DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 23, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed of a composition having a molar ratio of 1.0 - 0.9 yttrium to 1.0-1.1 aluminum over at least 90% of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer” in claim 1; “the component body comprises aluminum metal” in claim 2; “the component body comprises silicon, silicon carbide, alumina, or yttria-stabilized zirconia” in claim 3; the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises at least 70% by weight yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP)” in claim 4; “the coating is formed on the surface via thermal spray coating of a powder composition comprising yttrium and aluminum” in claim 8, and “the surface comprises a semiconductor process-facing surface and is resistant to sputter and corrosion” in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
”material or ceramic material” .
A suggested revision is as follows: ”material or a ceramic material” .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 20120135155 A1 to Han et al (hereinafter Han) and US Pat. Pub. No. 2021040337 B2 to Beaudry et al (hereinafter Beaudry).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a component for use in a semiconductor processing chamber (chamber component structure), comprising: a component body comprising a metallic material or ceramic material (metal bulk ceramic materials) ; and a coating (117) disposed on a surface of the component body;
wherein the coating comprises a layer of yttrium aluminum oxide. (See Han, Abstract, paragraphs 1-4, 6-8, 14, 29, 35-37, 39, and 47.)
Han does not explicitly teach the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed of a composition having a molar ratio of 1.0 - 0.9 yttrium to 1.0-1.1 aluminum over at least 90% of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer .
Beaudry is directed to a plasma resistant coating.
Beaudry teaches aluminum oxide is used to provide for greater chemical stability in harsh chemical environments and yttrium oxide is used to provide physical stability in response to high energy plasma tuned to provide for necessary properties for the environment in which the component will be used. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 61, 63, 64, 143, 145.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed of a composition having a molar ratio of 1.0 - 0.9 yttrium to 1.0-1.1 aluminum, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper material for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal resistance properties. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 61, 143, 145.)
Han does not explicitly teach the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed over at least 90% of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer .
Beaudry is directed to a plasma resistant coating.
Beaudry teaches aluminum oxide is used to provide for greater chemical stability in harsh chemical environments and yttrium oxide is used to provide physical stability in response to high energy plasma tuned to provide for necessary properties for the environment in which the component will be used. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 56, 61, 63, 64, 143, 145.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed over at least 90% of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper material for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal resistance properties. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 56, 61, 63, 64, 143, 145.)
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches the component body comprises aluminum metal. (See Han, paragraphs 2, 26, 29, and 37.)
Regarding claim 3, Han does not explicitly teach the component body comprises silicon, silicon carbide, alumina, or yttria-stabilized zirconia.
Beaudry teaches the component body comprises silicon, silicon carbide, alumina, or yttria-stabilized zirconia. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 68, 75.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the component body comprises silicon, silicon carbide, alumina, or yttria-stabilized zirconia, because Beaudry a component with this composition may protect the covered portion from exposure to plasma during processing. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 68, 75.)
Regarding claim 4, Han does not explicitly teach the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises at least 70% by weight yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP) .
Beaudry teaches a protective coating includes yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP) and the properties of the protective coating can be tuned in by changing the composition of the protective coating . (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 56, 61, 63-64, 75, 87, 143, 145.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises at least 70% by weight yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP), through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper material for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal resistance properties. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 61, 143, 145.)
Regarding claim 5, Han does not explicitly teach at least 5% by weight of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises a non-annealed crystalline structure.
Beaudry teaches a protective coating includes yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP) and the properties of the protective coating can be tuned in by changing the composition of the protective coating . (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 56, 61, 63-64, 75, 87, 143, 145.)
Beaudry teaches the use of the yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP) in its crystalline form and in processes without annealing. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 56 and 63-64.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least 5% by weight of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises a non-annealed crystalline structure through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper material for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal resistance properties. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 61, 143, 145.)
Regarding claim 6, Han does not explicitly teach the component comprises one or more of the following semiconductor processing chamber components: a pinnacle, a liner or an electrostatic chuck (ESC).
Beaudry teaches the component comprises one or more of the following semiconductor processing chamber components: a pinnacle, a liner or an electrostatic chuck (ESC). (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 5, 28, 68, 75-76, 100, 155.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the component comprises one or more of the following semiconductor processing chamber components: a pinnacle, a liner or an electrostatic chuck (ESC), because Beaudry a component with this composition may protect the covered portion from exposure to plasma during processing. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 5, 28, 68, 75-76, 100, 155.)
Regarding claim 10, Han does not explicitly teach the surface comprises a semiconductor process-facing surface and is resistant to sputter and corrosion
Beaudry teaches the component comprises one or more of the following semiconductor processing chamber components: a pinnacle, a liner or an electrostatic chuck (ESC). (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 5, 28, 68, 75-76, 100, 155.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the surface comprises a semiconductor process-facing surface and is resistant to sputter and corrosion, because Beaudry a component with this composition may protect the covered portion from exposure to plasma during processing. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 5, 28, 68, 75-76, 100, 155.)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Num. 9,012,030 B2 to Han et al (hereinafter Han) and US Pat. Pub. No. 2021040337 B2 to Beaudry et al (hereinafter Beaudry) applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20080169588 A1 to Shih et al (hereinafter Shih).
Regarding claim 7, Han does not explicitly teach the component comprises a dielectric window.
Shih is directed to coatings to extend the lifetime of a plasma reactor.
Shih teaches the component comprises a dielectric window. (See Shih, Abstract, and paragraphs 5, 10-14, 20, 44-45, 47.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the surface comprises a semiconductor process-facing surface and is resistant to sputter and corrosion, because Beaudry a component with this composition may extend the lifetime of the plasma reactor. (See Shih, Abstract, and paragraphs 5, 10-14, 20, 44-45, 47.)
