DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment of claims 1-2, 5-7, 10, 12, 14 has been acknowledged. Applicant has added claims 15-19 as new claims.
Claims 1-7, 10 and 12-19 are pending and they are examined in this office action.
Rejections that are withdrawn
Objection to specification is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment of specification to state the table with missing number as “Table B” and “Table C” and deleting the browser executable code of “www” from the specification from page 74 (see amendment of 06/02/2026).
Objection to claims is withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendment of claim 1 to delete the phrase “given under” and recite the term “of” and amendment of claim 6 to delete the extra term “of”.
Response to Dr. Giulia Pagliarani’s declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 06/30/2026 by Dr. Giulia Pagliarani is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-7, 10, 12-19 based upon 35 USC § 112 (a) and 35 USC § 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
Dr. Pagliarani declares See also id. at, US. pub. US2025/0280777 paragraph 58 ("Mutant alleles which result in truncated D 14 proteins will generally result in a loss of function, such as the WI55* mutant generated herein in watermelon. Dr Pagliarani declares also, the Q255* results in a loss function or reduced function, as at least 13 amino acids of the protein are missing, including 5 amino acids or the highly conserved IPR000073 domain.") phenotype (Dr. Pagliarani’s declaration, page 3, first paragraph).
Dr. Pagliarani declares that the Applicant (Nunhems) has identified an additional mutant W35STOP that has multibranching phenotype (Dr. Pagliarani’s declaration, page 4, first paragraph).
The argument in Dr. Pagliarani’s declaration was fully considered but they have not found persuasive since US. pub. US2025/0280777 paragraph 58 does not expressly state the Q255* results in multibranching phenotype, it merely speculates that it could happen as stated by the term “may”. Furthermore, Spec, page 72-73, Table 2 only describes the mutant W155Stop when homozygous causes multibranching phenotype and the table is silent about the phenotype of Q255Stop. Therefore, the mutant of Q255Stop has only been described by creation of such mutant and it has not been described by the resulting phenotype either in heterozygous or homozygous mutant forms.
Regarding declaration that mutant W35STOP is multibranching, the declaration does not state whether the mutation was homozygous or heterozygous. Furthermore, Dr. Pagliarani’s declaration is stating example of specific W35STOP mutation and not any mutation that adds a STOP codon in any amino acid in positions 22 to 259 of SEQ ID NO:2 leading to the mutant allele missing any amino acids in the IPR00073 domain as recited in claim 1. The declaration is also silent of what percentage of secondary branches has been increased in the mutant with W35STOP as compared to the wild type plants.
Therefore, the declaration is not persuasive.
Following 35 USC § 112 – written description requirement rejection has been modified in light of applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 5 to recite the mutant allele comprises a premature STOP codon in the IPR00073 domain, starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 of SEQ ID NO: 2, whereby at least one of the amino acids of the IPR00073 domain is missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – written description requirement
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Breadth of the Claim
Any one of the premature stop codon in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 are required to cause increase in number of secondary branches (claims 1 and 5).
Any complementary sequence of SEQ ID NO:6 that would encode SEQ ID NO:2 would encompass large variants of sequences of SEQ ID NO:6 (claim 12) since complementary sequence could be fully or partially complementary.
The nucleic acid hybridization making use of CLD14 would produce large number of variants of polynucleotides (claim 5).
Any pair of PCR primers or at least one oligonucleotide probe, which primers or oligonucleotide probe comprise at least 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 or more consecutive nucleotides of the genomic allele of the ClD14 gene would hybridize to the large variants of genomic allele and/ or amplify part large variants of the genomic allele in a PCR assay (claims 12 and 13).
What is Described in the Specification
Applicant describes the following:
QTL mapping for secondary branching (also referred to as 'multi branching') was done on an F2 population developed by crossing the multi branching variety Sidekick F1 with a proprietary normal branching watem1elon plant (Response to Rejection, page 70, lines 1-3).
It was found that a gene on chromosome 8 caused the multi branching phenotype in Sidekick F1 (page 70, line 7).
The gene ClD14, contained a duplication of 24 nucleotides, which encoded 8 additional amino acids compared to the wild type gene, present in the normal-branching parent (page 70, lines 7-9).
