DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 9/2/26 has been considered and entered. Claim 5 has been canceled. Claims 1-4 and 6-12 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN 102544439 in combination with EP-3016175.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches an inorganic/organic composite porous separator and electrochemical device. Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches a porous separator including a porous substrate having pores and an active layer formed on the porous substrate. The active layer contains a mixture of binder and inorganic particles (abstract). The inorganic particles include zirconium oxide which meets the claimed zirconia [0032].
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) fails to teach a half-width of the peak with highest intensity measured by x-ray diffraction is 0.4 degrees or more.
CN 102544439 teaches a zirconium oxide particle having a half value width peak of 0.7 degrees for making a secondary battery [0117].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of he claimed invention to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) to have the zirconia particles to include a half value width peak of 0.7 degrees as evidenced by CN 102544439 with the expectation of success.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN 102544439 fails to teach the zirconia content to be 95 mass % or more.
EP-3016175 teaches a separator for electrolyte batteries whereby a pore structure in a porous layer of a separator includes 75-98 mass% inorganic particles including zirconia (abstract and [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN 102544439 separator to include zirconia at greater than 95 mass% as evidenced by EP-3016175 with the expectation of having higher ionic conductivity and low membrane resistance.
Regarding claim 6, Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches the binder to include polyacrylate which is an acrylic-based resin [0014].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN 102544439 in combination with EP-3016175 in combination with CN106711379.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN 102544439 in combination with EP-3016175 are incorporated here.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN 102544439 in combination with EP-3016175 fails to teach the claimed crustal structure of the zirconia to be either cubic or tetragonal.
CN106711379 teaches forming a ceramic diaphragm for a battery whereby the ceramic diaphragm is coated with tetragonal phase zirconia which absorbs a part of energy, does not heat and heating in the phase change process can be effective flame retarding and ensure temperature stability which increase the safety of the battery (abstract and pg. last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN 102544439 separator to include tetragonal structured zirconia as evidenced by CN106711379 with the expectation of improving battery safety.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747).
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches an inorganic/organic composite porous separator and electrochemical device. Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches a porous separator including a porous substrate having pores and an active layer formed on the porous substrate. The active layer contains a mixture of binder and inorganic particles (abstract). The inorganic particles include zirconium oxide which meets the claimed zirconia [0032].
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) fails to teach the zirconia particles has a peak in the range of 3200-3600 cm-1 when measured by FT-IR.
Elam et al. (2015/0364747) teaches the zirconia particles for lithium batteries have a peak in the range of 4000-800 cm-1 when measured by FT-IR [0089].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of he claimed invention to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) to have the zirconia particles has a peak in the range of 3200-3600 cm-1 when measured by FT-IR as evidenced by Elam et al. (2015/0364747) with the expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, it has been well settled that overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of Elam et al. (2015/0364747) that corresponds to the claimed range. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches the binder to include polyacrylate which is an acrylic-based resin [0014].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) in combination with EP-3016175.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) are incorporated here.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) fails to teach the zirconia content to be 95 mass % or more.
EP-3016175 teaches a separator for electrolyte batteries whereby a pore structure in a porous layer of a separator includes 75-98 mass% inorganic particles including zirconia (abstract and [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) separator to include zirconia at greater than 95 mass% as evidenced by EP-3016175 with the expectation of having higher ionic conductivity and low membrane resistance.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) in combination with CN106711379.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) are incorporated here.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) fails to teach the claimed crustal structure of the zirconia to be either cubic or tetragonal.
CN106711379 teaches forming a ceramic diaphragm for a battery whereby the ceramic diaphragm is coated with tetragonal phase zirconia which absorbs a part of energy, does not heat and heating in the phase change process can be effective flame retarding and ensure temperature stability which increase the safety of the battery (abstract and pg. 3 last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with Elam et al. (2015/0364747) separator to include tetragonal structured zirconia as evidenced by CN106711379 with the expectation of improving battery safety.
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774).
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches an inorganic/organic composite porous separator and electrochemical device. Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches a porous separator including a porous substrate having pores and an active layer formed on the porous substrate. The active layer contains a mixture of binder and inorganic particles (abstract). The inorganic particles include zirconium oxide which meets the claimed zirconia [0032].
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) fails to teach the zirconia particles having a moisture content of 2% or more.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches zirconia particles being applied with a solvent and coating the mixture which would inherently render the zirconia particles having a moisture content of more than 2% [0039]-[0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) to have the zirconia particles having a moisture content of 2% with the expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches the binder to include polyacrylate which is an acrylic-based resin [0014].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) further in combination with EP-3016175.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) is incorporated here.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) fails to teach the zirconia content to be 95 mass % or more.
EP-3016175 teaches a separator for electrolyte batteries whereby a pore structure in a porous layer of a separator includes 75-98 mass% inorganic particles including zirconia (abstract and [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) separator to include zirconia at greater than 95 mass% as evidenced by EP-3016175 with the expectation of having higher ionic conductivity and low membrane resistance.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) in combination with CN106711379.
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) is incorporated here.
Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) fails to teach the claimed crustal structure of the zirconia to be either cubic or tetragonal.
CN106711379 teaches forming a ceramic diaphragm for a battery whereby the ceramic diaphragm is coated with tetragonal phase zirconia which absorbs a part of energy, does not heat and heating in the phase change process can be effective flame retarding and ensure temperature stability which increase the safety of the battery (abstract and pg. last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) separator to include tetragonal structured zirconia as evidenced by CN106711379 with the expectation of improving battery safety.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued the claimed zirconia content of the zirconia particles is not taught by EP 3016175.
The Examiner disagrees. As detailed in the rejection above, EP-3016175 teaches a separator for electrolyte batteries whereby a pore structure in a porous layer of a separator includes 75-98 mass% inorganic particles including zirconia (abstract and [0011]). The 75%-95 mass% of the zirconia would be in fact Zr as zirconia is ZrO2 and the mass% would be referenced to the Zr and not the oxygen.
Applicant argued the claimed zirconia articles contained in the separator has a peak in the range of 3200-3600 /cm when measured by FT-IR.
The Examiner disagrees. As detailed above, Elam et al. (2015/0364747) teaches the zirconia particles for lithium batteries have a peak in the range of 4000-800 cm-1 when measured by FT-IR [0089] and the substate would meet the claimed separator.
Applicant argued the prior art fails to teach using zirconia particles with a moisture content of 2% or more.
The Examiner disagrees. As detailed above, Jiang et al. (2012/0301774) teaches zirconia particles being applied with a solvent and coating the mixture which would inherently render the zirconia particles having a moisture content of more than 2% [0039]-[0043]. The zirconia particles would inherently absorb the solvent when mixed and applied and hence would meet the claimed 2% or more moisture content. With regards to the zirconia having hydroxyl groups, the claims are not commensurate in scope wit this argument as the claims do not limit the moisture content to be linked with hydroxyl groups o the particles but can be from the moisture/solvent when applied as a mixture.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712