DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 11, 12, 16, 17, 19, 20, 27, 54, 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by US 20050280557 A1 to Jha, Anjali et al.
Re: Claim(s) 1, 11, 27, 54, 64
Jha discloses a method, the method comprising: a register node maintaining a first list of identifiers of wireless devices for which a notification has been requested when the wireless device connects to the communication network (See Figs. 1-3. 0022 - The HLR is used by the network operator, often referred to as a service provider, to maintain subscriber data. Subscriber data includes both fixed data, such as user profiles and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSI), and dynamic data such as the whereabouts of a mobile station and current settings for any supplementary services. Fig. 2 – 200 and 0035 - As indicated in block 200, the position location process may be initiated by the external LCS client 70 sending a position location request 202 to the GMLC 75. In some situations, the LCS client will know the IMEI of the stolen MS 40 and will include this information in the request);
the register node receiving a check request from a mobility management node in the communication network, the check request comprising a first identifier of a wireless device that is requesting access to the communication network (Fig. 2 – 205, 210 and 0035-0036 - As indicated in block 200, the position location process may be initiated by the external LCS client 70 sending a position location request 202 to the GMLC 75. In some situations, the LCS client will know the IMEI of the stolen MS 40 and will include this information in the request … When the MSC 25 receives the position location request 202, the MSC sends a request for routing information to the HLR 50 and VLR 55 (block 210). The HLR 50 may check its records to confirm that the MS 40 is registered in the HLR 50, and that routing information is available);
the register node determining if whether the first identifier is in the first list of identifiers (Fig. 2 – 215 and 0036 - The HLR 50 may check its records to confirm that the MS 40 is registered in the HLR 50, and that routing information is available. As indicated in optional decision block 215, if the MS 40 is not currently located within the network served by the MSC 25, then the position location request may be terminated and the LCS client notified of the result (block 220). On the other hand, if the MS 40 is currently located within the network, the MSC 25 sends the position location request 202 to the SMLC 65 via the serving BSC 30 (block 225));
and if the as a result of determining that the first identifier is in the first list of identifiers, sending a notification to a client node that is external to the communication network, the notification indicating that a wireless device having the first identifier is connecting to the communication network (See Id and 0038 - In block 235, regardless of the location procedure utilized by the SMLC 65, the SMLC may obtain a final position location 204 of the stolen MS 40, which is either provided by the MS or estimated by the SMLC. The calculated position location may identify the geographical position of the stolen MS with an accuracy of anywhere from a few yards to a few hundred yards. Depending upon the location procedure utilized, the position location data 204 may also include the velocity of the stolen MS. Once calculated, the location data 204 may be communicated to the requesting entity, such the LCS client 70, via the BSC 30, MSC 25, and the GMLC 75 using standard or proprietary interfaces and signaling technologies (block 240)).
Jha further discloses:
A corresponding method performed by a client node (see as analyzed above), as required by claim 11;
A computer program product corresponding to the method of claim 1 (Fig. 2 – 50 – at least storage/memory would be inherent to a HLR), as required by claim 22;
A register node (Fig. 2 – 50) , as required by claim 54; and
A client node (Fig. 2 – 70), as required by claim 64.
Re: Claim(s) 3
Jha discloses wherein the method further comprises: if the first identifier is in the first list of identifiers, sending a check response to the mobility management node, the check response indicating that the wireless device having the first identifier is permitted to connect to the communication network (see rejection of claim 1 and 0034 - The system depicted in FIG. 1 may be used to identify and locate certain mobile stations of interest based upon a particular status of the mobile station. For convenience only, embodiments of the invention will be described with respect to a stolen mobile station having an IMEI that is found on the "black list" of the EIR 45 database. It is to be understood that many other variations and implementations are possible and within the teachings of the present disclosure. As such, the system shown in FIG. 1 may be used to locate mobile stations that have a particular status (for example, black listed, grey listed, lost, stolen, defective, and so on), as determined by the equipment identifier associated with the targeted mobile station. 0025-0026 - The EIR 45 includes a database which contains information regarding the validity and status of mobile stations using a unique identifier, which is often referred to as an international mobile equipment identifier (IMEI). In general, an EIR contains three primary groups of IMEI data. One is the "white list" which includes the range of valid mobile stations that are approved for operation within the network. Another is the "black list" which includes the list of IMEI numbers which have been reported stolen, lost, defective, malfunctioning, or otherwise deemed forbidden to operate within the network. The third group, referred to as the "grey list," is an intermediate list between "white" and "black" and includes suspicious mobile stations that are currently under supervision by authorities to confirm black listing … he IMEI may therefore indicate the status of a particular mobile station as approved for operation (white list), forbidden to operate within the network (black list), or approved to operate but under supervision (grey list)).