The multibranching phenotype, as only seen when the mutant allele of the gene (comprising the 24-nudeotide duplication) was present in homozygous form (page 70, lines 9-11, Table in page 17).
watermelon TTLLING population was screened, and several mutants were found in the ClD 14 gene leading to amino acid substitutions or STOP codons (page 72, lines 25-27).
The W155Stop mutant has a multibranching phenotype, when the mutation is in homozygous form (W155*/W155*), the phenotype looks like that of the original mutant (ClD14ins/ClD14ins), comprising the duplication of 8 amino acids (page 73, lines 2-4).
ClD14ins mutant allele must be encoding a non-functional protein, which does not transmit the signal to suppress secondary branching leading to full multibranching" or 'strong multibranching" (page 74, lines 2-7).
Difference Between What was Described and What is Claimed
Applicant has not described a mutant allele comprising any premature stop codon in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 would cause increase in number of secondary branches in a watermelon plant other than the homozygous W155Stop/ W155Stop of SEQ ID NO:2 leading to SEQ ID NO:5 (claims 1 and 5).
Applicant has not described any complementary sequence of SEQ ID NO:6 that would encode SEQ ID NO:2 other than SEQ ID NO:6 itself (claim 12).
Applicant has not described use of any mutant allele of SEQ ID NO:6 or SEQ ID NO:2 that comprises a premature stop codon in the IPR00073 domain starting at amino acid 22 and ending at 259 of the SEQ ID NO:2 (claim 5).
Applicant has not described nucleic acid hybridization conditions to develop the oligonucleotide probes or oligonucleotide product (claim 5 and 12).
Applicant has not described any pair of PCR primers or at least one oligonucleotide probe, which primers or oligonucleotide probe comprise at least 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 or more consecutive nucleotides of the genomic allele of the ClD14 gene and can hybridize to the genomic allele and/ or amplify part of the genomic allele in a PCR assay (claims 12 and 13).
Analysis
The purpose of the written description is to ensure that the inventor had possession at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject claimed. For a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
Claim 1 recite a watermelon plant or part or seed comprising a premature STOP codon acid deletion in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 leading to any number of amino acids in the IPR00073 to be missing. Thus, the claim recite large number of watermelon plants with various structures. Instead, applicant has only described homozygous W155Stop / W155Stop of SEQ ID NO:2 leading to SEQ ID NO:5 would have multibranching phenotype.
Instead, applicant has only showed a 8 amino acids insertions at position 93 of wildtype (i.e. SEQ ID NO:2) causes multibranching phenotype in Sidekick variety as compared to the wildtype control.
Specific motif or domain of the protein would have to be targeted to have desired effect of increase in branch number in watermelon. For example, Guo et al. (Nature Published:2012, Communications 4:1566 DOI: 10.1038/ncomms2542, pages 1-12) teaches CArG-box motifs (Os03g10620) [C(A/T)TTAAAAAG] found in promoter of D14 in rice controls the tiller development (page 6, right paragraph 2). Furthermore, Kagiyama et al. (Published: 2013, Journal: Genes to Cells 18: 147–160) teaches different D14 genes in rice and Arabidopsis comprise various domains (page 149, Figure 2).
Lee et al. (Published: 2026, Journal: J. Integr. Plant Biol. 68: 113–129) teaches different conserved motifs are present in the D14 gene orthologs (see supplementary figure S1). Therefore, specific motif would cause various effect on the change in the function of the gene.
