Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a preprinting metal material charging operation of charging the surface of the metal material before a preprinting transfer operation so that the surface of the metal material has a charge opposite to a charge of the white toner; the preprinting transfer operation of moving and settling the white toner after the preprinting development operation onto the charged surface of the metal material;” of claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
In figs.8&9, a dedicated and separate charging device before transfer is depicted, but these are merely shown in the main printing portions and aren’t shown in a preprinting device.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a preprinting remover” in claim 1;
“a preprinting photosensitive drum discharging unit” of claim 1;
“a main printing remover” in claim 4;
“a main printing photosensitive drum discharging unit” of claim 4;
“a main printing remover” in claim 4;
“a main printing photosensitive drum discharging unit” of claim 4;
“a transfer belt transfer remover” of claim 8;
“a transfer belt discharging unit” of claim 8;
“a respective main printing remover” in claim 13;
“a respective main printing photosensitive drum discharging unit” of claim 13;
“a respective main printing remover” in claim 14; and
“a respective main printing photosensitive drum discharging unit” of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 16 recites “a preprinting metal material charging operation of charging the surface of the metal material before a preprinting transfer operation so that the surface of the metal material has a charge opposite to a charge of the white toner” and “the preprinting transfer operation of moving and settling the white toner after the preprinting development operation onto the charged surface of the metal material”. None of the drawings show a separate device capable of metal material charging and device capable of a transfer operation for a device capable of a preprinting operation. Additionally, the sections of the specification disclosing the methods (see Publication 2025/0028261; para.0098&0106) reference fig.2 and fig.3, respectively. The method of para.0098 does not disclose a metal material charging operation before the transfer operation and the method of para.0106 merely alludes to the metal material being charged, but does not positively recite a charging operation of the metal material (“settling the toner attached to the surface of the … belt … to the charged surface of the metal material”). Thus, this combination of operations appears to be new matter.
Claims 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite “a preprinting metal material charging operation of charging the surface of the metal material before a preprinting transfer operation so that the surface of the metal material has a charge opposite to a charge of the white toner; the preprinting transfer operation”; however, both the drawings and the specification only demonstrate one device that transfers the preprinting toner image to the metal material by applying a charge. Nothing appears to be depicted in the preprinting device that is capable of applying a charge to the metal material before a separate transfer operation.
Claims 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claims recite “a preprinting metal material charging operation of charging the surface of the metal material before a preprinting transfer operation so that the surface of the metal material has a charge opposite to a charge of the white toner; the preprinting transfer operation”; however, both the drawings and the specification only demonstrate one device that transfers the preprinting toner image to the metal material by applying a charge. Nothing appears to be depicted in the preprinting device that is capable of applying a charge to the metal material before a separate transfer operation.
Claims 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: a means, structure or method for performing the “a preprinting metal material charging operation of charging the surface of the metal material before a preprinting transfer operation …” and “the preprinting transfer operation”.
Because of the issues revealed in the objections and rejections related to claim language in claims 16-23, since the Office cannot determine what manner of means to support the method were encompassed and due the lack of support in the specification, the Office is unable to reasonably provide a prior art rejection. This does not constitute an indication of patentability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602).
Regarding claim 1, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment (fig.1), comprising: preprinting equipment (fig.1, #10A) printing a white image (fig.1, with #20W) on a surface of a material (fig.4, #Ta on #9; p.7, final paragraph), which is continuously moving (p.20, final paragraph); and main printing equipment (fig.1, #10B) printing an image on a surface of the material on which the white image is printed (fig.4, #Tb on #Ta on #9), wherein the preprinting equipment comprises: a preprinting photosensitive drum (fig.1, #21 in #20W); a preprinting developer provided on one side of the preprinting photosensitive drum and providing a white toner to the surface of the preprinting photosensitive drum (fig.1, #24W); a preprinting photosensitive drum charging unit charging the surface of the preprinting photosensitive drum before the white toner is provided (fig.1, #22 in #20W); a preprinting exposure unit applying light to the surface of the preprinting photosensitive drum according to a required image, between the preprinting developer and the preprinting photosensitive drum charging unit (fig.1, #23 of #20W); a preprinting metal material charging unit configured to charge the surface of the material such that the white toner is moved and settled onto the surface of the material (fig.1, #35); a preprinting remover removing the white toner remaining on the surface of the preprinting photosensitive drum after the white toner is settled on the surface of the material (p.4, 3rd full paragraph); and a preprinting fixer configured to fix the white toner settled on the surface of the metal material (fig.1, #5A/#50A).
