DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In communications filed on 2/11/2026, claims 1-19 and 28 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 28 are independent.
Amended claims: 1, 7, 28.
Applicants’ arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed 2/11/2026, with respect to claim(s) rejected under prior art have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Hoover explicitly discloses: wherein the evaluation criterion corresponds to a security class that is based on at least one of: the type of event, service or application (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, i.e., the security level determines the level of authentication mechanism to be used; ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, i.e., event such as meeting invite; ¶80-¶85)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 13-19, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180145990 A1 (hereinafter ‘Hoover’).
As regards claim 1, Hoover (US 20180145990 A1) discloses: A method for authenticating a user for a service, the method being performed by an authentication system, the method comprising (Hoover: ¶3, ¶54, i.e., method and system for performing authentication to provide access to services/systems): obtaining source feature data of the user to be authenticated, and user attributes (Hoover: ¶3-¶4), wherein the source feature data represents a by the user performed time dependent movement (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶13, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85, i.e., receiving real time data from the user including, see step 411 in fig. 4, where the user performs time dependent movement), wherein the user attributes represent information of the user as extractable from sensor data, and (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85) wherein the source feature data and the user attributes are extracted from sensor data of the user as collected by at least one sensor device and (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
authenticating the user as a function of the source feature data and the user attributes, wherein the user is successfully authenticated when the source feature data fulfils an evaluation criterion with respect to target feature data, wherein the target feature data represents a, for the user and the service, expected time dependent movement, wherein the service is associated with an authentication purpose, and wherein the evaluation criterion is a function of the authentication purpose and the user attributes, and (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶3-¶6, ¶13, ¶25, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85, i.e., performing a multifactor authentication of the user based on position of the user and the movement performed by the user)
wherein the evaluation criterion corresponds to a security class that is based on at least one of: the type of event, service or application (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, i.e., the security level determines the level of authentication mechanism to be used; ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, i.e., event such as meeting invite; ¶80-¶85)
Claim 28 recites substantially the same features as recited in claim 1 and is rejected based on the aforementioned rationale discussed in the rejection.
As regards claim 2, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, upon having successfully authenticated the user: performing, for the user, an action relating to the service. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 3, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the action pertains to enabling the user to any of: change a computer system password, use the source feature data as a computer system password, gain access to a computer system, gain access to a computer file, gain access to a computer service, gain access to a building, gain access to a room in a building, or gain access to a vehicle. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶25, ¶54)
As regards claim 6, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, upon having failed to successfully authenticate the user: classifying the user as an unauthorized user. (Hoover: ¶161)
As regards claim 7, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the security class that is further based on at least one of: user input; or a machine learning, ML, model. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 13, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the source feature data is initiated upon receiving user input from the user to be authenticated. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 14, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein authenticating the user is performed using a machine learning, ML, model taking the source feature data and the user attributes as input. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 15, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the target feature data is obtained from training data of the user, wherein the training data is learned from further sensor data of the user as collected by the at least one sensor device prior to the source feature data based on which the user is to be authenticated, and wherein the training data is utilized for training of the at least one ML model. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 16, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein obtaining the further source feature data from which the training data is learned from is initiated upon receiving user input from the user to be authenticated, and wherein receiving the user input triggers training of the ML model. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 17, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein obtaining the further source feature data from which the training data is learned from is initiated upon the authentication system having prompted the user to perform an action based on which the further source feature data is obtainable. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 18, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the further source feature data only is obtained from the further sensor data upon the authentication system having received verification from the user. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
As regards claim 19, Hoover discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein there is only one single ML model for authenticating the user as a function of the source feature data and the user attributes. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoover in view of US 20180060547 A1 (hereinafter ‘Holz’).
As regards claim 4, Hoover in combination with Holz (US 20180060547 A1) teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, upon having failed to successfully authenticate the user: prompting the user to repeat the time dependent movement, and then repeating obtaining source feature data of the user and repeating authenticating the user based on a repeated time dependent movement of the user. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85. Holz:, ¶96, i.e., prompting the user to repeat the authentication process in case of failure)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoover to include prompting a user to repeat the authentication process as taught by Holz with the motivation to ensure a user is properly authenticated (Holz:, ¶96)
As regards claim 5, Hoover et al combination teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein whether the user is prompted to repeat the time dependent movement or not is defined by the evaluation criterion. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85. Holz:, ¶96, i.e., prompting the user to repeat the authentication process in case of failure)
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoover in view of US 20220012323 A1 (hereinafter ‘Mori’).
As regards claim 8, Hoover in combination with Mori (US 20220012323 A1) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the authentication purpose is mapped to an integer n, where 1≤n≤N, where n=1 represents the authentication purpose with lowest security and n=N represents the authentication purpose with highest security. (Mori: Figs. 1, 6, ¶5, ¶34-¶35-¶39, i.e., varying authentication levels for performing varying levels of security operations from the highest to the lowest)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoover to include varying authentication levels for performing varying levels of security operations from the highest to the lowest as taught by Mori with the motivation to provide a flexible use of authentication (Mori: Figs. 1, 6, ¶5, ¶34-¶35-¶39)
As regards claim 9, Hoover et al combination teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein n different comparisons are made between the source feature data and the target feature data for determining whether the source feature data fulfils the evaluation criterion with respect to the target feature data. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85. See also, Mori: Figs. 1, 6, ¶5, ¶34-¶35-¶39)
As regards claim 10, Hoover et al combination teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the user attributes is mapped to an integer t, where 1≤t≤T, where t=1 represents the user attributes with lowest security and t=T represents the user attributes with highest security. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85. See also, Mori: Figs. 1, 6, ¶5, ¶34-¶35-¶39, i.e., matching the different types of authentications to their thresholds)
As regards claim 11, Hoover et al combination teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein, according to the evaluation criterion, the source feature data must pass at least t out of the n different comparisons for the user to be successfully authenticated. (Hoover: Figs 3B, 4, ¶4-¶6, ¶13, ¶39, ¶54, ¶72-¶74, ¶80-¶85. See also, Mori: Figs. 1, 6, ¶5, ¶34-¶35-¶39)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoover in view of US 20160087952 A1 (hereinafter ‘Tartz’).
As regards claim 12, Hoover in combination with Tartz (US 20160087952 A1) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein there are at least two sensor devices, and wherein the sensor data as collected by each of the at least two sensor devices is assigned a respective trust level dependent weight factor, and wherein the sensor data from the at least two sensor devices is weighted according to the respective trust level dependent weight factor when the source feature data and the user attributes are extracted from the sensor data. (Tartz: Figs. 4-5, ¶36-¶45, i.e., the sensors have trust levels which are associated with weight factor)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoover to include sensors that have trust levels which are associated with weight factor as taught by Tartz with the motivation to provide a authentication processes that satisfy a security requirement (Tartz: Figs. 4-5, ¶6, ¶36-¶45, i.e., the sensors have trust levels which are associated with weight factor)
Conclusion
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432