Hu et al. (Published: 2017, Journal: Rice. Front. Plant Sci. 8:1935. doi: 10.3389/fpls.2017.01935) teaches hydrolase activity of D14 is essential for the SL-induced D14 degradation wherein the S147A and H297Y transgenic plants exhibited high tillering phenotypes showing both are indispensable for the signal perception of SLs in vivo (page6, right first paragraph). Hu et al. teaches when created mutation in lysine sites as K33, K55, K166, K246, and K280, the degradation of GFP in D14K55E-GFP, D14K166E-GFP or D14K246E-GFP was relatively unaffected (Figure 2C) wherein K280 be the key amino acid for SL induced D14 degradation (pages 5 and 6, last and first paragraphs). Hu et al. teaches D14 degradation is a complex process including many other components (see Figure 6). Therefore, specific mutation would be required to cause the phenotype of increased branching numbers. Instead, applicant has not described increase in branching number in any other plant other than W155Stop / W155Stop of SEQ ID NO:2 and 8 amino acids insertions at position 93 of wildtype (i.e. SEQ ID NO:2). Therefore, there is dearth of description of at least any one of the amino acid deletion or replacement in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 would cause increase in number of secondary branches other than the homozygous W155Stop / W155Stop of SEQ ID NO:2 leading to SEQ ID NO:5. Specification page 72, Table 2 showed mutation in codon wherein the change in phenotype to multibranching has only been described in the TGG (W), TAG (Stop) or W155Stop.l. There are no recorded changes in the other codons.
Applicant has not described any complementary sequence of SEQ ID NO:6 that would encode SEQ ID NO:2 other than SEQ ID NO:6 itself (claim 12). The degree of complementarity of a sequence would comprise both fully complementary where every base pairs perfectly and partially complementary where only sections of the strand match or mismatches. Therefore, there would be large number of sequences that would have various complementarity to SEQ ID NO:6 which is 893 nucleotides long. Therefore, there is dearth of description of any complementary sequence of SEQ ID NO:6 that would encode SEQ ID NO:2 (claim 12).
Applicant has not described use of any mutant allele of SEQ ID NO:6 or SEQ ID NO:2 that comprises STOP codon in the IPR00073 domain anywhere in position 22-259 of SEQ ID NO:2 (claim 5). The mutation in ClD14 in the watermelon plant may not have any effect on the phenotype of the plants. Therefore, the is dearth of description use of detecting or selecting such a broad population of plant with many variants of the plant without predictable results in effect on the phenotype to of the plants with a stop codon anywhere in position 22 to 259 of SEQ ID NO:2.
Applicant has not described any pair of PCR primers or at least one oligonucleotide probe, which primers or oligonucleotide probe comprise at least 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 or more consecutive nucleotides of the genomic allele of the ClD14 gene and can hybridize to the genomic allele and/ or amplify part of the genomic allele in a PCR assay (claims 12 and 13). The nucleic acid hybridization making use of CLD14 would produce large number of variants of polynucleotides. Applicant has not described the specific hybridization oligonucleotides that would effectively hybridize with the mutated SEQ ID NO:6 or complementary sequence of SEQ ID NO:6 (claims 5, 11 and 12).
"The test for sufficiency is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to one skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date." Ariad Pharm, Inc, v EH Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010). To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Lockwood v. Amer. Airlines, ina, 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997). "An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations. Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPG2d at 1966". While the written description requirement does not demand either examples or an actual reduction, actual "possession" or reduction to practice outside of the specification is not enough. Ariad Pharm, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F,3d 1336,1352 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Rather, it is the specification itself that must demonstrate possession. Id.
Thus, based on the analysis above, Applicant has not met either of the two elements of the written description requirement as set forth in the court's decision in Eli Lilly. As a result, it is not clear that Applicant has described the structure of claimed genus to have application as recited function at the time this application was filed.
Following 35 USC § 112 – Scope of Enablement rejection has been modified in light of applicant’s amendment of claim 1 to recite the mutant allele comprises a premature STOP codon in the IPR00073 domain, starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 of SEQ ID NO: 2, whereby at least one of the amino acids of the IPR00073 domain is missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Scope of Enablement
Claims 1 and 3-4, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the watermelon plant or plant part or a watermelon seed comprising a mutant allele of a gene named ClD14 (Citrullus lanatus Dwarf14), wherein the mutant allele encodes a protein in which the codon for amino acid 155 is replaced by a stop codon wherein the mutant allele results in the plant developing an increased average number of secondary branches when the mutant allele is in homozygous form as compared to control plant, does not reasonably provide enablement for the watermelon plant or plant part or a watermelon seed comprising mutant allele encodes a protein in which the codon for amino acid 255 is replaced by a stop codon or the mutant encodes a protein wherein any of the amino acid is replaced by stop codon in any amino acid position 22 to 259 of SEQ ID NO:2. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
An “analysis of whether a particular claim is supported by the disclosure in an application requires a determination of whether that disclosure, when filed, contained sufficient information regarding the subject matter of the claims as to enable one skilled in the pertinent art to make and use the claimed invention.” MPEP 2164.01. “A conclusion of lack of enablement means that. . . the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention [i.e., commensurate scope] without undue experimentation.” In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993); MPEP 2164.01.
