DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 8-10 are written as depending from claim 1, which is a composition; however, claims 8-10 recite process steps which further limit the recitations of claim 6. The Examiner has interpreted that claims 8-10 are more properly written as depending from claim 6 and has applied that interpretation in the rejections, etc. below. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (US 2020/0172678) in view of HU (US 2009/0202941; IDS, 01/02/2024).
Fu discloses a silicone resin and, more specifically, to a bridged silicone resin which forms films having excellent physical properties and to related methods, films, and electronic devices. (Para, 0002). Fu discloses bridged silicone resin has excellent properties and is suited for numerous end-use applications. (Para, 0011). Fu discloses bridged silicone resin form a film having excellent properties, including dielectric properties, substantial crack resistance at elevated temperatures and thermal stability. (Para, 0011). Fu also discloses a method of forming a film with the bridged silicone resin and the film formed thereby. (Para, 0011). Fu discloses the bridged silicone can be used in an electronic device as a method of insulating the electronic device. (Para, 0011). Fu discloses the bridged silicone resin has other end-use applications of the bridged silicone resin besides films or electronic devices such as being utilized as a component in a composition (e.g. an adhesive, a cosmetic, etc.), may be utilized to form articles other than films, etc. (Para, 0011). Fu discloses in the various embodiments, the bridged silicone resin has a weight average molecular weight (MW) of from 100 to 5,000, alternatively from 115 to 4,000; alternatively from 130 to 1,000, as measured by gel permeation chromatography techniques (GPC) calibrated based on polystyrene standards. (Para, 0032). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A composition comprising a photocurable resin, wherein the photocurable resin has a weight-average molecular weight in a range of 3,000-50,000 Daltons…’
Fu discloses the bridged silicone resin has the general formula (1): (HSiO3/2)x(RSiO3/2)y(R1SiO3/2)z(SiO3/2—X—SiO3/2)s (1); wherein x and s are each from >0 to <1 and y+z >0 to <1 such that x+y+z+s=1; R is independently an alkyl group; R1 is independently an aryl group; and X is divalent group comprising a silarylene group or a —(CH2)qSiR2R3[O(SiR2R3O)n]SiR2R3—(CH2)q′′-group, where n is an integer from 1 to 10, each R2 and R3 is an independently selected substituted or unsubstituted hydrocarbyl group, and q and q′ are each independently integers selected from 0 or from 1 to 6. (Para, 0012). Fu discloses subscripts x, y, z and s are mole fractions and are independently selected. (Para, 0013). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A composition comprising a photocurable resin, …and comprises the following siloxane units…’
Fu discloses subscripts x and s are independently from >0 to <1, subscripts y and z are independently selected such that 0<y+z<1; subscripts y or z may each be 0 but are not simultaneously 0. (Para, 0013). Fu discloses the subscripts x, y, z and s may vary from the ranges above so long as x+y+z+s=1. (Para, 0013). Fu discloses R is an alkyl group, and each R is independently selected, with R typically having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 to 24 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 to 20 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 to 12 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 to 10 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 to 6 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 to 4 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 to 3 carbon atoms, alternatively 1 or 2 carbon atoms, alternatively is a methyl group. (Para, 0014). Fu discloses R1 is an aryl group, and each R1 is independently selected (Para, 0014). Fu explains Aryl groups are cyclic, fully unsaturated, hydrocarbon groups and may be monocyclic or polycyclic, although R1 is typically monocyclic. (Para, 0015). Fu discloses X is divalent group and in a first embodiment, X comprises a silarylene group which may be any divalent group including at least one silicon-bonded arylene group. (Para, 0016). Fu discloses in certain embodiments, the arylene group is bonded between two silicon atoms in X. Specific examples of X, including when X is the silarylene group, are below. These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A composition comprising a photocurable resin, …wherein R* is a photocurable group, Ar* in each occurrence is selected from a group of halogen-substituted aryl groups and polyaryl groups; Z in each occurrence is selected from hydrogen and alkyl groups.’
