DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is the initial Office action based on the 18575980 application filed 01/02/24
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file
The Amendment filed 01/02/24 has been entered and fully considered
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4 are pending, of which claim(s) 2,3 were amended; The amendments of claim(s) 2,3 are supported by the originally filed disclosure; The new claim(s) 4 is supported by the originally filed disclosure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over "Novel Sulfonated Polyimides as Polyelectrolytes for Fuel Cell Application. 2.Synthesis and Proton Conductivity of Polyimides from 9,9-Bis(4-aminophenyl)fluorene-2,7-disulfonic Acid" (herein known as XIAOXIA).
With regard to claim 1, XIAOXIA sufficiently teaches a membrane capable of gas separation comprising a sulfonated polyimide represented by the following general formula (1), see scheme 1, especially at scheme 1, pg 6708 col 2;
wherein Ar is an aryl group, X is 0.5, and M⁺ is H⁺ (after proton exchange), especially at scheme 1, pg 6708 col 2
Thus, the claimed property of ‘the membrane is gas separation,’ is taken to be necessarily present in the membrane of XIAOXIA, since products of identical or substantially identical chemical structure or composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. (See MPEP 2112.01 Parts I-II)
MPEP 2112.01 Part I states…
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
MPEP 2112.01 PART II states…
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
In the alternative, assuming that it was determined that XIAOXIA does not sufficiently teach gas separation,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide the membrane of XIAOXIA, such that it had the property of the membrane is gas separation, since where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Novel Sulfonated Polyimides as Polyelectrolytes for Fuel Cell Application. 2.Synthesis and Proton Conductivity of Polyimides from 9,9-Bis(4-aminophenyl)fluorene-2,7-disulfonic Acid" (herein known as XIAOXIA) in view of "Synthesis, water stability and proton conductivity of novel sulfonated polyimides from 4,4'-bis(4-aminophenoxy)biphenyl-3,3'-disulfonic acid" (herein known as WATARI)
With regard to claim 2, XIAOXIA does not specifically teach wherein the aryl group is one or more aryl groups represented by the following chemical formulas (2) to (7)
But, WATARI sufficiently teaches the TFMB structure, especially at "Synthesis of NTDA-BAPBDS polyimide and BAPBDS-based copolyimides" and aryls of ODA and TFMB, especially at sections 2.3, 2.4, fig 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide the aryl group of XIAOXIA with the TFMB structure of WATARI because these two structures/materials were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to substitute the ODA for TFMB, as tuaght by WATARI, especially at sections 2.3, 2.4, fig 1 (MPEP 2144.06)
With regard to claim(s) 3,4, XIAOXIA does not specifically teach wherein the metal cation is a mono- to tri-valent metal cation.
But, WATARI sufficiently teaches "Synthesis of NTDA-BAPBDS polyimide and BAPBDS-based copolyimides" and "ionic-exchange capacity (IEC) was measured by means of a classical titration method. A membrane sample of about 100 mg was soaked in 50 ml of a saturated NaCl solution for 2 days. Released protons were titrated using a 0.01N NaOH solution." (metal cation is a mono-valent metal cation), especially at sections 2.3, 2.4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to provide the polyimide XIAOXIA with "ionic-exchange capacity (IEC) was measured by means of a classical titration method. A membrane sample of about 100 mg was soaked in 50 ml of a saturated NaCl solution for 2 days. Released protons were titrated using a 0.01N NaOH solution." (metal cation is a mono-valent metal cation) of WATARI for the benefit of measuring ionic-exchange capacity, as taught by WATARI, especially at sections 2.3-2.4
Conclusion
/ANTHONY SHUMATE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776