DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the communication filed on 06/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwag (US 2022/0037568).
Regarding claim 1, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) discloses a display system comprising:
a display 10 including (Para 0063):
a plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX, wherein each light source PX of the plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX forms a corresponding pixel PX of a plurality of pixels multiple pixels PX, and each pixel PX of the plurality of pixels multiple pixels PX includes red, green, and blue (RGB) subpixels PX1, PX2, PX3 (Para 0063, Para 0064); and
a light absorption layer 810 that includes (Para 0066, Para 0081, Para 0082):
a display surface e.g., top surface of 810, wherein the light absorption layer 810 is configured to absorb external light applied to the display surface e.g., top surface of 810 (Para 0066, Para 0081, Para 0082), and
an opening 820 through which light from the plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX is emitted toward a side of the display surface e.g., top surface of 810 (Para 0066, Para 0081, Para 0082, Para 0085).
Regarding claim 2, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the light absorption layer 810 has an uneven structure e.g., the uneven structure of 810.
Regarding claim 3, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) teaches the display system according to claim 2, wherein the uneven structure e.g., the uneven structure of 810 suppresses reflection of the external light (Para 0081, Para 0082, Para 0089).
Regarding claim 5, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX are configured to control light emission of the RGB subpixels PX1, PX2, PX3, and the plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX include at least one of a light emitting diode (LED) element, an organic electro-luminescence (EL) element, or a liquid crystal element (Para 0063).
Regarding claim 6, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the opening 820 is formed such that one opening 820 is for each light source PX of the plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX.
Regarding claim 8, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the light absorption layer 810 further includes a plurality of openings 820 for one of the plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX, and the plurality of openings 820 include the opening 820.
Regarding claim 9, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the display has at least one of flexibility or extensibility (Para 0110).
Regarding claim 21, Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 4) teaches display system according to claim 1, wherein the opening 820 has a tapered shape e.g., end portion of 810 on 261 gradually becoming thinner from the side of the display surface e.g., top surface of 810 toward at least one PX of the plurality of light sources multiple pixels PX.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwag (US 2022/0037568), in view of Tago (US 2022/0351538).
Regarding claim 14, although Kwag shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Kwag fails to expressly teach the display system according to claim 1, wherein the display further includes a sensor unit configured to detect a physical quantity on the display surface.
Tago (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 3) teaches a display further includes a sensor unit 1 (10, 40) configured to detect a physical quantity on the display surface 122 for the purpose of detecting blood vessel image of a finger (Para 0026-Para 0027, Para 0033, Para 0036-Para 0038, Para 0048-Para 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the sensor unit of Tago to the device of Kwag for the purpose of detecting blood vessel image of a finger (Para 0048-Para 0050).
Regarding claim 15, Tago (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 3) teaches a display system according to claim 14, wherein the sensor unit 1 (10, 40) includes at least one of a distance sensor, a luminance sensor, or a contact sensor 10, the distance sensor is configured to detect a distance from an object located on the side of the display surface of the display, the luminance sensor is configured to detect luminance of the external light, or the contact sensor 10 is configured to detect contact with the display surface 122 (Para 0026-Para 0027, Para 0033, Para 0036, Para 0048-Para 0050).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwag (US 2022/0037568), in view of Murakami (US 2024/0371170).
Regarding claim 16, although Kwag shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Kwag fails to expressly teach display system according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of displays, wherein the plurality of displays include the display; and a processing unit configured to execute display processing of an image on the plurality of the displays.
Murakami (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 3) teaches a plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 (Para 0030); and a processing unit 47 configured to execute display processing of an image on the plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 for the purpose executing processing of displaying an image corresponding to the image data on the display unit (Para 0070).
The combination of Kwag (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 7) / Murakami (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 3) teaches a plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 (as taught by Murakami), wherein the plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 (as taught by Murakami) include the display 10 (as taught by Kwag); and a processing unit 47 (as taught by Murakami) configured to execute display processing of an image on the plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 (as taught by Murakami).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the processing unit as described by Murakami for the purpose executing processing of displaying an image corresponding to the image data on the display unit (Para 0070).
Regarding claim 17, although Kwag shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Kwag fails to expressly teach the display system according to claim 16, further comprising an imaging unit configured to capture the image displayed on the plurality of displays.
Murakami (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 3) teaches an imaging unit 11 configured to capture the image displayed on the plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 for the purpose of capturing an image of a scenery or surroundings (Para 0032, Para 0038, Para 0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the imaging unit as described by Murakami to the device of Kwag for the purpose of capturing an image of a scenery or surroundings (Para 0032, Para 0038, Para 0071).
Regarding claim 18, although Kwag shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Kwag fails to expressly teach the display system according to claim 17, further comprising a control unit configured to control the display of the image on the plurality of displays based on an imaging range of the imaging unit.
Murakami (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 3) teaches a control unit 22 configured to control the display of the image on the plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 based on an imaging range of the imaging unit 11 for the purpose of detecting a viewpoint position (Para 0040-Para 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the control unit as described by Murakami to the device of Kwag for the purpose of detecting a viewpoint position (Para 0042).
Regarding claim 19, Murakami (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 3) teaches display system according to claim 18, further comprising: a display device 50 that includes the plurality of displays e.g., plurality of display devices in display unit 50 (Para 0030); a processing device 42 that includes the processing unit 47 (Para 0049, Para 0070); an imaging device 10 that includes the imaging unit 11 (Para 0032, Para 0038, Para 0070); and a control device 20 that includes the control unit 22 (Para 0040-Para 0042).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwag (US 2022/0037568), in view of Murakami (US 2024/0371170), in view of Wang (US 2017/0178283).
Regarding claim 20, although Kwag/Murakami show substantial features of the claimed invention, Kwag/Murakami fail to expressly teach the display system according to claim 16, further comprising a display device that includes the plurality of displays; a deformation mechanism that enables deformation of the display device, wherein the plurality of displays has at least one of flexibility or extensibility.
Wang (see, e.g., FIG. 2a) teaches a display device 210 that includes the plurality of displays 220 (Para 0068-Para 0070); a deformation mechanism e.g., deformation mechanism that enables deformation of the display device 220, wherein the plurality of displays 220 has at least one of flexibility or extensibility for the purpose of deforming the display device to a target screen shape (Para 0046-Para 0050, Para 0066, Para 0068-Para 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a deformation mechanism as described by Wang to the device of Kwag/Murakami for the purpose of deforming the display device to a target screen shape (Para 0046).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817