame; a bottom surface of the longitudinal beam is higher than a top surface of the crossbeam.
With respect to the missing limitations (1) above, Xu teaches a quick-swapping bracket assembly (translation, lines 162-165, the new energy vehicle battery pack quick-change device in line 162) with high locking stability, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly is configured to lock a battery box onto an electric vehicle (translation, lines 162-165, the new energy vehicle battery pack quick-change device in line 162 has the configuration to perform the above intended use), the quick-swapping bracket assembly comprises: a vehicle body bracket (1, fig 1) having a longitudinal beam (translation, lines 201-203, one of the symmetrically arranged transition bracket bodies of the transition bracket 1 as shown in Figures 1-3), and the vehicle body bracket is fixed onto the electric vehicle (translation, lines 162-165); a lock base (2, fig 1) having a locking plate (21, fig 6, translation, lines 184-197, the locking plate as shown in Figure 6), and the lock base is arranged under the vehicle body bracket (see Figures 1-3).
Zhang and Xu are analogous art because they are at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., supports. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a vehicle body bracket (Zhang: translation, lines 143-145, the frame in line 144) with a longitudinal beam (Xu: translation, lines 201-203, one of the symmetrically arranged transition bracket bodies of the transition bracket 1 as shown in Figures 1-3) and form the lock base (Zhang: see Figure 3, the locking mechanism as shown in Figure 3) with a locking plate (Xu: 21, fig 6, translation, lines 184-197, the locking plate as shown in Figure 6), such that the lock base is arranged under the vehicle body bracket (Xu: see Figures 1-3), as taught by Xu, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to allow convenient installation and removal of the battery box from the bottom of the electric vehicle, thereby enhancing high battery replacement efficiency.
With respect to the missing limitations (2) above, Wang teaches a quick-swapping bracket assembly (10, fig 10) with high locking stability, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly is configured to lock a battery box onto an electric vehicle (see Figures 9 and 10, the quick-swapping bracket assembly 10 has the configuration to perform the above intended use), the quick-swapping bracket assembly comprises: a vehicle body bracket (100, fig 10); wherein the vehicle body bracket comprises a longitudinal beam (111, fig 10, the front first beam 111); the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises an upright column (100a, fig 10, see annotation, the front left corner column) and a crossbeam (112, fig 10, the left second beam 112), the longitudinal beam is connected with the crossbeam by means of the upright column (see Figure 10), and the longitudinal beam, the upright column and the crossbeam are sequentially connected to form a rectangular frame (see Figures 9 and 10); a bottom surface (111a, fig 10, see annotation, the bottom surface of the front first beam 111 at the left indentation) of the longitudinal beam is higher than a top surface (112a, fig 10, see annotation, the edge surface of the left second beam 112 joining the substantially vertical side surface of the left second beam 112 and the substantially horizontal bottommost surface of the left second beam 112; note that the term "top" is commonly known to mean "the uppermost or upper part, surface, etc., of anything" [https://www.dictionary.com/browse/top, last accessed 12/27/2025]; as such, the edge surface 112a can be broadly and reasonable considered as a top surface, since it is an upper surface of the left second beam 112 relative to the substantially horizontal bottommost surface of the left second beam 112) the crossbeam.
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (112 – Crossbeam)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (111 – Longitudinal Beam)]
[AltContent: textbox (112a – Top Surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (111a – Bottom Surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (100a – Upright Column)]
Wang is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., supports. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the vehicle body bracket (Zhang: 1, fig 1) having the longitudinal beam (Xu: translation, lines 201-203, one of the symmetrically arranged transition bracket bodies of the transition bracket 1 as shown in Figures 1-3) with an upright column (Wang: 100a, fig 10, see annotation, the front left corner column) and a crossbeam (Wang: 112, fig 10, the left second beam 112), wherein the longitudinal beam is connected with the crossbeam by means of the upright column (Wang: see Figure 10), and the longitudinal beam, the upright column and the crossbeam are sequentially connected to form a rectangular frame (Wang: see Figures 9 and 10), and a bottom surface (Wang: 111a, fig 10, see annotation, the bottom surface of the front first beam 111 at the left indentation) of the longitudinal beam is higher than a top surface (112a, fig 10, see annotation, the edge surface of the left second beam 112 joining the substantially vertical side surface of the left second beam 112 and the substantially horizontal bottommost surface of the left second beam 112) the crossbeam, as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to enhance the stability and the integrity of the vehicle body bracket. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang, Xu, and Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, wherein, both ends of the lock shaft are exposed from the slideway, and are connected with the battery box (Zhang: see Figures 3-5, the slideway 3 is capable of performing the above intended use).