In In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731,8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988), several factors implicated in determination of whether a disclosure satisfies the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue” are identified. These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731,737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). No single factor is independently determinative of enablement; rather “[i]t is improper to conclude that a disclosure is not enabling based on an analysis of only one of the above factors while ignoring one or more of the others.” MPEP 2164.01. Likewise, all factors may not be relevant to the enablement analysis of any individual claim.
The Breadth of the Claims and nature of invention:
Any one of the premature stop codon in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 are required to cause increase in number of secondary branches (claim 1).
Amino acid codon Q255 changed to a stop codon in SEQ ID NO:2 in a watermelon plant is required to cause increase in number of secondary branches (claims 17-19).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor:
The gene ClD14, contained a duplication of 24 nucleotides, which encoded 8 additional amino acids compared to the wild type gene, present in the normal-branching parent (page 70, lines 7-9).
The multibranching phenotype, as only seen when the mutant allele of the gene (comprising the 24-nudeotide duplication) was present in homozygous form (page 70, lines 9-11, Table in page 17).
The watermelon TTLLING population was screened, and several mutants were found in the ClD 14 gene leading to amino acid substitutions or STOP codons (page 72, lines 25-27).
The W155Stop mutant has a multibranching phenotype, when the mutation is in homozygous form (W155*/W155*), the phenotype looks like that of the original mutant (ClD14ins/ClD14ins), comprising the duplication of 8 amino acids (page 73, lines 2-4).
Applicant states “Q255* may result in a loss of function” (page 9, lines 28-29).
Applicant Table 2 states the plant comprise the heterozygous plant with Q255 Stop of the dwarf 14 wherein applicant does not teach which phenotype is produced with the Q255stop.
The state of the prior art:
Specific motif or domain of the protein would have to be targeted to have desired effect of increase in branch number in watermelon. For example Guo et al. teaches CArG-box motifs (Os03g10620) [C(A/T)TTAAAAAG] found in promoter of D14 in rice controls the tiller development (page 6, right paragraph 2). Furthermore, Kagiyama et al. teaches different D14 genes in rice and Arabidopsis comprise various domains (page 149, Figure 2).
Lee et al. teaches different conserved motifs are present in the D14 gene orthologs (see supplementary figure S1). Therefore, specific motifs would cause various effects on the change in the function of the gene.
Hu et al. teaches hydrolase activity of D14 is essential for the SL-induced D14 degradation wherein the S147A and H297Y transgenic plants exhibited high tillering phenotypes showing both are indispensable for the signal perception of SLs in vivo (page6, right first paragraph). Hu et al. teaches when created mutation in lysine sites as K33, K55, K166, K246, and K280, the degradation of GFP in D14K55E-GFP, D14K166E-GFP or D14K246E-GFP was relatively unaffected (Figure 2C) wherein K280 be the key amino acid for SL induced D14 degradation (pages 5 and 6, last and first paragraphs). Hu et al. teaches D14 degradation is a complex process including many other components (see Figure 6). Therefore, specific mutation would be required to cause the phenotype of increased branching numbers. Instead, applicant has not described increase in branching number in any other plant other than W155Stop / W155Stop of SEQ ID NO:2. Therefore there is dearth of description of at least any one of the amino acid deletion or replacement in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 would cause increase in number of secondary branches other than the homozygous W155Stop / W155Stop of SEQ ID NO:2 leading to SEQ ID NO:5.
Furthermore, Kompella et al. (Published: 2017, Journal: ACS Synthetic Biology, 6(3): 446-454) teaches different premature stop codon wherein in some mutants for example of Fus3 as F13L and A30 does not have change to wildtype (page 450, table 1).
