DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment, received 1/3/2024, has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (CN 110610973, provided on IDS received 6/17/2024, and using English translation provided by Examiner).
As to claim 1, Wei discloses a display panel (page 4), comprising a non-bending area and at least one bending area on at least one side of the non-bending area (page 4, bending area 112 and non-bending area 111), wherein, the display panel comprises:
a substrate (110);
a light-emitting layer (120), provided on the substrate (110), where the light emitting layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting units, each of the plurality of light-emitting units comprises a plurality of light-emitting subunits, the plurality of light-emitting subunits are configured to emit a first color light, a second color light, and a third color light (page 4); and
a color shift improvement layer (130), provided on a side of the light emitting layer (120) facing away from the substrate (110), and on the at least one bending areas (112).
Wei does not explicitly disclose wherein difference values between light emission ratios of the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light in a frontal viewing direction range from 0-8%, wherein the frontal viewing direction is perpendicular to at least a part of a surface of the non-bending area.
However, Wei recognizes the problem of color shift in the bent regions of a display (page 4) and teaches that the layer 130 can be used to adjust the first, second and third colour adaptively according to the degree of color deviation (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to adjust the difference values between the light emission ratios of the first, second and third color such that the value is as close to 0% since this will eliminate color deviation in the bent regions of the display.
As to claim 2, Wei discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Wei does not explicitly disclose wherein the difference values between the light emission ratios of the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light in the frontal viewing direction range from 0-5%.
However, Wei recognizes the problem of color shift in the bent regions of a display (page 4) and teaches that the layer 130 can be used to adjust the first, second and third colour adaptively according to the degree of color deviation (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to adjust the difference values between the light emission ratios of the first, second and third color such that the value is as close to 0% since this will eliminate color deviation in the bent regions of the display.
As to claim 3, Wei discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, an initial light emission ratio of the first color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction, the initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the third color light in the frontal viewing direction (page 4, blue color light is greater than the red and red greater than the green); and
the color shift improvement layer is provided with a first color resist material for reducing a first color light transmittance (page 4, conversion layer 130 reduces the blue light).
As to claim 4, Wei discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, an initial light emission ratio of the first color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction, and the initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the third color light in the frontal viewing direction (page 4, blue color light is greater than the red and red greater than the green); and
the color shift improvement layer is provided with a first color resistance material for reducing a transmittance for the first color light, and a second color resist material for reducing a transmittance for the second color light (page 4).
As to claim 5, Wei discloses the display panel according to claim 4 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, the transmittance for the first color light in the frontal viewing direction of the color shift improvement layer is a first color shift transmittance, the transmittance for the second color light in the frontal viewing direction of the color shift improvement layer is a second color shift transmittance, and the first color shift transmittance is less than or equal to the second color shift transmittance (page 4).
As to claim 6, Wei discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein, the color shift improvement layer is completely transparent to the third color light; and/or,
among the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light, one is red light, one is green light, and one is blue light (page 4).
As to claim 8, Wei discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein, the display panel comprises an encapsulation layer (fig 2, 150) provided on the side of the light emitting layer (120) facing away from the substrate (110); wherein, the color shift improvement layer is provided on a side of the encapsulation layer facing away from the light-emitting layer, or the color shift improvement layer (130) is provided between the encapsulation layer (150) and the light- emitting layer (120).
As to claim 9, Wie discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel (page 3), for manufacturing the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the method comprises:
determining corresponding relationships between light emission ratios respectively for the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light at frontal viewing angles of the display panel and the frontal viewing angles (page 4);
determining a range of the frontal viewing angles of a bending area of the display panel to determine the bending area of the display panel (page 4);
determining a color shift improvement layer (130), based on the range of the frontal viewing angles of the display panel, and the corresponding relationships between the light emission ratios respectively for the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light at frontal viewing angles of the display panel and the frontal viewing angles (page 4); and
manufacturing the display panel based on the color shift improvement layer (fig 2, layer 130 formed in region 112).
