DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 7/16/2026 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites, “a cooling fluid” which is incorrect in view of the amendment to claim 1. It appears it should be changed to read, “the cooling fluid”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US 2021/0011534 – hereinafter, “Yin”) in view of Degtiarenko (US 6,604,575).
With respect to claim 1, Yin teaches (In Figs 1-3, 5) an electronic computing device for an assistance system of a motor vehicle (Title), the device comprising: a first housing (Fig 5, 15), wherein at least a first processor device (“Functional component” 41 further described as a CPU in ¶ 0047), of the assistance system is arranged in a first internal space of the first housing (See Fig 5), wherein the first processor device generates heat at least in the operation ([0054]); a cooling device (12) for cooling the first processor device, wherein the cooling device is formed on a first outer wall (Horizontal wall of 15) of the first housing (12 is formed on the top surface of 15, see Fig 5), wherein a separate second housing (14) with a second internal space is arranged stacked on the first housing viewed along a vertical direction of the electronic computing device (See Fig 5), wherein at least a second processor device (41) of the assistance system is arranged in the second internal space (See Fig 5), wherein the second processor device generates heat at least in the operation (¶ 0054), wherein the second housing is arranged on the cooling device (12) at least in certain areas (See Fig 5) with a second outer wall (Horizontal wall of 14) opposing the first outer wall (Horizontal wall of 15) such that the cooling device (12) is bounded by the first outer wall (Horizontal wall of 15) and the second outer wall (Horizontal wall of 14) at least in certain areas and is additionally formed for cooling the second processor device (See Fig 5, 12 is formed to cool the second processor device), wherein a columnar structure (¶ 0061, “oval”) of the cooling device in a cooling area of the cooling device is formed on a first outer side of the first outer wall (Oval fin 12 is formed on the outer side of the horizontal wall of 15, see Fig 5), and wherein a columnar second structure of the cooling device is formed on a second outer side of the second outer wall opposing the first outer side (Another oval fin is formed on the outer side of the horizontal wall of 14, see Fig 5), wherein the columnar structure (Oval fins) and the columnar second structure (Oval fins) are configured to be washed around by a cooling fluid flowing within the cooling device such that heat from the columnar structure and from the columnar second structure is transferred to the cooling fluid (See Fig 3B which shows how air flows over the fins within the system of Yin. When the fins are oval, as taught by Yin, the fins of Yin are configured to be washed around by a cooling fluid (air) flowing within the device such that heat is removed from the fins).
Yin fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the columnar structure and the columnar second structure are formed engaging with each other such that columns of one structure extend into clearances between columns of the other structure, and wherein the columnar structure is not formed on the second outer side, and the columnar second structure is not formed on the first outer side.
Degtiarenko, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a columnar structure (22, Col. 2, l. 31, “needles 22”) and columnar second structure (16, Col. 2, l. 27, “needles 16”) are formed engaging with each other such that columns of one structure extend into clearances between columns of the other structure, and wherein the columnar structure (22) is not formed on a second outer side (14), and the columnar second structure (16) is not formed on a first outer side (Surface of 20 from which 22 extends, see Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Degtiarenko with that of Yin such that, in Yin the columnar structure and the columnar second structure are formed engaging with each other such that columns of one structure extend into clearances between columns of the other structure, and wherein the columnar structure is not formed on the second outer side, and the columnar second structure is not formed on the first outer side, as taught by Degtiarenko, since doing so would provide space between the ends of the columnar structure and the second outer side, and between the columnar second structure and the first outer side which could increase the surface areas of the columnar and second columnar structures and would also prevent, for example, the columnar structure from damaging the second outer wall in the event that there was an impact to the first outer wall.
With respect to claim 2, Yin further teaches that the second housing (14) is non-destructively detachably arranged on the first housing (15, where 14 is detachably arranged on 15 via a fin and screw arrangement. See ¶ 0063, “A side that is of the heat dissipation fin 12 and that is connected to the top wall 14 and the bottom wall 15…is fixedly connected to the top wall 14 and the bottom wall 15 with a rivet or a threaded connecting piece (such as a bolt or a screw)”).
With respect to claim 4, Yin further teaches that the cooling device (12) is formed as a fluidic cooling device with the cooling fluid (12 are fins which have air which flows over the fins and thus 12 is formed as a fluidic cooling device with a cooling fluid).
With respect to claim 5, Yin further teaches that a first top side of the first processor device is contacted with a first inner side of the first outer wall via a first heat conducting element, and wherein a second top side of the second processor device is contacted with a second inner side of the second outer wall via second heat conducting element (See Fig A below).
With respect to claim 9, Yin further teaches wherein the first housing and the second housing are formed at least partly of aluminum (¶ 0065).
With respect to claim 11, Yin further teaches that the columnar structure and the columnar second structure engage with each other (See Fig 5 which shows the second columnar structure extends in the clearances between the first columnar structure in the assembled state and vice versa).