Fu also discloses practical examples of the bridged silicone resin such as practical example 1, which is a bridged silicone resin (bridged silicone resin 1) is produced in accordance with the present invention. (Para, 0121). Fu discloses specifically, 100 grams of an initial silicone resin ((TH.85TPh.15) as a 20 wt. % solution in toluene, where Ph designates phenyl), 2.0 grams of bridging compound 1, and 0.01 grams of a Karsetedt's Pt catalyst are combined in a flask to form a mixture. (Para, 0122). Fu discloses the mixture is heated to reflux and stirred at reflux for 48 hours to form a silicone resin mixture, the silicone resin mixture is then cooled to 60C, and 5 grams of active carbon are disposed in the flask to form a suspension. (Para, 0122). Fu discloses the suspension is then filtered and the filtrate is solvent exchanged with propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) using a rotary evaporator to a form a 20% by weight in PGMEA solution of the bridged silicone resin 1. (Para, 0122). Fu discloses the bridged silicone resin 1 has the general formula (PhSiO3/2)z(HSiO3/2)x(SiO3/2(CH2)2—SiMe2—C6H4—SiMe2—(CH2)2SiO3/2)s, where z is 0.146, x is 0.829, s is 0.025 and Me indicates a methyl group. (Para, 0122). Fu also discloses other practical examples. (Para, 0123-0134). These disclosures and the disclosures of Fu as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A composition comprising a photocurable resin, … 50-80 mole- percent (HSiO3/2), 10 to 30 mole-percent (R*SiO3/2), 10 to 40 mole-percent (Ar*SiO3/2), and 20.0 mole-percent or less of Si-OZ content where mole- percent values are relative to moles of silicon atoms in the photocurable resin…’
Fu discloses the film has excellent physical properties, particularly as compared to conventional spin-on-glass (SOG) films which are brittle with poor thermal stability. (Para, 0078). Fu discloses the inventive film has substantial resistance to cracking and excellent thermal stability at elevated temperatures such as substantially resisting cracking when heated to an elevated temperature of i) from 100 to 1000° C.; ii) from 400 to 850° C.; or iii) both i) and ii). (Para, 0078). Fu explains, substantial resistance to cracking, as used herein, means that when visually inspected under an optical and/or scanning electronic microscope, the films do not exhibit cracking at a thickness of 1.5 micrometers (μm) when heated at 500° C. for 60 minutes under nitrogen. (Para, 0079). Fu discloses in addition to excellent thermal stability the film has excellent etch selectivity for patterning (if the film undergoes further processing as introduced above). (Para, 0080). Fu also discloses the film can be used in a method of insulating the electronic device. (Para, 0084). Fu discloses the method comprises powering the electronic device such that the electronic component has an elevated temperature of from greater than 20C to 1,000C. (Para, 0084). Fu discloses the film insulates the electronic component and exhibits substantial resistance to cracking at the elevated temperature as described above. (Para, 0084). Fu explains because of the excellent dielectric properties of the film, insulation typically extends to insulation from heat at the elevated temperature and to insulation from electrical current when powering the electronic device. (Para, 0084).
Still, the disclosures of Fu as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A composition comprising a photocurable resin, wherein the photocurable resin has… a glass transition temperature of at least 100 degrees Celsius…’ However, the disclosures of Fu in view of the disclosures of Hu provide such teachings.