Regarding claim 3, wherein, the longitudinal beam extends along a length direction of the electric vehicle (Xu: see Figures 1-3, the one of the symmetrically arranged transition bracket bodies of the transition bracket 1 is capable of performing the above intended use), the longitudinal beam is fixed onto a vehicle beam of the electric vehicle (Xu: see Figures 1-3, the one of the symmetrically arranged transition bracket bodies of the transition bracket 1 is capable of performing the above intended use), and the lock base is arranged at a bottom of the longitudinal beam (Xu: see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, wherein, the longitudinal beam comprises a top plate (Xu: 111, fig 7, the upper transverse plate 111), a side plate (Xu: 112, fig 7) and a bottom plate (Xu: 111, fig 7, the lower transverse plate 111) being connected with sequentially (Xu: see Figure 7), the side plate is fixedly connected with the vehicle beam (Xu: see Figures 1-3 and 7, the vertical plate 112 is capable of performing the above intended use), the top plate and the bottom plate respectively extend outward from both sides of the side plate along the axial direction of the lock shaft (Xu: see Figures 1-3 and 7, the transverse plates 111 are capable of performing the above intended use), and the lock base is arranged on the bottom plate (Xu: see Figures 1-3 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, wherein, the bottom plate is provided with an insert slot (Xu: 115, fig 7, see annotation), and the lock base is inserted into the insert slot from top to bottom (Xu: see Figures 1-7).
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (115 – Insert Slot)]
Regarding claim 6, wherein, the lock base comprises a base body (Zhang: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, fig 3) and a mounting edge (Xu: 21, fig 6, translation, lines 184-197, the locking plate as shown in Figure 6), and the mounting edge extends outward around the base body (Xu: see Figures 1-3; Zhang: see Figure 1), and a lower side of the base body is provided with the opening and the slideway (Zhang: see Figure 1), the base body is inserted into the insert slot (Xu: see Figures 1-3; Zhang: see Figure 1), and the mounting edge is wedged on the bottom plate (Xu: see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises a plurality of reinforcement plates (Xu: 113, fig 7), and the plurality of reinforcement plates are wedged between the top plate and the bottom plate (Xu: see Figure 7), a side edge of the reinforcement plate is connected with the side plate (Xu: see Figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, wherein, a mounting flange (Xu: 113, fig 7) is arranged on a side wall of the longitudinal beam (Xu: see Figure 7), and the lock base is arranged on the bottom of the mounting flange (Xu: see Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 12, wherein, both the longitudinal beam and the crossbeam are provided with lightening holes; or, a reinforcement piece is provided between the longitudinal beam and the upright column; or, the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises an electrical connector (Wang: 118, fig 10), and the electrical connector is arranged at a middle of the crossbeam (Wang: see Figure 10).
Regarding claim 13, wherein, a guide part (Zhang: 4a, fig 3, see annotation) is arranged at a lower end of the lock base (Zhang: see Figure 3), and the cross-section of the guide part becomes larger along a direction of the lock shaft entering the opening (Zhang: see Figure 3, the cross-section of the guide part 4a is capable of performing the above intended use).
