DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
In view of amended claims and further search, Claims 1, 3-7, 27, 54 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The reasons for Allowance are the same as those presented by the Applicant in the Remarks submitted on 07/10/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14-20, 22, 23, 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220104045 A1 to Kweon; Kisuk in view of US 20050280557 A1 to Jha, Anjali et al.
Re: Claim(s) 11, 22, 64
Kweon discloses method, the method comprising: (or NEF) in order to request monitoring of a predetermined event. The corresponding message may include parameters as follows: an external identifier or a mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN) or an external group identification (ID), an SCS/AS identifier, a monitoring type, the maximum number of reports, a monitoring duration, a T8 destination address, a T8 long term transaction reference ID (TLTRI) for deletion or group management, a group reporting guard time, MTC provider information, an operation of group management (insertion (addition), deletion, or replacement), and a list of impacted UEs (external identifiers or MSISDNs));
and transmit an insert subscriber data answer (Cause) message to the HSS. If a monitoring event report is available, the report may be included in the subscriber data answer message and may be transmitted. 0095 - At operation 8, the HSS may transmit a monitoring response/indication message to the SCEF. 0096 - At operation 9a, the SCEF may transmit a monitoring response message to the SCS/AS.).
Kweon does/do not appear to explicitly disclose that the notification request is transmitted by a client node.
However, attention is directed to Jha which discloses said limitation (Fig. 3 – 200. 0030 - In accordance with some embodiments, a position location request may originate at the LCS client. An LCS client is an entity which seeks the position location of a particular mobile station based upon the particular status of the mobile station (for example, lost or stolen)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kweon invention by employing the teaching as taught by Jha to provide the ability for a monitoring/location request to be initiated by an LCS client (i.e., client node). The motivation for the combination is given by Jha (0007).
Re: Claim(s) 14, 23
Kweon in view of Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 11 above.
Kweon further discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving a notification response from the register node, the notification response indicating that the first wireless device has been added to a first list of wireless devices for which notifications are requested when the wireless device connects to the communication network (0088-0090 and Fig. 2 – 4a/4b).
Re: Claim(s) 15
Kweon in view of Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 11 above.
Kweon further discloses wherein the notification request is sent to the register node via a network exposure function (NEF) in the communication network (0017 - the second network function entity is one of a service capability exposure function (SCEF) or a network exposure function (NEF). Fig. 2 – SCEF (or NEF) is the intermediary for sending the monitoring request to the HSS).
Re: Claim(s) 16
Kweon in view of Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 11 above.
Jha further discloses wherein the method further comprises: after receiving the notification, sending a location request to a location service node in the communication network, the location request requesting information on the location of the first wireless device (Fig. 3 – 215 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Yes [Wingdings font/0xE0] 225).
Re: Claim(s) 17
Kweon in view of Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 11 above.
Jha further discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving information on the location of the first wireless device from the location service node (Fig. 3 – 240).
Re: Claim(s) 18
Kweon in view of Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 11 above.
Kweon further discloses wherein the location request is sent to the location service node via a network exposure function (NEF) in the communication network (0017 - the second network function entity is one of a service capability exposure function (SCEF) or a network exposure function (NEF). Fig. 2 – SCEF (or NEF) is the intermediary for sending the monitoring request to the HSS).
Re: Claim(s) 19
Kweon in view of Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 11 above.
Jha further discloses wherein the specified identifier is one or more of: an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI); a Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI); a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI); and a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) (Fig. 2 – 200 and 0035 - As indicated in block 200, the position location process may be initiated by the external LCS client 70 sending a position location request 202 to the GMLC 75. In some situations, the LCS client will know the IMEI of the stolen MS 40 and will include this information in the request).
Re: Claim(s) 20
Kweon in view of Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 11 above.
Jha further discloses wherein the register node is an Equipment Identity Register (EIR), and the client node is a location service client (LCS), or an application function (AF), associated with a LCS (0025 and Fig. 2 - 202).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KASHIF SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415