DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/194468 to Luo.
Regarding claim 1, Luo teaches a wiring substrate (Figs. 13 – 14, and 18) comprising:
a base substrate (00) comprising a functional region and a bonding region (00 outside of BD);
a first conductive layer (M2) on the base substrate and at least in the functional region;
a second conductive layer (I2) on a side of the first conductive layer away from the base substrate and at least in the functional region, the second conductive layer being electrically connected to the first conductive layer; and
a first insulating layer (30) on a side of the second conductive layer away from the base substrate and comprising a main part and an opening (31),
wherein at least one of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer comprises a plurality of electrodes (20) in the bonding region and extending along a first direction, each of the plurality of electrodes comprises a first end adjacent to the functional region in the first direction, and an orthographic projection of the main part of the first insulating layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first end of each electrode on the base substrate (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 2, Luo teaches a wiring substrate, further comprising a second insulating layer (PLN) between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is in (electrical) contact with the first conductive layer through a via in the second insulating layer (Fig. 14, I2 is electrically connected through a via and the drain).
Regarding claim 20, Luo teaches a wiring substrate, wherein the second conductive layer is arranged only in the functional region, the first conductive layer comprises a third part arranged in the bonding region, the third part comprises a plurality of second electrodes extending along the first direction, and each of the plurality of second electrodes comprises the first end (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 24, Luo teaches a display device comprising the wiring substrate (¶ [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo.
Regarding claim 23, Luo teaches a light-emitting substrate (Display substrate ¶ [0081] that includes a circuit board (300) arranged in the bonding region. Luo does not explicitly teach a plurality of light-emitting elements in the functional region. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a plurality of light-emitting elements for the display device since it is desirable for display devices to produce visible images.
Regarding claim 25, Luo teaches a method of manufacturing a wiring substrate (Figs. 13, 14, and 18) comprising:
providing a base substrate (00) comprising a functional region (00 outside of BD) and a bonding region (BD);
applying a first conductive film (M2) on the base substrate to form a first conductive layer which is at least in the functional region;
applying a second conductive film (I2) on a side of the first conductive layer away from the base substrate, to form a second conductive layer which is at least in the functional region and electrically connected to the first conductive layer; and
applying a first insulating film (30) on a side of the second conductive layer away from the base substrate to form a first insulating layer comprising a main part and an opening,
wherein at least one of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer comprises a plurality of electrodes (20) in the bonding region and extending along a first direction, each of the plurality of electrodes comprises a first end adjacent to the functional region in the first direction, and an orthographic projection of the main part of the first insulating layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first end of the each electrode on the base substrate.
Luo does not teach patterning the first and second conductive films and the first insulating film through first, second, and third masks. Luo does not teach or suggest a method of patterning these elements. Elements are frequently formed in the art through the well known process of photolithography involving the use of photoresist and masks. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a well known and commonly used method of patterning the layers since it is desirable to use known and reliable techniques for forming devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9 – 12, 14 – 16, 18, 21, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0100365 to Titjung et al. teach a wiring substrate including a base substrate, first conductive layer and plurality of electrodes. Titjung et al. do not teach an orthographic projection of the main part of a first insulating layer on the base substrate at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the first end of each electrode.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897