The stop codon in DNA typically has one of the following sequences: TAG, TAA or TGA. However, since there is no effect on wild type, the watermelon plant would not have any difference compared to the wild type watermelon plant. Instead, Applicant does not teach a mutant ClD14 gene carrying a premature stop codon in position 255 other than the amino acid exchange to STOP is at amino acid position of 155 of SEQ ID NO:2.
The existence of working examples:
The Specification or state of the art does not teach a person with skill in the art how to make and/or use the subject matter within the full scope of these claims because:
Applicant does not teach a mutant allele comprising any premature stop codon in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 would cause increase in number of secondary branches in a watermelon plant other than the homozygous W155Stop/ W155Stop of SEQ ID NO:2 leading to SEQ ID NO:5 (claim 1).
Applicant does not teach amino acid codon Q255 changed to a stop codon in SEQ ID NO:2 in a watermelon plant causes increase in number of secondary branches (claims 17-19).
Lack of a working example is a critical factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art. See MPEP § 2164.
Genetech, 108 F.3d at 1366, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
In the absence of guidance from either the instant disclosure or the art, it would require undue trial and error experimentation for a skilled artisan to make and use the broadly claimed polynucleotide and polypeptides with missing or replaced, with no reasonable expectation of success in arriving at a watermelon plant with an increased average number of secondary branches when the mutant is in homozygous form.
Thus, in view of the unpredictability associated with the any amino acid replacement to a premature STOP codon in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 and whereby any number of amino acids of the IPR00073 domain is missing, that would require to have the watermelon plant an increased average number of secondary branches when the mutant is in homozygous form, the lack of enabling guidance from either the instant disclosure or the art, and breath and diversity of the embodiments encompassed by the claimed genus, the lack of sufficient working examples, and the level of the art at the time of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art must rely on undue trial and error experimentation to make and test the numerous polypeptides encompassed by the broad genera, in order to make and/or use the invention within the full scope of these claims.
For at least this reason, the Specification does not enable a person of skill in the art how to make and/or use the subject matter within the full scope of these claims.
Following 35 USC § 103 –obviousness rejection has been modified in light of applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 5 to recite the mutant allele comprises a premature STOP codon in the IPR00073 domain, starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259 of SEQ ID NO: 2, whereby at least one of the amino acids of the IPR00073 domain is missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over is Lenini et al. (US Patent No.: US 7,314.979 B2, Date of Patent: Jan. 1, 2008), and further in view of Hu et al., and further in view of Ye et al. (Published Year: 2012, Journal: BMC bioinformatics, 13 : 1-11), and further in view of Paudel et al. (Published: 2019, Journal: Scientia Horticulturae 257 108665, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scienta.2019.108665, pages 1-7) and as evidenced by Puglisi et al. (WIPO International Pub. No.: WO 2022/200149 A1, Pub. Date: 29 September 2022).
Claims are drawn to a method of detecting watermelon plant, a method of generating a PCR amplification product, a method of amplifying the genomic DNA of watermelon plant comprising ClD14 gene.
Regarding claim 5, Applicant teaches QTL mapping for secondary branching (also referred to as 'multi branching') was done on an F2 population developed by crossing the multi branching variety Sidekick F1 with a proprietary normal branching watem1elon plant (Response to Rejection, page 70, lines 1-3).
Applicant teaches it was found that a gene on chromosome 8 caused the multi branching phenotype in Sidekick F1 (page 70, line 7).
Applicant teaches the gene ClD14, contained a duplication of 24 nucleotides, which encoded 8 additional amino acids compared to the wild type gene, present in the normal-branching parent (page 70, lines 7-9). The extra amino acid from position 93-101 would have been missing amino acid in the wildtype claimed by claim 1 (see Figure 1 for alignment).
Applicant teaches the multibranching phenotype, as only seen when the mutant allele of the gene (comprising the 24-nudeotide duplication) was present in homozygous form (page 70, lines 9-11, Table in page 17).
Therefore, the mutant gene is found in Sidekick variety of watermelon. Puglisi et al. showed evidence that Sidekick is a watermelon variety taught by the US7314979B2 (i.e. by Laini et al.) which has the mutant allele for multibranching (page 4, lines 9-19). Laini et al. teaches the watermelon plant having an allele resulting in multibranching compact watermelon plant (Abstract).