Regarding claim 3, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the preprinting equipment further comprises: a preprinting transfer belt transferring and settling the white toner attached to a surface of the preprinting transfer belt onto the surface of the material while closely contacting the metal material and rotating in one direction (fig.1, #31rotating in direction of arrow, counterclockwise), wherein the preprinting photosensitive drum transfers the white toner attached to a surface of the preprinting photosensitive drum to the surface of the preprinting transfer belt while closely contacting the preprinting transfer belt and rotating in an opposite direction (fig.1, #21 contacting #31 at #33 and rotating clockwise, see arrow), and wherein the preprinting fixer is located downstream of the preprinting transfer belt with respect to a traveling direction of the material (fig.1, see #5A/#50A relative to #31).
Regarding claim 5, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the main printing equipment (fig.1, #10B) comprises: a main printing transfer belt transferring and settling a toner attached to a surface of the main printing transfer belt onto the surface of the material on which the white image is printed while rotating in one direction in close contact with the material on which the white image is printed (fig.1, #31 rotating in direction of arrow, counterclockwise); a main printing photosensitive drum (fig.1, any #21 in #20K-#20Y) transferring the toner attached to a surface of the main printing photosensitive drum to the surface of the main printing transfer belt while closely contacting the main printing transfer belt and rotating together with the main printing transfer belt in an opposite direction (fig.1, #21 rotating in clockwise direction); a main printing developer provided on one side of the main printing photosensitive drum and providing the toner to the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum (fig.1, any of #24K-Y); a main printing photosensitive drum charging unit charging the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum, before the toner is provided (fig.1, #22 in any of #20K-Y); a main printing exposure unit applying light energy to the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum according to a required image, between the main printing developer and the main printing photosensitive drum charging unit (fig.1, #23 associated with any of #20K-Y); a main printing material charging unit charging the surface of the metal material to transfer the toner attached to the surface of the main printing transfer belt, to the surface of the material (fig.1, #35 in #10B); a main printing remover removing the toner remaining on the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum, after the toner is settled on the surface of the material (fig.1, not shown; p.6, 4th full paragraph); and a main printing fixer located downstream of the main printing transfer belt with respect to a traveling direction of the metal material, to fix the toner settled on the surface of the metal material (fig.1, #5B/#50B).
Regarding claim 11, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the preprinting developer comprises a toner container and a developing roller providing toner in the toner container to the preprinting photosensitive drum (fig.1, see roll in container #24W).
Regarding claim 12, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the preprinting fixer comprises a fuser roll (fig.1, #52) and a pressure roll (fig.1, #53).
Regarding claim 14, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the main printing equipment comprises two or more sets arranged in a traveling direction of the main printing transfer belt (fig.1, #20K-#20Y), wherein each of the two or more sets comprises a respective main printing photosensitive drum (fig.1, #21 in #10B), a respective main printing photosensitive drum charging unit (fig.1, #22 in #10B), a respective main printing exposure unit (fig.1, #23 in #10B), a respective main printing developer (fig.1, #24K-#24Y), and a respective main printing remover (p.6, 4th paragraph), and wherein each of the main printing developer is configured to provide toner of a different color (p.6, 2nd paragraph).
However, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) fail to teach the use of a metal material which is continuously moving.
