DETAILED ACTION
This is on the merits of Application No. 18/575826, filed on 12/30/2023. Claims 1-18 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 04/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/12/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 02/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I and II are sufficiently related such that an undue burden would not be presented to the Examiner by maintaining all of the claims in the application. This is not found persuasive because, as pointed out in the Restriction Requirement, the groups lack unity of invention. Search burden is not a consideration regarding this practice, just a special technical feature that defines a contribution in which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art. As they lack the same or corresponding special technical feature for the reason pointed out in the restriction requirement, and as further evidenced in the rejection below, the restriction is maintained. It is noted that if a special technical feature were to be added to claim 1, these claims could be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of locking mechanisms respectively arranged on a bottom of the longitudinal beams of claim 2, the plurality of cross beams of claim 4, a fixing bracket arranged at the bottom of the longitudinal beam in claim 5, a first thread part or a limiting part and a matched second thread part or stopping part of claim 12, and a plurality of guiding and positioning mechanisms arranged on the longitudinal beam of claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “by means of the plurality of locking members” in claim 1 and “by means of the locking tongue” in claim 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 line 2 states “the side walls” and should state --side walls--.
Claim 2 line 3 sates “the bottom” and should state --a bottom--.
Claim 3 line 4 states “the side part” and should state --a side part--.
Claim 5 line 3 states “the side walls” and should state --side walls--.
Claim 5 line 3 states “the bottom” and should state --a bottom--.
Claim 6 line 3 states “the electrical connector” and should state --an electrical connector--.
Claim 6 line 4 states “the two ends” and should state --two ends--.
Claim 9 line 3 states “the vertical direction” and should state --a vertical direction--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “the plurality of locking mechanisms are respectively arranged on the two longitudinal beams”. It is unclear how to interpret this limitation. How are the plurality of locking mechanisms arranged respectively to each beam? If each beam had one locking mechanism, would that read on the claim? Or is this trying to state that each beam has a respective plurality of locking mechanisms? As written, either would read on the claim and will be interpreted as such.
Claim 4 line 5, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 line 6, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 states “the fixing bracket comprises two mounting beams”. It is unclear what these mounting beams are. Claim 1 establishes the locking mechanisms are arranged on the longitudinal beams. Is this no longer the case in claim 5? Is there now another component between these two? Or is the mounting beam part of the longitudinal beam somehow? The figures only show element 4 in Fig. 3, which appears to just be part of the longitudinal beam. The specification does not provide much more clarity as to what is occurring.
Claim 7 line 5, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 states “the locking mechanism… the locking member… the longitudinal beam”. It is unclear how this is related to the “plurality of locking mechanisms”, “the plurality of locking members”, and “two longitudinal beams” of claim 1. The claim should relate back to the already established elements in order to make clear what is occurring.
Claim 9 states “the locking mechanism”. Again, it is unclear how this is related to the “plurality of locking mechanisms” of claim 1.
Claim 10 line 2 states “at least part of the locking bases”. However, claim 9, on which claim 10 depends, only establishes a single “locking base”. Are multiple locking bases meant to be established somewhere?
Claim 11 states “the locking mechanism”. Again, it is unclear how this is related to the “plurality of locking mechanisms” of claim 1.
Claim 12 states “the locking mechanism”. Again, it is unclear how this is related to the “plurality of locking mechanisms” of claim 1.
Claim 12 states “the opening is provided with a first thread part or a limiting part, and the locking member is provided with a matched second thread part or a stopping part.” It is unclear what the “first thread part or a limiting part” and “a matched second thread part or a stopping part” is referring to. A review of the specification and drawings do not show what these components are referring to, making it hard to determine how to interpret these claims. The claims will be interpreted as best understood.
Claim 13 line 6, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
The remainder of the claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 20200259143 to Sloan et al. (cited in applicant’s IDS) in view of WO 2019129285 to Zhang (US 2022/0109311 will be referenced for translation purposes).
Sloan discloses:
(Claim 1) A swapping system for an electric vehicle (Fig. 1A element 50), the electric vehicle comprises two longitudinal beams (Fig. 1D element 160), wherein the electric vehicle comprises a battery pack (Fig. 1D element 174) and a locking mechanism (Figs. 6A-6C element 260 as applied to Figs. 1A-1D), and the locking mechanism is respectively arranged on the two longitudinal beams, and the top of the battery pack is provided with a groove (groove between 206 and 208, see also Fig. 5 element 212 as applied to embodiment of Figs. 6A-6C), and the groove is used for embedding the longitudinal beams, and the battery pack is provided with a locking member (Fig. 6A-6C elements 250, 252), and the locking member is located in the groove, and the battery pack is locked in the locking mechanism by means of the locking member so as to be connected with the longitudinal beams (Fig. 6C).
Sloan does not explicitly disclose:
The locking mechanism and locking member being part of a plurality of locking mechanisms respectively arranged on the two longitudinal beams and a plurality of locking members.
Zhang teaches:
The locking mechanism and locking member being part of a plurality of locking mechanisms (12) respectively arranged on the two longitudinal beams (11) and a plurality of locking members (32) provided on the battery pack (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Sloan to have the locking mechanisms and locking members taught by Zhang in order to provide more points of securing the battery to the vehicle. More locking features allow for extra security, for instance if one of the locking mechanisms were to fail, the locking redundancies would allow the battery to still stay securely on the vehicle. Further, the plurality of locking mechanisms would help more evenly distribute the weight of the battery on the beams.
The combination of Sloan and Zhang therefore teach:
(Claim 2) wherein the plurality of locking mechanisms are respectively arranged on the side walls of the two longitudinal beams and/or the bottom of the longitudinal beams (Sloan Fig. 6A 260 is on the side wall of 160, Zhang Fig. 1 12 and 13 are also on the side wall of 11).