[AltContent: textbox (4a – Guide Part)][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 14, wherein, a containing slot (Zhang: 5, fig 3) is arranged on a top of the lock base (Zhang: see Figure 3), and the containing slot is communicated with the slideway (Zhang: see Figure 3), the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises: a lock tongue (Zhang: 6a, fig 5, see annotation), the lock tongue is pivotally arranged on the lock base (Zhang: see Figure 5), and the lock tongue can swing in the containing slot and the slideway to communicate or block the slideway (Zhang: see Figure 5, the lock tongue 6a is capable of performing the above intended use); a lock linkage (Zhang: 6b, fig 5, see annotation), the lock linkage acts on the lock tongue (Zhang: see Figure 5), and the lock linkage is used to drive the lock tongue to swing (Zhang: see Figure 5, the lock linkage 6b is capable of performing the above intended use).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (6b – Lock Linkage)][AltContent: textbox (6a – Lock Tongue)]
[AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 16, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises a buffer part (Zhang: 9, fig 3), at least a part of the buffer part is located in the slideway (Zhang: see Figure 3), when the lock shaft is at a locking point in the slideway (Zhang: see Figures 1-5, the slideway 3 is capable of performing the above intended use), the buffer part abuts against the lock shaft (Zhang: see Figures 1-5, the buffer part 9 is capable of performing the above intended use).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang, as modified by Xu and Wang (see above discussion with respect to claim 1), teaches an electric vehicle (Zhang: translation, line 18; Xu: translation, line 19), wherein, the electric vehicle comprises a battery box (Zhang: 100, fig 1; Xu: 3, fig 3) and the quick-swapping bracket assembly as claimed in claim 1, the battery box is arranged on the quick-swapping bracket assembly (Xu: see Figures 1-3; Zhang: see Figure 3-5).
Claims 7 and 8, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 202764685 U) in view of Xu et al. (CN 112297811 A), hereinafter Xu, Wang et al. (US 12,087,955 B2), hereinafter Wang, and Zhang et al. (WO 2019/129288 A1)3.
Applicant is reminded that, as discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and the component(s) of the "electric vehicle" are considered as functional elements that are not required elements within the scope of each of claims 1-10 and 12-16. As such, any recitation of the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and/or the component(s) of the "electric vehicle" is considered to be functional or intended use.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang, as modified by Xu and Wang with respect to claim 1, does not teach the quick-swapping bracket assembly, wherein, the longitudinal beam further comprises a folded plate, the folded plate extends upward from an edge of the bottom plate, and there is a space between a top surface of the folded plate and the top plate, and a containing space is formed between the folded plate and the side plate, and the lock base passes through the space to be arranged in the containing space.
Zhang et al. teaches a quick-swapping bracket assembly (10, 30, 40, fig 1) with high locking stability, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly is configured to lock a battery box onto an electric vehicle (see Figures 1-10, the quick-swapping bracket assembly 10, 30, 40 has the configuration to perform the above intended use), wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly comprises: a vehicle body bracket (40, fig 1); and a lock base (10, 30, fig 1); wherein, the vehicle body bracket comprises a longitudinal beam (40, fig 2); wherein, the longitudinal beam comprises a top plate (40a, fig 2, see annotation), a side plate (40b, fig 2, see annotation) and a bottom plate (40c, fig 2, see annotation) being connected with sequentially (see Figure 2); wherein, the longitudinal beam further comprises a folded plate (40d, fig 2, see annotation), the folded plate extends upward from an edge of the bottom plate (see Figure 2), and there is a space between a top surface of the folded plate and the top plate (see Figure 2), and a containing space is formed between the folded plate and the side plate (see Figure 2), and the lock base passes through the space to be arranged in the containing space (see Figure 2).
