3DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2017/0186922; IDS, 03/13/2024).
Kim discloses providing an electronic device (e.g., a backlight unit, a liquid crystal display device, and the like) having enhanced luminous properties (e.g., color reproducibility). (Para, 0008). Kim discloses the electronic device includes a light source having a peak emission at a wavelength between about 440 nanometers (nm) to about 480 nm; and a photoconversion layer disposed on the light source, wherein the photoconversion layer includes a first quantum dot which emits red light and a second quantum dot which emits green light. (Para, 0009-0010). Kim discloses at least one of the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot has a perovskite quantum dot having a perovskite crystal structure and the perovskite quantum dot includes a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1: AB′X3+α Chemical Formula 1. (Para, 0012). Kim discloses A is a Group IA metal selected from Rb, Cs, Fr, and a combination thereof, NR4+, wherein each R is independently a hydrogen atom or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 straight chain or branched chain alkyl group, [CH(NH2)2]+, or a combination thereof; B′ is a Group IVA metal selected from Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, and a combination thereof; X is a halogen selected from F, Cl, Br, I, and a combination thereof, BF4−, or a combination thereof, and α is 0 to 3. (Para, 0012). These disclosures teach the limitation of claims 11-12.
Kim discloses at least one of the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot may be a non-perovskite quantum dot not having a perovskite crystal structure and the non-perovskite quantum dot may include a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV-VI compound, a Group IV element, a Group IV compound, a Group compound, a Group I-II-IV-VI compound, or a combination thereof. (Para, 0021). Kim discloses the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 may include CsPbCl3+α, CsPbBr3+α, CsPbI3+α, CsPb(Cl,I)3+α, CsPb(Br,I)3+α, CsPb(Br,Cl)3+α, or a combination thereof. (Para, 0022).
Kim discloses in the perovskite quantum dot, an atomic ratio of a halogen to the Group IA metal may be greater than or equal to about 3.0 as measured by transmission electron microscope-energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (TEM-EDX). (Para, 0023). Kim also discloses in the perovskite quantum dot, an atomic ratio of a halogen to the Group IA metal may be greater than or equal to about 3.1 as measured by transmission electron microscope-energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (TEM-EDX). (Para, 0024). Kim discloses at least one of the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot may independently include an organic ligand compound on a surface thereof, wherein the organic ligand compound is at least one selected from RCOOH, RNH2, R2NH, R3N, RSH, R3PO, R3P, ROH, RCOOR′, RPO(OH)2, R2POOH, RCOOCOR′ (wherein, R and R′ are independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C24 aliphatic hydrocarbon group or a substituted or unsubstituted C5 to C24 aromatic hydrocarbon group), and a combination thereof. (Para, 0025). Kim discloses the photoconversion layer may include a polymer matrix and the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot may be dispersed in the polymer matrix. (Para, 0026). Kim discloses the polymer matrix may include a thiolene polymer, a (meth)acrylate-based polymer, a urethane-based polymer, an epoxy polymer, a vinyl-based polymer, a silicone polymer, or a combination thereof. (Para, 0027).
Kim discloses the perovskite crystal structure may have a cubic crystalline lattice and the presence thereof can be confirmed by X-ray diffraction spectroscopy. (Para, 0127). Kim explains the second quantum dot may have a cubic shape and/or a rectangular parallelepiped shape, but it is not limited thereto and it may have a core-shell structure. (Para, 0127). Kim discloses a colloidal halide perovskite quantum dot may be an example of a suitable quantum dot material due to its photoluminescence properties such as color tunability, desirable bandgap, and the like. (Para, 0136). Kim discloses for example, a CsPbX3 nanoparticle and a CH3NHPbX3 nanoparticle are examples of a fully or partially inorganic perovskite nanoparticle. (Para, 0136).
Kim discloses the second quantum dot may have a size of about 1 nm to about 50 nm, for example, about 2 nm to about 15 nm, or about 3 nm to about 14 nm, which may be directly measured from a transmission electron microscopic (TEM) image or may be calculated from the full width at half maximum (FWHM) of the peak of the XRD spectrum using the Scherrer equation. (Para, 0141). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 13. Kim discloses the second quantum dot may have a FWHM of a photoluminescence peak wavelength of less than or equal to about 30 nm, for example, less than or equal to about 29 nm, less than or equal to about 28 nm, less than or equal to about 27 nm, less than or equal to about 26 nm, or less than or equal to about 25 nm. (Para, 0141). Kim discloses the quantum dot may have quantum efficiency (QE) or quantum yield (QY) of greater than or equal to about 60%, for example, greater than or equal to about 62%, greater than or equal to about 63%, greater than or equal to about 64%, greater than or equal to about 65%, greater than or equal to about 66%, or greater than or equal to about 67%. (Para, 0141). Kim discloses the second quantum dot of an embodiment, for example, does not include cadmium, but may show desirable photoluminescence characteristics (e.g., a high quantum efficiency, a narrow FWHM, desirable color purity, and the like). (Para, 0141).
