DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18577852 filed 01/09/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2021/068239, International Filing Date: 07/01/2021.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 09 January 2024. Claims 1-62 have been presented in the application, of which, claims 1-42 are cancelled and claims 43-62 are new. Accordingly, pending claims 43-62 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 01/11/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (US 2020/0374661) in view of Bornstein et al (US 2009/0312032).
Regarding claim 43, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method) performed by a user equipment (fig. 3 item 102, NEF), UE (fig. 3 item 102, NEF), for providing a positioning based service, the method comprising (Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0068], lines 1-2):
obtaining one or more positioning parameters related to the positioning based service (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2); and
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, performing a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, performing a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, performing a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 44, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method),
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of wherein performing the positioning based service action comprises terminating a service based on the positioning QoS information indicating a value being below a threshold for the positioning based service.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of wherein performing the positioning based service action comprises terminating a service based on the positioning QoS information indicating a value being below a threshold for the positioning based service (If the skip counter is greater than the maximum skip value, proceed to Block 270. In Block 270, the mobile station device 1000 calculates a low QoS ("Quality of Service") position fix, and provides an output P(t.sub.n). Obtaining a low QoS position fix instead of a high QoS position fix avoids depleting battery power and using up network resources. In one aspect, setting a maximum amount of times the mobile station device 1000 skips (terminating) before obtaining a low QoS position fix is a safety measure and ensures that the mobile station device 1000 obtains at least some real position fixes, [0027], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of wherein performing the positioning based service action comprises terminating a service based on the positioning QoS information indicating a value being below a threshold for the positioning based service of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 45, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method),
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of wherein performing the positioning based service action comprises adapting the positioning based service based on the positioning QoS information.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of wherein performing the positioning based service action comprises adapting the positioning based service based on the positioning QoS information (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of wherein performing the positioning based service action comprises adapting the positioning based service based on the positioning QoS information of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 46, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method), wherein adapting the service comprises one of the following (Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0068], lines 1-2)::
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of limiting the positioning based service to a subset of available features, or extending the positioning based service to include one or more features previously restricted.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of limiting the positioning based service to a subset of available features, or extending the positioning based service to include one or more features previously restricted (In Block 240, if "C" is included in "G", proceed to block 245. In Block 245, "C" is included in "G". In Block 245, the last real position fix P(t.sub.n-1) and previous time t.sub.n-1 are recovered. The last real position fix P(t.sub.n-1) is the position fix at previous time t.sub.n-1, [0028], lines 1-3)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of limiting the positioning based service to a subset of available features, or extending the positioning based service to include one or more features previously restricted of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 47, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method),
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the positioning QoS information includes or is associated with one or more of the following:
an estimated accuracy or error bound;
a confidence interval;
a validity period; and
a geographical area or cell identifier within which the positioning information is valid.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the positioning QoS information includes or is associated with one or more of the following (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4):
an estimated accuracy or error bound (When the first transport carrier 110 is very far from Los Angeles County, the mobile station device 1000 may delay calculating a position fix using high quality of service (QoS) parameters for a specified time and instead, calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters. In one aspect, QoS refers to position determination accuracy and time-to-fix, [0016], lines 9-12);
a confidence interval (When the first transport carrier 110 is very far from Los Angeles County, the mobile station device 1000 may delay calculating a position fix using high quality of service (QoS) parameters for a specified time and instead, calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters. In one aspect, QoS refers to position determination accuracy and time-to-fix, [0016], lines 9-12);
a validity period (When the first transport carrier 110 is very far from Los Angeles County, the mobile station device 1000 may delay calculating a position fix using high quality of service (QoS) parameters for a specified time and instead, calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters. In one aspect, QoS refers to position determination accuracy and time-to-fix, [0016], lines 9-12); and