[AltContent: textbox (40a – Top Plate)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (40c – Bottom Plate)]
[AltContent: textbox (40d – Folded Plate)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (40b – Side Plate)]
Zhang et al. is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., supports. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the longitudinal beam (Xu: translation, lines 201-203, one of the symmetrically arranged transition bracket bodies of the transition bracket 1 as shown in Figures 1-3) with a folded plate (Zhang et al.: 40d, fig 2, see annotation), wherein the folded plate extends upward from an edge of the bottom plate (Xu: 111, fig 7, the lower transverse plate 111; Zhang et al.: see Figure 2), and there is a space between a top surface of the folded plate and the top plate (Xu: 111, fig 7, the upper transverse plate 111; Zhang et al.: see Figure 2), and a containing space is formed between the folded plate and the side plate (Xu: 112, fig 7; Zhang et al.: see Figure 2), and the lock base (Zhang: see Figure 3, the locking mechanism as shown in Figure 3; as modified by, Zhang: 21, 22, figs 1-7) passes through the space to be arranged in the containing space (Zhang et al.: see Figure 2), as taught by Zhang et al., with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to further enhance securement of the lock base within the inner space of the longitudinal beam of the vehicle body bracket. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang, Xu, Wang, and Zhang et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, wherein, the top plate, the side plate, the bottom plate and the folded plate are formed as an integral structure (Zhang et al: see Figures 1 and 2; Xu: see Figure 7); or, the top plate, the side plate, the bottom plate and the folded plate are connected sequentially.
Claim 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 202764685 U) in view of Xu et al. (CN 112297811 A), hereinafter Xu, Wang et al. (US 12,087,955 B2), hereinafter Wang, and Zhang et al. (CN 111391640 A)4, hereinafter Zhang 640.
Applicant is reminded that, as discussed above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and the component(s) of the "electric vehicle" are considered as functional elements that are not required elements within the scope of each of claims 1-10 and 12-16. As such, any recitation of the "battery box," the component(s) of the "battery box," the "electric vehicle," and/or the component(s) of the "electric vehicle" is considered to be functional or intended use.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang, as modified by Xu and Wang with respect to claim 1, does not teach the quick-swapping bracket assembly, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises: a reset piece, one end of the reset piece is connected with one end part of the lock linkage, and the other end of the reset piece is connected with the vehicle body bracket.
Zhang 640 teaches a quick-swapping bracket assembly (10, 20, 40, 50, 60, fig 2) with high locking stability, wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly is configured to lock a battery box onto an electric vehicle (see Figure 2, the quick-swapping bracket assembly 10, 20, 40, 50, 60 is capable of performing the above intended use), the quick-swapping bracket assembly comprises: a lock base (10, fig 2) having a slideway (102, fig 2); wherein, a containing slot is arranged on a top of the lock base (see Figures 2 and 6), and the containing slot is communicated with the slideway (see Figure 2), the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises: a lock tongue (204, fig 1), the lock tongue is pivotally arranged on the lock base (see Figures 1-10), and the lock tongue can swing in the containing slot and the slideway to communicate or block the slideway (see Figures 1-10, the lock tongue 204 is capable of performing the above intended use); a lock linkage (205, fig 1), the lock linkage acts on the lock tongue (see Figures 1-10), and the lock linkage is used to drive the lock tongue to swing (see Figures 1-10, the lock linkage 205 is capable of performing the above intended use); wherein, the quick-swapping bracket assembly further comprises: a reset piece (50, fig 2), one end of the reset piece is connected with one end part of the lock linkage (see Figure 2), and the other end of the reset piece is connected with a vehicle body bracket via the lock base (see Figure 2).
Zhang 640 is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., supports. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the quick-swapping bracket assembly (Zhang: translation, lines 128-162, the quick-swapping bracket assembly includes the frame in line 144 and the locking mechanism in line 128) with a reset piece (Zhang 640: 50, fig 2), wherein one end of the reset piece is connected with one end part of the lock linkage (Zhang 640: see Figure 2), and the other end of the reset piece is connected with the vehicle body bracket via the lock base (Zhang 640: see Figure 2), as taught by Zhang 640, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to enhance securement of the lock shaft of the battery box within the lock base by biasing the lock shaft of the battery box. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang, Xu, Wang, and Zhang 640 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631
1 A copy of Zhang, including a translation, was attached to the Office action mailed 05/21/2025.
2 A copy of Xu is available in the record, e.g., filed 10/02/2024.
3 A copy of Zhang et al. is attached to the current Office action. Its U.S. equivalent (US 11,359,410 B2) is utilized for translation purpose.
4 A copy of Zhang 640 is available in the record, e.g., filed 04/25/2024.