Hu is directed to a silsesquioxane-based resin, which is similar in composition to the bridged silicone resin of Fu. Hu discloses hydrogen silsesquioxane-based resin (A) of the present invention have a weight average molecular weight of about 500 to 100,000, preferably about 1,500 to 50,000, and more preferably about 2,000 to 30,000. (Para, 0054). Hu also discloses the hydrogen silsesquioxane resins (A) have adequate thermal stability, or more specifically a proper glass transition temperature (Tg) that is adequate for photoresist processing, such as post apply bake (PAB) and post-exposure baking (PEB). (Para, 0055). Hu discloses the Tg for the functionalized hydrogen silsesquioxane resins of the present invention is preferably 50 to 250C., more preferably 70 to 180C., and most preferably 80 to 150C. (Para, 0055). The disclosures of Fu as discussed above in view of these disclosures of Hu teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A composition comprising a photocurable resin, wherein the photocurable resin has… a glass transition temperature of at least 100 degrees Celsius…’
Hu discloses there are various methods for preparing hydrogen silsesquioxane resins (A) are known in the art. (Para, 0045). Hu discloses one method involves the hydrolysis of trihalosilanes such as trichlorosilane or trialkoxysilanes such as triethoxysilane. (Para, 0045). Hu discloses the hydrogen silsesquioxane resin is reacted with (B) an acid dissociable group precursor. (Para, 0044). Hu discloses one method for reacting the hydrogen silsesquioxane resin and acid dissociable group precursor comprises the catalytic hydrosilylation of the acid dissociable group precursor and hydrogen silsesquioxane resin. (Para, 0046). Hu discloses acid dissociable group precursors may be exemplified by, but not limited to, t-butyl ester of norbornene, t-butyl 2-trifluoromethyl acrylate, bicyclo[2,2,1]hept-5-en-2-t-butylcarboxylate, cis-5-norbornene-2,3-dicarboxylic anhydride, and others. (Para, 0047). Hu discloses typically the amount of acid dissociable group precursor is added in an amount to provide 5 to 60 mole % of RSiO3/2 units in the silsesquioxane resin based on all units in the silsesquioxane resin, alternatively 15 to 35 mol %. (Para, 0047). The disclosures of Fu as discussed above in view of these disclosures of Hu teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Fu further in view of Hu because both are directed to analogous silicone based resins which can be used in electronic device formation and Hu also discloses parameters for silicone based resins such as ideal glass transition temperatures which contributes to the thermal stability of a resin such as the resin disclosed in Fu.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Hu as applied to claims 1-2 in paragraph 5 above, and further in view of Hayashi (US 2020/0333708).
The disclosures of Fu in view of Hu do disclose that the resin(s) disclosed can be used in electronic device formation and may include lithography processes; still, the disclosures of Fu in view of Hu fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 5, ‘ The composition of claim 1, wherein the composition is a negative photoresist composition that comprises 10 to 50 weight-percent of the photoresist resin of any one previous claim, one to 3 weight-percent of a photoinitiator at a concentration, and 49-89 weight-percent of a solvent, where weight-percentages are relative to photoresist composition weight.’ However, the disclosures of Fu and Hu, further in view of Hayashi provides such teachings.
Similar to Fu and Hu, Hayashi also discloses a silicone-based resin. Hayashi also discloses that this silicon-based resin is a siloxane which is a negative type photosensitive siloxane composition capable of forming a cured film excellent in heat resistance and critical thickness for cracking. (Abstract).