a geographical area or cell identifier within which the positioning information is valid (SID/NID pairs and associated cell identifications specify the list of Sectors that cover the geofence area created by the center point CP (e.g., latitude, longitude) and radius R 340 in a predetermined geographical area. FIG. 3 illustrates cell identifications 1 through 6 intersecting an exemplary geofence boundary 420. Cell identification is a numerical identification associated with a cell within the geofence boundary 420, [0022], lines 4-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of wherein the positioning QoS information includes or is associated with one or more of the following: an estimated accuracy or error bound; a confidence interval; a validity period; and a geographical area or cell identifier within which the positioning information is valid of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 48, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method),
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the derived positioning QoS information comprises predicted positioning QoS information, and the positioning based service action is performed in advance of the predicted positioning QoS information occurring.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the derived positioning QoS information comprises predicted positioning QoS information, and the positioning based service action is performed in advance of the predicted positioning QoS information occurring (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of wherein the derived positioning QoS information comprises predicted positioning QoS information, and the positioning based service action is performed in advance of the predicted positioning QoS information occurring of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 49, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method), wherein obtaining the one or more positioning parameters comprises (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2):
determining one or more positioning parameters (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2); and
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of assigning corresponding positioning QoS information to each of the determined positioning parameters.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of assigning corresponding positioning QoS information to each of the determined positioning parameters (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of assigning corresponding positioning QoS information to each of the determined positioning parameters of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 50, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method),
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the positioning parameters, from which the positioning QoS information is derived, comprise one or more of the following:
current time;
current position estimation;
predicted position estimation at a specific time;
positioning sensor accuracy;
positioning sensor availability; and
velocity.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the positioning parameters, from which the positioning QoS information is derived, comprise one or more of the following (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4):
current time (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
current position estimation (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
predicted position estimation at a specific time (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
positioning sensor accuracy (When the first transport carrier 110 is very far from Los Angeles County, the mobile station device 1000 may delay calculating a position fix using high quality of service (QoS) parameters for a specified time and instead, calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters. In one aspect, QoS refers to position determination accuracy and time-to-fix, [0016], lines 9-12);
positioning sensor availability (As used herein, SPS will also be understood to include analogous terrestrial ranging signal sources such as pseudolites. One skilled in the art would understand that other modes, such as but not limited to inertial sensors, [0019], lines 7-9); and
velocity (In Block 265, the distance radius D.sub.R is calculated using V.sub.n, the maximum velocity of the asset being tracked and the time difference (t.sub.n-t.sub.n-1) between the current time t.sub.n and the previous time t.sub.n-1. V.sub.n is inputted and is assumed to be known, [0030], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of wherein the positioning QoS information includes or is associated with one or more of the following: an estimated accuracy or error bound; a confidence interval; a validity period; and a geographical area or cell identifier within which the positioning information is valid of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 51, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method), wherein performing the positioning based service action comprises (Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0068], lines 1-2):
sending a request, to a network node, to participate in the positioning based service (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2); and
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of receiving from the network node a response to the request, the response comprising an indication of whether the UE is permitted to participate in the positioning based service, based on the derived positioning QoS information.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of receiving from the network node a response to the request, the response comprising an indication of whether the UE is permitted to participate in the positioning based service, based on the derived positioning QoS information (User desires to track its package 111 to determine where the package 111 is and how soon the package 111 will be delivered. Mobile station device 1000 (first UE) calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters set by the user; thus is seen as user sets (provides), to a mobile station device 1000 (first UE), parameters in support of the positioning of the packaging transport service to be calculated (performed) by mobile station device 1000 (first UE) based on positioning QoS parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, [0016], lines 3-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of receiving from the network node a response to the request, the response comprising an indication of whether the UE is permitted to participate in the positioning based service, based on the derived positioning QoS information of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 52, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method) performed by a network node configured to support a positioning based service, the method comprising (Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0068], lines 1-2):
