Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites the same range for the quantum spin defect from the surface as is now in claim 11. Thus, claim 11 does not further limit claim 1.. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13 to 15, 18, 20, 21, 22, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Markham et al (GB 2570583).
The Markham et al reference teaches a single crystal CVD diamond and method of making, note entire reference. A single crystal CVD diamond component comprising a surface, wherein at least a portion of the surface has been processed by chemical mechanical polishing,, note page and a layer of quantum spin defects. The layer of quantum spin defects being disposed within 500 nm of the surface note page 5 lines 20-30. The method of fabricating the single crystal CVD diamond component by providing a single crystal CVD diamond having a surface, processing at least a portion of the surface using chemical mechanical polishing and having a layer of quantum spin defects. The reference teach a diamond with at least one dimension, lateral of 0.5 mm or more, note example 1.
With regards to claim 4, the Markham et al reference teaches quantum spin defects containing silicon, chromium, and nitrogen(NV-), note page 1.
With regards to claims 6, 7, 20, 20 and 22, the Markham et al reference teaches a quantum spin defect concentration which overlaps the entire range note page 5.
With regards to claims 10, 24 and 25 the Markham et al reference teach a nitrogen content less then 300ppb, note example and the layer distal to the surface, note example.
With regards to claim 13, the Markham et al reference teaches diamond sizes greater then 0.5 mm such as 3 mm, note example 1.
With regards to claim 14, the Markham et al reference using the CVD diamond in a magnetic field sensing device, note page 11.
With regards to claim 18, the Markham et al reference teaches ion implanting nitrogen to create the quantum spin defect layer and then annealing the diamond where the layer is less than 500nm deep, note page 3 lines 30 -35.
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markham et al (GB 2570583) in view of Scarsbrook (WO 2010/010352).
The Markham et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the type of etching. However, the Scarsbrook reference teaches etching diamonds with a quantum spin defects by inductively couple etching, page 29 or mechanical etching page 30. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Markham et al reference by the teachings of the Scarsbrook reference to use known etching methods on the diamond in order to obtain a uniform and smooth surface.
Claim(s) 9 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markham et al (GB 2570583) in view of Twitchen (WO 2021/159896).
The Markham et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the surface roughness. However, the Twitchen reference discloses a single crystal CVD diamond component comprising a surface, wherein at least a portion of the surface has been processed such that the surface roughness Ra is less than 0.5 nm, and a layer of quantum spin defects disposed within 100 nm of the surface ( page 17, line 21, to page 18, line 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Markham et al reference by the teachings of the Twitchen reference to a low roughness on the diamond surface in order to allow for further uniform processing.
Examiner’ Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in diamond manufacture.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714