Kim further discloses in the device of some embodiments, the photoconversion layer may include a polymer matrix and the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot may be dispersed in the polymer matrix. (Para, 0168). Kim illustrates a cross-sectional view of the photoconversion layer in some non-limiting embodiments where the first quantum dot 10 and the second quantum dot 20 are dispersed in the polymer matrix 30. (Para, 0168). Kim discloses the polymer matrix may be a thiol-ene polymer, a (meth)acrylate-based polymer, a urethane-based resin, an epoxy-based polymer, a vinyl-based polymer, a silicone resin, or a combination thereof. (Para, 0169). Kim discloses the thiol-ene polymer is disclosed in US-2012-0001217-A1, which is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety. (Para, 0169). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 15. Kim discloses the (meth)acrylate-based polymer such as poly(methyl methacrylate (PMMA), the urethane-based resin such as an urethane acrylate, the epoxy-based polymer, the vinyl-based polymer such as styrene, and the silicone resin such as polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) may be synthesized by known methods, or may be commercially available. (Para, 0169).
Kim then discloses and illustrates a pattern forming process for a photoluminescent color filter layer. (Para, 0195; Fig. 37). Kim discloses a toluene dispersion of quantum dots (e.g., InP/ZnS including an organic ligand such as oleic acid bound to a surface thereof) emitting red light is prepared. (Para, 0197; Fig.37). Kim discloses the toluene dispersion including 50 grams (g) of the quantum dot is mixed with 100 g of a binder solution to provide a quantum dot-binder dispersion. (Para, 0197). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 14. Kim discloses the binder solution may include a four membered copolymer of methacrylic acid, benzyl methacrylate, hydroxyethyl methacrylate, and styrene (acid value: 130 milligrams (mg) per gram of KOH (mg KOH/g), a weight average molecular weight: 8,000, a molar ratio of acrylic acid: benzyl methacrylate: hydroxyethyl methacrylate: styrene=61.5%:12%:16.3%:10.2%) in a solvent (polypropylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate having a concentration of 30 percent by weight, wt %). (Para, 0197). Kim discloses to the prepared quantum dot-binder dispersion, the following may be added to obtain a photosensitive composition: glycol di-3-mercaptopropionate, hexa-acrylate having the structure below (as a photopolymerizable monomer), 1 g of an oxime ester compound (as an initiator), TiO2 (as a light diffusing agent), and propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) (as a solvent). (Para, 0198). These disclosures teach the limitation of claims 6-10, 16 and 25. Kim discloses the photosensitive composition thus obtained is spin-coated on a glass substrate to provide a film (S100). (Para, 0200). This disclosure and the disclosures of Kim as discussed above teach the limitations of claim 1, ‘A process for producing a patterned film comprising particles comprising an AMX compound, which process comprises: (a) providing a photoresist layer disposed on a substrate, which photoresist layer comprises a mixture of a photoresist and particles comprising an AMX compound…and the AMX compound comprises a compound of Formula (I):[A]a[M]b[X]c (I) wherein: [A] comprises one or more monocations; [M] comprises one or more metal or metalloid cations; [X] comprises one or more halide anions; a is from 1 to 8; b is from 1 to 4; and c is from 3 to 10.’ Moreover these disclosures and the disclosures of Kim discussed above teach the limitation of claim 17.
Kim discloses the obtained film is pre-baked at 100° C (S200), then the pre-baked film is irradiated with light (wavelength: 365 nanometers (nm), intensity: 60 millijoules, mJ) for 1 s under a mask having a predetermined pattern (S300) and developed by a potassium hydroxide-diluted aqueous solution (concentration: 0.043%) to provide a pattern (S400). (Para, 0201). These disclosures and the disclosures of Kim as discussed above teach the limitations of claim 1, ‘ A process for producing a patterned film comprising particles comprising an AMX compound, which process comprises: …(b) defining a pattern on the photoresist layer by exposing regions of the photoresist layer to light and thereby producing a patterned photoresist layer; and (c) treating the patterned photoresist layer with a developer to produce the patterned film comprising particles comprising an AMX compound, wherein: the developer comprises a solvent, which solvent has a dielectric constant of at least 6.0’ These disclosures and the disclosures of Kim as discussed above also teach the limitation of claims 2-5, 18 and 24.
Kim discloses the obtained pattern is subjected to 30 min of heating at 180° C. to obtain a pattern of red (R) quantum dot polymer composite (S500). This disclosure and the disclosures of Kim as discussed above teaches the limitation of claim 19. Kim discloses a pattern of green (G) quantum dot polymer composite is prepared in the same manner of item [1] except for using a toluene dispersion of a perovskite quantum dot emitting green light. (Para, 0201). Kim discloses a pattern of polymer composite (B) is prepared in the same manner as set forth in item [1] except the quantum dot is not used. (Para, 0202).
Kim discloses the electronic device of some embodiments (e.g., the photoluminescent liquid crystal display) may include a liquid crystal panel 200, an optical element 300 (e.g., a polarizing plate) disposed above and below the liquid crystal panel 200, and a backlight unit including a light source 110 emitting blue light and disposed under the lower optical element 300. The liquid crystal panel 200 includes a lower substrate 210, an upper substrate 240, a liquid crystal layer 220 interposed between the upper and lower substrates, and a photoconversion layer 130 disposed on the bottom surface of the upper substrate 240 as a photoluminescent color filter layer. (Para, 0203). These disclosures and the disclosures of Kim as discussed above teach the limitation of claim 20. The disclosures and illustrations of Kim as discussed above also teach the limitations of claims 21 and 23. Kim also illustrates in Figure 37 this patterning process may be repeated three times and forms Red, Green or Blue quantum dots. (Figure 37). This disclosure, the disclosures of Kim as discussed above and the illustrations of Figure 37 teach the limitation of claim 22.
Therefore, the recitations of claims 1-25 of the present application are anticipated by the disclosures and illustrations of Kim.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899