CTNF 18/576,152 CTNF 84727 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-36-01 AIA Figure s 1-3 are not according to the invention as disclosed in the original specification and should be designated by a legend such as -- Prior Art -- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4 & 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Fujiwara (JP H09214265 A, Published date, 1997-08-15, of record) . PNG media_image1.png 740 1046 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1 : Fujiwara discloses in Fig. 4, a sound reinforcement system comprising a loudspeaker (speaker 9) and two audio amplifiers (amplifiers AMP3 and AMP4), wherein each audio amplifier (AMP3 and AMP4) is equipped with an output relay (switches 7 & 8), which extends to an amplifier output terminal (terminals T1 and T2) of the associated audio amplifier, as well as a ground output terminal (ground node); wherein each of two terminals of the loudspeaker (speaker 9) is connected to one of the amplifier output terminals; wherein the ground output terminals (ground node) of the two audio amplifiers (AMP3 and AMP4) are connected to one another and/or to ground. Regarding claim 4 : Fujiwara discloses adapted for use in a public address sound reinforcement system or a professional sound reinforcement system ([0001] of Fujiwara, a power amplifier circuit suitable for use in concerts and the like). Regarding claim 6 : Fujiwara discloses wherein the output relays (switches 7 & 8) each connect the amplifier output terminal (T1, T2) to the audio amplifier ground output terminal (ground node of Fig. 4) when the associated audio amplifier is inactive. Regarding claim 7 : Fujiwara discloses wherein the two audio amplifiers (AMP3 and AMP4) are arranged such that one of the two audio amplifiers outputs a signal at the amplifier output terminal (T1, T2) that is inverted with respect to the other audio amplifier (original specification which discloses the first and second power amplifiers 3 and 4 are configured to drive in opposite phases). Regarding claim 8 : Fujiwara discloses in Fig. 4, a method of operating a sound reinforcement system comprising a loudspeaker (speaker 9), two audio amplifiers (AMP3 and MP4) each having an output relay (switches 7, 8) which extend to an amplifier output terminal (T1, T2) of the associated audio amplifier, the loudspeaker (speaker 9) being connected to the amplifier output terminals (T1, T2), wherein each of the two audio amplifiers (AMP3 and AMP4) is respectively operated such that when active, the output relay (switches 7 & 8) is closed so that a signal is present at the amplifier output terminal (T1, T2), and when inactive, the output relay (switches 7, 8) is switched such that no signal is present at the amplifier output terminal (T1, T2), wherein, when at least one of the two audio amplifiers is switched to active (control switches 6 as shown in Fig. 2 which controls amplifiers 3, 4 and switch 7 or switch 8), and when a switched-to-active audio amplifier becomes inactive, the respective other audio amplifier is capable of automatically operated in such a way that a signal with a higher output voltage than before is present at the associated amplifier output terminal. Regarding claim 9 : Fujiwara discloses in Fig. 4, wherein when one of the two audio amplifiers (AMP3, AMP4) is switched to active, the respective other audio amplifier is switched to inactive, and when a switched-to-active audio amplifier becomes inactive, the respective other audio amplifier is automatically switched to active (the original specification, English translation, Alternatively, and / or when an abnormality occurs in the second power amplifiers 3 and 4, the abnormality detection circuit 5 detects the abnormality, and based on this detection signal, the first and second switching means 7 and 8 via the switching control circuit 6. Is turned off, and a protection circuit for protecting the speaker from burning is installed). Regarding claim 10 : Fujiwara discloses in Fig. 4 wherein the two audio amplifiers (AMP3, AMP4) are switched between active and inactive at predetermined and/or regular, timed intervals (the two audio are loaded uniformly). Regarding claim 11 : Fujiwara discloses in Fig. 4 wherein, if the two audio amplifiers (AMP3, AMP4) are each switched to active (control switches 6 as shown in Fig. 2 which controls amplifiers 3, 4 and switch 7 or switch 8) so that a signal with less than a full output voltage is present at the associated amplifier output terminal (T1, T2), and one of the two switched-to-active audio amplifiers becomes inactive, the respective other audio amplifier is capable of automatically operated in such a way that a signal with a higher output voltage than before (control switches 6 as shown in Fig. 2 which controls amplifiers 3, 4 and switch 7 or switch 8) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-3 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara in view of Arknaes-Pedersen (US 20160197587 A1) . Regarding claim 2 : Fujiwara discloses the limitations as applied in claim 1. Fujiwara does not explicitly disclose the two audio amplifiers are connectable to mutually different power supply sources. Arknaes-Pedersen discloses an amplifier circuit comprising two amplifiers 1031, 1032 wherein each amplifier connected to different supply PSU1 and PSU2. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Fujiwara to have the two audio amplifiers are connectable to mutually different power supply sources , as taught by Arknaes-Pedersen. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of optimizing voltage handling and power delivery and also see paragraph [0020)], a resultant high voltage output using low voltage building blocks. This is done by treating each amplifier as an individual voltage source and implementing a serial link of these voltage sources. Great advantages are obtained when being able to deliver high voltage loudspeaker output with only low voltage building blocks, including for example components being relatively smaller and less expensive, to Fujiwara reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification. Regarding claim 3 : The combination (Fujiwara in view of Arknaes-Pedersen) discloses wherein the two audio amplifiers are connected to mutually different power supply sources (Arknaes-Pedersen, PSU1, PSU2, said first power supply and said second power supply, [0042), wherein the two different power supply sources comprise two different mains voltage supplies or a mains voltage supply and a stand-alone power supply source. Regarding claim 5 : Fujiwara discloses the limitations as applied in claim 1. Fujiwara does not explicitly disclose comprising one or more further loudspeakers each connected in parallel with the loudspeaker to the amplifier output terminals. Arknaes-Pedersen discloses an amplifier circuit comprising two amplifiers 1031, 1032 wherein each amplifier connected to different supply PSU1 and PSU2 and two or more loudspeakers coupled to said amplifier outputs in parallel connection with each other (see claim 32, Arknaes-Pedersen). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Fujiwara to have added one or more further loudspeakers each connected in parallel with the loudspeaker to the amplifier output terminals in order to provide the benefits greater overall volume and better audio coverage (see claim 32, Arknaes-Pedersen). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KHIEM D NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3941. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00 AM-5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jessica Han can be reached at (571) 272-2078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 2 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 3 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 4 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 5 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 6 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 7 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 8 Art Unit: 2843 Application/Control Number: 18/576,152 Page 9 Art Unit: 2843