Hayashi discloses the photosensitive siloxane composition comprises: (I) a polysiloxane, (II) a photo base generator and (III) a solvent. (Para, 0034-0037). Hayashi explains the composition according to the present invention is a negative-type photosensitive composition, in which the exposed portion becomes insoluble in an alkali developing solution by action of a photosensitive component. (Para, 0060). Hayashi discloses the negative-type photosensitive composition according to the present invention contains a photo base generator as the photosensitive component. (Para, 0061). Hayashi also explains the photo base generator is a compound generating base under light exposure and is presumed to contribute toward polymerization of the polysiloxane, which makes it possible to form a patterned cured film by exposure and development. (Para, 0073). Hayashi discloses the base is generated simply by a photochemical reaction, or otherwise a chemical reaction is induced by energy, such as heat, to generate the base after the generator molecule changes the structure thereof under light exposure. (Para, 0073). Hayashi discloses the amount of the photo base generator depends on the kind of the active substance released by decomposition thereof, on the amount of the released substance, on the required sensitivity and on the required dissolution contrast between the exposed and unexposed portions, which is preferably 0.1 to 5.0 mass %, more preferably 0.5 to 2.0 mass %, based on the mass of the polysiloxane. (Para, 0078). Hayashi discloses the mixing ratio of the solvent varies depending on the application method and the demand for the film thickness after coating. (Para, 0081). Hayashi discloses the total ratio of the above polysiloxane, photo base generator, and other optional components described below based on the whole mass of the composition, namely, the solid content is generally 2.0 to 50 mass %, preferably 10 to 40 mass %. (Para, 0081). The disclosures of Fu and Hu further in view of these disclosures of Hayashi teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Fu and Hu further in view of Hayahsi because similar to Fu and Hu, Hayashi is also directed to silicone based resins which can be used in electronic device formation and the disclosures of Hayashi demonstrate that the resins discloses in Fu and Hu would also provide films with excellent heat resistance and cracking resistance even as a negative functioning resin and/or photosensitive film.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The disclosures of Fu, Hu and Hayashi as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 3, ‘The composition of claim 2, wherein the photocurable group is independently in each occurrence selected from an epoxycyclohexylethyl group, glycidoxypropyl group and methacryloxopropyl groups.’ Moreover, the disclosures of Fu, Hu and Hayashi as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 4, ‘ The composition of claim 1, wherein the —Ar* group in each occurrence is independently selected from a group consisting of those having the following chemical structures (i)-(iv):
The prior art fails to provide other relevant disclosures which cure the deficiencies of Fu, Hu and Hayashi to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 3-4. Therefore, claims 3-4 include allowable subject matter.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Independent claim 6 recites, ‘ A process for using the negative photoresist composition of claim 5 to prepare an optical light emitting diode display, the process comprising the following steps: (a) providing a substrate that comprises multiple diodes; (b) coating the negative photoresist composition of claim 5 onto the substrate that comprises multiple diode pixels; (c) exposing the negative photoresist composition that resides over the diode pixels to light to cure the photoresist resist resin in the negative photoresist composition to form lens patches over the diode pixels; (d) rinsing away the unexposed/uncured negative photoresist composition with an aqueous alkali solution; (e) applying a planarization polymer over the substrate and lens patches; and (f) curing the planarization polymer.’
Hayashi, which discloses a negative-type siloxane (silicone) based photoresist also discloses a process of forming a pattern and an electronic device with the photoresist composition. (Para, 0097-0108). Hayashi also discloses the cured film thus formed can be suitably utilized in many fields, not only as a planarization film, an interlayer insulating film, a transparent protective film and the like for various devices such as a flat panel display (FPD) but also as an interlayer insulating film for low temperature polysilicon or a buffer coat film for IC chip and the like. (Para, 0109). Hayashi also discloses the cured film can be also used as an optical device material or the like. (Para, 0109). These disclosures of Hayashi in combination with the disclosures of Fu and Hu as discussed above teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 6, ‘A process for using the negative photoresist composition of claim 5 to prepare an optical light emitting diode display, the process comprising the following steps: (a) providing a substrate that comprises multiple diodes; (b) coating the negative photoresist composition of claim 5 onto the substrate that comprises multiple diode pixels; (c) exposing the negative photoresist composition that resides over the diode pixels to light to cure the photoresist resist resin in the negative photoresist composition to form lens patches over the diode pixels; (d) rinsing away the unexposed/uncured negative photoresist composition with an aqueous alkali solution;…’ However, the combined disclosures of Hayashi, Fu and Hu still fall short of teaching and/or suggest the limitations of claim 1, ‘A process for using the negative photoresist composition of claim 5 to prepare an optical light emitting diode display, the process comprising the following steps: …; (e) applying a planarization polymer over the substrate and lens patches; and (f) curing the planarization polymer.’ The prior art fails to provide other relevant disclosures which cure the deficiencies of Hayashi, Fu and Hu to teach and/or suggest these limitations of claim 6. Therefore, independent claim 6 and claims 7-10 depending therefrom are allowable.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899