obtaining positioning parameters related to the positioning based service (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2); and
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of providing, to a UE, the positioning parameters in support of the positioning based service to be performed by the UE, based on positioning QoS information derived by the UE from the one or more positioning parameters.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of providing, to a UE, the positioning parameters in support of the positioning based service to be performed by the UE, based on positioning QoS information derived by the UE from the one or more positioning parameters (User desires to track its package 111 to determine where the package 111 is and how soon the package 111 will be delivered. Mobile station device 1000 (first UE) calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters set by the user; thus is seen as user sets (provides), to a mobile station device 1000 (first UE), parameters in support of the positioning of the packaging transport service to be calculated (performed) by mobile station device 1000 (first UE) based on positioning QoS parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, [0016], lines 3-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of providing, to a UE, the positioning parameters in support of the positioning based service to be performed by the UE, based on positioning QoS information derived by the UE from the one or more positioning parameters of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 53, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method), further comprising:
receiving a request from the UE to participate in the positioning based service; and transmitting to the UE a response to the request, the response comprising an indication of whether the UE is permitted to participate in the positioning based service, based on positioning QoS information derived by the UE from the one or more positioning parameters (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 54, Ma discloses method (fig. 1, method),
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the positioning parameters, from which the positioning QoS information is derived, comprise one or more of the following: current time;
current position estimation;
predicted position estimation at a specific time;
positioning sensor accuracy;
positioning sensor availability; and
velocity.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the positioning parameters, from which the positioning QoS information is derived, comprise one or more of the following (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4):
current time (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
current position estimation (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
predicted position estimation at a specific time (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
positioning sensor accuracy (When the first transport carrier 110 is very far from Los Angeles County, the mobile station device 1000 may delay calculating a position fix using high quality of service (QoS) parameters for a specified time and instead, calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters. In one aspect, QoS refers to position determination accuracy and time-to-fix, [0016], lines 9-12);
positioning sensor availability (As used herein, SPS will also be understood to include analogous terrestrial ranging signal sources such as pseudolites. One skilled in the art would understand that other modes, such as but not limited to inertial sensors, [0019], lines 7-9); and
velocity (In Block 265, the distance radius D.sub.R is calculated using V.sub.n, the maximum velocity of the asset being tracked and the time difference (t.sub.n-t.sub.n-1) between the current time t.sub.n and the previous time t.sub.n-1. V.sub.n is inputted and is assumed to be known, [0030], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of wherein the positioning parameters, from which the positioning QoS information is derived, comprise one or more of the following: current time; current position estimation; predicted position estimation at a specific time; positioning sensor accuracy; positioning sensor availability; and velocityof Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 55, Ma discloses user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 item 105, terminal) configured to provide a positioning based service, the UE comprising (Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0068], lines 1-2):
communication interface circuitry (fig. 3 item 301, transceiver) configured to communicate with a network node (NEF 102 for a positioning operation provided in this embodiment of this application may have a structure shown in FIG. 3. The NEF 102 includes a transceiver 301, a memory 302, and a processor 303. The transceiver 301 may be used for communication by the NEF 102, [0051], lines 1-3); and
processing circuitry (fig. 3 item 303, processor) operably coupled to the communication interface circuitry (fig. 3 item 301, transceiver), wherein the processing circuitry (fig. 3 item 303, processor) and the communication interface circuitry are configured to (NEF 102 for a positioning operation provided in this embodiment of this application may have a structure shown in FIG. 3. The NEF 102 includes a transceiver 301, a memory 302, and a processor 303. The transceiver 301 may be used for communication by the NEF 102, [0051], lines 1-3):
obtain one or more positioning parameters related to the positioning based service (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2); and