Wei does not explicitly disclose wherein difference values between the light emission ratios of the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light in a frontal viewing direction range from 0-8%.
However, Wei recognizes the problem of color shift in the bent regions of a display (page 4) and teaches that the layer 130 can be used to adjust the first, second and third colour adaptively according to the degree of color deviation (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to adjust the difference values between the light emission ratios of the first, second and third color such that the value is as close to 0% since this will eliminate color deviation in the bent regions of the display.
As to claim 10, Wei discloses the method according to claim 9 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, an initial light emission ratio of the first color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction, the initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the third color light in the frontal viewing direction (page 4, blue color light is greater than the red and red greater than the green); manufacturing the display panel based on the color shift improvement layer comprises:
providing a first color resist material in the color shift improvement layer for reducing a transmittance for the first color light, to reduce the light emission ratio of the first color light in the frontal viewing direction (page 4, conversion layer 130 reduces the blue light).
As to claim 11, Wei discloses the method according to claim 9 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, an initial light emission ratio of the first color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction, and the initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the third color light in the frontal viewing direction (page 4, blue color light is greater than the red and red greater than the green);
manufacturing the display panel based on the color shift improvement layer comprises:
providing a first color resistance material in the color shift improvement layer for reducing a transmittance for the first color light and providing a second color resist material in the color shift improvement layer for reducing a transmittance for the second color light (page 4);
wherein, in the bending area, the transmittance for the first color light in the frontal viewing direction of the color shift improvement layer is a first color shift transmittance, the transmittance for the second color light in the frontal viewing direction of the color shift improvement layer is a second color shift transmittance, and the first color shift transmittance is less than or equal to the second color shift transmittance (page 4).
As to claim 13, Wei discloses a display device (fig 2), wherein the display device comprises a display panel (page 4), comprising a non-bending area and at least one bending area on at least one side of the non-bending area (page 4, bending area 112 and non-bending area 111), wherein, the display panel comprises:
a substrate (110);
a light-emitting layer (120), provided on the substrate (110), where the light emitting layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting units, each of the plurality of light-emitting units comprises a plurality of light-emitting subunits, the plurality of light-emitting subunits are configured to emit a first color light, a second color light, and a third color light (page 4); and
a color shift improvement layer (130), provided on a side of the light emitting layer (120) facing away from the substrate (110), and on the at least one bending areas (112).
Wei does not explicitly disclose wherein difference values between light emission ratios of the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light in a frontal viewing direction range from 0-8%, wherein the frontal viewing direction is perpendicular to at least a part of a surface of the non-bending area.
However, Wei recognizes the problem of color shift in the bent regions of a display (page 4) and teaches that the layer 130 can be used to adjust the first, second and third colour adaptively according to the degree of color deviation (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to adjust the difference values between the light emission ratios of the first, second and third color such that the value is as close to 0% since this will eliminate color deviation in the bent regions of the display.
As to claim 14, Wei discloses the display device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above),
Wei does not explicitly disclose wherein the difference values between the light emission ratios of the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light in the frontal viewing direction range from 0-5%.
However, Wei recognizes the problem of color shift in the bent regions of a display (page 4) and teaches that the layer 130 can be used to adjust the first, second and third colour adaptively according to the degree of color deviation (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to adjust the difference values between the light emission ratios of the first, second and third color such that the value is as close to 0% since this will eliminate color deviation in the bent regions of the display.
As to claim 15, Wei discloses the display device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, an initial light emission ratio of the first color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction, the initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the third color light in the frontal viewing direction (page 4, blue color light is greater than the red and red greater than the green); and
the color shift improvement layer is provided with a first color resist material for reducing a first color light transmittance (page 4, conversion layer 130 reduces the blue light).
As to claim 16, Wei discloses the display device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, an initial light emission ratio of the first color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction, and the initial light emission ratio of the second color light in the frontal viewing direction is greater than an initial light emission ratio of the third color light in the frontal viewing direction (page 4, blue color light is greater than the red and red greater than the green); and
the color shift improvement layer is provided with a first color resistance material for reducing a transmittance for the first color light, and a second color resist material for reducing a transmittance for the second color light (page 4).