With respect to claims 12-13, Yin (Figs 1-5) as modified by Degtiarenko teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a cooling inlet and a cooling outlet are formed on a rear side of the first housing, wherein the cooling inlet is connected to the cooling outlet via the cooling device (Cl. 12), wherein the cooling device comprises a cooling area, wherein the cooling inlet is connected to the cooling area via a coolant directing element, and wherein the cooling outlet is connected to the cooling area via a coolant directing element (Cl. 13).
Yin Fig 10B, however, teaches a cooling inlet (73) and a cooling outlet (72) are formed on a side of a first housing (See Fig 10B), wherein the cooling inlet is connected to the cooling outlet via a cooling device (75), wherein the cooling device comprises a cooling area (See Fig B below), wherein the cooling inlet (73) is connected to the cooling area via a coolant directing element (752, see Fig B below), and wherein the cooling outlet (72) is connected to the cooling area via a coolant directing element (752, see Fig B below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yin Fig 10B with that of Yin Figs 1-5, such that Yin Figs 1-5 includes a cooling inlet and a cooling outlet are formed on a side of the first housing, wherein the cooling inlet is connected to the cooling outlet via the cooling device, wherein the cooling device comprises a cooling area, wherein the cooling inlet is connected to the cooling area via a coolant directing element, and wherein the cooling outlet is connected to the cooling area via a coolant directing element, as taught by Yin Fig 10B, since doing so would allow for the first and second processor devices to be cooled via a liquid coolant which is known to dissipate more heat versus using air based cooling.
With respect to the limitations that require the inlet and outlet to be formed on a rear side of the first housing, it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts is obvious1 and, accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet and outlet be on a rear side of the housing since doing so would allow for the computing device of Lin to be placed into the vehicle such that side walls of the computing device are immediately adjacent or abutting one or more elements of the vehicle.
With respect to claim 14, Yin further teaches an assistance system for a motor vehicle (Title) with at least one electronic computing device according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 15, Yin teaches (In Figs 1-3, 5) a method for producing an electronic computing device for a motor vehicle (Title) according to claim 1, wherein the first processor device (41) is provided in a first housing (15), wherein the second processor device (Another of 41) is provided in the separate second housing (14), and wherein a cooling device (12) for cooling the first processor device and the second processor device is formed between the respective outer walls of the housings (See Fig 4A).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Degtiarenko and further in view of Perwass et al. (US 2021/0075962 – hereinafter, “Perwass”).
With respect to claim 3, Yin as modified by Degtiarenko teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a first assistance function of the assistance system is provided in the first processor device and wherein a second assistance function of the assistance system is provided in the second processor device wherein the second assistance function is formed different from the first assistance function.
Perwass, however, teaches a first processing device (140) which provides a first assistance function (Reduce camera raw data) and a second processing device (125) which provides a second assistance function (processing images) wherein the second assistance function is different from the first assistance function (Reducing raw data vs. processing images).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Perwass with that of Yin such that, in Yin a first assistance function of an assistance system is provided in the first processor device and wherein a second assistance function of the assistance system is provided in the second processor device wherein the second assistance function is formed different from the first assistance function, as taught by Perwass, since doing so would allow for the first and second processor devices of Yin to provide different functions to the electronic computing device thus allowing for the electronic computing device to have diverse functions.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Degtiarenko and further in view of Lin (US 2008/0320196).
With respect to claim 6, Yin as modified by Degtiarenko teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claim 6.
Lin, however, teaches (In Fig 3) a first processor device (14) is electrically connected to a second processor device (30) via a contact device (20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Yin, such that, in Yin, the first processor devices is electrically connected to the second processor device via a contact device, as taught by Lin, since doing so would allow for the first and second processor devices to communicate with each other.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Degtiarenko in view of Lin and further in view of Nakamura et al. (US 6,353,536 – hereinafter, “Nakamura”).
With respect to claims 7-8, Yin as modified by Degtiarenko and Lin teaches the limitations of claim 6 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the contact device is formed as a plug connection (Cl. 7), wherein the contact device is passed through the first outer wall and the second outer wall and wherein the contact device is formed outside of a cooling area of the cooling device (Cl. 8).
Nakamura, however teaches a contact device (45) is formed as a plug connection, wherein the contact device (45) is passed through a first outer wall (Outer wall of 36, see Fig 2) and a second outer wall (5a, when 45 is plugged into 14, it will pass through 5a since 14 is recessed above the second outer wall as shown in Fig 3 ) and wherein the contact device (45) is formed outside of a cooling area (55) of a cooling device (See Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakamura with that of Yin as modified by Lin, such that, in modified Yin, the contact device is formed as a plug connection, wherein the contact device is passed through the first outer wall and the second outer wall and wherein the contact device is formed outside of a cooling area of the cooling device, as taught by Nakamura, since doing so would allow for the first processor device and the second processor device to be electrically connected in a way that does not interfere with the cooling airflow in Yin.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Degtiarenko and further in view of Davidescu et al. (US 2018/0189205 – hereinafter, “Davidescu”).