Claims 4-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Num. 9,012,030 B2 to Han et al (hereinafter Han) and US Pat. Pub. No. 2021040337 B2 to Beaudry et al (hereinafter Beaudry) applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20160257618 A1 to Jordan et al (hereinafter Jordan).
Regarding claim 4, Han does not explicitly teach the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises at least 70% by weight yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP) .
Jordan is directed to coatings to provide a protective coating for equipment for industrial applications in harsh conditions.
Jordan teaches the coating is formed on the surface via thermal spray coating of a powder composition comprising yttrium and aluminum ( yttrium aluminum perovskite YAP ). (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 1, 4-10, 20-22, 26-74.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises at least 70% by weight yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP), because Jordan teaches a layer of this composition is effective for coatings at high temperature and effective for blocking contaminants formed at high temperatures. (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 1, 4-10, 20-22, 25, 26-74.)
Regarding claim 5, Han does not explicitly teach at least 5% by weight of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises a non-annealed crystalline structure.
Jordan teaches a protective coating includes yttrium aluminum perovskite (YAP) is provided by thermal spraying or sputtering . (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 20-22.) Examiner considering thermal spraying or sputtering to be equivalent to methods of forming non-annealed structure (i.e. non-annealing methods).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least 5% by weight of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer comprises a non-annealed crystalline structure, because Jordan teaches thermal sprayed or sputtering or conventional treatments is effective for forming a coating used in thermal barrier coating applications. (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 20-22.)
Regarding claim 8, Han does not explicitly teach the coating is formed on the surface via thermal spray coating of a powder composition comprising yttrium and aluminum.
Jordan is directed to coatings to provide a protective coating for equipment for industrial applications in harsh conditions.
Jordan teaches the coating is formed on the surface via thermal spray coating of a powder composition comprising yttrium and aluminum ( yttrium aluminum perovskite YAP ). (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 1, 4-10, 20-22, 26-74.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coating is formed on the surface via thermal spray coating of a powder composition comprising yttrium and aluminum, because Jordan teaches this composition is useful for protecting equipment in a high temperature environment. (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 1, 4-10, 20-22, 26-74.)
Regarding claim 9, Han does not explicitly teach the powder composition comprises dispersed yttria and alumina in a molar ratio of 1.0 - 0.9 yttrium to 1.0-1.1 aluminum.
Jordan teaches composition comprising yttrium and aluminum ( yttrium aluminum perovskite YAP ) Examiner is considering this composition to be equivalent to the powder composition comprises dispersed yttria and alumina in a molar ratio of 1.0 - 0.9 yttrium to 1.0-1.1 aluminum . (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 1, 4-10, 20-22, 26-74.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the powder composition comprises dispersed yttria and alumina in a molar ratio of 1.0 - 0.9 yttrium to 1.0-1.1 aluminum, because Jordan teaches this composition is useful for protecting equipment in a high temperature enviroment. (See Jordan, Abstract, and paragraphs 1, 4-10, 20-22, 26-74.)
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25 of copending Application No. 17/792,109 to Xu (reference application) and US Pat. Pub. No. 2021040337 B2 to Beaudry et al (hereinafter Beaudry) in view of US Pat. No. 20120135155 A1 to Han et al (hereinafter Han).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because, regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a component for use in a semiconductor processing chamber (component body of a plasma processing chamber), comprising: and a coating disposed on a surface of the component body( a coating on a surface of the component body); wherein the coating comprises a layer of yttrium aluminum oxide (deposited coating formed from a powder mixture of yttrium oxide powder and an aluminum-containing powder),
Xu teaches the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed of a composition having a molar ratio of 1.0 - 0.9 yttrium to 1.0-1.1 aluminum (coating has an yttrium to aluminum ratio of 4:1 to 1:4 by molar number) .
Xu does not explicitly teach the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed over at least 90% of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer .
Beaudry teaches aluminum oxide is used to provide for greater chemical stability in harsh chemical environments and yttrium oxide is used to provide physical stability in response to high energy plasma tuned to provide for necessary properties for the environment in which the component will be used. (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 56, 61, 63, 64, 143, 145.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the yttrium aluminum oxide layer being formed over at least 90% of the yttrium aluminum oxide layer, through routine experimentation, with a reasonable expectation of success, to the select the proper material for the coating material, as a result-effective variable, in order to provide the optimal resistance properties. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1969)) (See Beaudry, Abstract, and paragraphs 48, 56, 61, 63, 64, 143, 145.)
Xu does not explicitly teach a component body comprising a metallic material or ceramic material.
Regarding claim 1, Xu does not explicitly teach a component comprising: a component body comprising a metallic material or ceramic material; and a coating disposed on a surface of the component body; wherein the coating comprises a layer of yttrium aluminum oxide .
Han teaches a component comprising: a component body comprising a metallic material or ceramic material (metal bulk ceramic materials) ; and a coating (117) disposed on a surface of the component body;
wherein the coating comprises a layer of yttrium aluminum oxide. (See Han, Abstract, paragraphs 1-4, 6-8, 14, 29, 35-37,39, and 47.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a component comprising: a component body comprising a metallic material or ceramic material; and a coating disposed on a surface of the component body; wherein the coating comprises a layer of yttrium aluminum oxide, because Han teaches this structure would provide resistance to corrosion (See Han, Abstract, paragraphs 1-4, 6-8, 14, 26, 29, 35-37,39, and 47.)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/KARL KURPLE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717