Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Inoke fails to teach that the devices are separated by trenches. Applicants further point out the duty to interpret claim language reasonably.
Examiner understands that the intention of the limitation regarding trenches is directed at trenches 60 in the instant Fig. 1F at least. These trenches are formed in the devices being carried by the tray. However, the language of claim 1 is sufficiently broad to encompass a trench anywhere on the tray that separates the devices from one another. The region shown in the annotated figure below can reasonably be interpreted as a trench that separates adjacent devices. Amendments directed at the trenches being formed in the devices will further prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 7163104 to Inoke et al. (Inoke).
Regarding Claim 1, Inoke teaches a transfer system (see Figs. 1-4) comprising a plurality of transfer structures (see Fig. 1), each structure comprising a support 14 and a device 50 attached to the support, the support comprising a base portion having a support face, and at least one element 18 projecting from the support face, the device having a first face (facing down on page) comprising a central area and a peripheral area surrounding the central area,
wherein the at least one projecting element of the support is attached to the peripheral area of the first face of the device (see Fig. 1, peripheral region of device 50 on projecting surface 18), so that the support face, the at least one projecting element and the first face of the device form a cavity 26 under the central area,
wherein at least one projecting element of two adjacent transfer structures is common to the peripheral areas of said adjacent transfer structures (see Fig. 3, four transfer structures are adjacent projections 18 are common to two adjacent devices), and
wherein the adjacent optoelectronic devices are separated from one another by trenches formed directly above the at least one projecting element (see Figs. 1 and 3, devices are separated by a trench).
Inoke does not explicitly teach that the device 50 is an optoelectronic device. Inoke does not limit what kind of semiconductor device may be carried in the tray. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art having the benefit of Inoke before the time of filing to use the tray to carry any type of semiconductor device, including optoelectronic.
Regarding Claim 2, Inoke teaches the transfer system according to claim 1, comprising at least two projecting elements evenly arranged on either side of the central area (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Inoke teaches the transfer system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one projecting element has a first dimension according to a first direction, a second dimension according to a second direction, and a third dimension according to a third direction, the first and second directions forming a base plane parallel to the support face, and the third direction being perpendicular to this base plane, such that at least one amongst the first and second dimensions, smaller than the third dimension (see Fig. 3, each individual transfer structure is rectangular, with one dimension smaller than the other).
Regarding Claim 4, Inoke teaches the transfer system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the optoelectronic device comprises at least one light-emitting diode in line with the central area, and has a second face opposite to the first face, said second face forming a light emission face. However, the person of ordinary skill having the benefit of Inoke can readily use the tray to carry any type of integrated circuit in any orientation to fit application specific needs.
Regarding Claim 5, Inoke teaches the transfer system according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach that the optoelectronic device further comprises an electrical interconnection portion forming the first face. However, the person of ordinary skill having the benefit of Inoke can readily use the tray to carry any type of integrated circuit in any orientation to fit application specific needs.
Regarding Claim 8, Inoke teaches the transfer system according to claim 1 wherein the at least one projecting element has a first dimension according to a first direction and a second dimension according to a second direction, the first and second directions forming a base plane parallel to the support face, and the trenches have at least one dimension according to at least one amongst the first and second directions smaller than the first and second dimensions of the at least one projecting element (corresponding elements of Inoke form rectangles with one dimension smaller than the other).
Regarding Claim 9, Inoke teaches the transfer system according to claim 8, wherein the trenches extend into the at least one projecting element according to a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions (see Figs. 1 and 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVREN SEVEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812