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, perform a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, perform a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, perform a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 56, Ma discloses UE (fig. 1 item 105, terminal), wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform the positioning based service action based on one or more of the following (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2):
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of terminating a service based on the positioning QoS information indicating a value being below a threshold for the positioning based service; limiting the positioning based service to a subset of available features; and
extending the positioning based service to include one or more features previously restricted.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of terminating a service based on the positioning QoS information indicating a value being below a threshold for the positioning based service; limiting the positioning based service to a subset of available features (If the skip counter is greater than the maximum skip value, proceed to Block 270. In Block 270, the mobile station device 1000 calculates a low QoS ("Quality of Service") position fix, and provides an output P(t.sub.n). Obtaining a low QoS position fix instead of a high QoS position fix avoids depleting battery power and using up network resources. In one aspect, setting a maximum amount of times the mobile station device 1000 skips (terminating) before obtaining a low QoS position fix is a safety measure and ensures that the mobile station device 1000 obtains at least some real position fixes, [0027], lines 1-5); and
extending the positioning based service to include one or more features previously restricted (In Block 240, if "C" is included in "G", proceed to block 245. In Block 245, "C" is included in "G". In Block 245, the last real position fix P(t.sub.n-1) and previous time t.sub.n-1 are recovered. The last real position fix P(t.sub.n-1) is the position fix at previous time t.sub.n-1, [0028], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of terminating a service based on the positioning QoS information indicating a value being below a threshold for the positioning based service; limiting the positioning based service to a subset of available features; and extending the positioning based service to include one or more features previously restricted of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 57, Ma discloses UE (fig. 1 item 105, terminal),
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the positioning parameters, from which the positioning QoS information is derived, comprise one or more of the following:
current time;
current position estimation;
predicted position estimation at a specific time;
positioning sensor accuracy;
positioning sensor availability; and
velocity.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the positioning parameters, from which the positioning QoS information is derived, comprise one or more of the following (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4):
current time (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
current position estimation (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
predicted position estimation at a specific time (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4);
positioning sensor accuracy (When the first transport carrier 110 is very far from Los Angeles County, the mobile station device 1000 may delay calculating a position fix using high quality of service (QoS) parameters for a specified time and instead, calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters. In one aspect, QoS refers to position determination accuracy and time-to-fix, [0016], lines 9-12);
positioning sensor availability (As used herein, SPS will also be understood to include analogous terrestrial ranging signal sources such as pseudolites. One skilled in the art would understand that other modes, such as but not limited to inertial sensors, [0019], lines 7-9); and
velocity (In Block 265, the distance radius D.sub.R is calculated using V.sub.n, the maximum velocity of the asset being tracked and the time difference (t.sub.n-t.sub.n-1) between the current time t.sub.n and the previous time t.sub.n-1. V.sub.n is inputted and is assumed to be known, [0030], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of wherein the positioning QoS information includes or is associated with one or more of the following: an estimated accuracy or error bound; a confidence interval; a validity period; and a geographical area or cell identifier within which the positioning information is valid of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 58, Ma discloses UE (fig. 1 item 105, terminal), wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform the positioning based service action based on (memory 202 stores a computer program. The processor 203 is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory 202, so that the LMF 101 implements the positioning operation method provided in the embodiment of this application. It should be noted that, a specific connection medium between the processor 203, the memory 202, and the transceiver 201 is not limited in this embodiment of this application, [0048], lines 3-7):
sending a request, to a network node, to participate in the positioning based service (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2); and
receiving from the network node a response to the request, the response comprising an indication of whether the UE is permitted to participate in the positioning based service, based on the derived positioning QoS information (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 59, Ma discloses network node configured to support a positioning based service, the network node (fig. 3 item 102, NEF) comprising (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2):