With respect to claim 16, Yin as modified by Degtiarenko teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the second processor devices is smaller than the first processor device.
Davidescu, however, teaches a second processor devices is smaller than a first processor device (¶ 0021, “The processor CPU1 is of a smaller size than the processor CPU0.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Davidescu with that of Yin, such that, in Yin the second processor devices is smaller than the first processor device, as taught by Davidescu, since doing so would reduce the footprint of one of the processor devices within the computing device thus allowing for additional components within the computing device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Degtiarenko and further in view of Orr (US 5,909,357).
With respect to claim 17, Yin as modified by Degtiarenko teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein electrical energy supply of the second processor device is realized via the first processor device such that additional plug contacts are not formed on the second housing.
Orr, however, teaches (In Figs 1-3) wherein electrical energy supply of a second processor device (Video module 16) is realized via a first processor device (Master mother module 16) such that additional plug contacts are not formed on a second housing (Housing of video module 16, see Figs 1-3 where power for the video module processing device is provided through the master mother module processing device by way of 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Orr with that of Yin, such that, in Yin electrical energy supply of the second processor device is realized via the first processor device such that additional plug contacts are not formed on the second housing, as taught by Orr, since doing so would provide a redundant electrical connection to the second processor device which can be used in the event that the primary electrical connection is faulty.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that “In the Office Action, the Examiner acknowledges that Yin fails to disclose the claimed columnar structure, but contends that the new reference Degtiarenko teaches the structure in FIG. 1 and col. 2, 1. 31, and col. 2, 1. 27. See Office Action, p. 4.” (Present remarks page 8) the Examiner respectfully disagrees. It was never the Examiner’s position that Yin fails to teach the claimed columnar structure as alleged. Rather, as per the previous and present rejections to claim 1, Yin is believed to teach the columnar structure through the recitation in ¶ 0061 of the written description where Yin allows for fins which are oval. And while Yin is believed to teach columnar fins, it is the Examiner’s position that Yin does not teach or suggest that the columnar structure and the columnar second structure are formed engaging with each other such that columns of one structure extend into clearances between columns of the other structure, and wherein the columnar structure is not formed on the second outer side, and the columnar second structure is not formed on the first outer side. This deficiency, however, is believed to be properly remedied by Degtiarenko as per the above rejection to claim 1.
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “However, even assuming, arguendo, that the fins or needles 16 and 22 correspond to the claimed columnar structure and columnar second structure, Degtiarenko does not teach that either structure is "washed around by a cooling fluid," as required by amended claim 1. Degtiarenko instead discloses that the first array of fins or needles 16 is attached to the outer surface 14 of coolant conduit 12, while the second array of fins or needles 22 is thermally coupled to body 18 and meshes with, but does not contact, the first array. See Degtiarenko, col. 2, 11. 25-38; abstract. The coolant 26 is confined inside coolant conduit 12 and is physically separated from both arrays by conduit wall 24. See id. at col. 2, 11. 38-45; Fig. 1. Thus, the coolant in Degtiarenko does not flow around, surround, or directly contact either alleged columnar structure, as required by the above-mentioned limitation.
Indeed, Degtiarenko uses a materially different heat-transfer path. Heat travels from body 18 by conduction through retainer 20 to the second array 22, by radiation across the noncontact gap to the first array 16, by conduction through conduit wall 24, and only then to coolant 26 flowing inside conduit 12. See id. at col. 2, 11. 38-45. Degtiarenko expressly identifies thermal radiation as
the principal carrier of heat between its hot and cold structures and emphasizes "complete isolation" between those structures. See id. at, col. 2, 11. 10-23. Degtiarenko further explains that its design addresses circumstances in which direct contact with a heat collector or coolant is undesirable or impossible. See id. at col. 1, 11. 46-52.
Accordingly, Degtiarenko's fins or needles are positioned outside the coolant flow path and exchange heat with one another through radiation, rather than being washed around by cooling fluid so that heat from both structures is transferred to that fluid. Modifying Degtiarenko to route coolant around both arrays would require changing Degtiarenko's disclosed isolation arrangement and heat-transfer mechanism, not merely applying its teachings as disclosed. Therefore, Degtiarenko fails to remedy the defects of Yin with respect to the above-mentioned limitation.” (Present remarks pages 8-9) the Examiner notes that the amended limitations of claim 1 are believed to be taught by the Yin reference. Indeed, Yin teaches oval fins which interleave with each other and, as per Fig 3, air is flowed over these oval fins causing a cooling fluid (air) to wash around the fins and to cool them.
Accordingly, claim 1 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Yin and Degtiarenko.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)