Laini et al. teaches use of RFLP, PCR and SSR analysis for identifying the chromosomal location of their disclosed transgenic plant and selection and propagation of transformed plant and to determine common parentage using hybridizations, RFLP, PCR, SSR and sequencing (col. 15, lines 18-47). Laini et al. teaches single recessive dwarfing gene, dw-2 controls multibranching (col. 5, lines 11-21).
Hu et al. teaches enzyme-receptor DWARF14 (D14) regulates shoot branching (page 1, Abstract) wherein the mutation in D14 causes the increased branching in rice (see Figure 4).
Designing a specific primer is known in the art see. Ye et al. teaches a tool Primer-BLAST which can be used to design new target-specific primers in one step as well as to check the specificity of pre-existing primers (Ye, page 1, Abstract). Ye et al. teaches their method can develop specific amplification of the desired target with the primers (Ye, page 1, Abstract). Ye teaches an example to design primers using the human zinc finger protein 419 (ZNF419) transcript variant 5 mRNA (Genbank accession: NM_001098494) (Ye, page 6, left paragraph 2).
Furthermore, Paudel et al. teaches using PCR primers for developing PCR amplification product (page3, left paragraph 1) in the F2 populations for identification of the desired gene in the F2 population (page4, right last paragraph).
Someone skilled in the art before the effective date of filling of the invention from teaching suggestions from Laini et al. would sequence the watermelon plant Sidekick of Laini et al. to identify the D14 gene that would be associated with multibranching and would develop PCR primers for PCR products or select for D14 as taught by Ye et al. Such gene would have been identified using NCBI protein database for example the SEQ ID NO:2 had 99.1% identity to the Strigolactone esterase D14 of Cucumis melo (musk melon) such sequence would identify the D14 gene of watermelon by sequence similarity search from NCBI protein database search. Someone skilled in the art would obviously try-choosing from a finite number of identified D14 gene in the watermelon, do a genotyping assay based on nucleic acid hybridization making use of ClD14 allele to develop ClD14 specific primers or probes to identify ClD14 allele. Furthermore, Paudel et al. teaches method of developing population and selecting population with desired gene in watermelon using PCR primers.
RESULT 2
A0A1S3BA45_CUCME
(NOTE: this sequence has 1 duplicate in the database searched)
ID A0A1S3BA45_CUCME Unreviewed; 267 AA.
AC A0A1S3BA45;
DT 12-APR-2017, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 12-APR-2017, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 39.
DE SubName: Full=Strigolactone esterase D14 {ECO:0000313|RefSeq:XP_008444562.1};
GN Name=LOC103487842 {ECO:0000313|RefSeq:XP_008444562.1};
GN Synonyms=103487842 {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:MELO3C010810.2.1};
OS Cucumis melo (Muskmelon).
OC Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
OC Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae; Pentapetalae;
OC rosids; fabids; Cucurbitales; Cucurbitaceae; Benincaseae; Cucumis.
OX NCBI_TaxID=3656 {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP001652600, ECO:0000313|RefSeq:XP_008444562.1};
RN [1] {ECO:0000313|EnsemblPlants:MELO3C010810.2.1}
RP IDENTIFICATION.
RG EnsemblPlants;
RL Submitted (MAR-2023) to UniProtKB.
RN [2] {ECO:0000313|RefSeq:XP_008444562.1}
RP IDENTIFICATION.
RG RefSeq;
RL Submitted (APR-2025) to UniProtKB.
CC -!- SIMILARITY: Belongs to the AB hydrolase superfamily.
CC {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00008645}.
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Copyrighted by the UniProt Consortium, see https://www.uniprot.org/terms
CC Distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) License
CC ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
DR RefSeq; XP_008444562.1; XM_008446340.2.
DR EnsemblPlants; MELO3C010810.2.1; MELO3C010810.2.1; MELO3C010810.2.
DR GeneID; 103487842; -.
DR Gramene; MELO3C010810.2.1; MELO3C010810.2.1; MELO3C010810.2.
DR KEGG; cmo:103487842; -.
DR eggNOG; ENOG502QVRR; Eukaryota.
DR InParanoid; A0A1S3BA45; -.
DR OrthoDB; 408373at2759; -.