communication interface circuitry configured to communicate with one or more user equipment (UEs) (NEF 102 for a positioning operation provided in this embodiment of this application may have a structure shown in FIG. 3. The NEF 102 includes a transceiver 301, a memory 302, and a processor 303. The transceiver 301 may be used for communication by the NEF 102, [0051], lines 1-3); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the communication interface circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to perform the method (NEF 102 for a positioning operation provided in this embodiment of this application may have a structure shown in FIG. 3. The NEF 102 includes a transceiver 301, a memory 302, and a processor 303. The transceiver 301 may be used for communication by the NEF 102, [0051], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 60, Ma discloses network node, wherein the processing circuitry and the communication further configured to (memory 202 stores a computer program. The processor 203 is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory 202, so that the LMF 101 implements the positioning operation method provided in the embodiment of this application. It should be noted that, a specific connection medium between the processor 203, the memory 202, and the transceiver 201 is not limited in this embodiment of this application, [0048], lines 3-7):
receive a request from the UE to participate in the positioning based service (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2); and
transmit to the UE a response to the request, the response comprising an indication of whether the UE is permitted to participate in the positioning based service, based on positioning QoS information derived by the UE from the one or more positioning parameters (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105. Step S102: The NEF 102 determines, based on the identifier of the UE 105, an LMF 101 that provides a location service for the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11, [0068], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 61, Ma discloses system configured to provide a positioning based service, the system comprising (location management function entity configured to checking and authorizing a positioning request for a terminal and charging for a location service for the terminal, [0046], lines 1-4):
a network node (fig. 3 item 102, NEF) comprising processing circuitry (fig. 3 item 303, processor) and communication interface circuitry (fig. 3 item 301, transceiver) configured to (NEF 102 for a positioning operation provided in this embodiment of this application may have a structure shown in FIG. 3. The NEF 102 includes a transceiver 301, a memory 302, and a processor 303. The transceiver 301 may be used for communication by the NEF 102, [0051], lines 1-3):
receive one or more positioning parameters that are related to the positioning based service and that correspond to a second user equipment (UE) (NEF 102 receives an identifier (ID) (parameter) of UE 105 and first positioning operation information (parameter) that are sent by a third-party device 104, where the first positioning operation information is used to request an LMF to perform a first positioning operation on the UE 105, [0067], lines 1-11); and
the first UE (fig. 2 item 101, LMF), which comprises processing circuitry (fig. 2 item 203, processor) and communication interface circuitry (fig. 2 item 201, transceiver) configured to (LMF 101 for a positioning operation provided in this embodiment of this application may have a structure shown in FIG. 2. The LMF 101 includes a transceiver 201, a memory 202, and a processor 203. The transceiver 201 may be used for communication by the LMF 101, [0048], lines 1-3):
receive the one or more positioning parameters from the network node (NEF 102 sends a first message to the LMF 101 (first UE), where the first message includes the first positioning operation information, [0069], lines 1-5); and
Ma does not specifically disclose concept of provide, to a first UE, the one or more positioning parameters in support of the positioning based service to be performed by a first UE based on positioning QoS information derived from the one or more positioning parameters; and
based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, perform a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service.
However, Bornstein et al specifically teaches concept of provide, to a first UE, the one or more positioning parameters in support of the positioning based service to be performed by a first UE based on positioning QoS information derived from the one or more positioning parameters (User desires to track its package 111 to determine where the package 111 is and how soon the package 111 will be delivered. Mobile station device 1000 (first UE) calculates a position fix using low QoS parameters set by the user; thus is seen as user sets (provides), to a mobile station device 1000 (first UE), parameters in support of the positioning of the packaging transport service to be calculated (performed) by mobile station device 1000 (first UE) based on positioning QoS parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, [0016], lines 3-12 and [0017], lines 1-4); and
based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, perform a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service (based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) parameters (information) calculated (derived) from the one or more positioning parameters set by user, calculate (perform) a position fix of the positioning of the packaging transport service, [0016], lines 1-12 and [0017], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ma with concept of provide, to a first UE, the one or more positioning parameters in support of the positioning based service to be performed by a first UE based on positioning QoS information derived from the one or more positioning parameters; and based on positioning quality-of-service (QoS) information derived from the one or more positioning parameters, perform a positioning based service action associated with the positioning based service of Bornstein et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve apparatus and methods for wireless tracking of people or assets, (Bornstein et al, [0001], line 1).
Regarding claim 62, Ma discloses non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry of user equipment (UE) configured to provide a positioning based service, configure the UE to perform the method (memory 202 stores a computer program. The processor 203 is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory 202, so that the LMF 101 implements the positioning operation method provided in the embodiment of this application. It should be noted that, a specific connection medium between the processor 203, the memory 202, and the transceiver 201 is not limited in this embodiment of this application, [0048], lines 3-7).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681