Regarding claim 1, Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) teach an image forming apparatus wherein an image is formed on a continuous sheet (fig.1), but also teach that a continuous sheet metal may also be used (col.5, ln.20-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the printing media of Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) by using a continuous sheet media as in Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) because it is a known modification in the art and can be used to print beverage cans (col.5, ln.20-25).
However, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) fail to teach a photosensitive drum discharging unit removing a charge from the photosensitive drum after the toner is removed.
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 14, Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) teach a printing device with a photosensitive drum (fig.12, #101), a printing remover after the transfer point (fig.12, #120 after #115), and a photosensitive drum discharging unit removing a charge from the photosensitive drum after the toner is removed (fig.12, #102 after #120 and before #103).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) teach a printing device wherein the remover (1600, 1600', 2600, and 2600') comprises a blade (1610, 1610', 2610, and 2610') (fig.12, #122) and a collection bin (1842, 1842', 2842, and 2842') located on a lower end of the blade (fig.12, #120 housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) by using cleaning unit and a discharge unit as in Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) because the cleaning unit configuration is a type known in the art (see fig.12) and in order to discharge the clean surface of the drum to create a uniformly charged surface to prepare for subsequent image forming (para.0100).
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11-13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (OKI Technical Review, Aug.1998) and Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602).
Regarding claim 2, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach the printing equipment wherein the preprinting photosensitive drum transfers and settles the white toner attached to a surface of the preprinting photosensitive drum onto the surface of the material while closely contacting the material and rotating in one direction (see direction of drum rotation in fig.1,#10B, clockwise), and wherein the preprinting fixer is located downstream of the preprinting photosensitive drum with respect to a traveling direction of the metal material (fig.1, #5A/#50A downstream of #21).
Regarding claim 4, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach the printing equipment wherein the main printing equipment comprises: a main printing photosensitive drum (fig.1, #21 in #10B); a main printing developer provided on one side of the main printing photosensitive drum and providing the toner to the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum (fig.1, #24K-#24Y); a main printing photosensitive drum charging unit charging the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum before the toner is provided (fig.1, #22 in #10B); a main printing exposure unit applying light energy to the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum according to a required image, between the main printing developer and the main printing photosensitive drum charging unit (fig.1, #23 in #10B); a main printing material charging unit charging the surface of the material such that the toner attached to the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum is transferred to the surface of the material (fig.1, #33); a main printing remover removing the toner remaining on the surface of the main printing photosensitive drum, after the toner is settled on the surface of the material (p.6, 4th paragraph); and a main printing fixer located downstream of the main printing photosensitive drum with respect to a traveling direction of the material, to fix the toner settled on the surface of the material (fig.1, #5B/#50B).
Regarding claim 11, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the preprinting developer comprises a toner container and a developing roller providing toner in the toner container to the preprinting photosensitive drum (fig.1, see roll in container #24W).
Regarding claim 12, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the preprinting fixer comprises a fuser roll (fig.1, #52) and a pressure roll (fig.1, #53).
Regarding claim 13, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach a printing equipment wherein the main printing equipment comprises two or more sets arranged in a traveling direction of the material (fig.1, sets #20K-#20Y in #10B), wherein each of the two or more sets comprises a respective main printing photosensitive drum (fig.1, #21 in #10B), a respective main printing photosensitive drum charging unit (fig.1, #22 in #10B), a respective main printing exposure unit (fig.1, #23 in #10B), a respective main printing developer (fig.1, #24K-#24Y), and a respective main printing remover (p.6, 4th paragraph), and wherein each main printing developer is configured to provide toner of a different color (p.6, 2nd paragraph).
However, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) fail to teach the toner attached to the surface of the photosensitive drum being transferred to the surface of the metal material while closely contacting the metal material.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Yamamoto et al. (OKI Technical Review, Aug.1998) teach a printing device with either multiple different colored photosensitive drums that transfer toner directly onto a recording material (Table1, Row 1) or a multi-colored system that first transfers from the plurality of drums, sequentially onto an intermediate transfer member (Table 1, Row 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the printing device of Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) to use a direct transfer method as taught by Yamamoto et al. (OKI Technical Review, Aug.1998) because it is a known alternative configuration in the art (see Table 1) which can allow for increased throughput when printing colored images (see Table 1, column 2, rows 1&2).
However, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) also fail to teach a photosensitive drum discharging unit removing a charge from the photosensitive drum after the toner is removed.
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 13, Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) teach a printing device with a photosensitive drum (fig.12, #101), a printing remover after the transfer point (fig.12, #120 after #115), and a photosensitive drum discharging unit removing a charge from the photosensitive drum after the toner is removed (fig.12, #102 after #120 and before #103).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) teach a printing device wherein the remover (1600, 1600', 2600, and 2600') comprises a blade (1610, 1610', 2610, and 2610') (fig.12, #122) and a collection bin (1842, 1842', 2842, and 2842') located on a lower end of the blade (fig.12, #120 housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) by using cleaning unit and a discharge unit as in Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) because the cleaning unit configuration is a type known in the art (see fig.12) and in order to discharge the clean surface of the drum to create a uniformly charged surface to prepare for subsequent image forming (para.0100).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) as applied to claims 3 above, and further in view of Aiba et al. (US Pub.2013/0223872).
Regarding claim 8, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) teach printing equipment comprising: a transfer belt drive roll driving the preprinting transfer belt in a traveling direction (fig.1, #32a-d; p.4, 3rd paragraph); a transfer belt charging unit charging the preprinting transfer belt before the preprinting transfer belt receives the white toner (fig.1, #33 at #20W); a transfer belt toner remover removing the white toner remaining on the preprinting transfer belt after the white toner is transferred to the metal material (fig.1, #36).
However, Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) fail to teach a transfer belt discharging unit discharging the transfer belt, after the toner is removed and fail to be explicit about the type of belt toner remover.
Regarding claim 8, Aiba et al. (US Pub.2013/0223872) teach printing equipment comprising: comprising several photosensitive drums (fig.1, #1Y-K) transferring toner to a sheet via an intermediate transfer belt (fig.1, #5); a transfer belt drive roll driving the transfer belt in a traveling direction (fig.1, #21); a transfer belt toner remover removing the toner remaining on the transfer belt after the toner is transferred to the material (fig.1, #20D); and a transfer belt discharging unit discharging the preprinting transfer belt after the toner is removed (fig.1&7, #28).
Regarding claim 10, Aiba et al. (US Pub.2013/0223872) teach printing equipment wherein the transfer belt toner remover comprises a blade (fig.7, #10) and a collection bin located at a lower end of the blade (fig.7, #33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the belt conditioning configuration of Kiuchi et al. (JP Pub.2015-022053) in view of Maess et al. (US 6,201,595) and in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US Pub.2009/0060602) by utilizing a discharging unit as in Aiba et al. (US Pub.2013/0223872) in order to electrically discharge any particulate matter that passes through the cleaning blade in order to lessen contamination (para.0016).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On p.22, the applicant argues that neither Kiuchi nor Maess teach a unit that intentionally charges the surface of the metal material before transfer. The applicant then discusses the transfer devices of Kiuchi and Maess states that they do not intentionally charge the surface before toner transfer and does not establish the claimed timing or opposite polarity relationship. On these points, the Office respectfully disagrees. While claim 16 may make mention of “charging the surface of the metal material before a …transfer operation” and creating a “charge opposite to a charge of the white toner material”, this language is not present in claim 1 and thus these arguments do not apply to the art related to claim 1. Additionally, transfer devices #35 of Kiuchi and #70 of Maess do operate by creating a polarity opposite the toner charge in order to be able to transfer as that is how conventional transferring systems work, thus this argument would not be persuasive regardless. Regarding the timing, claims 1-5 and 8-14 do not recite a specific timing, nor is an additional structure for transferring the toner introduced. As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a … metal material charging unit configured to charge the surface of the metal material such that the … toner is moved and settled onto the surface of the metal material”, can read on a transfer device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/LKR/
10/6/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852