(Claim 3) wherein the battery pack comprises a plurality of battery cell accommodating cavities for placing battery cells, and at least part of the battery cell accommodating cavities are distributed on the side part of the longitudinal beam (Sloan see Fig. 5 elements 222 as applied to embodiment of Figs. 6A-6C).
(Claim 4) wherein the plurality of battery cell accommodating cavities comprise a plurality of side battery cell accommodating cavities, and the plurality of side battery cell accommodating cavities are distributed on two opposite sides of the two longitudinal beams (Sloan see Fig. 5 as applied to the embodiment of Figs. 6A-6C); preferably, a plurality of cross beams are connected between the two longitudinal beams, and the plurality of battery cell accommodating cavities further comprise a middle battery cell accommodating cavity, the plurality of side battery cell accommodating cavities being distributed on both sides of the middle battery cell accommodating cavity, and the middle battery cell accommodating cavity is located below the cross beams.
(Claim 5 as best understood) wherein the battery swapping system further comprises a fixing bracket (Sloan/Zhang, portion of the longitudinal beam on which the locking mechanisms are arranged), the fixing bracket being arranged on the side walls of the longitudinal beam or at the bottom of the longitudinal beam, and the plurality of locking mechanisms are arranged on the fixing bracket; preferably, the fixing bracket comprises two mounting beams, one side of the two mounting beams being respectively connected to the opposite sides of the two longitudinal beams, and the plurality of locking mechanisms are respectively connected to the other side of the two mounting beams.
(Claim 6) wherein the battery swapping system further comprises a reinforcement member for mounting the electrical connector, the reinforcement member being located between the two longitudinal beams and the two ends of the reinforcement member are respectively connected to the two longitudinal beams (See Zhang Fig. 10 element 50 as applied to Fig. 1, reinforcement member can be considered the two portions of the frame connecting 50 to each beam 11).
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Sloan to have the reinforcement member and electrical connector taught by Zhang in order to connect the battery to the electrical system. Sloan does not explicitly show how the battery connects to the electrical system. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply the teachings of Zhang and have that electrical connector and yield predictable results.
The combination of Sloan and Zhang further teach:
(Claim 7) wherein the reinforcement member comprises a connecting member and a mounting plate, the connecting member is respectively connected to the two longitudinal beams and the mounting plate, and the mounting plate is used for mounting the electrical connector (see Zhang Fig. 1, reinforcement member has connecting members on either side of the mounting plate for the electrical connector); preferably, the reinforcement member further comprises two reinforcement plates, the two reinforcement plates being respectively connected to the two longitudinal beams, and the reinforcement plates are connected to the connecting member and the mounting plate.
(Claim 8) wherein the locking mechanism comprises a locking groove for the locking member to insert into, the opening of the locking groove faces the outer side of the longitudinal beam (see Zhang Fig. 2 element 122).
(Claim 9) wherein the locking mechanism comprises a locking base (see Zhang Figs. 2-3 element 122), the locking base being provided with an opening groove (123) extending in the vertical direction and a locking groove (124) extending in the horizontal direction, the locking member being a locking shaft (32), and the locking groove is used for the locking shaft to insert into and be locked, and the top of the opening groove is communicated with the locking groove, and when the locking shaft reaches the junction position of the opening groove and the locking groove from the bottom of the opening groove in the vertical direction, the locking shaft enters the locking groove (see Zhang Figs. 2-3, locking shaft 22 would enter vertical opening groove and move to the locking groove at the junction).
(Claim 10) wherein at least part of the locking bases are provided with a locking tongue (Zhang Figs. 2-3 element 121), and the locking tongue is movably mounted in the locking groove and can prevent the locking shaft from getting out of the locking groove.
(Claim 11) wherein the locking mechanism further comprises a locking linkage (Zhang Figs 2-3, element 120), the locking linkage being movably connected with the locking base by means of the locking tongue.
(Claim 12 as best understood) wherein the locking mechanism comprises a locking base (Zhang Figs. 2-3 element 122), the locking base being provided with an opening (123) extending along the vertical direction, and the opening is provided with a first thread part or a limiting part (top part of opening), and the locking member (32) is provided with a matched second thread part or stopping part (as 32 is a locking shaft, end portion is considered a “stopping part”).
(Claim 13) wherein the battery swapping system further comprises a plurality of guiding and positioning mechanisms (Zhang elements 14 and 34), and the plurality of guiding and positioning mechanisms are arranged on the longitudinal beam or the battery pack so as to realize the precise positioning of the battery pack on the longitudinal beam (see Figs. 1 and 7, par. [0143]-[0148]); preferably, the guiding and positioning mechanism is an elastic positioning mechanism.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Sloan to have the plurality of guiding and positioning mechanisms taught by Zhang in order to more easily position the battery onto the beams.
(Claim 14) An electric vehicle, wherein the electric vehicle is a heavy truck or a light truck, and the electric vehicle comprises the battery swapping system for an electric vehicle according to claim 1 (See Sloan Fig. 1A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 2023/0302952) discloses a hoisting carrier vehicle of replaceable batteries.
Zhang (US 2020/0055383) discloses a locking device, fixed base and electric vehicle.
Sloan et al (US 2022/0242215) discloses an electric powertrain system for heavy duty vehicles.
Ragot et al (US 2022/0126706) discloses an energy storage mounting system.
Huang et al (CN 110001372) discloses a locking mechanism for a battery pack, a quick changing bracket assembly and electric motor car.
/TIMOTHY HANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655