As to claim 17, Wei discloses the display device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein, in the bending area, the transmittance for the first color light in the frontal viewing direction of the color shift improvement layer is a first color shift transmittance, the transmittance for the second color light in the frontal viewing direction of the color shift improvement layer is a second color shift transmittance, and the first color shift transmittance is less than or equal to the second color shift transmittance (page 4).
As to claim 18, Wei discloses the display device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein, the color shift improvement layer is completely transparent to the third color light; and/or,
among the first color light, the second color light, and the third color light, one is red light, one is green light, and one is blue light (page 4).
As to claim 20, Wei discloses the display device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein, the display panel comprises an encapsulation layer (fig 2, 150) provided on the side of the light emitting layer (120) facing away from the substrate (110); wherein, the color shift improvement layer is provided on a side of the encapsulation layer facing away from the light-emitting layer, or the color shift improvement layer (130) is provided between the encapsulation layer (150) and the light- emitting layer (120).
Claim(s) 7, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Chuman (US Pub. No. 2017/0213993 A1), hereafter referred to as Chuman.
As to claim 7, Wei discloses the display panel according to claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein, the bending area comprises one or more bending subareas (fig 2, outer peripheral region half of 112 is a first subarea and inner region of 112 is considered to be a second subarea), a number of the bending subareas is divided based on a range of a frontal viewing angle of the bending area of the display panel (inner half and outer half of 112 are divided); wherein, different bending subareas have a different transmittance for at least one color light (page 4).
Wei does not disclose the bending angle for the display panel.
Chuman a bending angle of each bending area is a preset angle, the preset angle is greater than or equal to 5 degree and less than or equal to 15 degree ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the bending area of Wei within the range taught by Chuman since this will prevent an increase in the resistance of the electrode.
As to claim 12, Wei discloses the method according to claim 9 (paragraphs above),
wherein, the bending area comprises one or more bending subareas (fig 2, outer peripheral region half of 112 is a first subarea and inner region of 112 is considered to be a second subarea), a number of the bending subareas is divided based on a range of a frontal viewing angle of the bending area of the display panel (inner half and outer half of 112 are divided); wherein, different bending subareas have a different transmittance for at least one color light (page 4).
Wei does not disclose the bending angle for the display panel.
Chuman a bending angle of each bending area is a preset angle, the preset angle is greater than or equal to 5 degree and less than or equal to 15 degree ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the bending area of Wei within the range taught by Chuman since this will prevent an increase in the resistance of the electrode.
As to claim 19, Wei discloses the display device according to claim 13 (paragraphs above),
wherein, the bending area comprises one or more bending subareas (fig 2, outer peripheral region half of 112 is a first subarea and inner region of 112 is considered to be a second subarea), a number of the bending subareas is divided based on a range of a frontal viewing angle of the bending area of the display panel (inner half and outer half of 112 are divided); wherein, different bending subareas have a different transmittance for at least one color light (page 4).
Wei does not disclose the bending angle for the display panel.
Chuman a bending angle of each bending area is a preset angle, the preset angle is greater than or equal to 5 degree and less than or equal to 15 degree ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the bending area of Wei within the range taught by Chuman since this will prevent an increase in the resistance of the electrode.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2022/0344433 A1 teaches in figure 6 a non-bending region 100 and a bending region 200 wherein a light shielding layer 30 is used for light adjustment in the bending region.
US Pub. No. 2021/0183959 A1 teaches in figure 3 a non-bending region NBA and a bending region BA2 wherein adjustments are made for light emission in the bending region.
US Pub. No. 2022/0140007 A1 teaches a curve in a peripheral display region with different color filter thicknesses.
US Pub. No. 2018/0247985 A1 teaches a non-bending region FA and a bending region BA1 where adjustments are made for emission in the bending region.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 7/8/2026