DR Proteomes; UP001652600; Chromosome 3.
DR GO; GO:0016787; F:hydrolase activity; IEA:UniProtKB-KW.
DR FunFam; 3.40.50.1820:FF:000042; probable strigolactone esterase DAD2; 1.
DR Gene3D; 3.40.50.1820; alpha/beta hydrolase; 1.
DR InterPro; IPR000073; AB_hydrolase_1.
DR InterPro; IPR029058; AB_hydrolase_fold.
DR PANTHER; PTHR43039; ESTERASE-RELATED; 1.
DR Pfam; PF12697; Abhydrolase_6; 1.
DR SUPFAM; SSF53474; alpha/beta-Hydrolases; 1.
PE 3: Inferred from homology;
KW Hydrolase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00022801};
KW Reference proteome {ECO:0000313|Proteomes:UP001652600}.
FT DOMAIN 22..258
FT /note="AB hydrolase-1"
FT /evidence="ECO:0000259|Pfam:PF12697"
SQ SEQUENCE 267 AA; 29521 MW; 51D916CC4F4798D2 CRC64;
Query Match 99.1%; Score 1356; Length 267;
Best Local Similarity 98.5%;
Matches 263; Conservative 2; Mismatches 2; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MVNNALLEALNVRVLGTGDRSLVLAHGFGTDQSAWQLIYPSFTPYYRVILYDLVCAGSVN 60
|||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MVNNALLEALNVRVLGTGDRFLVLAHGFGTDQSAWQLVYPSFTPYYRVILYDLVCAGSVN 60
Qy 61 PDFFDFSRYTTLDAFVDDLISILDSLHVHRCAFVGHSVSAMVGILASIRRPELFSKLILI 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 PDFFDFSRYTTLDAFVDDLISILDSLHVHRCAFVGHSVSAMVGILASIRRPELFSKLILI 120
Qy 121 GASPRFLNDGDYHGGFEQSEIDRVFAAMKANYQSWVNGFAPLAVGADVPAAVQEFSRTLF 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GASPRFLNDGDYHGGFEQSEIDRVFAAMKANYQSWVNGFAPLAVGADVPAAVQEFSRTLF 180
Qy 181 NMRPDISLFVSKVIFSSDLRGVLGLVKVPCCIIQTAQDVSVPASVAIYLRDHLGGRNTVE 240
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||:|
Db 181 NMRPDISLFVSKVIFSSDLRGVLGLVKVPCCIIQTAQDVSVPTSVAIYLRDHLGGRNTIE 240
Qy 241 MLDTEGHLPHLSAPQLLVRKLRRALSR 267
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 MLDTEGHLPHLSAPQLLVRKLRRALSR 267
Regarding claim 6, the primer specific to ClD14 would have been at least 17 nucleotides long of SEQ ID NO:6 that encodes SEQ ID NO:2.
Regarding claim 10, Ye et al. teaches developing forward and reverse primers (page1, abstract). Furthermore, Paudel et al. teaches developing KASP assays in watermelon.
Regarding claim 12, Ye et al. teaches their method can develop a specific amplification of the desired target with the primers (Ye, page 1, Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Paudel et al. teaches using PCR primers for developing PCR amplification product (page3, left paragraph 1) in the F2 populations for identification of the desired gene in the F2 population (page4, right last paragraph).
Conclusion
Claims 2, 7, 14 and 16 are allowable if recited as independent claims with corresponding limitations of the dependent claims.
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12-13, 15, 17-19 are rejected.
Claims 1-3, 7, 14-15, and 17-19 are free of prior art. The closest prior art is Lenini et al. (US Patent No.: US 7,314.979 B2, Date of Patent: Jan. 1, 2008). Lenini et al. teaches a watermelon plant and seed (claims 1-4) which has allele resulting in a multibranching compact watermelon plant (Abstract). The patentable distinction is Lenini et al. does not teach a plant having a premature STOP codon in SEQ ID NO:2 starting at amino acid 22 and ending at amino acid 259, wherein at least one of the amino acid of IPR00073 domain is missing that causes the watermelon plant an increased average number of secondary branches when the mutant is in homozygous form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Contact Information
/SANTOSH SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/DAVID H KRUSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663