DETAILED ACTION Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 12/29/23. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Drawings
Figures 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skoglund et al. (WO2020/084116, hereinafter Skoglund – See IDS dated 1/26/24).
Regarding claim 1, Skoglund discloses an apparatus comprising a control system 102 (See Fig. 1) that generates one or more electrical signals; a transducer assembly 103 comprising one or more transducers that receive the one or more electrical signals from the control system and convert the one or more electrical signals into the ultrasonic waves, wherein, by reducing surface mismatch, the generated ultrasonic waves are efficiently transmitted into a non-planar target in one or more directions, wherein the ultrasonic waves cause at least one of an acoustic streaming, a cavitation, a microstreaming, standing waves, a turbulence in a flow of fluids, a vibration of fluid molecules, a vibration of solids, reflection, refraction, or absorption, thereby improving efficiency of the one or more applications comprising any of, but not limited to, cleaning, imaging, mixing, measuring, sensing, or therapy (See Pg. 7, Para. 3, See Pg. 8, Para. 4 and Pg. 28, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus comprises a holder (base) that envelops the non-planar target and positions each of the one or more transducers around the non-planar target to enable entry of the ultrasonic waves from one or more directions into the non-planar target (See Pg. 11, Para. 6, Pg. 12, Paras. 1 and 5 and Pg. 13, Paras. 1- 3). Regarding claim 3, a surface geometry of the transducer assembly is matched with a surface geometry of a target surface in order to achieve a surface match ratio close to 1 (See Pg. 28, Para. 2). Regarding claim 4, the one or more transducers comprises one or more active elements (piezoelectric material), wherein a size of the one or more active elements is limited in order to achieve a surface match ratio close to 1 (See Pg. 7, Paras. 3 – 5 and Pg. 8, Paras. 1 – 3). Regarding claim 5, the one or more active elements are positioned on the holder that enables transmitting surfaces to contact with a target surface when the transducer assembly is combined with the non-planar target (See Pg. 7, Paras. 3 – 5 and Pg. 8, Paras. 1 – 3). Regarding claim 6, when the transducer assembly is combined with the non-planar target, the transmitting surfaces press against the target surface in order to achieve a surface match ratio close to 1 (See Pg. 7, Paras. 3 – 5 and Pg. 8, Paras. 1 – 3). Regarding claim 7, the holder functions as a base with one or more active elements bonded to the holder (See Pg. 7, Paras. 3 – 5 and Pg. 8, Paras. 1 – 3). Regarding claim 8, the holder fastens the one or more transducers to the non-planar target (See Pg. 7, Paras. 3 – 5 and Pg. 8, Paras. 1 – 3). Regarding claim 9, a target surface functions as a base with one or more active elements bonded to the target surface (See Pg. 7, Paras. 3 – 5 and Pg. 8, Paras. 1 – 3). Regarding claim 10, a control system 102 generates one or more electrical signals; a transducer assembly 103 receives and converts the one or more electrical signals into ultrasonic waves, wherein the generated ultrasonic waves are efficiently transmitted into the non-planar target in one or more directions by reducing surface mismatch, that causes at least one of an acoustic streaming, a cavitation, a microstreaming, standing waves, a turbulence in a flow of fluids, a vibration of fluid molecules, a vibration of solids, reflection, refraction, or absorption, thereby improving efficiency of the one or more applications comprising any of, but not limited to, cleaning, imaging, mixing, measuring, sensing, or therapy (See Pg. 7, Para. 3, See Pg. 8, Para. 4 and Pg. 28, Para. 2).
6. Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lam et al. (8,166,823, hereinafter Lam).
Regarding claim 1, Lam discloses an apparatus comprising a control system 68 (See Figs. 1 and 2) that generates one or more electrical signals; a transducer assembly 62 (See Figs. 2 and 7) comprising one or more transducers that receive the one or more electrical signals from the control system and convert the one or more electrical signals into the ultrasonic waves, wherein, by reducing surface mismatch, the generated ultrasonic waves are efficiently transmitted into a non-planar target in one or more directions, wherein the ultrasonic waves cause at least one of an acoustic streaming, a cavitation, a microstreaming, standing waves, a turbulence in a flow of fluids, a vibration of fluid molecules, a vibration of solids, reflection, refraction, or absorption, thereby improving efficiency of the one or more applications comprising any of, but not limited to, cleaning, imaging, mixing, measuring, sensing, or therapy (See Col. 6, lines 1 – 67, Col. 7, lines 1 – 27, Col. 8, lines 43 – 67 and Col. 9, lines 1 – 48).
Regarding claim 2, the apparatus comprises a holder (housing) 14 (See Fig. 2) or (base) 160 (See Fig. 14) that envelops the non-planar target and positions each of the one or more transducers around the non-planar target to enable entry of the ultrasonic waves from one or more directions into the non-planar target (See Col. 5, lines 62 – 67 and Col. 11, lines 51 - 59). Regarding claim 3, a surface geometry of the transducer assembly is matched with a surface geometry of a target surface in order to achieve a surface match ratio close to 1 (See Col. 6, lines 1 – 10). Regarding claim 4, the one or more transducers comprises one or more active elements 65 (See Fig. 7), wherein a size of the one or more active elements is limited in order to achieve a surface match ratio close to 1 (See Col. 8, lines 43 – 67). Regarding claim 5, the one or more active elements are positioned on the holder that enables transmitting surfaces to contact with a target surface when the transducer assembly is combined with the non-planar target (See Figs. 2 and 7). Regarding claim 6, when the transducer assembly is combined with the non-planar target, the transmitting surfaces press against the target surface in order to achieve a surface match ratio close to 1 (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, the holder functions as a base with one or more active elements 65 bonded to the holder (See Figs. 2 and 7). Regarding claim 8, the holder fastens the one or more transducers to the non-planar target (See Fig. 2). Regarding claim 9, a target surface functions as a base with one or more active elements bonded to the target surface (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, a control system 68 generates one or more electrical signals; a transducer assembly 62 receives and converts the one or more electrical signals into ultrasonic waves, wherein the generated ultrasonic waves are efficiently transmitted into the non-planar target in one or more directions by reducing surface mismatch, that causes at least one of an acoustic streaming, a cavitation, a microstreaming, standing waves, a turbulence in a flow of fluids, a vibration of fluid molecules, a vibration of solids, reflection, refraction, or absorption, thereby improving efficiency of the one or more applications comprising any of, but not limited to, cleaning, imaging, mixing, measuring, sensing, or therapy (See Col. 6, lines 1 – 67, Col. 7, lines 1 – 27, Col. 8, lines 43 – 67 and Col. 9, lines 1 – 48).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. 8. Tamura et al. (11,473,908) disclose an ultrasonic inspection system. Das (2022/0176322) discloses an apparatus and method for reducing concentration polarization and membrane fouling on membrane surface in a filter unit. Tamura et al. (JP2021092477) disclose an ultrasonic inspection system. Tomoyoshi et al. (JP3604322) disclose an ultrasonic flow meter. House et al. (4,843,884) disclose a method and system for ultrasonic detection of flaws in test objects. Elsley et al. (4,307,612) disclose a method and means for ultrasonic inspection. Fathauer (4,147,059) discloses a digital liquid velocity measuring system. 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 2/6/26