Re: Claim(s) 4
Jha discloses wherein the method further comprises: maintaining a second list of identifiers of wireless devices for which access to the communication network is to be blocked or prevented from connecting the communication network; after receiving the check request from the mobility management node, determining if the first identifier is in the second list of identifiers; and if the first identifier is in the first list of identifiers and the second list of identifiers, sending a first check response to the mobility management node, the first check response indicating that the wireless device having the first identifier is permitted to connect to the communication network (see rejection of claim 1 and 0034 - The system depicted in FIG. 1 may be used to identify and locate certain mobile stations of interest based upon a particular status of the mobile station. For convenience only, embodiments of the invention will be described with respect to a stolen mobile station having an IMEI that is found on the "black list" of the EIR 45 database. It is to be understood that many other variations and implementations are possible and within the teachings of the present disclosure. As such, the system shown in FIG. 1 may be used to locate mobile stations that have a particular status (for example, black listed, grey listed, lost, stolen, defective, and so on), as determined by the equipment identifier associated with the targeted mobile station. 0025-0026 - The EIR 45 includes a database which contains information regarding the validity and status of mobile stations using a unique identifier, which is often referred to as an international mobile equipment identifier (IMEI). In general, an EIR contains three primary groups of IMEI data. One is the "white list" which includes the range of valid mobile stations that are approved for operation within the network. Another is the "black list" which includes the list of IMEI numbers which have been reported stolen, lost, defective, malfunctioning, or otherwise deemed forbidden to operate within the network. The third group, referred to as the "grey list," is an intermediate list between "white" and "black" and includes suspicious mobile stations that are currently under supervision by authorities to confirm black listing … he IMEI may therefore indicate the status of a particular mobile station as approved for operation (white list), forbidden to operate within the network (black list), or approved to operate but under supervision (grey list)).
Re: Claim(s) 5
Jha discloses wherein the method further comprises: if the first identifier is not in the first list of identifiers and the first identifier is in the second list of identifiers, sending a second check response to the mobility management node, the second check response indicating that the wireless device having the first identifier is not permitted to connect to the communication network (see rejection of claim 1 and 0034 - The system depicted in FIG. 1 may be used to identify and locate certain mobile stations of interest based upon a particular status of the mobile station. For convenience only, embodiments of the invention will be described with respect to a stolen mobile station having an IMEI that is found on the "black list" of the EIR 45 database. It is to be understood that many other variations and implementations are possible and within the teachings of the present disclosure. As such, the system shown in FIG. 1 may be used to locate mobile stations that have a particular status (for example, black listed, grey listed, lost, stolen, defective, and so on), as determined by the equipment identifier associated with the targeted mobile station. 0025-0026 - The EIR 45 includes a database which contains information regarding the validity and status of mobile stations using a unique identifier, which is often referred to as an international mobile equipment identifier (IMEI). In general, an EIR contains three primary groups of IMEI data. One is the "white list" which includes the range of valid mobile stations that are approved for operation within the network. Another is the "black list" which includes the list of IMEI numbers which have been reported stolen, lost, defective, malfunctioning, or otherwise deemed forbidden to operate within the network. The third group, referred to as the "grey list," is an intermediate list between "white" and "black" and includes suspicious mobile stations that are currently under supervision by authorities to confirm black listing … he IMEI may therefore indicate the status of a particular mobile station as approved for operation (white list), forbidden to operate within the network (black list), or approved to operate but under supervision (grey list)).
Re: Claim(s) 6, 12
Jha discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving a notification request from the client node, the notification request indicating one or more identifiers of wireless devices for which notifications are requested when the wireless devices connect to the communication network; and storing the one or more identifiers of wireless devices in the first list of identifiers (0022 - The HLR is used by the network operator, often referred to as a service provider, to maintain subscriber data. Subscriber data includes both fixed data, such as user profiles and international mobile subscriber identities (IMSI), and dynamic data such as the whereabouts of a mobile station and current settings for any supplementary services. Fig. 2 – 200 and 0035 - As indicated in block 200, the position location process may be initiated by the external LCS client 70 sending a position location request 202 to the GMLC 75. In some situations, the LCS client will know the IMEI of the stolen MS 40 and will include this information in the request).
Re: Claim(s) 16
Jha discloses wherein the method further comprises: after receiving the notification, sending a location request to a location service node in the communication network, the location request requesting information on the location of the wireless device having the specified identifier (Fig. 3 – 215 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Yes [Wingdings font/0xE0] 225).
Re: Claim(s) 17
Jha discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving information on the location of the wireless device from the location service node (Fig. 3 – 240).
Re: Claim(s) 19
Jha discloses wherein the specified identifier is one or more of: an International Mobile Equipment Identity, IMEI; a Permanent Equipment Identifier, PEI; a Subscription Permanent Identifier, SUPI; and a General Public Subscription Identifier, GPSI (Fig. 2 – 200 and 0035 - As indicated in block 200, the position location process may be initiated by the external LCS client 70 sending a position location request 202 to the GMLC 75. In some situations, the LCS client will know the IMEI of the stolen MS 40 and will include this information in the request).
Re: Claim(s) 20
Jha discloses wherein the register node is an Equipment Identity Register, EIR, and the client node is a location service client, LCS, or an application function, AF, associated with a LCS (0025 and Fig. 2 - 202).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14, 15, 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20200322884 A1 to Di Girolamo; Rocco et al.
Re: Claim(s) 7
Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Jha further discloses that the client node is a location service client, LCS, or an application function, AF, associated with a LCS (Fig. 2 – 202).
Jha does/do not appear to explicitly disclose the notification request is received from the client node via a network exposure function, NEF.
However, further attention is directed to Di Girolamo which discloses said limitation (Fig. 13 – monitor request transmitted via NEF).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jha invention by employing the teaching as taught by Di Girolamo to provide a means for transmitting a request to a register node via a NEF. The motivation for the combination is given by Di Girolamo (0003).
Re: Claim(s) 14, 23
Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Jha does/do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving a notification response from the register node, the notification response indicating that the one or more identifiers have been added to a first list of identifiers of wireless devices for which notifications are requested when the wireless device connects to the communication network
However, attention is directed to Di Girolamo which discloses said limitation (Figs. 11-13).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jha invention by employing the teaching as taught by Di Girolamo to provide a mechanism by which a device may be tracked a means of communicating confirmation and results of said tracking. The motivation for the combination is given by Di Girolamo (0003).
Re: Claim(s) 15
Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Jha does/do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the notification request is sent to the register node via a network exposure function, NEF, in the communication network.
However, attention is directed to Di Girolamo which discloses said limitation (Figs. 11-13).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jha invention by employing the teaching as taught by Di Girolamo to provide a mechanism by which a device may be tracked a means of communicating confirmation and results of said tracking. The motivation for the combination is given by Di Girolamo (0003).
Re: Claim(s) 22
Jha in view of Di Girolamo discloses all the limitations of claim 23 as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 above.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jha as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20200314140 A1 to Wang; Yong et al.
Re: Claim(s) 18
Jha discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Jha does/do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the location request is sent to the location service node via a network exposure function, NEF, in the communication network.
However, attention is directed to Wang which discloses said limitation (Fig. 2 –and 0116 - The AF network element sends a monitoring request message to the NEF network element, and the NEF network element receives the monitoring request message. 0130 - Step 203: The NEF network element sends the monitoring request message to the AMF network element, and the AMF network element receives the monitoring request message. 0132 - some monitoring events are preconfigured in the NEF network element and the AMF network element, for example, a monitoring event 1 for monitoring a location of the terminal device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jha invention by employing the teaching as taught by Wang to provide the ability to leverage a NEF as a proxy when requesting a location request to a location service nod. The motivation for the combination is given by Wang (0002).
Conclusion
/KASHIF SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415